We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Leon Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (164)
Room & Suite (38)
View from Room (51)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#208 of 498 hotels in New York City
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.3
Value
4.4
The Leon Hotel, nestled between Chinatown and the Lower East Side, is intended for new world travelers seeking to find comfort and style in their surroundings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Vending machine
Car hire
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese
487Reviews37Q+A94Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 234
  • 182
  • 49
  • 10
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
sue w wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Terrible hotel - sheets and bedding super old. Room didn’t even have a closet, just a rod and a few hangers. No slippers, no water boiler, very bare minimal in everything including a hair dryer that was in bad condition. Service was exceptional bad - when asked for an extra blanket on night one was told there aren’t any but can provide night two. Night two different receptionist. Today at check out asked the reception if I can get hot water he was rude and impatient, and told me he was busy. When I asked if I could get the water myself, he gave me a dirty look and ignored my elderly parents and I. Super bad experience, so not recommend especially for this price. You might as well go to Wyndham next door, or to get similar lack of comfort and service go down 50% on price.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid going if expect any comfort.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Leon Hotel, Owner at The Leon Hotel
Responded Feb 17, 2024
We sorry that you feel you had a bad experience with us. Yes, the rooms are old, but during your stay, you saw that we were doing upgrades to our rooms. As for your experience at check out, you conveniently, or intentionally left out some pertinent facts. It was busy and there was a line at checkout. You couldn't wait your turn and wanted to come behind the front desk, where we do not allow anyone except staff for security reason.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JAN G wrote a review Oct 2023
12 contributions5 helpful votes
Just had 5 days staying in New York at this hotel. Its very clean. The bed was huge and really comfortable, beautiful walk-in shower and lovely thick white towels. Coffee machine in room, very minimal coffee pods to put in the machine. I took a couple from the cleaners trolly as she was no where to be seen, obviously I was seen on CCTV and the man at reception called my room and told me off ! Hotel location is really good and easy to reach all of beautiful NYC. No catering facilities offered but loads of food outlets nearby. Man on reception unfriendly and unwelcoming, he is there most of the time. The females on reception are helpful and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There is no parking facilities near this hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sonny wrote a review May 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
It was super comfortable & the view of the bridge was very cool. It has a small reception & they were always nice. The energy changes at night & there are more houseless people hanging around the streets around the hotel. But they seemed to be into their own partying so it wasn’t ever an issue. It was a fun time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
allyfurr wrote a review May 2023
Higham, United Kingdom113 contributions42 helpful votes
+1
This Hotel is fantastic. Its in a great location and quite at night. The staff are so friendly and helpful. It's clean and the views are fantastic too if at the front rooms. It doesn't look much from outside but it is a gem inside. The rooms are big too. Only thing I would say it needed, a bit of an update on decorations. Other then that it is fantastic Hotel. Recommend it highly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Saxroader wrote a review Aug 2022
Almere, The Netherlands70 contributions25 helpful votes
The room was okay but the beds were very small. The room was not very big but reasonably clean. Cleaning everyday. However the furniture was outdated and ready for replacement. We had city view which was nice. However if you looked down you did see a lot of homeless people living in front of the hotel. Although they didn't disturb us the view was not nice and it also didn't give us a safe feeling. The room had a safe which was nice. We have seen reports of police in the hotel and we had a smilier experience although we don't know the reason. The staff was okay although not super friendly. Overall a reasonable stay but next time I pay a couple hundred dollar more for a little bit more uptown.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Out room was on the fourth floor with city view. That was okay.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
kvan wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
