We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The High Line Hotel

180 10th Ave at 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011-4707
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (270)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (215)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#274 of 498 hotels in New York City
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.2
Value
3.7
Visit our conveniently located Chelsea hotel near The High Line. Each of The High Line Hotel's 60 rooms evoke a bygone era of a graciously decorated guesthouse. As our guest you'll enjoy staying in our light-filled rooms featuring beautiful hardwood floors and one-of-a-kind locally sourced furniture. Over-sized beds with crisp cotton linens provide a perfect night's sleep, and plush robes invite you to relax after a long day. All rooms feature large windows offering dazzling views of the High Line Park or our enclosed private-garden oasis. Guests are encouraged to dine at Alta Linea, Italian aperitivi and al fresco dining along The High Line or enjoy a perfectly brewed espresso prepared by our Intelligentsia Coffee & Tea baristas in the lobby. Sip your espresso at the bar, get your latte to go, or take your freshly brewed pour over coffee to the back courtyard for a moment to yourself. In the evening, grab a glass of wine and enjoy a beautiful night under the stars in our Parisian inspired garden.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
988Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 569
  • 193
  • 96
  • 67
  • 63
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Tasoulla wrote a review Apr 10
Los Angeles, California10 contributions18 helpful votes
From the outside this hotel looks majestic, inside though, is another story, it is old, tired, worn and dirty with the worst lifts ever and if you're lucky on your 10th swipe of your key card it might move. For the price of this hotel, you'd expect more than a dusty room, a bathroom with grotty grouting, at the very least you'd expect to get slippers and a robe..nope. The rug in my room was tatty and threadbare, there were holes in my mismatched bed sheets!! Not even a welcome bottle of tap water, no glasses, mugs, coffee/tea, they at least brought up a kettle when I asked though. The fact that I had to go the store to buy everything to make my stay more comfortable was so disappointing. Sadly, the only positive was the location.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbey Rader, General Manager at The High Line Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review of The High Line Hotel. I am disappointed to read that you went off property to purchase items for your room as we are always happy to provide water and cups at the front desk. The coffee shop also has many options for coffee and tea, beginning at 7am. The furniture and rugs are distressed as part of our design aesthetic as the property is intentionally reminiscent of an old guest house. The building went up in 1855 and we like to make nods to its heritage throughout. We understand that guests sometimes perceive this as dirty or worn, but it is intended to be charming and different. All of our beds however have been replaced within the last six months and all linens are in process of being replaced as well. We will certainly take your feedback to heart and look into other ways we can elevate our guest experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carolyn S wrote a review Apr 5
San Francisco122 contributions66 helpful votes
I've stayed here several times, back when it was called The Desmond Tutu to last week. It's sad to watch a property run down - elements that could be charming become repulsive. There are too many factors for the one star rating to list - here are just a few: dirty bathroom floor; one bath towel each, no hand towel, wash cloth or bath mat; dirty yellowed white gauzy curtains; the door to the room can only be closed by slamming it ; broken furniture; mismatched bed sheets; nonsensical room pricing (smaller rooms cost more); $4.50 coffee; no lobby or reception desk. It feels like no one is in charge.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbey Rader, General Manager at The High Line Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review of our property. We understand that the aesthetic of The High Line Hotel is not for everyone and wish that you had raised any of your concerns while on property so they could be addressed. In terms of pricing, all hotel prices fluctuate every day based on supply and demand. We apologize that this wasn't the experience that you had a Desmond Tutu and wish you luck in finding a property that meets your standards in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lisarham wrote a review Mar 2024
Blacksburg, Virginia6 contributions
My daughter and I were very comfortable at this hotel during a weekend visit to NYC. However, it was a surprise to find that the hotel "lobby" is primarily occupied by a third-party commercial coffee/cocktail bar and its neighborhood customers, with no complimentary coffee or drinks offered to the hotel guests. At least a complimentary morning cup of coffee with one's hotel key or a voucher, and possibly even an afternoon/evening glass of wine, would have made the whole arrangement less off-putting for hotel guests. Barring that, put coffee-making facilities in the guest rooms (there were none). Also, I have come to expect, especially at a 4-star hotel, a washcloth along with a bath towel and a hand towel for each guest, but in our room there were no wash cloths and only one hand towel for two people. Otherwise we very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Victoria W wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
