We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gallivant Times Square

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (1412)
Room & Suite (698)
Dining (35)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#478 of 498 hotels in New York City
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.5
Value
3.4
The Gallivant Times Square is your ideal basecamp for Manhattan dining, nightlife, theatre, entertainment, and exploration. From the in-room maps, to the location signs in the lobby, every piece of The Gallivant is meant to inspire adventure and New York City discovery.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles3,436 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Gallivant Times Square boasts an enviable location right in the heart of the city, a detail frequently celebrated by visitors. However, the hotel experience is often dampened by significant noise disruptions, ranging from bustling city sounds to booming nightclub music. While some guests commend the cleanliness of the rooms and the effort of the housekeeping staff, others are less impressed by the dated decor and maintenance issues. The value proposition is further challenged by unexpected fees and charges for amenities that many expect to be included. Reviews are split on service quality, with some praising the staff's politeness, while others encounter less satisfactory interactions. The general atmosphere and room condition suffer from noise, poor upkeep, and a lack of essential features, leading to a mixed bag of guest experiences.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Noisy
Rooms
Unkempt
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
3,436Reviews249Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 686
  • 1,033
  • 766
  • 389
  • 562
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Melissa S wrote a review Apr 7
1 contribution
Everything seemed very nice in the beginning but took an awful turn pretty fast. The room had no air and it was leaking water from the bottom. Only hot water in the bathroom sink. Called and told them about the no air issue. No one came up to look at it. They had us move to a new room. Well no air in there either. The light in the shower didn’t work either. So they move us to another room. Room was bigger, had air and the lights worked. But discovered little flying bugs in the shower. We dealt with it cause we didn’t want to move again. By this time it was 1am!!! My boyfriend informed the man at the front desk and gave him a look as if I was the problem!! Elevators were slow but wasn’t really an issue until one of them I assume broke down and now there’s only one. That was a nightmare!! Now I have to wait 5-7 days for my $150 they charge when u check in!! It is in a convenient location though. The only plus side
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leonel Severino, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gallivant Times Square
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Rest assured, your concerns have been taken seriously and will be addressed with our team to ensure improvements are made. We appreciate your patience and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more positive experience in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Charlotte W wrote a review Apr 7
1 contribution
Hot water was intermittent. WiFi kept cutting out and heating/aircon system was so noisy and would kick in in the middle of the night and wake us up. On our return home we were charged a destination fee which was not clearly pointed out to us (small print). In fact we were told at the reception desk they would take a deposit on the credit card which would be refunded (it was not refunded). This fee was to cover things like the WiFi which was awful and other things like money off vouchers for places to eat etc. which we were not informed of on our arrival. We have disputed paying this fee but they have consistently ignored our emails. Don't bother staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leonel Severino, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gallivant Times Square
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're truly sorry to hear about the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we're committed to addressing these issues promptly to ensure a better experience for all our guests. We apologize for any miscommunication regarding the destination fee and the lack of clarity on amenities. We'll work diligently to improve in these areas and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more enjoyable stay in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
olive j wrote a review Mar 2024
Caernarfon, United Kingdom47 contributions5 helpful votes
First impression was the front door had yellow tape on the glass. Corridors were filthy with frayed carpets everywhere. Lift didn't sound safe. Our room was so small we couldn't open our suitcase anywhere except on the bed, so we asked to change our room and we were charged extra for it. Staff were friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Very heavy traffic noise and central heating noise throughout the night making it very difficult...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leonel Severino, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gallivant Times Square
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We genuinely appreciate your input and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We're pleased to hear that our staff left a positive impression despite the challenges you faced. Rest assured, we'll address the issues you mentioned to ensure a more enjoyable experience for our guests in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
alex g wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
+1
I am insanely disappointed in this hotel. We went for my 30th birthday; a very special night. Upon arriving, we entered a room and it was completely unacceptable. There were lamps on the wall that were missing, the blinds were ripped and ragged and the desk was worn so much that splinters were sticking out. I went to call the front desk to let them know and the phone was unusable, I needed to call the hotel that I was in on my cell phone. All I had to say was this was not acceptable and he said ok i'll give you another room. We went down and he said "ok try this one" as if he knew that it may not be okay. The second room was the same. It was unkept, not clean, worn down, and not worth even a quarter of the price. Plus there was no hot water at all for the shoer. I will leave the photos to let others be the judge for themselves. I believe that this situation should be rectified by the hotel. We wanted to leave and make the night in the city for a big birthday but there was no other place. I strongly do not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leonel Severino, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gallivant Times Square
