We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel

Traveler (786)
360
Panoramas (6)
Videos (1)

About

#382 of 498 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
nyma is one of New York City's newest boutique hotels. Located in a vibrant neighborhood on 32nd Street between Fifth Avenue and Broadway, nyma is just steps away from the Empire State Building, Macy's, the Fashion District, Penn Station and Madison Square Garden. The Jacob K. Javits Convention Center is also close by. Our large, brightly-lit lobby offers Wifi, a 24-hour business center with two iMacs, and full concierge services to help guests arrange for all types of sightseeing and leisure activities, and car services.
Read more
Property amenities
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room amenities
Air conditioning
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
496Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
98Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors imagine before they visit - spectacular skyscrapers like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building, iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is a shopper's paradise where you can find every kind of store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the affordable to the ultra-fancy. Visit Rockefeller Center to experience towering Art Deco grandeur, and foodies will love the busy restaurants that stay open late in Koreatown. After dark, Midtown calms down a bit, but at any time of day or night it still feels 100% New York.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
3,070Reviews
125Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 724
  • 1,477
  • 589
  • 150
  • 131
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I stayed in NYC several times before this one, but the conference I was attending was across the street. There are PLENTY of reasonably priced hotels in NYC, and there is no need to waste your time here. I was told that the air could not be turned on until June, and it was quite warm. The wall paper was coming off of the walls, the bathroom was filthy with a tub that wouldn't drain, and we had to change rooms due to hair on the sheets. When I expressed my dismay to the manager, I got very little response except the fees would be removed. While I wasn't looking for that, I accepted as I was simply sleeping there for 3 nights. HOWEVER, he did NOT remove the fees, and the lack of customer service while I was there wasn't even worth wasting my time to call and dispute. On a positive note, the gentleman taking care of our luggage was VERY friendly. Other customers were very disappointed, and one man was yelling for the receptionist to come with him. (I'm assuming to see what we were seeing! Filth and inattention to upkeep! This hotel has been left behind. What a disappointment! Don't let the outside fool you.
Read more
Response from XerxesC5, General Manager at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
We appreciate the feedback. We're disappointed that your time with us was less than ideal. Your experience is not on par with the level of service we're accustomed to providing. We regret that we didn't meet your expectations. Your happiness and satisfaction are important to us so we'll be addressing your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you give us another opportunity to demonstrate the high-caliber service we're capable of sharing with our guests.
Read more
Stayed here in April 2019 and Im have to say it was terrible.There are two lifts one of which was out of order most of the time and it failed to stop on our floor 12th and it would go up and down and stop regularly on the 2nd floor where there seemed to be a reception area for those who lived in the hotel. The only plus was the room was fine and the housekeeping was excellent. New York have a cheek charging €245 per room per night without breakfast for this standard,wont be back.
Read more
Response from XerxesC5, General Manager at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
We appreciate the feedback, Glen. It's unfortunate you had such challenges during your time with us. We regret the inconvenience you experienced with the elevators. We care about the satisfaction of our guests so we'll be sure to address your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We look forward to sharing a more positive experience with you soon.
Read more
The staff was very nice. Convenient location. My room seemed a little tired, the carpet was very worn. Liked the bathroom dispensers for soap, lotion, shampoo, shower gel, but there was no conditioner.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from XerxesC5, General Manager at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to submit this feedback. We are always working as hard as we can to provide the best stays for our guests. We regret to hear about your experience. We will share all of your concerns with our team moving forward. We hope you plan on staying with us again soon. We'd love to improve your opinion of us.
Read more
The hotel is extremely busy during check in / check out. Not enough staff to just help and answer questions. Employees did not want to lend us a key to use the bathroom since we had just checked out. Had to stand in line for over 50 minutes just to pick up the key from the front desk staff to be able to use the bathroom in the lobby. Lobby is very boring. We had to wait until after 4PM for check in and there was basically nothing to do in the lobby. They have a bar and an area, but it is closed. It opens during the morning for snacks.
Read more
Response from XerxesC5, General Manager at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Julissa. We're disheartened to hear about the challenges you experienced during your time with us. We regret that our team didn't go above and beyond to accommodate your needs or to make you feel valued. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We hope to host you again soon so we can demonstrate the high-caliber service we're accustomed to sharing with our guests.
Read more
This hotel had a very central location that you couldn't beat. The hotel itself was a bit old but if you're just staying for the night, it's fine. They also kept it very clean and I have no complaints about cleanliness. We had a superior king room and it was spacious. I booked a better deal on the hotel's website than other booking websites. We were given free breakfast coupons to Paris Baguette - nothing fancy, but enough to at least have something in our stomachs as we head out for the day. I didn't think the wait for the elevators were that long as other people were saying.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from XerxesC5, General Manager at nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the kind words, Colleen! It's excellent you enjoyed your time with us so much! We pride ourselves in offering a clean and comfortable environment for all of our guests and your praise tells us we're succeeding. Thank you again for sharing your review with us! We can't wait to see you again soon for another amazing experience! Have a fantastic day!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$144 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
manhattan red roof innred roof inn manhattanred roof inn new york citynew york city red roof inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityManhattanTenderloinKoreatownMidtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
171
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing