We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Paul Hotel NYC

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (548)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (369)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct For Lowest Price!
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#400 of 499 hotels in New York City
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
3.9
Value
3.7
THE PAUL is located in New York's vibrant NoMad neighborhood, nestled between Madison Square Park and the Flower District. Featuring distinctive architecture, comfortable guest rooms, a welcoming front plaza, and rooftop bar, THE PAUL provides a complete guest experience. Throughout the property playful and inventive design touches, like access to PAUL's personal Travel Journal, reflect the creative spirit of the neighborhood.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Photo copier / fax In business center
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
First aid kit
Infirmary
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Separate dining area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!
1312Reviews78Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 411
  • 404
  • 222
  • 107
  • 168
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sam wrote a review Nov 2023
Denton, United Kingdom3 contributions
After reading reviews on this hotel before we booked we noticed they had quite a few bad ones… thought we’d give them the benefit of the doubt as I believe you shouldn’t solely go off other’s experiences. However, here’s another bad one… We didn’t even get the chance to come to the hotel as we’ve just had an email 6 weeks before our stay to tell us the hotel cannot fulfil our booking. Which ironically was amongst reviews we’d read prior booking. Disappointing really.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Margaret S wrote a review Jun 2022
Brampton, Canada6 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This is a perfect location to tour New York. The beds were vey comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a king bed and the room was definitely tight but well laid out and since we were not in the room much it was perfect. We had a accessibility room and it had a perfect shower, the only complaint is there is only 1 mirror high above the sink. This is not accessible and the mirror in the closet is on the wrong door. This should be corrected. also the shower curtain smelled and got worse over the days. this is not changed after each stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Paul Hotel, Owner at The Paul Hotel NYC
Responded Oct 3, 2022
Dear Margaret, Thank you for taking for sharing your experience with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vivian H wrote a review Mar 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia1 contribution3 helpful votes
The Paul NYC is a terrible hotel. The hotel claims to be non-smoking but when we checked in we found that the room we were assigned to had a strong cigarette smell that almost knocked us out. We then had to scramble late at night to find a new hotel to stay at since there were no other rooms available. The front desk employee assured as that we would most likely get a refund as this was not our fault. I am severely sensitive to the cigarette smell and there was no ways a bit of air freshener would have solved the problem. To this day, the Paul NYC has been refusing to get back to us on the refund. They also continuously claims that the manage is out of reach. On top of our issues, the hotel seems to also have other maintenance issues as we overheard other guests complaining about incorrect room assignment and broken AC. I would suggest all other travelers to avoid staying here. This place is a scam.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pam B wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Stayed here last September and have never experienced such poor customer service. Air went out every night around 1 am, was locked out of our room for 16 hours through the night without any sort of compensation. My daughter had meds in the room that she needs to prevent seizures and they still didn't get us back in our room and when I asked for complementary water I was told I could buy some from the vending machine. I was told if I bought pajamas for the night they would reimburse me which never happened even though I gave them receipts twice. I would never recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John V wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The hotel didn't fulfill my reservation. On the day that I was arriving at the hotel, they emailed me: "Please be advised that The Paul Hotel is closed to the Public and unfortunately we have to cancel your reservation. Thank you, -- Front Desk Reservations Agent Reservations and Customer Relations Desk 32 West 29th St New York, NY 10001 T: (212) 204-5750 F: (212) 204-5761 reservations@thepaulnyc.com www.thepaulnyc.com" There was no indication on the hotel website or any travel booking site that the hotel was closed. The hotel did not give me a refund for the canceled reservation. Instead, they referred me to a corporate hotline number where I would have to explain the situation and hope that the refund eventually arrived. When i did call, it ultimately was a waste of time because the agent needed to call the hotel to confirm the cancelation, but the hotel was not picking up the phone. I recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to pay for something, not receive it, and spend on the phone hours on the phone chasing a remote possibility of being paid back. I also recommend the hotel for people who enjoy being stranded in NY and tasked with finding alternative accommodations at the last minute.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
770reginad wrote a review Feb 2023
Amarillo, Texas21 contributions12 helpful votes
Sheets were dirty. Had a man’s sock left in my granddaughters bed. Staff did not seem at all concerned. Then they messed up the booking entirely canceling one of our rooms. Wound up leaving there since I had no room and going to the Hilton Garden Inn a few blocks away. Should of booked there from the start. I will never stay at The Paul again and it has made me rethink staying at any Choice property.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Caitlin A wrote a review Feb 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Paul Hotel NYC and the Tryp by Wyndham. I cannot convey in words how horrific your customer service has been, you have provided me with the single most TRAUMATIC travelling experience of my life, and I have never been so utterly let down by an accommodation. I had a reservation with the Paul Hotel NYC from the 17th of February to the 20th of February booked for months. Upon arriving to the hotel we were greeted by a closed sign and by 20 armed military officers who notified us that the hotel was CLOSED and was no longer in service. We received absolutely zero communication from the Hotel about this. We were told by the military officers that our reservation had been transferred to another hotel the Tryp by Wyndham. Upon arriving to the Tryp by Wyndham, we were notified by the cold, cruel, unhelpful and unsympathetic customer service staff at the Tryp by Wyndham that they would not honour our booking and simply would not help us. The Paul hotel was unreachable, their phone lines were cut and were not reachable by any means, and the Tryp by Wyndham owned by the same company - refused to help us and the front of desk staff refused to put us in touch with the manager and simply said that the hotel was 100% booked. The Tryp by Wyndham front of house staff treated us with absolute cruelty and contempt, I am shocked and abhorred by this experience and treatment with both hotels, and I would discourage anyone from ever booking with either. Not only did this experience leave us stranded in a foreign city but resulted in extensive financial damages as we had to book several ubers to transport us from hotel to hotel and to book a last minute accommodation at twice the price of our original booking with the Paul Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jimgreenleaf2010 wrote a review Feb 2023
