We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
180 10th Ave at 20th Street, New York City, NY 10011-4707
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (264)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (199)

About

#210 of 512 hotels in New York City
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
Visit our conveniently located Chelsea hotel near The High Line. Each of The High Line Hotel's 60 rooms evoke a bygone era of a graciously decorated guesthouse. As our guest you'll enjoy staying in our light-filled rooms featuring beautiful hardwood floors and one-of-a-kind locally sourced furniture. Over-sized beds with crisp cotton linens provide a perfect night's sleep, and plush robes invite you to relax after a long day. All rooms feature large windows offering dazzling views of the High Line Park or our enclosed private-garden oasis. Guests are encouraged to dine at Alta Linea, Italian aperitivi and al fresco dining along The High Line or enjoy a perfectly brewed espresso prepared by our Intelligentsia Coffee & Tea baristas in the lobby. Sip your espresso at the bar, get your latte to go, or take your freshly brewed pour over coffee to the back courtyard for a moment to yourself. In the evening, grab a glass of wine and enjoy a beautiful night under the stars in our Parisian inspired garden.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
150Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
70Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
935Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 559
  • 189
  • 91
  • 54
  • 42
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
John M wrote a review Aug 2
Chevy Chase, Maryland10 contributions3 helpful votes
Pros: Charming place. Great location. Cool outdoor restaurant. Nice staff. Cons: The AC on the 5th floor is complete trash. If it's hot, DO NOT STAY ON THE 5TH FLOOR. The rooms are small. This probably annoyed me the most: not only is there no coffee in the room, but if you want coffee, you have to throw some clothes on, go down to the lobby, order it, wait, and then pay. Yes, it's excellent coffee. But for $350/night, they should do better than this. At a minimum, a voucher for the coffee should be provided. (The coffee bar is separate from the hotel.)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
puckariel2011 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Th Highline Hotel is comfortable, well appointed and relaxing as long as you are situated above the cafe noises of the first floor. The front patio and back garden patio make the hotel far more private and relaxing than most places in NYC. Although the hotel lacks a proper restaurant, it is surrounded by excellent places, many of which do take away. Finally, the Highline is right across from access to raised railway Highline Park. A great place to stay in Chelsea!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rafael A wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
You can get a better experience for the money you are paying here. Conditioned Air was broken and all they could do was take me a fan. I had to keep my window opened, with all the street noise. The reception is not a counter, you have to look for the one employee there and they did not talk one to the other: I had to explain what I talked to the other employee and they were pretty confused with my requests. Oh, and I still did not receive my stay receipt.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maximo Ritterstein, Other at The High Line Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Rafael A - I double checked the room you stayed in and the AC unit is functioning properly. Should a unit be broken in a room, we provide another room were we verify that it is functioning. Additionally, we offer window units and fans when requested. I'm not quite sure what you mean by the "...reception is not a counter". Furthermore, there are two employees there at all times to assist guests. What requests did you have that were confusing? I'm very curious to hear them. My apologies regarding your receipt. I'm sure, by now, you have received it.
Read more
Seth David M wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
The hotel is very nicely decorated; staff is very nice but the beds are incredibly uncomfortable. Not to mention having to listen to the loud droning of my rooms window unit AC. If the hotel was half the cost, I wouldn’t complain but the value just isn’t there.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maximo Ritterstein, Other at The High Line Hotel
Responded Jun 18, 2022
Mr. Mitchell - Our décor was chosen to extend the welcoming of our lobby and common areas; step into our rooms to fulfill the experience as it continues through the floors of the High Line Hotel. Our staff are very nice indeed, approachable as well. I am puzzled that just these two reasons - one fixable, other preference - have caused such a low rating. I checked my records and did not see any information that was communicated to management from the issues you name above. The window AC units can be removed easily by our engineering team. All you have to do is let us know that you would like for it to be removed. As for the bed, I understand that it is a subjective experience. Hopefully, you'll come back to the High Line Hotel - if not for our beds, surely for some cocktails. Have a wonderful day.
Read more
Ray F wrote a review Jun 2022
Sydney, Australia172 contributions71 helpful votes
I liked the old building, individual rooms and the large bathroom. And the check in\out experience was so much more efficient than other hotels normally offer. I would stay here again if I was in this part of NYC and not looking for a hotel with a restaurant\room service.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maximo Ritterstein, Other at The High Line Hotel
Responded Jun 15, 2022
Raymong - Our historical building is a trip into the past. We are lucky as our 60 rooms provide a comfortable atmosphere for our guests yet maintain efficiency. Thank you for taking the time to review the High Line Hotel. We look forward to hosting you again and changing that 4 to a 5! Have a great day!