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're genuinely sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel fell short of expectations, especially on such a significant occasion as your 30th birthday. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Your detailed description of the issues you encountered in your room is deeply concerning, and we assure you that this is not the standard we strive to uphold. Rest assured, we have immediately addressed these concerns with our housekeeping and maintenance teams to ensure that such lapses do not recur in the future. It's disheartening to learn that we were unable to provide you with a satisfactory alternative room promptly. We understand how important it is to feel comfortable and welcomed during your stay, especially on such a special occasion. We will certainly use your feedback as an opportunity to improve our service delivery and ensure better communication between our staff and guests in similar situations. Regarding the lack of hot water, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. This issue has been promptly investigated and rectified to ensure that all our guests enjoy a comfortable and pleasant stay. We genuinely appreciate your decision to share your photos, as they provide us with valuable insights into areas where we need to focus our attention for improvement. While we understand that our apologies cannot change your disappointing experience, we would like to extend a gesture of goodwill as a token of our apologies. Please reach out to our management team at [management email/phone number], and we will do our utmost to make amends for the shortcomings you experienced. Once again, we apologize for failing to meet your expectations and thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and restore your faith in our hotel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dmcd2410 wrote a review Mar 2024
Leeds, United Kingdom23 contributions2 helpful votes
The location is great for Times Square. Having said that get out there see other parts of NYC we got lost in New York and really enjoyed ourselves head for the subway it’s easy to use the hotel staff will Advise you on how to do this. The hotel could do with some renovations but it’s reflected in the price you’re on Times Square. The staff are great however the $300 deposit is concerning I’m still to receive the “deposit” back on my Credit card, I understand some people abuse rooms but $300 is excessive. House keeping in everyday with fresh bedding and towels so that’s a bonus. This place is far from 5 star but they’re not claiming to be if it’s just somewhere to rest your head as it was for us then go ahead. Bell staff can also arrange a car service for you which is reasonably priced we used it for Kennedy and it was $95. If I was coming back to Manhattan on a budget I would use the place again, please ignore the terrible reviews I expect they are wanting more for their money than NYC offers. When it’s $15 for a pint a room for $150 is good value.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Transfer times can be longer than expected so give yourself 1 1/2 hours to get to JFK not sure...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from robert napolitano, General Manager at The Gallivant Times Square
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hey dmcd2410, thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review! We can't wait to see you and your family when you return to the Gallivant. please contact me directly through email so I can look into deposit situation for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Heidi J wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
Location great, staff also great...everything else terrible! The Gallivant is rated as three stars but they have a nightclub next door that literally rattled the bed I was sleeping in as well as music so loud I could hear it on the fourth floor and although they claim there isn't anything they can do about it, they have a door connecting it to the hotel. You would expect to have things like washcloths and hand towels but all we got were bath sized towels, we were there 4 nights and they claimed they were having issues with their linens provider. It would have been nice to have a small counter in the bathroom to put at least a toothbrush on, a hook on the bathroom door, more than one chair (and not a computer chair) in a room that sleeps four but no. The hotel is in need of a refresh for sure (their pictures on their website do not show how rundown and downright gloomy the rooms are) and the elevators are not big enough, super slow and at one point we got stuck in one of them. My family and I had two rooms and the WIFI only worked in one of them and not at all in the lobby. Lighting was very dark in both rooms. I will never stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from robert napolitano, General Manager at The Gallivant Times Square
Responded 3 weeks ago
We always aim to deliver a great experience and are sad when we don't meet expectations. Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will use the feedback to improve and ensure this doesn't happen again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenilyn wrote a review Mar 2024
Tennessee2 contributions
This place needs some SERIOUS renovations. It holds a lot of potential and it’s sad to see the owners have let it slip. I had my own personal discrepancies;however, my experience was uplifted by the staff. Leo and Aziz are a power dynamic in that hotel and aspire to carry the perfect energy the hotel needs. Leo is a very compassionate, high energy, people person. As a manager he looks from the inside looking out and the outside looking in. If there is a problem at your stay I can ensure he’s on top of it to fix it asap. Aziz is very collected and kind making the check in and check out process smooth sailing. His mannerism and kindness makes all the difference. My husband and I loved coming down from our rooms to see their faces and chat for a few! If you plan to book make sure you are reading and viewing properly as my first room was maybe the size of my body as a whole. Avoid third party sources! Side note: Balconies are inaccessible from the rooms if that’s a selling point for you similar to how it is for me! I do plan to return for the people and the absolutely amazing location: however, I hope when I do that their will be some renovations taking place. Don’t take your frustrations out on the staff and direct it to management to make a change. Thank you Leo and Aziz for a blissful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Hurley’s Saloon next store is amazing! Take advantage of the location being so near. Ask for Matt!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from robert napolitano, General Manager at The Gallivant Times Square
