We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Benjamin

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Benjamin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,526 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Benjamin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,377: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here recently for two nights while on a business trip to New York. The Benjamin is one of many NYC hotels where I have stayed. I can honestly say that it has moved to the #1 spot for me in terms of Midtown East hotels. I felt good from the moment I stepped into the lobby and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prudala
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Dear Prudala, Thank you for your recent visit to The Benjamin and for taking your time to provide us feedback about your visit. I humbled to hear that we are your new number one hotel on the East Side. Our associates strive to provide excellent service and it is great to hear that you experienced it while with us. I...

Reviewed November 9, 2013

We switched to the Benjamin after a poor experience in a nearby hotel. We were assisted in everything we asked. We had a one bedroom suite booking. On arrival we were allocated a a 4th level suite on 50th St. We requested a move to an internal room when one was available. The next day we were moved to an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia F
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Dear Patricia F, Thank you for your recent visit to The Benjamin. Although you did not enjoy the location of your first room I am pleased that we were able to make the transition to quiet room easy for you. Thank for your kind words about Anya. She takes great pride in her work and I have passed your review...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed November 4, 2013

At the last minute, we changed our hotel from the Waldorf to the Benjamin. What a great move. The Benjamin was excellent. The staff was helpful and friendly. Robert at the front desk made an extra effort to accommodate needs of a family. The doorman, bellman, and housekeeping were friendly and helpful. The GM sent a little birthday treat to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Dear Michael C, Thank you for your recent visit to The Benjamin. It was great to hear that you decided to stay with us while in New York. Our Terrace Suites are very popular and provide a great space to relax. Thank you for your kind words our associates and especially Robert. I have passed along your review to them....

UK Business Traveller
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have just returned from a week in NYC where we stayed in the Benjamin. I had originally booked to go there earlier in the year but due to family illness we were not able to go. Once we had got the rebook dates I contacted Joe (the GM) with a few special requests to make the trip special for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bilbos_Dad
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Dear Bilbos_Dad, Thank you for recent visit to The Benjamin and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am extremely pleased that we were able to make your birthday stay a memorable one. I apologize for the service issue you had with In Room Dining and I am pleased that our team was able to rectify...

ny
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The photo is from our balcony!! What a place!!! Were in room 1808. The balcony went around the building. The food was very good I'm now waiting for my 18$ pot of coffee! It's annoying that trip advisor make me write 200 characters. There is that enough?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mastercolorist
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Dear mastercolorist, Thank you for recent visit to The Benjamin. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. I am also pleased to hear that you were able to one of our suites with a terrace. It is a great feature for our guests to enjoy. I hope that you will select The Benjamin again on...

delray beach
Reviewed November 2, 2013

First the good-room recently remodeled & spacious, very pretty . Ate breakfast at the restaurant & food was good & service excellent . The bad-the air conditioner fan was extremely loud-had to turn it off to sleep. No turn down service in the evening which I found surprising. Front desk is not welcoming-not 1 smile checking in or out. Now...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yippee1014
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Dear yippee1014, Thank you for providing us with feedback about your recent visit to The Benjamin. While I am pleased that you enjoyed the renovated rooms and The National it is disappointing to hear that you had several issues while with us. My Director of Front Office Operations would like to speak with you about your stay. Please reach out...

Carrollton, Virginia
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We came to NYC with our 2 small children (5/7) and wanted the WOW factor for them. When I called to ask questions and reserve I was advised a terrace room would be perfect. Of course, I listened! We go to the hotel and went to our room on the 16th floor and my husband and I were mortified at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LTSchall
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Dear LTSchall, Thank you for your recent visit to The Benjamin. While I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your second room I sincerely apologize for the issues you had while with us. My Director of Front Office Operations would like to speak with you about your visit. Please reach out at your earliest convenience at 212-715-2527. I do...

CT
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We liked this hotel, not a big brand and has a nice boutique feel, easy access and location to midtown. Being on Lex Ave you can get a cab or train u town or downtown easy. Room was average size and comfy bed, clean bathroom although carpets need a good shampoo, but overall very good value. National restaurant in lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PatrickCT14
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Dear PatickCT14, Thank you for your recent visit to The Benjamin. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient midtown location, comfortable bed and other room amenities. We are proud to have The National as our hotel dining option and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast there. I look forward to having you with...

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Overall the Benjamin is a good choice. the location is great--just steps away from the metro, the rooms are spacious and attractive, and they offer kitchen suites with microwaves and refrigerators which makes a stay in the city much easier. Nice to have easy access to yogurt and fruit. Also convenient for doggie bags from great restaurant meals. Only negatives...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rosalie s
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Dear rosalie s, Thank you for your recent visit to The Benjamin. I am delighted to hear that you found our midtown location to be convenient while in the city. Our spacious rooms do offer a great kitchenette area to keep food in your room while at the hotel. Thank you again for taking your time to share your feedback...

New York
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The room had fleas all over the place along with chocolate massed into the carpeting. Cheerios were in chair creases. Only received 2 towels and there were no sheets on the bed. I do not recommend this room at all.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DKRInc
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review

Dear DKRInc, Thank you for sharing your feedback about The Benjamin. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our housekeeping department did have the room inspected by our Pest Control company and they did not find anything in the room. I would like to have my Director of Housekeeping speak with you about the certificate that...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

737 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (375)
Viewed
Room/Suite (146)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (138)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (295)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Deluxe Studio King Room (38)
Viewed
Guest Room (37)
Viewed
One-Bedroom Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
The Benjamin Suite (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#88 of 467 in New York City
1,535 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
1,186 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#79 of 467 in New York City
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
1,325 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
1,149 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#86 of 467 in New York City
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Midtown

Neighborhood Profile
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors imagine before they visit - spectacular skyscrapers like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building, iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is a shopper's paradise where you can find every kind of store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the affordable to the ultra-fancy. Visit Rockefeller Center to experience towering Art Deco grandeur, and foodies will love the busy restaurants that stay open late in Koreatown. After dark, Midtown calms down a bit, but at any time of day or night it still feels 100% New York.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Price Range: $268 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Benjamin staff and other travelers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from The Benjamin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Select a corner suite to have sights of the intersecting streets below.”
 of 5 bubbles Scarlett_Mae, 1 week ago | Read review
“Request interior room which is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles SeamusOH, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“try to book a floor above the 5th floor to avoid street level and construction noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 746ashe, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Higher floor to avoid street noise”
 of 5 bubbles kruzingtogether, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Away from the construction across the street”
 of 5 bubbles EricG141, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question