We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Two West Street, New York City, NY 10004
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (1154)
Room & Suite (382)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 11/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Wagner at the Battery
Updated 11/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#93 of 512 hotels in New York City
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
The Wagner at the Battery is a proudly independent, contemporary luxury hotel that allows guests to connect to the heart of the new Downtown.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Boating
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Nightclub / DJ
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 10 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
2935Reviews58Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,921
  • 608
  • 239
  • 90
  • 77
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
graveyardend wrote a review Jan 2022
Swansea, United Kingdom11 contributions10 helpful votes
Was due to stay here but looks like it is closed. Website down, no one answering the phone or emails. Very disappointing that no one had the decency to contact future guests to let them know to make alternative arrangements. Now trying to get my money back
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
B.J. wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions
Had a memorable experience at The Wagner Hotel for a weekend getaway with my wife. Kevin provided outstanding service! He and other staff anticipated our needs and also arranged for us to get to ride bicycles through Tribeca and Lower Manhattan. Our room had an amazing view and included a telescope on a tripod to view the Stature of Liberty. Great location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
NA wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Do Not Stay here or book with the Wagner – we were supposed to have our wedding here in April 2020 and they are continuing to refuse to give us back tens of thousands of dollars owed in wedding deposits! The company has been impossible to work with and even went so far as to sign a settlement agreement with us knowing that they would default on payments. I would never recommend staying here or working with the Wagner in any capacity! They have ruined our wedding experience!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Shukhrat wrote a review Oct 2020
Moscow, Russia1 contribution2 helpful votes
When searching for hotels in Downton NYC I stumbled upon the Wagner Hotel. The pictures gave me a good virtual impression and I decided to give this place a shot during my vacation in Manhattan. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. I appreciated the gesture of putting cupcakes in my room and s'mores. The view from my particular room was absolutely stunning and showed the beauty of this busy and hardworking city, the American dream visualized. Most rooms have a view of the World Trade Center which looks gorgeous and magnificent at night. We were lucky to have free breakfast included in our package during our 2 week stay at the hotel. The food was a great and served fresh. I recommend taking the American Breakfast. Staff was eager to help refill our coffee mugs and serve us in the best way possible. However, the breakfast is pricy if you don't have it included in a package when you book the hotel. Be prepared to wait an hour or so when you check in as that seems to take longer than usual in this hotel. Your in a world of trouble if you don't pay by card as you cannot pay the deposit with cash. Even though it was long to check in and check-out, the staff were accommodating and polite and they even brought a Russian-speaking receptionist to help us finish the process. In conclusion, the hotel experience was amazing to say the least, I have travelled a lot throughout the world and this is definitely one of the best experiences I had. The only drawback is the check-in and check-out process that take a little bit long but aside from that everything is great. The location is superb as well.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Benn Howarth wrote a review Sep 2020
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
100% Incredible, I’m not one for writing reviews but this hotel deserves it! They couldn’t do enough for me and my girlfriend! It was her first time in New York and every staff member went above and beyond to make it extra special! The Rooms are incredibly spacious with great views onto the Statue of Liberty and lots of brilliant facilities If you wanted to stay out of the constant hustle and bustle but still be close enough to the amenities this is the hotel for you! Really reasonable price too! PS. The Hotels Lobby smells sensational and we’d look forward to going out or coming back after a long day just for that scent..... if anyone has any suggestions what it could be please let me know!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
flightclubny wrote a review Jul 2020
New York City, New York61 contributions135 helpful votes
This may be the most underrated hotel in downtown Manhattan and it is not because of the hotel, it is because of the staff. I’ve been staying here for over ten years, since it was a Ritz-Carlton and the hotel has changed quite a few times, but the service has always been on point. The rooms are large (recommend getting one with a view of the water, it’s sweeping and the best view to wake up to.) Now that it’s The Wagner, you can experience the same at a better value. If you need concierge tips, ask the bellmen/doormen, they will set you up. (Too many to name but all good people.) At reception, ask for Salvador. I would hire him if my business was in NYC.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Sadat wrote a review Mar 2020
New York City, New York1 contribution3 helpful votes
I’ve been in this hotel. They are very nice and friendly especially Yejaira (manager). She is so kind, nice, the best I believe. Every body is nice. Foods, drinks, are perfect. Feels like real home to me.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from AlexS13561, General Manager at The Wagner at the Battery
