The Paul Hotel NYC

The Paul Hotel NYC

Traveler (548)
Panorama of the 1101 Manhattan King at The Paul Hotel
360
Panoramas (17)
Water Tower Double
Room & Suite (369)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#397 of 499 hotels in New York City
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
3.9
Value
3.7
THE PAUL is located in New York's vibrant NoMad neighborhood, nestled between Madison Square Park and the Flower District. Featuring distinctive architecture, comfortable guest rooms, a welcoming front plaza, and rooftop bar, THE PAUL provides a complete guest experience. Throughout the property playful and inventive design touches, like access to PAUL's personal Travel Journal, reflect the creative spirit of the neighborhood.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Photo copier / fax In business center
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
First aid kit
Infirmary
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Separate dining area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand movies
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi

Location

32 W 29th St, New York City, NY 10001-4205
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
LaGuardia Airport
Teterboro Airport
28th St
2 minNew York City Subway
1,312Review78Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 411
  • 404
  • 222
  • 107
  • 168
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jg1876 wrote a review Jan 2020
Baltimore, Maryland95 contributions57 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a night and found the hotel to be very accommodating. It was perfectly located near several subway lines and we could also easily walk in either direction to get to various destinations. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the staff were very helpful. I was especially a fan of the minimalist design in the bathroom and the view from our room - hello Empire State building!

When our hot water didn't turn on initially, we called the front desk and they immediately sent a hotel engineer to our room who was able to resolve the issue quickly. Super cold days and old pipes sometimes take some time to get up and running. We also really liked that there were only a few rooms on each floor.

Overall, the price was right for us and we would happily stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from mgmt2017, Guest Service & Sales Associate at The Paul Hotel NYC
Responded Jan 23, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. It is our great joy to read such reviews because it is evidence that we have achieved our goal of providing an excellent experience for our guests. We are so grateful for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. We'd also like to encourage you to visit us in the warmer months when our open rooftop terrace bar is open and you can enjoy wonderful views of the Empire State Building along with some refreshing drinks or food. We also invite you to check out our website for the best available deals. We look forward to seeing you again! Warm Regards, Aleksandra Guest Service & Sales Associate The Paul Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GoWest wrote a review Jan 2020
Richmond, Virginia155 contributions170 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice hotel in a good location sort of off Fifth Avenue. The area is trendily billed as Nomad (NOrth of MADison Square Park, which is not the same thing as Madison Square Garden) but locals would call this Chelsea adjacent or just "near the Empire State Building" (which isn't the name of a neighborhood).

Rooms are small even by NYC standards but they are well designed to make the most of the limited space and they are well maintained.

The hotel presents as a boutique hotel but it’s really more of a tourist hotel with some boutique elements.

Plenty of hot water for your shower.

My room had a direct view of the Empire State Building.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SharmaJohn, Guest Service Associate at The Paul Hotel NYC
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed our central location and the view from your window. We are sorry that you did not find our room spacious enough but we are glad you liked the design and it is apparent that your overall experience was enjoyable. We hope that you will be visiting us again in the future. We invite you to visit us in the warmer months so that you can enjoy our rooftop bar. Please check out our website for available seasonal deals. Thank you for being our guest. Yours sincerely, The Paul Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
damarisghetes wrote a review Nov 2020
Rochester, New York1 contribution2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Originally booked a 4.5 star hotel in NYC. When I arrived, the hotel was unexpectedly shut down and boarded up. I was not notified about this AT ALL. This was quite disappointing. On the door there was a note telling guests to go to The Paul (its "sister hotel")- saying that it was of "equal quality stars"... and honestly, I beg to differ. The one thing they did that I do appreciate is give us two rooms instead of one, but that was because the original room I booked need to accommodate myself and my four teenage kids. However the rooms were poorly designed. The sliding doors to the bathrooms had wide gaps and never could fully close. This didn't allow any of us to have the privacy we needed when using the restroom. And because our bed were so close to the bathrooms, and the lights inside there were motion sensored, they would constantly turn on when we moved in our sleep. So I would constantly have to get up in the middle of the night to turn them off. Unbelievable. In addition, the bathtub drain was faulty. It never fully closed, so I couldn't take a bath the first night. This was a BIG problem because I usually book a hotel room FIRST on whether or not there is a bathtub due to the severe body pains and headaches I suffer from. I use baths to help me cope. In addition, we could get the shower to work and needed a plumber to come get that fixed.

