We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Selina Chelsea

Save
Share
518 W 27th St, New York City, NY 10001-5506
Lowest prices for your stay
$932
$176
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com$176
eDreams
ZenHotels.com$932
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (282)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (268)

About

#399 of 521 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Beautifully designed rooms, abundance of natural light and welcoming decor! More than just a hotel, Selina Chelsea NYC features a rooftop bar & restaurant, outdoor pool, a vibrant all-day cafe, an underground basement bar, and a carefully curated events designed to highlight the best of New York City culture. Selina Chelsea NYC is perfectly positioned for experiencing the best of New York City. Once the home of bohemian LGBTQ+ life, Chelsea has now evolved to become the center of New York’s art scene. Plus, surrounded by the High Line, Madison Square Garden, and Chelsea Market, you’ll find a whole host of culture just waiting to be explored.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Rooftop terrace
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Rooftop bar
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
97Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
71Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
556Reviews7Q+A91Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 185
  • 150
  • 86
  • 65
  • 70
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chelssjh wrote a review Jul 20
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
No one stay with this organization. They have stolen money from me, now refuses to refund me, answer my emails, and has begun blocking me on their accounts. How professional. Happy to share more if people want to DM me!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
EMK wrote a review Jul 6
Well... the good things are it has a well-designed interior, has a bar (although closes pretty early), and they managed to refund me 10% based on the poor experience I had. But... The AC kept making a very loud, unbearable noise. They moved me to a new room but that didn't make a difference. In fact, the AC in the new room ended up being worse because—not only was it disturbingly noisy—it didn't work half of the time. I had to keep turning it back off and then on again for it only to work for about 10 mins, then stopped working again. The room had spider webs (photos attached). There were times where the hot water took way too long to get hot. The hosts didn't seem to know when breakfast started or ended but did tell us that it was complimentary, which turned out not to be true. The last straw was when I came downstairs to the bar and the barista didn't know how to make most of the coffee they had listed on their brunch menu! Overall, very poor experience for a supposedly 4-star hotel. I won't be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Make sure your AC unit works and doesn't have a loud buzzing sound
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Amy B wrote a review May 2021
Portland, Maine
We selected this hotel due to location near a friend we were visiting. That was the only positive. It tries to be trendy and have funky modern instagramable photo ops, but the reality is your room is a matress on the floor. I felt like I was camping. The automatic window shades did not work, the lighting was so poor that it was hard to see to put on makeup. There is a step down from the bed area of the room that is dangerous in the night when the lights don't work. No iron/ironing board. No coffee maker. No place in hotel lobby to buy a coffee. No remote control for the TV. Two thirds of the room and all the hallways painted matte black - dark, disorienting, and unsafe feeling of being in a dark alley because all the lighting is sooooo dim. The carpets in the hallways and the room were FILTHY. You can do a lot better for this price point in NYC.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: None! Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alejandro Arana, General Manager at Selina Chelsea
Responded Jun 15, 2021
Dear guest, I’m sorry to hear about your bad experience, we’re normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed the mark, we apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and we appreciate your feedback as it allows to get better. Best regards,
Read more
cassie k wrote a review Apr 2021
so, I read the bad reviews before staying at this hotel. I was really hoping that the negative stuff I was reading was just personal experiences that wouldn't happen to me. First off this is definetly NOT a luxury hotel. There's no cafe/restaurant in the hotel. The elevator going up to the rooms are completely out dated and disgusting. The hallways are really dark, the black carpet throughout the hallways have stains. this place screams FILTHY I stayed at the unique loft room at $240 a night. There was no " welcome guest favor" or even a simple note like most hotels offer, to make you feel welcomed and special. The room had dim to no lighting at all.The walls in the room had stains dripping down the wall. The bathtub had dark marks. I understand industrial chic and the aesthetic of the place Is mainly targeted to the younger crowd like myself, but there's no excuse for being dirty. There was tv with no remote.. the wall outlets were hanging on to dear life. No iron for your clothes, no water bottles in the mini fridge,NOTHING. I had plans to bring a guest over and after touring this hotel, I was too embarrassed to even do so. On top of all the filthiness that goes on here, their manager seems to think he's working in a Dunkin Donuts rather than a " luxury" hotel. If I had to pick something I enjoyed about this hotel, I'd probably say its the mediocre attempt of making this hotel look bohemian chic. Anyone reading this, please please understand that there's others hotels with this aesthetic. Don't risk your time, money, and energy. This place is straight up trash
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: terrible lighting, dirty rooms, poor service
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Selina Management, Revenue Management at Selina Chelsea
Responded Jun 13, 2021
Dear Cassie, I’m sorry to hear about your bad experience and apologize for the way our team addressed your issue, we’re normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed the mark in this case. We appreciate your detailed feedback, we will be addressing the issues mentioned. Our bar and restaurants haven't reopened yet after the pandemic lockdown, we also apologize for the outdated information, we are currently under renovations to reopen by the end of May 2021. We know how important first impressions are, and that we missed to create the right one, but if you decide to give us a second chance in the future please let us know in advance so we can take special care of you. Once again our apologies for the inconvenience and thank you for your feedback. Regards, Alejandro
Read more
Ajay R wrote a review Apr 2021
+1
By far, the most disgusting hotel I've ever been to. There was oil on the sheets as it hadn't been washed. There were holes in the pillow cases and what looked to be blood stains (see pics). The towels were dirty as well. The hallways were dirty as well. The staff was defensive and attempted to provide another room. Unfortunately, there was hair on the bed of the additional room. We left immediately to another hotel. The only positive was that I was provided a refund and did not have to fight for that. I highly recommend avoiding this place until new management is in place.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Selina Management, Revenue Management at Selina Chelsea
Responded Apr 21, 2021
Ajay - We are disappointed to hear about these issues as this is not reflective of a Selina expereince!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$168 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityChelsea / Manhattan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Selina Chelsea
Which popular attractions are close to Selina Chelsea?
Nearby attractions include The Vessel (0.2 miles), The High Line Park (0.2 miles), and The Shops & Restaurants at Hudson Yards (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Selina Chelsea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Selina Chelsea?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Selina Chelsea?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Selina Chelsea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pepe Giallo, Ovest Pizzoteca, and Empire Diner.
Does Selina Chelsea have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Selina Chelsea offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Selina Chelsea?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (2.7 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (2.7 miles), and Hamilton Park (1.5 miles).
Is Selina Chelsea accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.