First online review of anything, but I feel I must share. My family stayed at The Leon for five nights in early August 2022. I had arranged for the stay due to the location and the website photos. The room was nice enough, and quite clean. However, the service was spotty at best. Some days we got toiletries, some days not. Some days we got enough towels, some days not. I went to the front desk to ask to borrow a bottle opener and the attendant was completely baffled by the request. They evidently skip those basic amenities that other hotels have been providing for decades. This was all fine. We are not complainers, even though the price we paid was about average for our one or twice yearly trip to New York. The real problem arose upon checkout. The hotel is located at an unusual intersection so before leaving we asked where best to catch a cab. We got a dismissive reply that provided very little in the way of useful information. Any other hotel would have offered to arrange for a car. We left the premises and spent 15 or 20 minutes in extreme heat unsuccessfully attempting to get a cab (no more than 3 or 4 even passing in that time). My husband decided to return to the hotel and ask them to call a cab for us. For reasons unknown, this resulted in the gentleman behind the desk exploding. He began shouting at my husband and verbally abusing him. It was truly a shocking and bizarre experience. We travel extensively and this was perhaps the poorest customer service we have encountered. Don't be deceived by the quaint photos - The Leon Hotel is anything but welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Leon Hotel, Owner at The Leon Hotel
Responded Feb 17, 2024
We sorry that you feel you had a bad experience with us. But to be fair you were told when asked for a cab (taxi) you have to hail them on the street - archaic NYC. We offer to call you a card service but you balked at the price and decided to try getting a taxi. When you husband decided to came back and insist that we call a taxi, we informed him again we cannot call a taxi but a car service. Your husband was not verbally abused you claimed, he was yelling at the gentleman at the Front Desk for some stupid rule the city have. This is all capture on camera
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SaffyRome wrote a review Jul 2022
Rome45 contributions23 helpful votes
We were three ladies on a leisure trip to the city. Stayed at the Leon for four nights. We were a little worried about some of the negative reviews on here but, on balance, decided to keep the booking. Very pleased we did so, it turned out to be a very positive experience on the whole. The hotel was very clean, studio type room was spacious, comfy beds, lovely bathroom, great shower (plenty of shower gel and soap) and nice views. It's also very quiet. Big bonus was having a coffee/tea maker in the room, a life saver in the mornings. Staff were friendly enough, but we didn't spend much time in the hotel in any case. Another bonus is that it's very close to two subway stations (Grand Street and Canal Street). This is a small, 'no frills' hotel, so if you're priority is affordability, would definitely recommend. WARNING - this location in China Town could be described as a little seedy and 'edgy'. The area itself is not the cleanest and there are some homeless people living nearby. This said, we encountered no issues. So if you can close your eyes to the 'not so pretty' immediate area, this is a good choice for comfort, central location and price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Adam wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution19 helpful votes
What a Bizarre Experience at the Leon Hotel. My wife and I decided to book this hotel for the weekend due to its great location (it really is situated perfectly). On arrival, we were very happy to be able to store our bags at the front desk prior to check-in, as we arrived in the city far before the check-in time. After check-in, we were happy to have a nice room with a good view. However, our first night at this hotel was honestly so bizarre and odd, and our subsequent encounters with hospital staff were so poor and gaslighting, that I cannot help but write a review about this experience in hopes that any future traveler won’t walk away from this hotel with such a ridiculous story. My wife and I went to bed around 10pm on our first night. At roughly 1:15am, I awoke to the last ring of the hotel room phone, and before I could reach it, I heard my cell phone vibrating as well. When I checked my cell phone, I had three missed calls from Joseph, the front desk staff member, with three separate voicemail messages. My initial thought was something horrible must have happened, as that seemed to be the only rational reason to place so many calls so late at night. I promptly called Joseph back, at which point I thought I must have still been sleeping when I heard his reason for the call. He told me that the woman who stayed in our room the previous night was in the hotel lobby stating that she had left a valuable item in the room’s safe and was needing to retrieve it (the safe must not have been checked and reset between guests). Joseph had called the room phone, and my cell phone FOUR total times at 1am to…….wait for it….. inform me that a complete stranger (importantly, not management, but the woman herself) would need to enter our room where my wife was still sleeping at the time, to retrieve this mysterious valuable item at ONE-THIRTY IN THE MORNING. After I made sure I wasn’t still dreaming after hearing that request, being a reasonable person, I stated that I understood the situation and would was happy to allow this previous guest to retrieve her item the following day, even first thing in the morning. However, being that I was paying in total over $300 a night to have a safe and private room, and being that my wife was still sleeping and that we had an early morning to prepare for, I was not comfortable allowing a complete stranger to enter our room in the middle of the night. It was clear from Joseph’s response that this was not going to be an appropriate resolution to the problem, as he