We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
870 7th Ave, New York City, NY 10019
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Booking.com
$419
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Priceline
Only 1 left at
$419
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/22
Traveluro
$314
View deal
travelup.com$419
Trip.com$369
FindHotel$355
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1928)
Room & Suite (773)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#258 of 515 hotels in New York City
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
3.9
Value
3.9
Travelers' Choice
Park Central Hotel New York | The Midtown Manhattan Hotel Hotel located in the heart of Manhattan Built during The Roaring Twenties, the Park Central Hotel New York once accommodated and entertained some of the most influential figures of the day - from Jackie Gleason and Mae West to Glenn Miller and Tommy Dorsey, even First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt. Today's guests are invited to escape the busy city life in exchange for the serenity that awaits them at the Park Central Hotel near Rockefeller Center - newly renovated and inspired by the iconic Central Park and renowned New York City landmarks.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
VIP room facilities
Iron
Private bathrooms
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
7816Reviews316Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3,333
  • 2,557
  • 1,017
  • 486
  • 424
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
eag1611 wrote a review Yesterday
Brighton, United Kingdom26 contributions22 helpful votes
Stayed here for 5 nights. Large hotel in a great location just 2 blocks down from Central Park. This hotel was adequate in every way but perhaps due to its size felt a little soulless. Rooms were a good size, clean and well appointed. Bathroom was quite small but I find this in many hotels. Bed was comfortable and as a base it was good as you are so busy in NYC we spent little time in there other than sleeping. Just 3 niggles really. 1 - Because we were on the 11th floor of one of the towers, the window in our room overlooked over the internal quadrangle of space between the four sides of the block. This meant there was little natural light and no view, other than of other rooms on all sides. Even in the middle of the day we needed room lights on. 2 - Housekeeping were super efficient. Perhaps too much as they seemed to completely ignore the notice in the bathroom about leaving towels on the floor if you wanted them changed or hanging towels up if you were happy to reuse them. I like to do my bit for sustainability so it annoyed me that my towels were replaced everyday, despite hanging them up and 3 - The facilities charge. On check out morning an invoiced had been posted under our door for a $218 facilities charge of which we had no knowledge. We booked through BA, they didn't mention it and there were no signs at check-in about a facilities charge. This feels a little bit underhand so I politely challenged it at check out and the manager kindly waived the fee. I was very grateful but this facilities charge is one to be aware of as I have now looked into it and many hotels in NY add this.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Palmer, Owner at Park Central Hotel New York
Responded yesterday
Dear eag1611, Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall visit. We will certainly address the areas which require more of our attention. Please consult the booking confirmation from our BA partners. The information regarding the hotel fee is specified on the confirmation and should be brought to your attention during the booking process. We can't wait for the chance to host you again. Regards, Monica Campian Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MatthewT81 wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions22 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Me and my wife have just came back from a 4nt stay at this hotel, the location is superb. You can see both Times Square and Central Park the moment you step out onto the street. Subways on the corner of the hotel and plenty of cafe and bars close by too. As for the rooms they were modern and spotless. Beds were brilliantly comfy too. We had no problems with lifts and anytime reception was busy the gents in the lobby were more than happy to help. It wasn’t extortionate to stay here and I found it great value for money. I’d happily stay here again and would recommend it too.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Try not to get roped into the street performers or other tricksters as they will demand money for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
9 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Palmer, Owner at Park Central Hotel New York
Responded Dec 8, 2021
Cynon12, we truly appreciate and thank you for selecting Park Central as your hotel of choice during your NYC visit. We are delighted to learn of your recommendation and that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to hosting you again! Erik Palmer Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JacquiW wrote a review Sep 24
1 contribution1 helpful vote
After a 20 hour journey with my 73 yr old mum, we finally arrived at Park Central at 10pm … only to be told by reception that they had cancelled our room to make way for UN security staff. No notification was given of this at all. We would be ‘accommodated’ at their sister hotel which they said was fine. Yeah … why not put the UN delegation in this ‘fine’ hotel and honour my booking which I have had for 6 months!!! After a heated conversation and getting absolutely nowhere, we had little choice to stay at the replacement hotel. It was now 10.45pm and with an exhausted mum in tow, we set off to find it. My concerns about the hotel were confirmed. The sister hotel was a disgrace. Not clean, bedding smelled foisty, room was tiny, we could barely walk around the beds and the air con was broken. On a plus side, the Wi-Fi is worked, which allowed me to sit up all night trying to get in touch with BA (who we booked with, and failed miserably) and find somewhere else to stay. In the end, I found alternative accommodation and it has cost me a $1700. So, if you are thinking of booking this hotel. Ask yourself if it’s worth the risk! I would suggest finding somewhere that has a little more scruples. You should be ashamed of yourself Park Central!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Palmer, Owner at Park Central Hotel New York
Responded yesterday