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear sashasE9011SL, Thank you for the great rating and kind comments! It's wonderful you appreciated our excellent facilities, accommodations as well as our outstanding service. Our one and only mission at The Wagner is to deliver a unique experience and it sounds like we have done it again! We look forward to meeting and greeting you again for your future travel to New York City! Best regards, Alex Spektor Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maggie L wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
My husband and I have just visited this hotel for a 4 night stay. Everything was faultless. The staff were excellent and obliging, the room was spacious and comfortable, and the lounge access good value. Special requests were immediately taken care of. Nice location. Would definitely go back. So good to be in an independent hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from AlexS13561, General Manager at The Wagner at the Battery
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Thank you for the amazing review and rating J7933IDmaggiel, We are delighted you and your husband had a great mini vacation at The Wagner and that you enjoyed your spacious room, the great offerings of the Club Lounge and our service so much. Our Lower Manhattan location although a short distance from Midtown madness, is buzzing with many local attractions, shops, restaurants and pathways. We would look forward to meeting and greeting you for your next travel to New York City! Warmest of Regards, Alex Spektor Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam L wrote a review Mar 2020
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom56 contributions15 helpful votes
Finding a 'nice' place to stay in NYC that doesn't cost the earth is a tough find. I was visiting NYC from the UK with my wife for her 40th, so i wanted to book something that was memorable, but wasn't too over the top. At over $400 a night, i would have expected a little more from the Wagner. The first room we were given had a multitude of issues with it, so i requested being moved to another room, which still had it's issues but not enough to complain about moving again. The 'view' of lady liberty is quite obviously not what is shown in the pictures on their website, which i already knew from visitor pictures on Tripadvisor. The walls are thin, when the room next to ours decided to have a group meeting at 6am every morning, we were inadvertently part of that meeting. Still, it got us up for the days early! Several gripes are not specific to this hotel, A burger & a salad to the room was roughly $80, a beer is over $12 a bottle, and the resort fee is $50 a day on top of your booking.. these are silly prices on top of an already over-priced stay for what you're getting. But then that's NYC. It fitted it's purpose for the week, it was close to public transport, car hire and walking distance to the financial district, that's what we needed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from AlexS13561, General Manager at The Wagner at the Battery
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear samlawson81, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, as we highly value your feedback. It is great to hear that our convenient location allowed you to transport through Downtown Manhattan with ease. We are disappointed, however, that you were not satisfied with your room reservation. It is disappointing that your room did not meet your expectations. We recognize the inconvenience and will be sure to address your feedback with our team as we continue to improve in the future. Best Regards, Alex Spektor Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joann K wrote a review Mar 2020
Atlantic Beach, Florida5 contributions5 helpful votes
I’ve stayed at The Wagner before and love it. It gets better and better every trip. Cleanliness and service is impressive... Mohammed was so friendly and one of the best I’ve seen at the front desk in NYC! We will be back soon ! Make sure to stop for a drink!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AlexS13561, General Manager at The Wagner at the Battery
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear joannk453, We're thrilled you had a great stay with us! It's wonderful you appreciated our excellent facilities and accommodations. We are also glad Mohamed was able to take good care of you and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future for an even more memorable experience. Warmest of Regards, Alex Spektor Managing Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$22 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ritz-carlton battery park hotel new york city, ritz new york city, ritz-carlton new york city, new york city ritz-carlton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityDowntown Manhattan (Downtown) / Battery Park City / Manhattan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
298
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Wagner at the Battery
Which popular attractions are close to The Wagner at the Battery?
Nearby attractions include Ellis Island Immigration Museum (0.2 miles), Battery Park (0.2 miles), and SeaGlass Carousel (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Wagner at the Battery?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Wagner at the Battery?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Wagner at the Battery?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Wagner at the Battery?
Yes, secured parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Wagner at the Battery?
Conveniently located restaurants include George's Restaurant, Gigino Wagner Park, and Sauce & Barrel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Wagner at the Battery?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is The Wagner at the Battery located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of New York City.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Wagner at the Battery?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Wagner at the Battery?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Wagner at the Battery offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.