We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10010-3678
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
$580
View deal
EDITION
$580
$500
View deal
Booking.com
$580
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$580
Priceline$580
CheapTickets$580
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (898)
Room & Suite (204)
Dining (48)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 07/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The New York EDITION
Updated 07/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#113 of 521 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The New York EDITION epitomizes luxury through its personalized service and exquisite detailing. A landmark in itself, this clocktower has been reinvented from the genius of Ian Schrager to accentuate its century-old beginnings through timelessly elegant design. Expansive windows frame 360-degree views of New York City from the hotel’s resident-style accommodations, tasteful event spaces, distinctive bars and Michelin-starred restaurant, The Clocktower.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
464Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
99Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1501Reviews44Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,041
  • 263
  • 127
  • 39
  • 31
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Luxury Global Reviews wrote a review Jul 23
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
So happy this place has re-opened. The lobby bar is one of a kind and so well decorated that you feel like you’re in another country. Service has always been excellent and really nice to see they brought back many members of the bar from before Covid. The Friday and Saturday Dj keeps the mood great and also it’s a great place to talk and be able to talk to people.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Gabrielle Auerbach wrote a review Jul 22
New York City, New York
I had the pleasure of staying at The Edition for my 24th birthday! I originally booked a two bedroom hotel room for my friends and I but upon arriving to the hotel there was a slight mix up with the room. We checked in with Shonella at the front desk and she was quick to resolve the issue! The customer service was unparalleled and they even upgraded our room to the PH because of the mix up. I cannot stress how lovely and accommodating Shonella and her colleagues were. The room was stunning and I can honestly say I had one of the best birthdays. Thank you again Shonella and everyone at The Edition, I will surely be back soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Emily P wrote a review Jun 2021
We had a perfect stay here! It was the best oasis to base ourselves out of for a busy weekend bopping around the city. Peter was particularly helpful and was always willing to help us find the courtesy car, point us in the right direction, and make us feel welcome. All staff (doormen, front desk, room cleaning) were so kind, prompt, and welcoming. The room was beautiful and spacious, and the bathroom was massive! We had a lovely cocktail hour at the bar one night and the waitstaff + bartender were attentive, hospitable, and accommodating. 10/10 will return!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Roderick M wrote a review Jun 2021
I've already spoken with the Director of Operations (Seemed genuinely apologetic about the issues below): -The Hotel does not offer Valet Parking (this may be temporary but was extremely inconvenient for me) -The Hotel does have self-parking, however, it's about .5 miles from the hotel -Staff didn't seem to care if you had to walk from the garage in the rain (no car service offered). I really thought the parking situation and the failure to mitigate during bad weather was an extremely poor taste for a 5-Star Hotel. -Manager and staff seemed overwhelmed with handling check-ins. When I checked in, the manager on duty mentioned they were understaffed (maybe the reason for no greeting or welcome). -Poor quality of sleep due to dirty room (caked dust picture attached) -Treadmill in the gym needs some serious maintenance (both open treadmills was like running on loose blocks) Suggestions for Management: - Be clear on your website about what to expect at your hotel (Don't bait and switch on your customers), clearly state on your website that Valet Service is not available and the parking garage is some distance from the hotel. - Train staff on basic professionalism (being short-staffed is not an adequate excuse for the failure of service) -Train housekeeping on how to properly clean during COVID or just clean in general (Not sure how that much dust above the headboard was missed). -Fix all broken equipment in your gym. These issues would have to be addressed before I plan a return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The New York EDITION, Guest Services / Front Office at The New York EDITION
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings Roderickm684, We sincerely thank you for taking the time to outline this valuable feedback. As you had mentioned, our Director of Operations has already been made aware of your experience, and we have not taken it lightly. I assure you that we are already taking steps to implement better training practices influenced by the feedback that you have shared with us. We regret that your personal parking experience did not meet your expectations. Transparency is of the utmost importance to our hotel. Our website outlines the details of our self-parking and the location of our garage within the "GETTING HERE" tab, linked here. We would very much like to have the opportunity to revive your impression of our hotel. We hope that you will please contact NYCEBFrontOfficeLeadership@editionhotels.com to speak with a member of our leadership team at your earliest convenience.
Read more
Sue2356 wrote a review Jun 2021
New York City, New York
This hotel has gone downhill fast. I used to love staying here but this time nothing seemed to go right. The room, including the closet, was so dark that we had to use our iPhone flashlights to see inside. Housekeeping is non existent and the staff is patronizing.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Make sure that there is basic lighting in the room, closet and bathroom.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The New York EDITION, Guest Services / Front Office at The New York EDITION
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings Sue2356, We sincerely value your feedback and would like to have the opportunity to redeem your impression of our hotel. We hope that you will please contact NYCEBFrontOfficeLeadership@editionhotels.com to speak with a member of our leadership team at your earliest convenience.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$396 - $918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityGramercy-Flatiron / NoMad / Rose Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
271
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The New York EDITION
Which popular attractions are close to The New York EDITION?
Nearby attractions include The Magician at the NoMad Hotel (0.3 miles), ZTrend (0.3 miles), and Escape the Room NYC (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The New York EDITION?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The New York EDITION?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The New York EDITION?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The New York EDITION?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The New York EDITION?
Conveniently located restaurants include Boucherie Union Square, Bagels & Schmear, and Thai Villa.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The New York EDITION?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The New York EDITION?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The New York EDITION?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The New York EDITION offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The New York EDITION?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.