stated again that she needed to enter the room at that time (I found out the following day that the New York City Police were involved at this point). Ultimately, in an attempt to preserve our façade of privacy, I located the safe and saw that it was not secured to any solid structure in the room, and told Joseph that I would take the safe to them. So, still not sure if I was dreaming about carrying out a jewelry heist, or simply following the remarkably persistent and untimely requests of the hotel front desk, there I was at 1:30am, carrying a hotel safe across my chest with a mysterious valuable object inside, through the hallway and down the elevator into the lobby. I went back to Booking.com and looked at the terms and conditions of our stay, and for some reason, I just could not find any place where it mentioned either allowing random strangers into our room in the middle of the night, or carrying safes into the lobby. The next morning, after very little sleep after the safe-heist, I approached the front desk to debrief on the evening’s events. I told the nice woman behind the counter that I was hoping to speak with Joseph in hopes of determining an appropriate compensatory discount to our stay for the significant disruption. She said that unfortunately Joseph was not working currently, but she told me not to worry, though, as they had already granted $20 off the previous night, and $50 off the following night for the inconvenience. Considering the absurdity of the event and resulting lack of sleep, I told her that $70, which equates to 11% off our 2-night stay, simply did not seem sufficient. She told me again that Joseph was not working but that I could stop by that evening and speak to him, which I agreed to. Surprisingly, though, 30 minutes later my wife and I came down from the room and there was Joseph, working behind the counter! Apart from an apology, we were told that there was absolutely no further compensation that would be provided in light of our disruption. In fact, he seemed profoundly surprised that I was not happy with the original compensatory discount. It honestly made me reconsider the absurdity of the event (I reconsidered it and decided that yes, it was still absurd). I told him that his unwillingness to make the situation right was surprising, as it was clear that they valued the prior customer’s experience so much that he was willing to compromise our personal peace and privacy in the middle of the night to allow her to retrieve her item! He didn’t seem to appreciate the irony like I did. Ultimately, no further compensation was provided, and while we had no further issues the following night, we left the Leon Hotel with nothing more than this bizarre story and a desire to never receive 4 calls from the Leon Hotel front desk in middle of the night ever again. While the hotel itself is nice and the location is great, I am sure you can find a place to stay that will accommodate you as well as the Leon hotel accommodated the guest from the night prior to ours, and not how they accommodated us.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
11 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Zach B wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Would give this place "0" stars. Terrible experience. Hotel is dated and the lobby smells like feet. Took a copy of my credit card and then my card became compromised with tons of extra charges. Not sure how they got all these good reviews. Don't fall for it like I did!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Meitalsu wrote a review Dec 2021
31 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
We've stayed in The Leon Hotel for 10 nights doring Dec. The room is comfortable and suitable for 2 grownups and suitcases. Great view with option to sit next to the window and enjoy the view. The housekeeping is vert good so we had clean towels and sheets the entire stay. The receptionists helps has much has they know/can (we asked their help with taxi company to the airport at the end). We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Order in advance with cancellation option for a good price per night. Free wi-fi in the room and...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New York City area.
PRICE RANGE
$199 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Be Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityChinatown / Downtown Manhattan (Downtown)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LEON HOTEL $113 ($̶3̶0̶8̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - New York City

Frequently Asked Questions about The Leon Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Leon Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Museum at Eldridge Street (0.1 miles), Studio Manhattan (0.3 miles), and Lower East Side (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Leon Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, reduced mobility rooms, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at The Leon Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Leon Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Leon Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alimama Tea, Taiyaki NYC, and Tomino - Taberna Gallega.
Is The Leon Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of New York City.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Leon Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Leon Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (1.0 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (1.0 miles), and Brooklyn Museum (3.5 miles).
Is The Leon Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.