Randolph, Vermont35 contributions25 helpful votes
I arrived at 7 PM having caught a train into Penn Stn. When I got to the Hotel there was no hotel employee to be found. I was informed by a man in an army uniform that all the guests from the Paul had been transferred to another hotel about 8 blocks away. I was also told that the Paul Hotel had been being used to house people long-term since last November. No effort was made to contact me before my arrival event though this was a long-standing situation. No effort was made to provide transportation to the new hotel. I tried calling the new hotel , but there was no answer. Fortunately there was a room for us at the new hotel. I had rented the King terrace at the Paul, instead of a room with a view I got a room with none. They were not equivalent. I think this is fraud, a “bait and switch”. I will be pursuing a refund
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t give these people your money
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Sharma, Owner at The Paul Hotel NYC
Responded Mar 31, 2023
Dear valued guest, We apologize for any inconvenience and confusion you experienced during your recent stay with us. We understand that the situation with the closure of the Paul Hotel and the transfer of guests to another hotel was unexpected and disruptive. We also understand that you were not contacted prior to your arrival and that this caused additional stress and frustration. We want to assure you that we take your concerns seriously and will be investigating the situation to understand what went wrong and how we can prevent similar situations in the future. We regret that we were not able to provide you with the room you had booked, and we understand your disappointment in not receiving a room with a view. Please know that we do not engage in any fraudulent activities and that we did not intend to provide you with a lower quality room than what you had booked. We appreciate your feedback and will be reviewing our processes and procedures to ensure that we are doing everything we can to provide our guests with the best possible experience. Please contact us directly to discuss further how we can to resolve the situation to your satisfaction. Sincerely, The Paul Hotel NYC
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Apple Busakorn wrote a review Feb 2023
Bangkok, Thailand31 contributions28 helpful votes
Normally I am not a complaining type, but this is a bit much!! I am a platinum member of Choice Hotels. I booked a room using my points at the Paul NYC checking on 1 Feb 2023 for 1 night before I arrived very late and on 2 Feb I will go upstate to visit my dear friend! I was travelling from BKK to NYC and during my layover, my flight to NYC got delayed from arriving JFK at 11:50pm of 1 Feb to 02:30am of 2 Feb instead. I called the hotel during my layover right away to inform them about my late arrival. Everything seemed ok and the hotel person confirmed me the reservation. When I got to hotel at 4:30am, the front desk told me my booking was canceled because the hotel had other activities booked. They moved all paid guests to the hotel nearby and it has been going on like this already for 1 week. Since I booked using points, they just canceled it without further explanations or any assistance on my booking. It was -4c outside...lol I asked if they can check me in at the other choices hotel near by, I just need to rest for few hours. The hotel people didnt even bother to call customer service to check. I called the customer service. The lady at the end of the line was very helpful but it took so long to find the answer. They want to move me to Brooklyn (I paid for the taxi myself) and I have to pay early check-in on top....blah..blah. Another hour passed (almost 6am) so I asked the front desk at Paul if I can leave my luggage for few hours and using the toilet and the answer was no. It is 6:30am and I found an excellent luggage service via Bounce nearby. I drop my luggage at the Premier Best Western hotel (Bounce) and use the toilet. Their service was flawless!!! I went right to work at Starbucks after my 24-hour flight and got a lot of things done instead of sleeping at the unfriendly hotel! It is ashamed that Choice Hotels advertise so much about their privileges program and this is the way they treat the customers. This is not the problem about spending money, but it is the business principle how they should run the business.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Sharma, Owner at The Paul Hotel NYC
Responded Feb 9, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for such a constructive review of your stay at TRYP by Wyndham. Our ultimate endeavor is to make our guests comfortable with the best offerings and its rather unfortunate that we haven't succeeded in meeting your expectations. My sincere apologies for the reported inconvenience. I will make it a point to take this up with my team and address the details of your feedback better. I hope you give us another opportunity to welcome you back for a more memorable experience at TRYP by Wyndham. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael D wrote a review Jan 2023
37 contributions6 helpful votes
The location is great. It’s two blocks to the 28th Subway Station making so easy to get anywhere in NYC via the subway. The stay was very friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and the property was very clean. The hotel is affordable and there are shops and restaurants nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Sharma, Owner at The Paul Hotel NYC
Responded Feb 9, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful appraisal and patronage towards The Paul Hotel. Designed to cater the needs of our leisure as well as business travelers, our hotel offers amenities as well as comfort that is only second to a home. We take immense pride in our hotel and I am glad the same was to your liking. I will definitely pass on your feedback to the team. Many thanks once again and It would be our delight to welcome you back to The Paul Hotel. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New York City area.
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Paul
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityGramercy-Flatiron / Tenderloin / NoMad / Midtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PAUL HOTEL NYC - Prices & Reviews (New York City)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Paul Hotel NYC
Which popular attractions are close to The Paul Hotel NYC?
Nearby attractions include Manhattan Skyline (0.2 miles), Empire State Building (0.2 miles), and The Magician New York (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Paul Hotel NYC?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Paul Hotel NYC?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Paul Hotel NYC?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Paul Hotel NYC?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Paul Hotel NYC?
Conveniently located restaurants include Johny's Luncheonette, Her Name Is Han, and Stumptown Coffee Roasters.
Does The Paul Hotel NYC offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Paul Hotel NYC?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to The Paul Hotel NYC?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (2.7 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (2.7 miles), and Hamilton Park (2.2 miles).
Does The Paul Hotel NYC have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Paul Hotel NYC accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.