Dear JacquiWilde, We regret the lack of customer service that you received during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing a welcoming, attentive atmosphere, therefore, we were particularly disappointed to hear that you left frustrated and we were unable to gain your loyalty. We thank you for bringing this experience to our attention. We appreciate knowing how we can do better to serve our guests. Best regards, Park Central Operations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Egarzaz wrote a review Sep 22
1 contribution
A few days ago we arrived in NY... trip planned and room booked months in advance... upon arrival at the hotel, which we chose specifically for its location, we are told that our room is not available, that there was a "failure" in the system and that we lost the reservation... it should be clarified that after us approximately 30 people passed by and they were given their room without problem... we arrived at 3pm... as much as we explained that it was a group trip and that changing so far and to a hotel that they chose and of very different category, would ruin our plans... The hotel didn't solve anything.... We ended up frustrated and two hours later moving to the hotel they sent us.... The only thing that helped were two magnificent people, Christopher and Aldo, who listened to us, spoke with empathy and patience, and had GREAT details when they saw us So sad and frustrated (unlike their bosses who were rude for example Quimby, it was the only name I managed to record myself)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: More Elevators
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Palmer, Owner at Park Central Hotel New York
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Egarzaz, We regret the lack of customer service that you received during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing a welcoming, attentive atmosphere, therefore, we were particularly disappointed to hear that you left frustrated. We thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We appreciate knowing how we can do better to serve our guests. We are pleased we were able to welcome you back once your details were sorted. Best regards, Park Central Operations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shireen43 wrote a review Sep 21
London, United Kingdom57 contributions32 helpful votes
The hotel cancelled our booking with just 4 days to go even though we had booked last October. Bumped for a more lucrative UN delegation. To add insult to injury they wanted to put us in a hotel with cell size rooms and rubbish reviews… well if the replacement hotel was so good why didn’t they put the UN delegation in there? Their Customer service was non-existent, no replies to emails, no intention of trying to make things better. A take it or leave it decision, so we decided to leave it. I am surprised that BA from whom we purchased the holiday had no teeth with which to force the hotel to honour their bookings. They don’t care about their customers it all about the money. There are 6 people in our booking who will never spend a dollar in that hotel. If you are wise you will stay clear. There are hundreds of other hotels that will give better service as I can tell you they couldn’t be much worse.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, go to one that values your custom
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Palmer, Owner at Park Central Hotel New York
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Shireen43, We truly appreciate and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience regarding your reservation. While there are many moving parts on the guest experience that are under our control, this situation was certainly unfortunate and we are reviewing how this occurred. We do value our relationship with British Airways. Providing the highest level of hospitality is paramount and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We apologize on behalf of the entire team and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Regards, Park Central Reservations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
W2874PEsandras wrote a review Sep 20
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I would like to perhaps comment on the rooms, the welcome at reception on arrival or the quality of food. However I’m unable to do so as the Park Central cancelled our booking 4 days before we were due to fly out to NYC. The replacement hotel we were offered was not a like for like alternative (on average the room rate was almost 40% less and the room space was 50% smaller). We were offered £50pp, which did not cover our losses in room size, room rate and hotel quality. Additionally there was no apology or contact by the hotel themselves so it really did not feel like a decent level of recompense for the last minute change and downgrade to our booking. We then spent the next 24 hours battling to try and get the hotel to reconsider providing alternative accommodation, Almost all email communications was ignored. Save from a pretty lacklustre response which advised the negative reviews on our replacement hotel (The OYO) were prior to refurbishment, despite one of negative reviews being posted as recently as Sept 2022. We were also advised that The OYO was ‘almost as good’ as the Park Central and a closing comment that it was ‘just fine’. A quick web search found a number of other sister hotels with availability for our dates, so they could have moved us elsewhere if they had really cared about providing customer satisfaction. After much discussion we decided as a point of principle we just couldn’t continue with the holiday and took a collective decision to cancel. We were a group of 6 friends traveling together and we will definitely rebook our trip to NYC. However we will definitely never ever rebook accommodation with the Park Central. The way they behaved is highly questionable and their attitude was beyond atrocious.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Bypass the place if it’s a option on a flight and hotel package.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Palmer, Owner at Park Central Hotel New York
Responded 6 days ago
Dear W2874PEsandras, We truly appreciate and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience regarding your reservation. While there are many moving parts on the guest experience that are under our control, this situation was certainly unfortunate and we are reviewing how this occurred. We do value our relationship with British Airways. Providing the highest level of hospitality is paramount and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We apologize on behalf of the entire team and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Regards, Park Central Reservations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tom F wrote a review Sep 19