This was not my favorite $525 + $100 on parking for 2 nights I've ever spent.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Paul Hotel, Owner at The Paul Hotel NYC
Responded Dec 11, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us and our future guests. We would like to apologie for failing to exceed your expectations. We will be using your feedback to make future improvements to ensure all our guests have a good stay. We do hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Best Regards, The Paul Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raymond Gonzales wrote a review Oct 2020
San Francisco, California186 contributions154 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Paul Hotel is unique and trendy.  Located in Chelsea next to fantastic places to eat and drink, the Paul Hotel is perfectly situated in a fantastic area of New York CIty.  The rooms were on par with the latest trends and had outlets on both sides of the bed to plug in items to charge.  My view was absolutely amazing on the 16th floor. The staff are courteous as well.  I think one of the best things I noticed was the constant cleaning the crew did in the elevators and lobby to ensure a safe environment for patrons.  This means a lot me.  The beds are very comfortable and there is a mini fridge in the room to keep some drinks cold.  Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and will come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Sharma, Owner at The Paul Hotel NYC
Responded Nov 24, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful appraisal and patronage towards The Paul Hotel. We are enthralled to know that you had an amazing time and our specialized services and facilities exceeded your expectations. Designed to cater the needs of our leisure as well as business travelers, our hotel offers amenities as well as comfort that is only second to a home. We take immense pride in our hotel and I am glad the same was to your liking. I will definitely pass on your kind words of appreciation to the team, also ensure they get recognized for making your experience more memorable. Many thanks once again and It would be our delight to welcome you back to The Paul Hotel. Best Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura L wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Love this gem find!! Reminds me of the boutique hotels in Paris where my husband and I had our honeymoon. Room was clean, neat and modern with a great view of the Empire State Building. Staff friendly, courteous and professional. Unique refillable shampoo, conditioner and body wash is a clever idea and much better than the small tiny bottles most other hotels give you. Has a warm comfy feel as you enter and location is excellent for shopping, restaurants, and public transportation. Will definitely return and recommend to family and friends!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Sharma, Owner at The Paul Hotel NYC
Responded Nov 24, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful appraisal and patronage towards The Paul Hotel. We are enthralled to know that you had an amazing time and our specialized services and facilities exceeded your expectations. Designed to cater the needs of our leisure as well as business travelers, our hotel offers amenities as well as comfort that is only second to a home. We take immense pride in our hotel and I am glad the same was to your liking. I will definitely pass on your kind words of appreciation to the team, also ensure they get recognized for making your experience more memorable. Many thanks once again and It would be our delight to welcome you back to The Paul Hotel. Best Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Garethjones80 wrote a review Jan 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom34 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 4 nights on a city break, booked it mainly due to it's central location and ease of transport links. Was very pleased with my choice on checking in, the room was compact but nothing felt cramped. All the things you need are there and work well (well though out things too like USB sockets - no need for adaptors for phone charging, etc.) Nice comfy well sized bed and super helpful staff. Room was superb value for money and I would definitely recommend, will definitely look to stay here again next time we're in NYC.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from mgmt2017, Guest Service & Sales Associate at The Paul Hotel NYC
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and thank you for your generous rating. We are so happy to know that you liked our central location and proximity to public transport. We look forward to having you with us again in the future. Warm Regards, Aleksandra Guest Service & Sales Associate The Paul Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Completely unprofessional service, service with a scowl, impatient front desk. The staff they have working in customer-facing positions at the Paul Hotel have no business dealing with the public.