+1
I was astonished at how different this hotel was from the way it’s advertised. This is not a 4-star hotel. Our bathroom had drop ceiling tiles with water stains on them and thick dust around the edges along the wall. The bathroom floor was visibly grubby. The bathroom light fixture was the cheapest kind you’d buy somewhere like Home Depot. The towels were scratchy and cheap feeling. The lampshades in the room were both stained—gross. One of the lamps didn’t even turn on. There was a visible tear in the duvet cover. We had requested a room not near the elevator when we made our reservation via the hotel’s own website but our room was (you guessed it) right by the elevator. Oh! I almost forgot: you cannot adjust the temperature in your room—we had a window a/c unit that barely worked and a wall thermostat that didn’t respond to our attempts to modify the temperature. Plus, the windows paired with the window a/c unit let any traffic sound right into your room. The entire experience was so very disappointing, but since we were only staying for one night, we decided to just go through with our visit. In the end, we paid about $526 for the room rate plus taxes and fees for a room that felt like something at a sleazy motel. Honestly, we burst out laughing after we checked out and got outside. I’ll never stay here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Cleanliness
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
KatieinBoston wrote a review Jan 2024
Boston, Massachusetts131 contributions100 helpful votes
Charming and warm. A treasure in Chelsea area of NYC. Steps to the fabled High Line, and walking distance to many NYC highlights. The rooms were historical and oozing with antique touches. We had two queen beds, a large wardrobe, a desk area and a window seat. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. We arrived a little early and our room was already ready. Can't wait to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Get a espresso from the cafe downstairs!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbey Rader, General Manager at The High Line Hotel
Responded Jan 24, 2024
Hi Katie, We appreciate your kind words about our property. The Deluxe Double accommodations are certainly something special and I am so glad you were able to experience one for your stay. Please come back to see us soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jkeim2024 wrote a review Jan 2024
Alexandria, Virginia1 contribution
Room was comfortable and pretty, but the bathtub drain didn't work. The reception agent was gracious and said it would be fixed while I was out at dinner, but it was not. Then the repairman arrived ~9pm and woke me up to fix it. Unfortunately he didn't listen carefully to the two issues, said he had fixed one but didn't actually test it, and in the morning I found that, in fact, he hadn't fixed either problem. Gave up at that point.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbey Rader, General Manager at The High Line Hotel
Responded Jan 15, 2024
We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide, and your comments have been taken to heart. We will schedule an engineering walk through immediately to ensure that tubs are draining properly and appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David A wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
I’ve never actually written a negative review for a hotel since I’ve had really great experiences for the most part but this place really rubbed me the wrong way. I was in NYC for the holidays and obviously understand things are a bit more expensive but for over $800 a night this was nowhere near close to worth that amount when I would’ve gotten better service/basic amenities at a Marriott Courtyard or whatever equivalent. To start with, whenI was outside looking at where the entrance was to check in, the bellman looked like work was the last place on earth he wanted to be and just looked at me and pointed to the front door when I had a 50 lb suitcase and two other bags that I had to take down the stairs and through two doors myself. For what they and calling yourself a luxury hotel, that is unacceptable already soured my stay before I even walked in. The “lobby” if that’s what you want to call it is basically a coffee shop with someone assisting with check-in. Not my thing personally but if that’s what you’re looking for by all means go for it. When I was inside, the staff was friendly and helpful with my check in. Our guest room was clean but again for the price and it being a “four star” hotel, I was pretty disappointed. Two of the outlets in the room next to one of the beds didn’t work, the TV remote was not synced up to the tv so it was very difficult to change channels and the cable wasn’t working so the screen was constantly flickering. The bathroom having just 2 towels and a small wash cloth for 2 people staying there wasn’t enough. Again at other places I’ve stayed with similar ratings, there are extra towels, a towel for the wet bathroom floor by the shower (I came close to falling when I got out of the shower), bath robes. I understand it is an older building which is part of the charm but it felt extremely minimalist and not up to the level of a luxury hotel. The hotel is in a great location but for what they charge it isn’t close to worth it and there are so many better options.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbey Rader, General Manager at The High Line Hotel
Responded Jan 15, 2024
