We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2296 Frederick Douglass Blvd, New York City, NY 10027-5324
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$274
Travelocity$274
Hotels.com$274
Priceline$274
FindHotel$274
Orbitz.com$274
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (222)
360
Panoramas (23)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Aloft Harlem
Updated 06/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#243 of 513 hotels in New York City
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Billiards
Business Center with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snack bar
Patio
Nightclub / DJ
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
94Great for walkers
Grade: 94 out of 100
59Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
20Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
834Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 334
  • 367
  • 89
  • 23
  • 21
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
marcustulliusc wrote a review Jun 2022
Düsseldorf, Germany140 contributions66 helpful votes
Can’t understand better ratings. The neighborhood is one thing (wouldn’t recommend women traveling alone to stay here) but comfort and cleanliness is another issue this hotel suffers. For these prices it is unworthy to receive more than 2 stars. The rooms are unclean and outdated already, there are stains on the wall and everything we’ve touched is broken or messy.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: stay clear of this
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
philwar58 wrote a review May 2022
Charlotte, North Carolina56 contributions19 helpful votes
Great location to enjoy all that Harlem has to offer. If you’ve never been to this part of NYC you owe it ultimately yourself to spend time here. Hotel is so close to many great restaurants and subway stations. Staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Helped with early checkout and storing luggage. Very convenient for Columbia University activities
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marlon J wrote a review May 2022
8 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I was worried about this room being way too crammed like most hotels in the area. Throughout my entire stay, I continually came across things that showed how much though was put into layout of the room to provide as much room as possible. Very impressed. They offer paid parking, but we were able to find free parking no more than a few minutes walk away from the hotel. Most of the nights, we were able to find parking right around the corner (on a weekend stay). Greeted by friendly staff that was quick to respond to any requests we had. I can't remember the name brand, but the bathroom amenities were nice. Didn't dry out my skin or hair. Only complaint I could think of is our "view" was of a brick wall, but I think I actually liked that better than looking out into the concrete jungle. Definitely will look to stay out here my next time out, and recommending it to all my friends heading out that way.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Waban123 wrote a review Apr 2022
Warren, VT2 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed here for one night. Great neighborhood, nice hotel, clean well cared for and incredibly helpful staff (early check in no problem, great restaurant recs for dinner and breakfast, helpful easy baggage storage, etc)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Glenda B wrote a review Apr 2022
Jackson, Mississippi107 contributions27 helpful votes
+1
I was very leery about booking this location because of some of the reviews. I’m also smart enough to know that some people have unreal expectations when traveling and staying in shared spaces. With that being said I’m happy I chose this place primarily because of its location being near my mom in Harlem who I was visiting. We were two women traveling alone so I was not comfortable with an Airbnb for security primarily. I felt very safe here and had zero issues. The staff was always courteous and professional and very helpful. Our room was directly across from the elevator and we only heard it if the TV was off. Our room was very clean and housekeeping staff was very accommodating with extra towels. We did not eat anything but there is food available for sale. We used Uber eats delivery and ate at many different places. There are also restaurants up and down 125th street only 2 blocks away. Both chain and local cuisine available. There is a small refrigerator in the room and a microwave in the lobby for use. Free Ice is also provided in the lobby. I’m so happy I booked here it was only a 15 minute walk to my mom and 4 minutes in an Uber. Lord Uber truly blessed us this trip only $8 each trip to moms was very affordable and never waited more than 3 minutes for a ride. Took us to all the attractions we wanted to see as well as shopping. A great trip and I’ll definitely be booking here again real soon.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Don’t accept all the negative reviews. Discern for yourself what’s important to you. For me...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
GLawJo wrote a review Apr 2022
Deerfield Beach, Florida48 contributions36 helpful votes
I recently stayed at the Aloft Harlem with my 3 kids for 2 nights. I must say, the front desk staff are genuinely nice people. They were super helful as we arrived a little early and they were able to get us checked-in prior to the 3:00p standard check-in time. Every time we walked through the lobby they greeted us with warm smiles or friendly hellos--they gave off really good vibes, thanks to all of you! The hotel is well maintained with a nice lobby area, a bar, and available food for purchase. The room was fine, we had no issues with it. The bathroom is a little small and the privacy door for the shower/ toilet area was unlockable and did leave a small crack that made it less private but other than that we had a great stay. Thanks again to the great front desk staff!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JoyfullyTraveler wrote a review Feb 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
First! -- the staff was kind, helpful, very nice, and always cheerful. Upon check-in we were greeted by a nice gentleman who walked us to the elevator into the street-level lobby. It was there that I knew the property was not as advertised (not newly renovated). The street-level lobby elevator does have a fabulous fun mural, fitting of the Harlem city location, but the carpeting was terribly dirty, the elevator smelled stale of body odor. It was a very poor welcome experience to a Marriott property, despite the joyful person guiding us in. He actually indicated the lobby entry “often frightens people”. I laughed and shrugged it off as I'm an off the grid/explorer type traveler. I'll go just about anywhere all over the world, and stay in a wide variety of accommodations. Cleanliness is really all that matters. The lower level lobby was clean and typically lit like an Aloft property. The café was stocked and it was obvious that security was a top priority. Let me say again, the property did feel safe. The hotel room however was not good: I am a Marriott gold elite member and booked a large double double room on the corner. The spaciousness was welcome and the big street-view windows nice for light, but the room was in terrible disrepair and very dirty. The headboards are made of a faux material that was deeply scratched throughout. It looks like someone did it purposefully, nonetheless, it was very unsettling, and the room shouldn’t be in use until repaired. The walls were deeply chipped and needed paint and patching. The walls near the sink were stained with dark drips, the interior windows were smeared with fingerprints, and dust was collecting on all the fixtures. The carpeting looked and felt so dirty I didn't take my socks off the entire time. I don’t take the time to complain, but this wasn’t cool, most especially since the notice said "newly renovated". This stay was on Feb 23 & 24 with my daughter. I couldn't find a way to leave remarks on the Marriott site.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aloft Harlem, General Manager at Aloft Harlem
Responded Feb 28, 2022
Dear Traveler, Thank you for staying with us. I recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have taken the time to provide. Maintaining a clean atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is important and I apologize that we did not fulfill that expectation during your visit. Your comments have been shared with our housekeeping leaders to ensure this is an isolated incident. We also were to able to identify the room and steps have already been taken to remedy the room. My hope is the next time you are in the area, you will give us another chance to provide the guest experience we strive to deliver. Again thank you for taking the time to let us know. Sincerely, JDean General Manager Aloft Harlem jay.dean@aloftharlem.com 2127494000
Read more
xpen2000 wrote a review Feb 2022
Washington36 contributions43 helpful votes
As a BonVoy frequent traveler, we got a room next to elevator even though I had asked for a quite room at higher floor and the elevator noise was constant all night! Did not want to change the room as we checked in late and were tired from a long trip. A few employees wear mask but not everyone working there and no one enforces mask mandate for guests! HVAC unit is quite noisy that kept us awake besides the elevator noise and I'm a good sleeper and noise usually is not a problem! It took 30 min. each time to check in/out the valet parking and self parking is 3 blocks away at a third party outlet. Continental B-fast is ridiculously inadequate and poor quality and have to pay for each item that quickly adds up! I wrote similar comments when responded to Marriott's own survey sent to us after our trip but did not get published in their website...so writing here to be aware of this place and stay away as there are many other alternatives especially in the Midtown area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
T O wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed here 3 nights in August to visit family. The hotel staff are excellent, attentive welcoming, and willing to help. The doorman provides a sense of security and has a good sense of humor. The furnishings and carpet are well worn but housekeeping does a good job. Our bathroom was clean upon arrival both stays. Older and darker colors don’t inspire confidence though. Housekeepers will provide extra towels coffee if we asked. They have coffee and minimal food selections plus a bar with food. Expect high prices this NYC. We stay here for the convenient location only. The street in front always has trash along the sidewalk. This is common in much of Harlem. Not a criticism just a fact. We used to feel safe walking most neighborhoods but no longer. Too many groups of young men standing around at all hours smoking pot openly since it has been legalized in NY and NJ. Plus we have been jeered at more than a few times. So we take a Lyft/Uber everywhere. Street noise is all hours so run the AC in your room. An alternative would be a good Airbnb in a safe neighborhood. We
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Nights walk with a group. DYtime no problem.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lindenwold, NJ wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
It was a nice stay for a girl's getaway at the Aloft. We were able to check in hours earlier due to arriving earlier, which was appreciated thanks to the nice gentleman and young lady (Samantha) at the front desk. While waiting for our room, I was disappointed there weren't any pool sticks to play billiards on the table that I was excited to use. I have stayed at the Aloft Hanover prior to my visit to Aloft Harlem, therefore I was familiar with the amenities. The one change needed for this property is the luggage carts. They are horrible! One wheel on the front of the cart that gets stuck and has to be manually turned is unacceptable. Please invest in a different style of luggage carts. Please and thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$260 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aloft harlem hotel new york city
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityUpper Manhattan (Uptown) / Harlem
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aloft Harlem
Which popular attractions are close to Aloft Harlem?
Nearby attractions include Apollo Theater (0.10 miles), Greater Refuge Temple (0.2 miles), and Paris Blues (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Aloft Harlem?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness center, and a business center.
Which room amenities are available at Aloft Harlem?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Aloft Harlem?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, free instant coffee, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Aloft Harlem?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aloft Harlem?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maison Harlem, Vinatería, and Manna's Soul Food Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aloft Harlem?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Aloft Harlem?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Aloft Harlem?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hamilton Park (4.4 miles), The Met Cloisters (4.0 miles), and United Nations Headquarters (4.3 miles).
Does Aloft Harlem have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Aloft Harlem accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.