I was treated as a nuisance rather than a guest from the moment I checked in. After mostly neutral aloofness, the desk attendant working the morning shift was outright hostile.

I purchased the breakfast buffet for myself and two young children. I was double charged for the breakfast, and when I pressed the issue, the desk attendant was dismissive and told me to “be patient”. I was simply trying to avoid being ripped off. After breakfast, I desk-checked our small overnight bag, but you’d think this request was a major imposition. Upon returning to retrieve our bag, the desk attendant, obviously smarting from being called out on her error earlier, “lost” our claim ticket and told me to “go find your bag”. So I was told to enter the bag room and find my bag amidst a sea of other people’s gross luggage.

I called to speak with the GM several times in the days and weeks following, both directly at the hotel and Ascend’s corporate, to discuss my experience. The GM can’t be bothered to respond, so customer service and guest relations are clearly not a priority. So learn from my experience if the hotel’s management won’t, and stay somewhere else.

I look forward to the gaslighting non-response response coming from their social media person as a reply to this review.

Stay away from this place if you expect NYC levels of service. You won’t get it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bibi Haniff, Owner at The Paul Hotel NYC
Responded Mar 27, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay to the fullest. We are especially saddened and surprised to learn that you were disappointed with our service. Our team members usually do their best to ensure a great experience for our guests and we're sorry that we clearly missed it this time. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future to provide you with a great experience. Yours, The Paul Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FoodSherpas.com wrote a review Nov 2021
Santiago, Chile121 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Avoid this hotel. You get that you pay for abs while the rates are low, the quality of the rooms and the service are even poorer.

Expect multiple missing screws in items like towel racks, and housekeeping to skip your room even when you leave the “please clean” sign on the door.

But my biggest issue is the lack of poor management by hotel manager and horrific customer service.

I had laundry that needed to be cleaned abs placed it in the provided laundry bags. I asked the housekeeper where I should bring it to get them cleaned.

The housekeeper offered to take them herself.

But when I asked the front desk the next day on the status of my laundry, they said they never received it.

They lost it.

The value of the contents were over $250 and the hotel manager, despite the Paul Hotel being at fault, offered exactly zero compensation. Nothing.

Even worse, he blamed me by saying I “didn’t follow the procedures”. But if your employee is being asked a question by a guest, and the employee makes a mistake, it’s the hotels fault.