Thank you for your review of our property. I understand that you found our staff to be friendly, the room to be clean and the location to be ideal but that the bell staff and lobby was off putting upon arrival, which is disappointing for me to hear. We do rely heavily on our outdoor space as communal area and unfortunately when it is a bit cooler out, that isn't always an ideal option for our guests. While our lobby is clean and charming, we know it requires that guests be comfortable with intimate space and that it is not for everyone. Regarding lack of linen in your room, this has already been corrected and we will continue to improve upon our services to ensure exceptional guest experiences. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SF_worldtraveler wrote a review Dec 2023
San Francisco, CA2 contributions12 helpful votes
average hotel - looks cool from the outside and the ambience in the common areas is good. The rooms are 'vintage' style but are in desperate need of remodeling. AC unit super loud, missing tiles, not enough lighting. Staff at the coffee bar was not particularly pleasant. It was not worth the money and I would not stay there again .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbey Rader, General Manager at The High Line Hotel
Responded Dec 4, 2023
Thank you for your review of our property. We have taken your feedback seriously and have scheduled HVAC maintenance to address the issue in your guest room. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. In terms of lighting and the older look of the property, this is very intentionally curated in alignment with the history and bones of the property. The seminary that now homes The High Line Hotel was built in 1895 on an estate previously owned by famous 1800s author Clement Clarke Moore, who wrote "Twas the Night Before Christmas." We hope you found some old-world charm during your stay and will allow us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future. Have a great day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chertravelgirl wrote a review Nov 2023
Costa Rica95 contributions83 helpful votes
The Highline Hotel is very charming from the outside-just the right combo of outdoor lights and a red hippy van outside called Cheeky. :) Amazing coffee, chai and pastries served to tourists and neighbors, which turns into a bar at 5:00 or so. Very friendly and professional staff. And the mattresses there really are awesome! The hotel recently won recognition for having the best mattresses. They are made by Wright Bedding in the US. They even have a QR code in your room with $300 off if you want to get a Wright Bedding mattress for yourself! Hotel also conveniently located one block from Cook, a farm to table restaurant and Empire and awesome diner. AND VERY CONVENIENT TO WALK ACROSS THE STREET TO THE HIGH Line PARK. WHAT A GREAT USE OF URBAN SPACE!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbey Rader, General Manager at The High Line Hotel
Responded Nov 20, 2023
Thank you so much for your review of our property and for recognizing her charm. We truly appreciate guests like you and hope to welcome you back soon! Best, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kylene B wrote a review Nov 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
While the Chelsea architecture and small neighborhood feel were appealing, the overall hotel experience was disappointing. Rooms were small and have very few amenities, poor lighting, and not particularly clean. It seems like the hotel has potential as a historic building but little was done to renovate and modernize for it's guests- dim lighting, musty smells and thin walls. When I requested water at check in, I was told I could walk to a CVS. I ended up leaving after one evening and found a hotel, with amenities and much better customer service. Overall, I was disappointed with the level of care, cleanliness and overall customer experience. Would not recommend, especially if looking for a reliable, consistent hotel for a business trip.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abbey Rader, General Manager at The High Line Hotel
Responded Nov 17, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The High Line Hotel. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide, and your comments have been taken to heart. We are working diligently to make improvements to our rooms that need more love and feedback like yours is extremely valuable. We hope you allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New York City area.
PRICE RANGE
$358 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityChelsea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HIGH LINE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (New York City)

Frequently Asked Questions about The High Line Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The High Line Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Chelsea Market (0.2 miles), The High Line Park (0.09 miles), and Artists & Fleas at Chelsea Market (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The High Line Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The High Line Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The High Line Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The High Line Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The High Line Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Filaga Pizzeria, Los Tacos No. 1, and Cull & Pistol.
Are any cleaning services offered at The High Line Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The High Line Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The High Line Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The High Line Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The High Line Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (2.4 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (2.4 miles), and Hamilton Park (1.7 miles).