We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonder at Flatiron

9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (186)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 04/20/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sonder at Flatiron
Updated 04/20/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#363 of 521 hotels in New York City
Located in the iconic Flatiron District and just steps away from Madison Square Park and the Flatiron Building, these rooms offer a convenient base for the quintessential New York City experience. Bask in the stunning panoramic city view from the Empire State Building or stroll down Fifth Avenue for endless shopping. On your way home, indulge in locally loved Italian dishes at Eataly (and don't forget the cannoli). Unwind in your private, ADA-compliant space, complete with a comfortable bed and Chromecast-enabled television. Additionally, our team is still working on a few spaces in this newly renovated property to make it perfect for you, including a rooftop, restaurant, and retail space.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary instant cofffee
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
866Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 324
  • 274
  • 125
  • 59
  • 84
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Eric S wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Our initial room was on the 9th floor with a king size bed. The room next to us was having a very loud party well after midnight. The walls are paper thin in this Sonder location. The room also has a connecting door to the other room. While we were sitting on the bed waiting to hear back from the staff regarding the room, a couple guys from the room next door walked into our room from that door. Apparently, no one locked that door before we checked in! They finally gave us a different room. This room was much smaller and only had a queen or double sized bed. They refused to adjust the cost of our stay based on us now having a smaller room. Additionally, our bathroom door was difficult to close in the new room and on our last day in NYC we tried to use the luggage locker but the lock was impossible to figure out. The staff member didn't even know how it works. I have rarely complained about hotels, but this wasn't a good experience!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Room Tip: Walls are paper thin... the people next door can just be talking and it's like they're...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Sonder Team, Marketing at Sonder at Flatiron
Responded Apr 14, 2021
Eric_BeverlyHills_MI, we would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you had during your time with us. The service and space you received in no way meet our standards, and we completely understand your disappointment. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us as it helps us to ensure our future guests have the best experience possible. Again, we apologize and would love the chance to make it up to you in the future.
Read more
Steve Whittingham wrote a review Oct 2019
16 contributions25 helpful votes
We arrived in New York at the Flatiron hotel to find it was a building site, it has been for months, we booked this trip on 26th June 2019, a treat to watch the jets vs Cowboys, we are big cowboys fans, we came over from England to this mess. We spent the first day trying to find somewhere to stay, got up at 4 in the morning, to contact our travel agent back home, who then struggled to find a hotel for the rest of our stay, with all the sport going on in the city, hotels couldn’t provide all the nights we needed, in the end at 3pm the day after we got into another hotel, we were tired, stressed, worried and dejected at the whole trip, the whole experience for our family totally ruined by this hotel being closed.we are now home trying to get answers to who has not informed people on the closure of this hotel. A total waste of money, time an utter disappointment, to let people travel from around the world to this, A joke and not a funny one at that.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: Make sure it’s open before you travel
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Response from Sonder Team, Marketing at Sonder at Flatiron
Responded Apr 14, 2021
Southportcowboys12, we are so sorry to hear about the disappointing experience you had with this property back in 2019. We are happy to inform you that as of 2021, this property is now managed by Sonder. We'd love to welcome you back to Flatiron to show you a world-class experience with beautiful spaces and 24/7 support.
Read more
The Avarice of Reading wrote a review Oct 2019
Seal Beach, California1 contribution2 helpful votes
We had booked a special trip for my mother's birthday, prepaid, and when we arrived from EWR, the hotel was boarded up, covered in brown butcher paper, and was defunct. It was a nightmare. It was shocking that TripAdvisor nor the property itself notified us of its closure (or forced closure due to financial or criminal activity). We were completely blind-sighted. To make matters worse, all phone numbers were disconnected or rang into empty air. It was humiliating, and of course, we had booked everything else, two broadway shows, tour at the Guggenheim, lunch at Tavern on the Green, Fig + Olive, dinner at Gallagher's, etc. It was offensive and terrible that TripAdvisor had to go through all of the processes of calling the property and then telling us that they needed to give the business 24 hours to answer. My key question, why is this listing EVEN STILL POSTED for people to try to book into? HELLO? The company is defunct. It is an insult to TripAdvisor's users and data to be so uninformed and non-reactive. They did not make it right as it took seven days for our over $2,000 refund to be returned to our credit card. Did they even offer to comp another hotel or assist us? No. I am disgusted by the fraud of the Flatiron Hotel, which is now being PERPETUATED by TripAvidsor's failure to act. Disgraceful negligence.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
2 Helpful votes
Response from Sonder Team, Marketing at Sonder at Flatiron
Responded Apr 14, 2021
We are so sorry to hear that you arrived at this property while it was under construction, ArtCultureTraveler. As of 2021, this property is now managed by Sonder, and we'd love to welcome you back to New York to show you the future of hospitality and a better stay.
Read more
Millykklmd wrote a review Jul 2019
New York City, New York21 contributions26 helpful votes
Seriously this place should not even get a 1 Star. Carpet not vacuumed and scared to walk or touch anything in this room. The hotel should not be open! I am just shocked at the condition of this place!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from Sonder Team, Marketing at Sonder at Flatiron
Responded Apr 14, 2021
We're sorry to hear that you had such a regretful experience at this hotel, Millykklmd, and completely understand your frustration around the poor condition of your space. Sonder now manages this property as of 2021, and we are proud to let you know that we adhere to the highest standards of cleaning and sanitation practices. We hope you'll consider giving Flatiron another shot in the future!
Read more
Amanda wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We were very excited to stay at the flatiron because if its proximity to major attractions. The photos on the website literally look like a different hotel than what we stayed in. The bedroom windows were so dirty and crusted that we could barley see out them. A good 70% of the electric fixtures in the room were broken- the very oddly placed television screen in the bathroom did not work, the touchpad in the bathroom said', 'please wait" the entire duration of our stay. The lights above the second bed were broken and would not turn on and there were several random remotes velcro-ed to the wall that did nothing. The beds were very uncomfortable, and there was a huge patch of melted carpet in the shape of an iron mark on the floor. The 'free breakfast' should be rephrased to 'breakfast snacks' because there was no actual cooked food, just some yogurt placed in a bowl of ice, dry cereal packs, and some bananas. The cafe photographed in the website is actually an empty cafe counter with rusted espresso machines and dirty tools laying all over. The staff that checked us seemed to be annoyed that we were even there, and when we brought it to their attention when we checked out about all the broken things, the maintenance man laughed at us, and said 'Yeah that stuff is broken in every room'. They also put an erroneous hold of $150 on our card during our stay even though the room was already paid in full ahead of our stay- and they could provide no reason why. For paying almost $400 for one night of that experience, I say, beware of this place. You can do better.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Response from Sonder Team, Marketing at Sonder at Flatiron
Responded Apr 8, 2021
Amanda, we are so sorry to hear that you had such a poor experience. We're happy to inform you that as of February 2021, Sonder is now managing this property and is dedicated to providing all guests a world-class experience.
Read more
$315 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityGramercy-Flatiron / Tenderloin / NoMad / Manhattan
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sonder at Flatiron
Which popular attractions are close to Sonder at Flatiron?
Nearby attractions include The Magician at the NoMad Hotel (0.08 miles), Escape Room Madness (5th Floor) (0.3 miles), and Escape the Room NYC (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sonder at Flatiron?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, express check-in and check-out, and complimentary tea.
What food & drink options are available at Sonder at Flatiron?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Sonder at Flatiron?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sonder at Flatiron?
Conveniently located restaurants include The NoMad Bar, Her Name Is Han, and Hangawi.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sonder at Flatiron?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Sonder at Flatiron?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (2.6 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (2.6 miles), and Hamilton Park (2.3 miles).
Is Sonder at Flatiron accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.