Do yourself a favor and find another cheap hotel if you’re looking to save money. In the end, it’s nit worth the horrible service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Find another inexpensive hotel and avoid this one
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Sharma, Owner at The Paul Hotel NYC
Responded Dec 7, 2021
Respected Hotel Thank you so much for your comments Please note we use the dry cleaner around the corner Now in order for the guest to get the laundry cleaned either guest's tales thems selves to their shop or we can call the dry cleaner they will come & pick, then get it washed, later on, bring it back It is a simple process I do not where the misunderstanding happened & became so complicated We feel bad & we apologize for this mix-up In any event, to keep you happy, we are willing to offer you a 10% discount on your future stay with us whenever your trip will be to New York Once again thank you for choosing The Paul Hotel Regards /John Sharma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jordan M wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Good for what it is. If you are looking for an efficfficency hotel without a lot of frills this is good for the price. It was clean and in a safe location.
However, they are understaffed or the staff is very new. Took about 15 minutes to check into two rooms without a line.
They also charged $150 upfront for incidentals per room that they said would be refunded in 7-10 days after checkout. I could not find anything about this charge on the website or booking receipt. It was frustrating to have to pay and extra $300 that we weren't planning on spending. Out key cards also stopped working halfway through our stay. Several outlets in the room didn't work. No fans in the shower. We were charged $5 for bags to be held which was communicated before the stay but was still odd.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Understand what you are getting before you arrive. It was impossible to get them to answer the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John Sharma, Owner at The Paul Hotel NYC
Responded Nov 28, 2021
Respected Guest Thank you for your review Please note normal check-in process is Ten Minutes per guest per room Incidental charges are charged in the entire hospitality industry This amount of $150.00 per room is held on your credit card This hold gets released the day the guest checks out, To put the money back into your account is depending on your credit card processor means on your bank, To avoid all this delay Guest can always pay by cash & we will return this deposit in the same way cash Last no one ever has complained concerning outlet We will definitely look into this issue Please note we want you a guest to enjoy your stay with us Once again thank you so much for choosing our hotel We are looking forward to serving you again whenever your trip will be to NewYork Regards /John Sharma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jillyembl wrote a review Jan 2020
Walthamstow, United Kingdom30 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Reasonable price for a good location
Lots of building works opposite hotel so it was very noisy . The heating was loud and intermittent but staff offered to try to fix it so that was good. Hotel was clean and staff were friendly and helpful.
Was really disappointed that the sky bar was closed we were looking forward to having a cocktail over looking the Empire State. We feel the hotel should have made it clear that it wasn’t available
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If there are rooms to the rear of hotel take one of those
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SharmaJohn, Guest Service & Sales Associate at The Paul Hotel NYC
Responded Jan 31, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for this feedback. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay to the fullest because of the noise and the rooftop bar. We hope you will visit us again in the warmer months and enjoy the rooftop bar and provide us with the opportunity to deliver even better service and accommodations in the future. We're glad to know that you enjoyed our service and we look forward to your next stay. Yours sincerely, Aleksandra Guest Service & Sales Associate The Paul Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TaranveerSingh asked a question Jul 2021
Mumbai3 contributions1 helpful vote
Does one need a key card to enter the hotel/elevators?
Answer from John Sharma
New York City, New York3 helpful votes
Greetings - there are no hidden fees and no resort fees. - The Paul
Casey T asked a question Jan 2020
Blaenavon, United Kingdom4 contributions
Is there a iron available in the king rooms?
Answer from John Sharma
New York City, New York3 helpful votes
Respected Guest Iron Board & Iron is part of amenities It is located in closet in your room Regards
jasmine83 asked a question Aug 2019
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom31 contributions28 helpful votes
When will the building work opposite the hotel be finished?
Answer from cfreedma
Sydney, Australia198 contributions181 helpful votes
I didn't find it particularly noisy, at least for New York.
770reginad wrote a tip Feb 2023
Amarillo, Texas31 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away!"
Read full review
Jimgreenleaf2010 wrote a tip Feb 2023
Randolph, Vermont32 contributions25 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t give these people your money"
Read full review
zoekr2015 wrote a tip Jan 2023
Essex, United Kingdom52 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Your best to walk or get a train , the roads are gridlocked, would take hours to get anywhere in a taxi"
Read full review
Simon W wrote a tip Jan 2023
Falkirk, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure they have confirm room with in in person "
Read full review
Pauline S wrote a tip Sep 2022
Hamburg, Germany2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I don't imagine that there are any good rooms available."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New York City area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Paul
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityGramercy-Flatiron / Tenderloin / NoMad / Midtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PAUL HOTEL NYC

Frequently Asked Questions about The Paul Hotel NYC
Which popular attractions are close to The Paul Hotel NYC?
Nearby attractions include Manhattan Skyline (0.2 miles), Empire State Building (0.2 miles), and Museum of Sex (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Paul Hotel NYC?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Paul Hotel NYC?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Paul Hotel NYC?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Paul Hotel NYC?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Paul Hotel NYC?
Conveniently located restaurants include Johny's Luncheonette, Hangawi, and Her Name Is Han.
Does The Paul Hotel NYC offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Paul Hotel NYC?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to The Paul Hotel NYC?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (2.7 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (2.7 miles), and Governors Island National Monument (4.2 miles).
Does The Paul Hotel NYC have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Paul Hotel NYC accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All New York City HotelsNew York City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New York CityHotels near The Paul Hotel NYC
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars