We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Rooms NYC Chelsea

Save
Traveler (52)
Room & Suite (47)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good38%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“shared bathroom”(8 reviews)
“penn station”(14 reviews)
“shower room”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Concierge
Pets Allowed
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
46
34
5
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
46
34
5
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroompenn stationshower roomgreat locationwalking distance from times squaremadison square gardenhand towelsnew yorkreception areafree wifihot waterbars and restaurantsnight staybed was very comfortablewould definitely stay here againhosteltoilet
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 92 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2018

The greatest thing about this hotel is it's location ! it is 10 minutes walk from PENN STATION and 20 minutes walk from times squre & the great and kind staff who would help you in everything . the only thing i didnt like is...More

Thank Sandra2955
Response from cityroomsnyctsq, Guest Relations Manager at City Rooms NYC ChelseaResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback, our team appreciates it a lot! We're very happy to hear you found the location of City Rooms NYC Chelsea perfect for exploring the city.

Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

Great location right next to Madison square garden! And a good price for how much it was, compared to all the other accommodation we looked at. The room we had wasn’t massive compare to some of the others but it was really stylish, clean and...More

Thank Sarah M
Response from cityroomsnyctsq, Guest Relations Manager at City Rooms NYC ChelseaResponded March 13, 2018

Hello Sarah, Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful feedback, we appreciate it a lot! We're looking forward to welcoming you back on your future travels.

Reviewed January 16, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with my son on a recent overnight trip into the city. It was cheap, convenient and clean. Everything we needed without costing an arm and a leg. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks for a great experience.

Thank Marie C
Response from cityroomsnycsoho, Guest Relations Manager at City Rooms NYC ChelseaResponded January 18, 2018

Hello Marie, Thank you for your wonderful review, we're happy to hear you had a great stay! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to NYC.

Reviewed November 11, 2017

If your a fan of brick and are used to staying in budget digs then City is it. Mind you this is for a more younger crowd but I found as an old fart it quite charming because I remember when. The staff are quite...More

2  Thank Homer T
Response from cityroomsnycsoho, Guest Relations Manager at City Rooms NYC ChelseaResponded November 17, 2017

Hello Homer, Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback! We're glad to hear you were happy with your stay and hope to welcome you back!

Reviewed October 27, 2017

Watch out, folks, if you book a room with a bunk bed. No window, stale air, and a cheap portable air conditioner that is so loud if you want any ventilation. This is little better than the worst sort of hostel, but it bills itselfs...More

Thank O M
Response from cityroomsnycsoho, Guest Relations Manager at City Rooms NYC ChelseaResponded November 2, 2017

Hello Omri, We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. You booked a Bunkbed Room, which is the smallest room category we offer. Due to the layout of the floor they are located at, Bunkbed Rooms do not...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
$111 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$111 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (52)
Room & Suite (47)
Nearby
Chelsea
Home to hundreds of art galleries, beautiful
brownstones, and one of New York’s newest and most
popular attractions, Chelsea is one of the city’s
jewels when it comes to neighborhood life. The
contemporary art scene is an integral part of the
neighborhood’s identity, with gallery openings almost
every night of the week and countless exhibits to
explore. As a longtime hub of gay culture in New York
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Karol G
January 19, 2017|
Answer
Response from christophe s | Property representative |
18 as we do NOT have a minibar with alcohol.
0
Votes
Sophie B
September 19, 2016|
Answer
Response from SFerence | Reviewed this property |
The room I stayed in just had a single room w/o a tv but I bet you could email or call them and request that room. The people working there were SUPER nice and accommodating. I had no issues what-so-ever with hot water. Yes... More
0
Votes
Hang P
February 15, 2016|
Answer
Response from BangForBuck | Reviewed this property |
They asked for ID upon check-in but I am not aware of any age restrictions.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"ALWAYS tip the staff you never see. Remember who launders your sheets. and ask the desk for directions to the..."
Read review
"second floor"
Read review
"Ask for a room at least 3 stories up for a quieter sleep."
Read review
"For quieter rooms, ask for one not on the street"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing