We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bowery House

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Bowery House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

475 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 371: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

So I ended up heading to NYC for a quick business trip for two days and realised only on the plane from LA that I didn't have any accommodation booked! (OK, tbh I knew I didn't have any accommodation, but I was totally disorganised and lazy about it all...). I found Bowrey House on Airbnb, and saw that it had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leon K
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear Leon K, Thank you for your FIVE STAR REVIEW! The Bowery House has great staff. We travel as well so we know the importance of providing great guest service when guests are in a hurry. We are happy you found us. Our historic boutique hostel is in the middle of everything as you experienced. I hope you stay with... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a couple we found the room too small, we barely had enough room to both stand up. The fact there was no closed roof meant our heavily snoring neighbours sounded like they were in the same room. I would recommend this accomm for single travellers staying for a short time. Liked the location, and we were happy to have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nina J
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear Nina J, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review. Our cabins offer a great place to rest up after exploring NYC. We affordable accommodations in a very expensive city. If you needed, we could have stored luggage for you so you had more room in the Cabin. Wifi logons can be frustrating... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

wow.. the room was the size of a bathroom, the bed is for a person 5'8" and shorter.. the "AC" went out while i was there.. the room is NOT for anyone 6'2 and above..people were snoring..and since you cannot play music you have to hear them snore.. i got no sleep... then the most insane thing happen...a damn waterbug... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rfoster08
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear Rfoster08, Thank you for your stay. The Bowery House is a hostel and we offer small cabins for each guest instead of a bunk bed set up as in most hostels. The smallest is the Original Cabin and we also have Twin, Full and Queen cabins so you can always upgrade if the smallest one does not work for... More 

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The facilities I got compensates well for what I paid.. The location is a big plus. Very close to Bowery, Dalencey, Essex and Spring subway stations. Even, the Indian restaurants are also close by distance. The staff are helpful and courteous. Low budget hotel best suited for my short stay as I'm a single traveller. The room/cabins are quite small,... More 

Helpful?
Thank SaiRamKunta
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear SaiRamKunta, Thank you for your stay! The Bowery House has a great location and is very affordable alternative to the expensive hotels that are common in NYC. We are a hostel and not a hotel, so there are differences. We have a bell person to help with luggage up the stairs so just let us know when you are... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights. Glad it was only a few! Very loud, yes ear plugs where provided but apart from that no staff intervention when people are on the phone in the sleeping areas! The room was soooooo tiny we had to take turns when getting ready as couldn't both be in there sorting our stuff at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kat M
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

A pretty cool place with a rich history. The interior architecture is really authentic 1920s, with marble flooring and deep wood panelled walls. Staff are nice, friendly and accomodating with any question or help with good suggestions for places to go around NYC. There is a nice rooftop terrace, the sleeping quarters are comfortable and have a good feel. I... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 24hrtravel
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear 24hrtravel, Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! Our staff loves to help guests enjoy the city. There are so many excellent restaurants, bars and places to enjoy - we love to send our guests to the places they will like. Our historic setting is really unique with great preserved details of old NYC. Please let me... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

The room was right at the entrance so you could hear everyone coming and going. It was hotter inside than outside and that's saying something as it was summer. The bathroom had a carpet of hair on the floor. And there was even a dog barking right next to out cabin. Awful experience, I had to book another hotel mid... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ma L
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear Ma L, I am sorry to read that you were so unhappy with your stay. The Bowery House is fully air conditioned and we have a hard working housekeeping staff that keeps bathrooms very clean. Did you come to the Front Desk to let us know that you were unhappy? We could certainly have solved any problem that you... More 

Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

Stayed at the Bowery House overnight I while I visited NYC for 2 days...for the first time. It was a perfect experience in the cabin. The reviews are right that it is tiny, but it was perfect for me as i just needed a private sleeping space. It is considered a quiet area, although you are provided ear plugs, because... More 

Helpful?
Thank abynion
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear abynion, Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! We are happy you enjoyed the location and cabin. As a hostel, we offer some of the best prices in the city and our location can't be beat. Your cabin description is correct and remember that we do have larger cabins and also ones with windows if you want... More 

New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

The decor in the lobby and in the shared spaces is modern and cool. The neighborhood is dynamic, with the famous Morgenstern's ice cream less than a block away. Excellent cafes nearby and just a quick walk to the East Village, with many subways nearby. Seems like a good idea, right? Price is right, so what's not to like? THE... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tinaalex01
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review

Dear tinaalex01, Thank you for your recent stay and review! We offer very affordable accommodations in a city know for expensive hotels rooms that are very small. We are clear about being a hostel and that we offer cabins instead of regular hotel rooms. As with any hostel, you can hear other guests at times. We offer storage for any... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

339 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (147)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Corner Twin Cabin with Window (15)
Viewed
Full Cabin (14)
Viewed
Shared Bathrooms (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (73)
Viewed
Twin Cabin (9)
Viewed
Twin Cabin with Window (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#229 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,271 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#377 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#267 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#224 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,382 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#304 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#8 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Nolita

Neighborhood Profile
Nolita
Despite being just off of busy Houston Street, Nolita maintains a low-key vibe that makes it a pleasant retreat in the heart of lower Manhattan. Short for “North of Little Italy,” Nolita was once considered to be part of Little Italy. Today, the neighborhood is popular with young fashionistas popping in and out of the chic independent boutiques that line Mulberry, Mott and Elizabeth Streets. In addition to shopping, there are cozy restaurants and sidewalk cafes serving everything from new-school Italian food to the world-famous cronuts. While small in size (Nolita stretches just a few blocks in each direction), it’s a great neighborhood to spend an afternoon people watching, window-shopping, and grabbing a bite to eat.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our property, 220 Bowery, was built in 1927 as a manufacturing building. It operated in this capacity until it was reborn as The Prince Hotel in the 1940’s to serve as temporary lodging for soldiers returning home from World War II. All floors of The Prince Hotel were rebuilt with single room cabins that were just large enough for a bed and storage of essential items. The bathrooms were made communal so that the hotel operators could maximize its occupancy and house as many soldiers as possible. With its prime location and easy access to vices such as gambling, prostitution and saloons - some of the soldiers never left and decided to make the majority of the 200 cabins their long-term homes. It was in these single rooms that many of the Bowery’s most eccentric characters lived for decades adding to the lore and drama of New York’s former skid row. At The Bowery House, we have decided to preserve and restore every detail of the remarkable 1940’s cabin craftsmanship and in turn provide unique, authentic and historic accommodations to travelers from around the world. Part museum and part hotel, we hope you enjoy not only the neighborhood but also the living history that is The Bowery House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bowery House

Address: 220 Bowery, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Price Range: $103 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bowery House 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Budget Places and Odigeo so you can book your The Bowery House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bowery House Hotel New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay