We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
525 Greenwich St Greenwich Street and Spring Street, New York City, NY 10013-1002
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$133
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/12/22
Priceline
$149
View deal
Agoda.com
$149
$109
View deal
Expedia.com$149
Hotels.com$149
FindHotel$125
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (321)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (258)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Hugo
Updated 07/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#279 of 521 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Luxury Lifestyle Boutique property in SoHo located near the Hudson River. Hotel Hugo is a stylish and sophisticated lifestyle hotel in Manhattan's sought after SoHo neighborhood. Echoing the area's rich history and industrial vibe, Hotel Hugo exudes the contemporary luxury and bohemian chic that make Lower Manhattan a modern-day mecca for artists, publishers and design enthusiasts. Easily accessible near the Spring Street and Christopher Street subway stops, take the easy commute to check in and stay in NYC's hottest neighborhood.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Nightclub / DJ
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
111Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
24Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2008Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,010
  • 510
  • 245
  • 124
  • 119
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lauren C wrote a review Jun 2021
Bel Air, Maryland18 contributions4 helpful votes
Awful hotel. Room smells like sewage. You have to beg to go to rooftop bar. They stop serving food at 10 pm and won’t allow you to DoorDash any food to the rooftop bar. Kevin the manager has zero authority and won’t make any exceptions to the rules and is completely unaccommodating to guests. Save you money and stay at a Marriott that will treat you and your guests with respect. Poor service.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
brad wrote a review Jun 2021
Toronto, Canada4 contributions2 helpful votes
There was no information on the fact that there was no room cleaning service prior to booking. The manager, Omar Lewis, could not care less when I discussed the issue with him. Absolutely terrible customer service. It used to be a go to spot in NYC. I will not stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid everything here.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Disappointed patron wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Hotel Hugo has its perks. It’s in a quiet part of town and there are nice dining spots around. The room is generally pretty good, although our fridge was warm, so it couldn’t cool things down. That said, the service is subpar across the board. Lisa at the front desk is incredibly rude and it was perhaps the worst service I’ve experienced. I’ve never been treated like that as a customer at a hotel and I don’t think I would ever go back or recommend it, unless there were changes in management; management is severely lacking. They need to make changes ASAP to save this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Caitlin R wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
My boyfriend and I stayed here last night and entered the experience with high hopes and expectations as we were celebrating our 5 year anniversary. Upon arrival, the hotel seemed like it had potential and that it could offer us a romantic boutique hotel stay but our time at Hotel Hugo was anything but that. We had booked a Loft Suite and apart from what I will get into about the lack of cleanliness by housekeeping in this establishment, let me also say that the room is not even close to being worthy of almost $500. When we got to the room it was unsanitary. There was dog hair everywhere, cup stains on the tables and smudge marks of dust, dirt and grime that my boyfriend ended up using a wet washcloth to try and scrub (see attached photo). Unacceptable! It was as if Hotel Hugo sticks to the bare minimum and that it holds an incredibly low standard for itself. Cleanliness and good hygiene are imperative no matter where you stay! When booking the reservation, we were told we’d be given a complimentary bottle of champagne in honor of our anniversary and that it would be brought to our room. When it was dropped off in our room it was warm and with no ice or champagne flutes so we had to call the front desk to ask for some to which they told us we had to go down and retrieve both things ourselves. We both felt it was necessary to speak our mind and share our frustration when talking to the concierge Maruan. He ended up being accommodating as he could tell we were unhappy and disappointed and allowed us to move to a Deluxe King room instead. This room was smaller and good in the sense that price wise it was of better value but still needed serious help since my boyfriend used yet another washcloth to wipe down the drawers since they were filthy. Not okay! Especially during these Covid times. You want your guests to feel safe and in good hands, not the opposite. There is more that I could get into but I will stick to sharing this for now. Overall we both felt that we weren’t taken care of on a personal level and that when a staff member was trying to resolve an issue it was met with a lackadaisical response. The way Hotel Hugo is being run is a real problem and needs to make the necessary fixes in order to meet quality hotel standards. I only hope that they really look into making the proper adjustments so that their hotel guests aren’t doing a job their housekeeping employees should be doing. We will not be returning to this establishment as our experience was nothing close to satisfactory.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Charlie wrote a review Jan 2021
New York City, New York1 contribution3 helpful votes
The room was disgusting and the workers were not wearing a mask so we checked out immediately. When we tried to get a refund for the stay after the fact the manager yelled and lied about trying to be accommodating when she in fact was not. They lied about us not checking out, and lied about offering us a different room. They did no such thing. All dining options were closed and room service was not even an option, despite the website stating it was. Overall it was a terrible experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Farley, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Hugo
Responded Jan 28, 2021
Dear ubmany24, Thank you for your feedback and for the concerns expressed. We apologize for any inconveniences experienced during your duration with us, and I hope to find a resolution. I'm happy to look into your reservation details further for you if you wish. Please reach out to me at dfarley@hotelhugony.com. We can't wait to restore your faith in us! Warm Regards, Daniel Farley Director of Front Office
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$162 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityHudson Square / Downtown Manhattan (Downtown) / SoHo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Hugo
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Hugo?
Nearby attractions include Hudson River Park (0.3 miles), New York City Fire Museum (0.1 miles), and Color Factory (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Hugo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Hugo?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Hugo?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Hugo?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Hugo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Westville Hudson, Ear Inn, and The Clam.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Hugo?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Hugo located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of New York City.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Hugo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Hugo?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Hugo offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.