We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
50 Central Park South, New York City, NY 10019
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$905
Booking.com$905
Hotels.com$905
Priceline$905
Tripadvisor$905
Trip.com$955
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (619)
Room & Suite (328)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 04/22/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Updated 04/22/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#130 of 512 hotels in New York City
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.1
Boldly transformed and redesigned, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park reimagines luxury in Midtown Manhattan, drawing inspiration from the sights, sounds, and colors of Central Park and the chic residential style of a city penthouse. Steps from the city's renowned cultural attractions, the 253-room New York City hotel is an iconic, award-winning hotel. Featuring the all-day gastro lounge Contour, The Ritz-Carlton Club® Lounge, and a collection of wellness experiences including the first stateside La Prairie Spa and innovative Movement Studio, the iconic hotel creates inspiring guest memories with its legendary Ritz-Carlton service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle tours
Bowling offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Paid wifi
Yoga room
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 7 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
245Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
68Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1868Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,369
  • 286
  • 120
  • 51
  • 42
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Hector C wrote a review Aug 3
3 contributions
As soon as we arrived on a lateSunday afternoon we were greeted by a friendly and efficient doorman. The person at the reception desk was professional and knowledgeable. We had booked a one bedroom suite with a partial view of Central Park and, that’s exactly what we got. The suite was located on the 22nd floor and the view, although partial, was beautiful. Even though it was a one bedroom suite, it came with two full bathrooms. It was impecable clean and very quiet and of course it came with all the amenities that you would expect: bathrobes, sleepers etc. The breakfasts in the restaurant were very good and the service professional and efficient. One hot afternoon, after a long walk, we stopped by the bar and had an excellent and refreshing gin and tonic, again very good service. Bottom line: great place to stay while visiting the big Apple. Highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
svega892 wrote a review Jul 2022
Atlanta, Georgia88 contributions23 helpful votes
I have been a loyal customer for over 10 years of the Ritz-Carlton hotel brand name, and visited this location three times during the last six years. I was able to secure the reservation link 48 hours from the hotel before arrival. It is definitely worth, safe, and highly recommend it! Upon arrival to the hotel, I was able to meet Amber at the front desk. She was more than professional, provided all the details about the property, and helped us solve an access issue to the Club Lounge. This is what I call customer service and definitely loved her approach in dealing with guests.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TravelgalCathy wrote a review Jul 2022
Napa Valley, California418 contributions123 helpful votes
Stayed two nights here in early May when the weather was changing. When it started to pour rain (after a day of sunshine) the hotel was ready and had umbrellas for the guests. The room was just as expected: well-appointed, spacious, quiet. We had drinks in the lounge on the lobby level, and the service was superb. It was a nice place to escape from the busy streets. The location of this R-C is right at the base of Central Park, which is our preferred area to stay in mid-town. The service was 5 stars all around and we look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Our corner room had a very large bathroom.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
foodfinancetravel wrote a review Jun 2022
Vancouver, Canada56 contributions34 helpful votes
This place is not worth the $ as others have said. We are ambassador guests and received zero benefit. In fact, they havent even credited us for the stay. I see the gm responds to every negative review. Ots all smoke and mirrors. I have emailed him befofe writing this review and have not heard from the hotel. Poor service, no ambassador recognition (not even a greeting), poor room layout (no desk for example) etc. Much better places to stay in the citt.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Douglas Housley, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Responded Jun 27, 2022
Dear foodfinancetravel, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. I am sorry to hear that you didn't feel recognized as an Ambassador level guest. We do all we can to upgrade our valued Ambassador guests, however, it is difficult when we are running at a high occupancy and that there is no upgrades to be offered. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our leadership team so that we improve our recognition for our Ambassador level guests. . I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Douglas Housley General Manager The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park douglas.housley@ritzcarlton.com 212-521-6001
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex M wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