1 contribution
Room poor in need of refurbishment - water damage - mould and black spores on ceiling - advised could not guarantee if moved room would be any better - unhelpful front of desk staff - we had paid for upgrade room but did get this refunded - daily facilities fee 38 dollars advises this gives discount to local restaurants however Safrano restaurant advised offer had expired despite checking with hotel all v disappointing!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Palmer, Owner at Park Central Hotel New York
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tom F, Thank you for staying with us and posting a review. We regret to fall short of your expectations with regard to the room. We have alerted our engineering staff to your concerns and will be more proactive addressing items that are beginning to show wear. Thanks for your candid feedback, as this helps us to improve the experience for all of our guests. We hope we have the opportunity to make a much better impression on a future stay. Park Central Operations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hate2Fly wrote a review Sep 19
5 contributions12 helpful votes
I stayed at Park Central for a 5 days this visit. My room showed signs of wear and tear. I saw some changes overall that were positive, the bar is now open and the shop is open again. I had a very pleasant stay again and the front desk team made it particularly great as they are so welcoming and helpful! The hotel is in a perfect location between Times Square and Central Park and 4 blocks away from my client. Thanks again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Palmer, Owner at Park Central Hotel New York
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Hate2Fly, Thank you for this review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall visit. We will certainly address the areas which require more of our attention. We can't wait for the chance to host you again. Regards, Monica Campian Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NorfolkFish wrote a review Sep 19
norfolk36 contributions36 helpful votes
Stayed here for 4 nights travelling with my sister. On arrival we were given a bottle of water and apologies for having to wait for a couple of minutes to check in. We had separate rooms booked and they kindly jigged to put us on the same floor. Amazingly clean spacious rooms . Beds were so comfortable and choice of pillows. Coffee machine asked for which we each got on our second day. Lifts can get busy at times but that’s to be expected with the volume of guests and people checking in and out. Big shout out to Nancy , she is an amazing lady and credit to the hotel . Goes out of her way to accommodate and full of fun . Always greeted us (as she did to everyone) like we were special guests. ( Hey Nancy no to Brussel sprouts 😂) Door men always greeted and friendly and thank you George for sorting our ride to the airport in style. Would definitely recommend this hotel for its location as well. Easy access to tourist attractions and the underground system which was easy to use. Good all round . Thank you park central.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Palmer, Owner at Park Central Hotel New York
Responded 1 week ago
Dear NorfolkFish, Thank you for this fantastic and fun review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate you sharing your experience and hope to have the chance to host you again. Regards, Monica Campian Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison J wrote a review Sep 17
6 contributions8 helpful votes
As the other review just seen we booked a package trip of a lifetime with BA holidays arriving Wednesday. with 5 days notice we were advised by BA that the hotel has cancelled our booking due to security for UNGA next week! Alternative hotel rubbish so have had to cancel. thank you Park Central for ruining my trip and BA for only giving me the price we paid for the hotel in January towards another hotel…impossible
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Erik Palmer, Owner at Park Central Hotel New York
Responded 1 week ago
Dear alisonj549, We truly appreciate and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience regarding your reservation. While there are many moving parts on the guest experience that are under our control, this situation was certainly unfortunate and we are reviewing how this occurred. We do value our relationship with British Airways. Providing the highest level of hospitality is paramount and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We apologize on behalf of the entire team and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Regards, Park Central Reservations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$244 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
park central hotel new york city, park central new york hotel, park central new york city, park central ny hotel
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityMidtown West / Manhattan / Midtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
761
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Park Central Hotel New York
Which popular attractions are close to Park Central Hotel New York?
Nearby attractions include The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) (0.3 miles), Big Apple Jazz Tours (0.2 miles), and Jersey Boys (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Park Central Hotel New York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a fitness center, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Park Central Hotel New York?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Park Central Hotel New York?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Park Central Hotel New York?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Park Central Hotel New York?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Grande Boucherie, Loi Estiatorio, and Patsy's Italian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Park Central Hotel New York?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Park Central Hotel New York have airport transportation?
Yes, Park Central Hotel New York offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Park Central Hotel New York?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Park Central Hotel New York offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Park Central Hotel New York?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.