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Climber38450822066! Thank you for your kind feedback; your words are very much appreciated. Have a great day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisa161187 wrote a review Mar 2024
Ashford, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
Dont believe everything bad you read! Check in was seamless, staff were friendly and guided us where to go to our room, bed was slightly small so we requested to change to a twin room, this was resolved within minutes and room was lovely and clean with a fair amount of space, was on a higher floor so room was slightly warm. The hotel is slightly dated and in need of a lick of paint but this is reflected in the price. Location is 100/10 absolutely amazing and a stones throw from the main part of times square and some fantastic restaurants around the area. Room was cleaned daily and housekeeping staff were lovely. Can be noisy at night as to be expected in a city centre but earplugs solved the problem and beds were really comfy. Check out was easy enough, taxi to the airport was organised well by the staff and they offer a bag holding service so we could venture out while we waited for it. Would definitely return to this hotel, excellent value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from robert napolitano, General Manager at The Gallivant Times Square
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Lisa161187! Thank you for your kind feedback; your words are very much appreciated. Have a great day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mia h wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
After reading multiple reviews, we were apprehensive, but I can’t fault this hotel. Yes the rooms are tired and could do with updating in places, but they were clean and beds very comfortable. Staff are friendly, location of the hotel is great. We were worried about the ‘club’ that is attached to the hotel but it didn’t disturb us at all, the streets are noisy as you would expect in the middle of NYC. Would definitely stay in this hotel again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from robert napolitano, General Manager at The Gallivant Times Square
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi T7859VAmiah! Thank you for your kind feedback; your words are very much appreciated. Have a great day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
catherinehugh91 wrote a review Feb 2024
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Booked a romantic long weekend in New York with my husband through a tour operator in uk! Did not expect to turn up at this DUMP! I am well travelled and have stayed in many different types of accommodation over the years and this hotel is horrendous. I wouldn’t even call it a hotel it’s a hostel. With most clientele school trips. Every single person I witnessed checking in during my stay either checked back out or asked for the room to be upgraded. We had no hot water for our whole trip and the air conditioning blew hot air out! The maintanance fixed it and it lasted A couple of hours! I would dread to think of the heat in the summer months as I didn’t sleep for the entire trip, the wallpaper is hanging off in rooms and hallway, carpets are hanging by a thread with huge holes everywhere. Rooms are dirty with extreme updates needed. Reception staff are unfriendly and unhelpful and completely unsurprised at any complaint! They probably have so many a day! I would avoid avoid avoid this hotel! Only positive is that it’s right on time square. Trip advisor should request more recent pictures of this dingy disgusting hostel! Absolutely no way it’s a 3* hotel it’s more like a 1*
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfredo Inoa, General Manager at The Gallivant Times Square
Responded Feb 29, 2024
Hi Catherinehugh91, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Gallivant. We appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience and we will use this feedback and share it with our team to improve our services. We hope that you will consider visiting us in the future so please do not hesitate to contact us and we will show you a much more improved side of the Gallivant. Thank you,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New York City area.
PRICE RANGE
$181 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western president hotel new york, best western hotel nyc, best western nyc, best western new york city, new york city best western, best western president new york
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
TRYP by Wyndham New York Times Square
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityTimes Square / Theater District / Theater District / Times Square / Midtown West / Manhattan / Midtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
336
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GALLIVANT TIMES SQUARE $139 ($̶2̶6̶1̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - New York City

Frequently Asked Questions about The Gallivant Times Square
Which popular attractions are close to The Gallivant Times Square?
Nearby attractions include Broadway (0.2 miles), Times Square (0.1 miles), and Come From Away (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Gallivant Times Square?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Gallivant Times Square?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Gallivant Times Square?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Gallivant Times Square?
Conveniently located restaurants include Angelina Bakery Times Square, Dos Caminos, and Sicily.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Gallivant Times Square?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Gallivant Times Square?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (3.7 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (3.7 miles), and Hamilton Park (1.8 miles).
Is The Gallivant Times Square accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.