This is not kept up like a typical ritz I stay in many and you will be disappointed. Rooms are not up to date. toilet was dirty upon arrival. Room was not cleaned daily even though we requested daily. Check in took nearly 3 hours and went past the 4pm check in time with nothing offered while sitting there. Homeless people and street vendors right in front of the door. Other high end hotels like One hotel and Penninsula keep the street in front of the hotel clean, the ritz does not. No club lounge. Bar is small and dark with no view. Gym is also small and dark with no windows even. They double charge people and the staff will lie saying it just says that on the paper that you won’t actually be charged the extra amount. Now talking with accounting they refuse to give back the $675 “upgrade” I apparently wanted to move to a low floor with no view. Makes 0 sense. Not worth the money and now it’s a hassle chasing down accounting over their mistake.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: This hotel is not what you think it will be
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Douglas Housley, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Dear Alex M, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. Your experience is below our standard. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the leadership team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed. Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to discuss further. Sincerely, Douglas Housley General Manager The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park douglas.housley@ritzcarlton.com 212-521-6001
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel Noriega wrote a review Jun 2022
Mexico City, Mexico67 contributions13 helpful votes
Not a 5 star experience at all. Unfortunately, I already expressed these concerns to the hotel manager, but I got no other solution other than “if you do an early check, we will only charge an extra night”. It is impossible to sleep due to the temperature in the room. Despite having AC at full coolness, the room is designed in a way that cool air won’t reach the bed. Water in the shower will come without pressure, unless you only use cold water. No way to have a hot shower with water with pressure. Bell boy will close the door upon my wife and me until I identify ourselves as hotel guests. I expressed the comments to both the Front Desk and the manager. They won’t provide any possible solution, their only concern is to charge for the 7 nights I originally booked. I am leaving after two nights, really dissatisfied with the room, but mainly with the service and attention provided.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Douglas Housley, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Responded Jun 16, 2022
Dear danielnb18, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our leadership team. I hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to the area. Sincerely, Douglas Housley General Manager The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park douglas.housley@ritzcarlton.com 212-521-6001
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Howard F wrote a review Jun 2022
Baltimore, Maryland26 contributions54 helpful votes
I had a terrific stay in this property. I stay over 100 nights a year in Marriott's and this was one of the best. The service was impeccable. I arrived three hours early and they got me in to the room two hours early. I had lunch in their wonderful restaurant while I waited and when the front desk agent came to bring me my keys he apologized for keeping me waiting---even though he got me in two hours early. The doorman caught me a can in pouring rain. All the staff were top notch, The General Manager Douglas Housley personally helped me with my request. The room they upgraded me to as an Ambassador was gorgeous. I had a truly top notch stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
NeeluBagga wrote a review Jun 2022
Hyderabad, India5 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
I don’t usually write reviews but this one was much needed. We were celebrating our son’s graduation and decided to stay at Ritz Carlton Central Park. And must I say it was the best experience. They made our stay very comfortable and went out of the way to take special care as we were celebrating a special occasion. A big Thank you to everyone including the front desk, the concierge, the bell desk. It was a memorable stay and we will be back very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
J M wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom15 contributions14 helpful votes
As per Debra below on 2nd June, I was presented at checkout with a bill for a bottle of vodka from the mini bar. We never had this and had it removed from the bill. However later that night I noticed the amount was subsequently taken from the credit card anyway. There is clearly something going on at the hotel. Apart from that everything had been very good. Leaves a nasty taste in the mouth and unwillingness ever to stay there or with Marriott again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Douglas Housley, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Responded Jun 7, 2022
Dear jj328, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience while staying with us. Your experience is below our standard. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our leadership team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed to prevent those issues from occurring in the future. Sincerely, Douglas Housley General Manager The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park douglas.housley@ritzcarlton.com 212-521-6001
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nyclover18 wrote a review Jun 2022
Jackson, Mississippi16 contributions37 helpful votes
I used to live in NYC and, I’ll admit, had always wanted to stay the night in this hotel. On a recent trip I had the opportunity to do so, and booked a room for the Sunday night of my week in NYC. The 3 previous nights I had stayed at the Times Square Edition hotel, and while I wasn’t crazy about staying in Times Square, I absolutely loved the Edition. Prior to my stay I received an email from the Ritz concierge welcoming me to the hotel. I had booked an entry level room (no view), but he mentioned that I was eligible for an upgrade, provided availability on check in. I certainly didn’t expect any upgrades and was surprised that I was even eligible, despite my Bonvoy status. At any rate, on the day of check in I used the chat feature on the Marriott app to converse with the front desk. I told them my arrival time and asked about the possibility of an upgrade, figuring it didn’t hurt anything to ask? They responded that no upgrades were available, which I was fine with. A few minutes later, a second message came through stating that they had upgraded me to a city view room on the 3rd floor. I was excited. Got to the hotel a few hours later and proceeded to the front desk. The guy who checked me in was pleasant enough I guess, but nothing like the warm welcome I had received at the Edition. He handed me my keys to a room on the 15th floor. I looked at my keys and was confused so I asked him about the room I thought I’d been assigned on the 3rd floor. Now he was confused. He said that no upgrades to city view rooms were available. I would have been fine with this, but questioned why I’d been told differently in the app just a couple hours ago. I showed him the text exchange on my phone and that’s when lots of furious typing began. He was just staring at the computer screen and typed for what seemed like an eternity. Not wanting to waste time, I just told him the room he had tried to give me would be fine. He kept saying that upgrades were only available at the actual check in and he wasn’t sure why I’d been told differently. He was finally able to give me a city view room on the 11th floor, which I appreciated. Once again the keys were handed over. Zero explanation of hotel amenities, etc. I even had to ask where to find the elevator. First impression of the room was good. It’s nice, lots of molding and paneled walls, but really no wow factor that so many Ritz Carlton properties have. There was the requisite umbrella, stemware, bottled water, etc. The bathroom was also nice with a separate tub and shower, but appeared dated. The view was actually very nice. I had a view of the tall buildings around Columbus circle and just a sliver of the park, and at night it was beautiful. I was glad I had pushed for the upgrade. A little while after checking in a nice housekeeper came by for turn down. She rolled out the bath mat and offered to lower the blinds. I declined because it was only 5:30 and still plenty of daylight. No ice or water was left and no actual turndown. Odd. Later that night I experienced one of the best nights of sleep I’ve ever had in that bed lol. It was truly one of the most comfortable beds I’ve ever slept in. The next morning I called for a bucket of ice that took 3 calls to finally appear. The hotel operator was very friendly (the only staff member I can say that about) and was apologetic about the ice being delayed. It finally came. I checked out a little later and the front desk clerk said “you’re all set” and that was that. I proceeded to the entrance and asked one of the bellman for assistance in hailing a cab. After a couple of minutes he said that no cabs were available and suggested that I try Uber, which I did. While I was only here for one night and didn’t require much, every employee I did interact with, with the exception of the operator, was such a let down. A most disappointing stay in what I believe Ritz Carlton considers one of their flagship properties. In terms of customer service the Edition hotel was light years ahead in the overall guest experience. With an ok hard product and substandard customer service, essentially what you’re paying for here is the name brand. And maybe the location. Entry level rooms here start at $1200/night and unless you’ve got money to burn it’s simply not worth it. Not by a long shot.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Stay at one of the Edition hotels (there are 2) in Manhattan.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$846 - $1,460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ritz carlton new york city, ritz new york city, new york city ritz carlton, ritz carlton central park, ritz carlton manhattan
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityMidtown West / Manhattan / Midtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
253
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Which popular attractions are close to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park?
Nearby attractions include The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) (0.3 miles), Big Apple Jazz Tours (0.2 miles), and Carnegie Hall (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Loi Estiatorio, Beyond Sushi, and Indian Accent.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a sauna, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Chinese.