We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
55 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-6609
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$239
Free cancellation until 12/17/22
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$195
Free cancellation until 12/17/22
Hotels.com
Only 1 left at
$195
Free cancellation until 12/17/22
Priceline$239
Travelocity$195
travelup.com$317
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (291)
Room & Suite (410)
Dining (39)

About

#249 of 518 hotels in New York City
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
Shaping the future of Hospitality in the spirit of the past, the City Club Hotel combines the scale and tradition of a private club with the first rate services and amenities of a modern luxury hotel. Located near the Theater District on vibrant West 44th Street between Fifth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, it offers the neighborhood and city nothing less than an urban cultural oasis for the refined traveler.db bistro moderne,from award-winning chef Daniel Boulud, is situated in the hotel lobby. The eatery serves its sought after French-American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, whilst also providing room service to hotel guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
428Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
212Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1058Reviews37Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 472
  • 344
  • 116
  • 63
  • 63
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Guido G wrote a review Dec 3
New York City, New York
Prison cell room for 500 dollars. . Dysfunctional and oppressive room. . Elevators look like an old warehouse. Dirty. Property is dilapidated. Front desk is useless and could care less. A real insult
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Megan L wrote a review Nov 2022
City Club Hotel is the perfect place to stay in New York to take advantage of being close to Broadway. George, at the hotel, could not do enough for us. He welcomed us graciously and offered several times to schedule excursions to see the sights, providing wonderful tips for future visits. We will see George on our next trip to the Big Apple!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nevena S wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
One of the worst hotels I ever stayed in. The front desk was so rude and unhelpful, at the end, the main guy was yelling at me when I asked him to give me back my security deposit, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I paid 2 nights 500 USD and I got a small room, without a window and lights. I felt so bad there without any reason. This was a super bad experience and I would never recommend them.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: do not reserve your stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Adventurer300579 wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Entire hotel needs updating. Looks really tired. Tile floor in bathroom coming up, balcony door very hard to open and it could use a fresh coat of paint everywhere. It’s a shame because it couldn’t be in a better location. Midtown Manhattan.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Daniela W wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Definitely not your cookie cutter hotel room and had some old world charm. Super clean and very comfortable bed The location is perfect to most of the theater and concert venues with only a short walk away. The staff was awesome and super friendly!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jessica H wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Comfortable bed and good location, but definitely not worth the money I paid. I paid extra to get a bathtub which I couldn't get because all of the rooms with tubs were full by the time I went to check in in the evening. Then the TV remote quit working the second day I was there and I was told "I recommend watching Netflix on your phone." Then the shower head fell off in the middle of my shower! Finally, I checked my bank statement the week after checking out and I was overcharged for my stay. Every time I call I am told the manager is out and to call back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Deb_buffy wrote a review Sep 2022
Northwich, United Kingdom24 contributions2 helpful votes
Great location, very central to most areas. We stayed here for 2 nights before a cruise. Our flights ended up being majorly delayed. When I rang the hotel to update we wouldn't be arriving until 3am instead of 7pm, they were lovely about it. Doorman is lovely, always has a smile and opens the door. The whole hotel is outdated. For us that wasn't a big deal but it wouldn't be our choice to stay again if staying longer then a weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jonathan S wrote a review Sep 2022
12 contributions
+1
DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL. This hotel (if you can call it a hotel) is the worst hotel I have EVER stayed in. The rooms are extremely small, even by NYC standards. You could hardly get around the bed. Granted the room was advertised as a Petit room however it is still sold as a two person room. The bed is what I believe to be a queen bed in the US however it was smaller than a UK double which is designed for 2 people. The bed measured 5ft long which for a 6ft person is completely ridiculous. The filth and dirt in the room makes me wonder the last time the room was cleaned. I actually wore shoes the entire time I was in the room as to avoid the dirty floor (wipe your feet on the way out!). The walls were dirty, full of black marks, ripped wallpaper and brown stains. The aircon vent continually fell off only to reveal a thick layer of dirt behind it and sticky bug traps that were riddled in lice and insects. The bathroom was OK, but by far roomy, there was no where to put washbags or anywhere to hang clean clothes. The towels were clean (that was the only thing about the room that was clean). If the tiles weren't brown they would have no doubt shown the dirt! We were offered a complimentary breakfast on check in however I wouldn't let a dog eat in the restaurant. That was very dark, depressing and lacking in any appeal that would make you want to dine in there. And if the room cleanliness is anything to go by god knows what the back of house standards are like. We had 3 nights booked but only stayed 1. We wouldn't have stayed 1 if we weren't so insanely tired from a long trip over and lack of alternative accommodation. On check out the receptionist was not surprised at all we were checking out and did not offer to refund the cost of the first night - instead she proceed to charge my card in front of me (including the tax) and then said I had to cancel the rest of the stay through booking.com. No compensation or apology was given which leads me to believe this is a regular occurrence. Do not believe the reviews! My partner pointed out that if you read the good reviews carefully you will notice the language/grammar used and frequent reference to the same member of staff implies the hotel are writing their own. DO NOT STAY HERE!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not book this hotel!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joshua Barbee, General Manager at City Club Hotel
Responded Sep 21, 2022
Dear Johnathan, We are sorry to here about the issues you had and we strive to be number 1 , we are sorry you had a bad stay and we will follow up on all the issues you encountered. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jlasf wrote a review Sep 2022
San Francisco, California40 contributions102 helpful votes
In the 1980's, small boutique hotels were in style - usually defined by a designer or a restaurant. The City Club was linked to famous chef, Daniel Boulud, and his Times Square DB Bistro. When it opened, it was a chic, stylish hotel with a moderate price. Those days are long gone. DB Bistro is closed and the hotel has seen better days. You can still spot signs of creative design - the wall lamps are low and the art is still nice. But paint is chipped and wallpaper is peeling. On the other hand, it has a great location near Times Square, it's clean and acceptable at a low price point. I paid about $200. The room was a fine size and the handicapped bathroom was quite large. It was fine at that price. My view of NYC hotels is that I only sleep there. I don't care very much where I stay, as long as it's clean and fairly nice. I have stayed at the best hotels - Pierre, Lowell - and paying a lot is just a waste of money to me. (If someone wants to pay for my stay at the Aman Hotel, please contact me.) I don't regret staying there. I was happy to save the money. But go with lowered expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Handicapped bathroom is quite large.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joshua Barbee, General Manager at City Club Hotel
Responded Sep 20, 2022
Dear Jlasf, I am deeply sorry for the issues you encountered while staying with us. We as as a team strive to be number. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your experience at the City Club
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
+1
After checking in to City Club Hotel 55 W 44th St New York NY 10036, my children observed that a giant 4 foot by 12 foot mirror in their room was a two way mirror. My kid had seen a YouTube video that showed you could tell if you put your finger up to the mirror and you see your fingertips touch, it’s a mirror you can see through from the inside. My kid then proceeded to take the phone flashlight and put it up next to the large 4 foot by 10 foot mirror, and lo and behold, you could see a little area on the other side of the mirror. So my children were petrified that there could be cameras watching them from behind these mirrors. I was petrified that this hotel seemed to be made and possibly operated by some sort of Norman Bates-like sociopath.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$174 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
city hotel new york
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityMidtown West / Manhattan / Midtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CITY CLUB HOTEL $71 ($̶1̶1̶5̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - New York City

Frequently Asked Questions about City Club Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to City Club Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bryant Park (0.1 miles), New York Public Library (0.2 miles), and Broadway (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at City Club Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at City Club Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at City Club Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at City Club Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to City Club Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Los Tacos No. 1, Dos Caminos, and Tony's Di Napoli - Midtown.
Are there opportunities to exercise at City Club Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does City Club Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, City Club Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at City Club Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at City Club Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to City Club Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (3.5 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (3.5 miles), and Hamilton Park (2.1 miles).