Read more
Johanna wrote a review Jun 2022
Lisbon, Portugal2 contributions1 helpful vote
I'm sad to give a negative review to one of my formerly favorite hotels in the city. I have stayed at the High Line Hotel many times over the last 7 years, encouraged friends and coworkers to stay there, and planned work trips around this location so my company could stay here. I was planning to fly from my honeymoon in Europe to New York. I had booked 2 nights at High Line. Unfortunately, I tested positive for Covid and could not fly back to New York. I emailed the hotel with proof of my positive test. I wanted to see if I could get a refund or a credit for a future stay. Not only did they decline this and charge me $600, but they took days to respond to the first email and they NEVER replied after that. I even followed up twice asking for a reply - nothing. I will never stay there again, and it makes me very sad. This is below bare minimum customer service. They do not know the value of someone who stays at the hotel & loves it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Maximo Ritterstein, Other at The High Line Hotel
Responded Jun 5, 2022
jj_Traveler21 - As mentioned in our email to you, we hope you have a healthy and speedy recovery. To familiarise myself with your history in our hotel, I searched all the way back to 2014 and only found 1 reservation in 2020. Regardless, we give our guests all the same treatment and that is to have a wonderful experience at The High Line Hotel. During the height of the Covid pandemic, we cancelled multiple reservations due to Covid positive results. As a courtesy, understanding the severity of the situation, we waived all our cancellation policies, including our Advance Purchase reservations, which are non-cancellable, non-refundable, non-changeable. Additionally, we offered date changes for guests that were stuck in other countries or areas where they couldn't travel. Some reservations were pushed from 2020 all the way to 2022. We took and continue to take Covid very seriously and that is why we also hosted the military and health workers in their effort to minimise the effects of Covid and to assist in any way possible during the pandemic. As New York City opened back up and businesses came back, we followed suit accordingly. This also meant going back to reinforcing our policies that we neglected for 2 years. Starting in March of this year, we reverted back to our standard 48-hour cancellation, and non-cancelable status for our Advanced Purchase reservations. We still take unique situations case by case. Once again, we hope you recovered well and hope to see you soon at the High Line Hotel. Feel free to reach out directly to me so that I can ensure you have a wonderful stay. (mritterstein@thehighlinehotel.com)
Read more
JWH73ooo wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Come for the historic architecture, leave with no customer service. I booked a suite at over $600/night and was dismayed that 1) the hotel could not even comp a water bottle a day, but had the audacity to suggest I walk to Gristedes, the Kroger of NYC 2) not a single offer to assist with baggage to and from room or car service 3) no management on site overnight. And if you need management, you'll have to wait but expect zero resolution on their part. Look and go elsewhere.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Maximo Ritterstein, Other at The High Line Hotel
Responded May 8, 2022
JWH73ooo - It sounds as though there are a few issues here that affected your stay. It deeply saddens me to hear, but I am hoping we can chat further regarding your stay. Please reach out to me by phone 212-929-3888 or email mritterstein@thehighlinehotel.com. I look forward to hearing from you.
Read more
MrTrondW wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
I had never stayed at The High Line Hotel before, but it comes highly recommended by my colleagues who have stayed there when we visit our local business in NY. I was greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist upon arrival and was given a lovely room with all amenities. The hotel does not have a 'traditional' reception in that the bar/coffee bar is outsourced to a third party who runs the service. It turns out that the coffee is so good that it has become a bit of a destination to locals that grab their coffee on their way to work. I can also vouch for that the coffee was of excellent quality. :-) I stayed for four nights and felt quite at home by the time I left. I highly recommend this lovely hotel with wonderful staff in a friendly and rather smart area of town and will definitely come back some other time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maximo Ritterstein, Other at The High Line Hotel
Responded Apr 28, 2022
MrTrondW - We appreciate your kind words! It sounds as though you've made the most of your trip and truly enjoyed it. You are right - Christian starts you off with a warm welcome at the Front Desk, and a little coffee from Intelligentsia to go adds on to the friendly homey atmosphere. We look forward to hosting you again and thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about the High Line Hotel! Have a great day!
Read more
msulli7777 wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions
We stayed in a king room for a long weekend and the location was perfect. The hotel and room were very pretty, but the rooms were very stuffy. We were told the AC was not on yet (it was 80 on the day we arrived), so the room was quite hot. You could open windows, but there was no other way to control the room temperature. The unit in the room was essentially just a white noise machine.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maximo Ritterstein, Other at The High Line Hotel
Responded Apr 20, 2022
msulli7777 - Chelsea has a lot to offer and we are lucky to be a part of such a wonderful neighborhood. As the weather fluctuates, we change our operations to best suit our guests. We do offer fans and AC units as requested and the temperature is adjustable with the thermostat. Regardless, I'm glad to see that you enjoyed yourself. Next time you come to New York, please reach out to me directly (mritterstein@thehighlinehotel.com) so that I may ensure you have a memorable stay. Have a great day!
Read more
lexinegin wrote a review Apr 2022
Sacramento, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
I would give the hotel a high rating but for the fact that there was no coffee making ability in the room or on the property. The Intelligensia coffee shop was closed both mornings despite being told that it would be open for coffee and pastries. There was no apparent reason why the coffee shop was closed two mornings in a row and why there wasn't any back up set up for people to get a morning cup of coffee - the closest coffee shop is a long block away.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Maximo Ritterstein, Other at The High Line Hotel
Responded Apr 16, 2022
lexinegin - Due to unforeseen circumstances, the third party coffee shop was closed for a few days. We do offer coffee makers and tea kettles upon request. I'm sorry to hear you had to walk a long block to get your coffee. The coffee shop is up and running again. Let me know when you are back in town and I'll get you a coffee on us. Have a great day.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$435 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityChelsea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The High Line Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The High Line Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Chelsea Market (0.2 miles), The High Line Park (0.09 miles), and Artists & Fleas at Chelsea Market (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The High Line Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The High Line Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The High Line Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The High Line Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The High Line Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cull & Pistol, Los Tacos No. 1, and Filaga Pizzeria Siciliana.
Are any cleaning services offered at The High Line Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The High Line Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The High Line Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The High Line Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The High Line Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (2.4 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (2.4 miles), and Hamilton Park (1.7 miles).