We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Double Tree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan New York City

569 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10022-7562
Visit hotel website
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$117
Travelocity$117
Orbitz.com$117
Agoda.com$117
TripAdvisor$117
travelup.com$149
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1159)
Room & Suite (619)
Videos (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan New York City is a modern, landmark hotel conveniently located on Lexington Avenue at 51st Street, in the heart of Midtown’s luxurious East Side. The contemporary hotel recently completed a $25 million dollar revitalization project which included all-new guestrooms, suites and meeting space. With it’s ideal Midtown location, the hotel is steps from fashionable Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Bloomingdales, the United Nations and many upscale boutiques. Times Square, Broadway theaters, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Central Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and The Museum of Modern Art are all within walking distance. Grand Central Terminal and all major subway lines are just a few blocks from the hotel. Penn Station/Madison Square Garden and Port Authority Bus Terminal are accessible via quick taxi ride and the hotel is convenient to all (3) area airports. Each of the hotel’s 764 brand-new guestrooms (including 22 suites) features all-new carpeting, furniture and wall treatments plus brand-new bathrooms. Modern in-room amenities include high-speed Internet access, Sweet Dreams by DoubleTree Sleep Experience, 37-inch flat-screen television, MP3 connectivity and brand-new work desk with ergonomic chair. Onsite hotel amenities include a newly renovated lobby with spacious seating area, trendy Met Bar lobby lounge, Met Grill (open for breakfast), complimentary 24-hour Fitness Center, complimentary 24-hour business center, Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk, gift shop, salon and barber shop – all onsite. The hotel has 14,000 square feet of brand-new event space. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self & valet parking is available. The hotel allows pets, with a $50 pet surcharge per stay (under 60 lbs). 24-hour Security onsite.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Salon
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Public wifi
Paid wifi
Paid internet
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Filipino
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Breakfast for 2 and WiFi
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
442Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
53Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
6,412Reviews204Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,810
  • 2,250
  • 1,325
  • 569
  • 459
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
It’s and old mid/low end hotel. The rooms are of a decent size for Manhattan, but these dusty carpets everywhere are really unpleasant, and it is quite noisy also. Old beds of poor quality, you feel the springs. In my low end bathroom, there were 2 bars of soap, but no bath gel and no shampoo. Breakfast is the standard low-end kind of stuff that you get in all the chain hotels in the US, but at least here I managed to find a real Orange that was not pre-cut and I found the staff rather friendly (that’s why I give a 2, not a 1). All this for 350 $: very poor value for money. I will not come back.
Read more
Response from JosephD2909, General Manager at Double Tree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan New York City
Responded today
Dear Guest, thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. We're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. We regret that your room wasn't properly refreshed, and that you were not impressed with our breakfast accommodations. We will address your concerns with our team for improvement. We hope to welcome you back soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
The hotel is in a great location of Manhattan and it is not too far away from Times Square. I arrived around 10 AM and was not able to check in early, which I completely understand. As a customer, you do not really have the right to complain about not getting an early check-in due to previous guests checking out at 12 or possibly having a late check-out. I talked to about 2-3 front desk agents from 10 AM to 2 PM and unfortunately I could not get an early check-in before 3 PM. I came across Vicki, who went above and beyond for me. She did her absolute best in order to check me in. I told her that I only had a few hours of sleep during my flight and she was so polite. She also gave me great recommendations. Vicki also reassured me that if I ever get into trouble, she will be there to assist me. Having front desk agents like Vicki makes guests from out of state feel a lot more comfortable during their stay. Luis and Daniel were also very polite as they assisted me with bags. I am looking forward to celebrating my 3rd year anniversary with my girlfriend here.
Read more
Response from JosephD2909, General Manager at Double Tree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan New York City
Responded Jun 21, 2019
Thank you for the fantastic review! It's outstanding your time with us was so amazing. We love sharing our excellent service with each person who walks through our door. It's team members like Vicki who ensure our guests are getting the best level of service. That's what we like to see! We can't wait until your next visit so we can once again share our high-caliber service with you. Have a beautiful day!
Read more
I have stayed at the various Double Tree hotels in the past and they have been nicer than this one. That being said it was not a terrible hotel. It was in a perfect location for tourists, right on the subway line and a short walk to many attractions. I had a standard room with two double beds. The room was actually extremely spacious compared to almost every other hotel i have stayed at in Manhattan. Since I was traveling with teenagers this was much appreciated as I was worried we would be crammed. I asked for a few items from hospitality and those items were delivered quickly. The worst part of the hotel was that the bathroom had no ventilation. So after even one shower the entire bathroom had water from ceiling to floor. It was so bad that literally water was dripping from the ceiling after each shower. Although this was a bit annoying it definitely didn't ruin our trip. Overall I was happy with our stay.
Read more
Response from JosephD2909, General Manager at Double Tree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan New York City
Responded yesterday
Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us, Ken. We're disappointed that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. We regret your challenges with our bathrooms, and that we couldn't better accommodate you. We will address your concerns with our team for improvement. We hope to welcome you back soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
I currently am a hilton honors member. I checked in at 10:00 am by my phone application. Choose my room, when I arrived at 3:30 I was told the room was not available. I was then put in room 852 -- this room should be taken out of service. The bathroom door would not close, due to the type of door closures. The air condition did not work properly. I paid for an upgrade and this room was a down grade. The room was at the end of the hall and was so small. They had a very small electric tea pot with instant coffee in a paper cup. My fault was that i did not call the front desk and tell them that I would not stay in this unacceptable room. The only good item is that the housekeeping keep the tiny tiny tiny room clean. We were also told that if we wanted our water we would have to come back when the bar was opened to get our water. This is the second time that I have been extremely dissatisfied with a hilton property. This past winter I stayed at the Boca Raton Hilton suites and this hotel had not be refreshed in 15 years (I know because I stayed there when the hotel was new and a Raddison). When I pay New York prices I expect to get a decent hotel room, especially since I was charged and upgrade for the room. I will definitely be looking for a new chain to change my loyalty too.
Read more
Response from JosephD2909, General Manager at Double Tree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan New York City
Responded yesterday
Good afternoon, Bob. Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton Metropolitan and for your loyalty to Hilton as a Hilton Honors member. We have received your complaint about your stay at our property. We strive to offer all of our guests quality service and comfort; it is unfortunate that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. Please be assured that your experience was definitely not the typical Hilton experience that we provide at the hotel. We would love to see you again in the future to share a more positive experience with you. We will be addressing all of your concerns with the team to prevent a similar situation from happening in the future.
Read more
I stayed in the hotel for a day for my visit was made easy and comfortable as well as excellent services provided by Mr.John Johnson throughout my stay. Thanks to him as well as his courteous and approachable nature.
Read more
Response from JosephD2909, General Manager at Double Tree by Hilton Hotel Metropolitan New York City
Responded 2 days ago
Thanks for the perfect review! We're thrilled you had a nice stay with us! It's excellent you appreciated our comfortable rooms and top-notch services. We look forward to hosting you again soon for another fantastic experience.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$145 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doubletree new york city, new york city doubletree, doubletree metropolitan new york, doubletree metropolitan hotel new york city
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityManhattan / Turtle Bay / Midtown East
NUMBER OF ROOMS
764
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing