Freehand New York

Freehand New York

Traveler (135)
Studio Queen
Room & Suite (82)
Restaurant at the Freehand New York Hotel
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#300 of 500 hotels in New York City
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.1
Value
3.9
The latest Freehand in NYC’s Flatiron neighborhood opened in 2018. The Freehand takes over the former George Washington Hotel, which has a history as a home for creatives and is listed on the U.S National Register of Historic Places. Freehand New York is designed by Roman and Williams and features custom-commissioned artwork throughout the property as well as one of a kind murals in every guest room by Bard College students and alumni. As with all Freehands, Food and Beverage is of the utmost importance. Comodo opened in Oct 2021 with a Latin American inspired menu serving vibrant & bold flavors that invite you to get comfortable, let your guard down and enjoy. Broken Shaker, our award winning rooftop oasis, serves up specialty cocktails and yummy bites with beautiful skyline views of NYC. In November 2021, our mezzanine spaces were reconceptualized, refreshed and recharged. Enter Georgia Room and Bar Calico, inspired by iconic painter Georgia O’Keeffe-when in doubt dance it out.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Rooftop bar
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Safe
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

23 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10010-3790
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
LaGuardia Airport
Teterboro Airport
23rd St
2 minNew York City Subway
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles533 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in the heart of Nomad, Freehand New York garners acclaim for its central location, with guests enjoying proximity to local attractions and transit. While the hotel's atmosphere is often described as unique and artsy, opinions on the service and room conditions are split, ranging from praise for friendly personnel and stylish organization to criticism over maintenance and cleanliness issues. Travelers have mixed feelings about the value, citing both satisfaction and concerns regarding the cost versus amenities provided.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Eclectic
Rooms
Unkempt
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
533Reviews2Q+A48Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 269
  • 97
  • 51
  • 45
  • 71
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
HappyTravelersVR wrote a review Mar 2020
Burlington, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for my birthday for a few days and had a very nice welcome from the reception staff. The decor throughout the hotel is very stylish and funky, and has a young modern feel.
Unfortunately it may be a little 'style over substance' as even on the 11th floor I was kept awake every night by really loud road/street/air conditioning noise as the windows are flimsy and need much better sound proofing as well as in need of the drafts excluding! There was also no soft close on the doors so I was woken up several times by people slamming their doors.
The fridge in our room could’t fit anything in including the water bottles supplied by hotel. The shower was hot whatever setting you put it on and the cold water tap never got cold!
The roof top bar was very expensive and the food was quite pretentious but it was fun getting their in a separate secret lift lol
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Albert Rezk, Guest Services / Front Office at Freehand New York
Responded May 19, 2020
Hello. Thank you for choosing the Freehand NY and for taking the time to share your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed the style of the Freehand NY and would lie to apologize about the noise issues that you have encountered during your most recent stay. Your feedback will be shared with the Engineering department for an immediate solution, Our fridges are under review and hoping we will have bigger fridges in the near future for all the rooms, currently we do provide bigger fridges upon guest request. Hope to welcome you back soon at the Freehand NY.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tommy S wrote a review Sep 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a night celebrating my birthday and our upcoming Anniversary, room was small but very clean, check in was easy & swift, parking was 1 Avenue away so not bad considering you are in the middle of NYC, location (neighborhood) is listed as flatiron but I think it is closer to Gramercy, there are plenty of restaurants / bars walking distance which are all outdoor dining only at the time of our stay. The broken shaker rooftop bar is also a nice addition to have right upstairs, they make awesome drinks. the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with any questions or concerns we had. Would definitely stay here again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Kashman, General Manager at Freehand New York
Responded Nov 18, 2020
Hi Tsosa278, Thank you for the 5-star review and for choosing Freehand New York to celebrate two very special occasions! We hope to have you and your Wife back for many more birthdays and anniversaries to come. Until then stay safe and be well. Best, Paul Kashman CSV
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Sarah B wrote a review Mar 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location, close to MTA, close proximity to restaurants, friendly service, very clean and cozy atmosphere. Though the restaurant and bars were closed in the hotel when we stayed, we still enjoyed staying at the Freehand due to the cleanliness and location. Thanks guys!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Kashman, General Manager at Freehand New York
Responded Mar 4, 2021
Hey sjblevins4, Thank you for the lovely review! We're thrilled to know that from location to service, your experience was top notch. We're in the process of ramping up our F&B program with Smile to Go now open for inside dining and Broken Shaker about to, well, start shaking in a few weeks. We hope to see you again soon. Best, Paul Kashman
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sybilla wrote a review Aug 2021
Annapolis, Maryland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I knew this property when it was an apartment building and was pleasantly surprised of the renovation. Especially the bathrooms are genius. The cozy room was perfect for me. The room had that Hygge feeling :) Quiet too! I enjoy ecletic modern hotel properties and the Freehand certainly fit my needs. Also, having a small breakfast/lunch cafe attached to the hotel. Excellent! Dont forget to visit the roof top bar. Great views and decor. The location and it's proximity to Madison Square Park, Union Square and many subway options is unbeatable as well as the price of the room. Definitely one of my favortie hotels in the world.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Kashman, General Manager at Freehand New York
Responded Aug 10, 2021
Hi tula12345, Thank you for the lovely 5-star review! I'm thrilled to know that from design to location, your Freehand New York experience was a most pleasant one. To say that we are one of your favorite hotels in the world is an absolute honor and we hope to have you back real soon. Best, Paul Kashman
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bradley D wrote a review Feb 2022
Melbourne, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I start, I wish I STAYED here for the whole 15 days. Great service, the rooms small but well appointed and designed with an amazing small bathroom that’s funky in design with great amenities. The simple touches of apples and water in the room that can be topped is great. The cafe and restaurants along with a store that stocks drinks and nibbles is great.
The mezzanine has tables to work at and have a snack and free Internet is fast and reliable.
Even with small room cupboard space avoided bag clutter. As for the bed, best sleep I had in NYC even if it was a single bed. The roof top bar is great with views of the iconic Empire State Building and it’s close to subway, wine store and a deli and pizza store apposite. Also around the corner is a Laundry.
I will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reynaldo Marvez, Guest Services / Front Office at Freehand New York
Responded Feb 22, 2022
CyberGuru, Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are thrilled learning about your experience at The Freehand Hotel, it seems we were able to meet your expectations! We love knowing that you had the opportunity to try out our Rooftop Broken Shaker and looks like you enjoyed the entire property during your trip. We are definitely looking forward for your next opportunity to visit us (hopefully very soon), Until then, Warm regards, Reynaldo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janine R wrote a review Nov 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I loved the artist vibes at the hotel and the cozy rooms with yellow (not bright white) lighting. The staff was very friendly and resolved my issues quickly on the first day of my 2-week stay. The location is very central, easy to get to many parts of the city, and walkable to Grammercy Park just 2 blocks away, Madison Square Park about an avenue away, and train stations only 1 block away. I would highly recommend the Freehand for a relaxing staycation even during lockdown (keep in mind, COVID-19 limitations may change over time so check beforehand, but still a highly recommend during currnt COVID-10 limitations).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Kashman, General Manager at Freehand New York
Responded Nov 18, 2020
Hi Janine R, Thank you for the 5 Star love! Like you, I despise stark bright white light as well and I'm happy to know that our (energy efficient) alternatives were warm and cozy. Lighting aside, I'm thrilled that our location was perfect and our staff on point. We hope to see you again soon. Best, Paul Kashman
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
duck01 wrote a review Jan 2022
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We are a family of 4 and found the double bunk room was great, well priced alternative to having to book 2 rooms in new york. The bedroom itself is a fair size with plenty room under the bunks and in the closet for suitcases, but there is very little drawer or cupboard space. The bottom bunks are comfortable but we found the low ceiling beams in the room we stayed in made it very difficult to get into the top bunks, and lead to many a knocked head. The bathroom was small but clean, we had an issue with the cold tap putting out warm water which we reported in and the hotel reduced our facility fee accordingly, there was also a free supply of bottled water at reception for those who needed it.
The decor of the hotel is fantastic, it has an almost creepy air to the lifts and corridor (in good way) which make it feel really authentic, the art work is great and the hotel was clean throughout. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
In short I would definitely recommend this place for a stay in NYC, its walking distance to all the main tourist places and there's a good few restaurants nearby and the hotel is a lovely stay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Delamarques Nel, Guest Services / Front Office at Freehand New York
Responded Jan 21, 2022
jacquik340, Thank you for your review and for your candor. We certainly boast about our unique room types and happy to know you were able to enjoy our bunk beds. We're happy to know you enjoyed your overall stay and found our rooms clean and our team friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the very near future. Warm regards, Delamarques
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TLAOrangeville wrote a review Apr 2022
Sanibel Island, Florida
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had originally booked at the Freehand way back in April, 2020. Then, Covid! Out of our multitude of bookings to a multitude of places that year (flights, theatres, hotels, transportation etc…)this was the only one that wouldn’t refund. However, we managed to negotiate a different date…and keep pushing it until finally, two years later we arrived.
(This did involve the price being changed, getting charged twice and a difficult time getting that charge reversed.)

The Good:
Location…if you like to walk, you can walk to a lot of places plus you are near two subway stops so great location.

Room: Overall, our room was nice. Super small, as expected in NYC but clean and comfortable. Bed was comfy. There was some space to put our belongings. Bathroom was big enough and shower was actually spacious.
Also, we worried about noise from previous comments as I’m a light sleeper. However, our room (805) faced inside and was on the middle floors so Irma was quiet.

The Bad:

Fridge: What is with the ridiculously small fridge? We didn’t even know the made them this small. It seriously fits about two pop cans if you are lucky. Ironically, there is from for a regular bar fridge.

Coffee Maker: We just assumed there would be one. We can’t remember ever having a hotel in North America without one. Must be because Freehand wants you to buy their overpriced coffee at their cafe. Tip - go to Starbucks. More coffee for less $$(and that’s saying something).
Lose the robe and two?? hairdryers and give us some caffeine please. Makes mornings much better.

The Ugly:

Price: The unnecessary resort fee makes this property, in our opinion, less value.
Early that week, we stayed in a comparable hotel in terms of room size for less money and it included buffet breakfast as well.

Environmentalism: Offers bottle water and no room which tells you all you need to know. No recycling and no option to let you tell housekeeping staff that we don’t need fresh towels everyday.

Thermostat: Ours did not work properly and we asked a couple of requests and days for someone to take a look at it before someone finally did. It said ‘filter needed cleaning’. For our last of four nights, it finally started cooling but kept switching off so while we were sleeping, the room would heat up again, we’d wake up and then have to reset it. Frustrating.

—-
Henry Brown - slave escape
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Personally would not chose this hotel again.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
karlimd wrote a review Apr 2020
Baltimore, Maryland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I live in Baltimore and travel to NY city often because I have adult children who live in the city. I have stayed at the Freehand several times,and I have been pleased with it as a budget friendly hotel in a good location. The first time I stayed I had an excellent experience,staff was nice ,room was small,clean and efficient . I stayed again in January , the room was in need of repair,and the restaurant on the second floor was now closed. Even so, when planning a trip for my sister and a few friends from Denver, I recommended this property. It was to happen this Memorial Day weekend. Then came coved 19. Their flight was cancelled , and needless to say the trip had to be cancelled . When my friend contacted the property to cancel her reservation , they gave her a hard time and are not allowing her to cancel or reschedule her stay. This was originally booked as a non-refundable rate, yet I would think that in these dire and unusual times, they would at the least issue a credit, so that they could welcome guests at a later date. Instead they have not responded to her many attempts to resolve this issue. I now feel terrible for recommending a company that is acting so irresponsible and unkind. I will never stay at a Feehand property or recommend this property again.There are many properties in New York who treasure repeat customers and referrals.
Cheers, and stay safe❤️
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Albert Rezk, Guest Services / Front Office at Freehand New York
Responded May 19, 2020
Hello, Thank you for choosing the Freehand NY and for taking the time to share your feedback, i would like to extend our sincere apology for any discomfort or inconvenience this incident might have caused you, Due to COVID 19 we had to change our policy multiple times as the Pandemic progressed giving our guests the flexibility to re book their non refundable reservations at a later time during the same year. some reservations depending on the method of booking had to be discussed with the 3rd party it was booked through and might have inquired the penalties specified by the 3rd party. We hope for a speedy recovery from this Pandemic and wish you best of health and safety. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jeremymnyc wrote a review Feb 2020
New York City, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The Freehand charges a "facility fee". Those fees are unfair all on their own, but it's especially unfair at the Freehand.

Supposedly "This fee includes priority access to all Freehand outlets including The Gallery, GW Bar, Broken Shaker, Simon & The Whale and The Studio. Very Fast Wifi, Freehand programming, 24 hr gym, triple filtered water, etc "

You'd think this means you get to go to the bars or restaurants.

In fact, the bars and restaurants are sometimes closed for private events, sometimes several days in a row... so you can't actually access them.

But they still charge you the fee.

The manager told me that the fee is "all-encompassing" and that "events can be booked at any time." In other words, they're charging you for something that they might choose not to provide. Beware!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jermaine Henry, Guest Services / Front Office at Freehand New York
Responded 1 week ago
We thank you for your feedback and your completed survey. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our property. Providing a great guest experience is a priority for us and your feedback helps us to better our efforts, this will help us in fine tuning our operations and in the training of our team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from adamdlasky
Snohomish, Washington
The area is very safe, walking distance to a lot of things, and very close to the subway. The hotel does have a bar/club on the rooftop but in general it is a very quiet hotel. I think students would love the hotel.
gsanchez_12 wrote a tip May 11
Boston, Massachusetts
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away from the quad rooms!"
Read full review
Globaljoan wrote a tip May 9
Hawaii
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not get a room facing 22nd St. The noise will keep you up all night."
Read full review
AlexandraJamesD wrote a tip Apr 2024
Vancouver, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"For the time being, try to avoid a room facing 23, on the lower levels. "
Read full review
Angela M wrote a tip Nov 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check your heating and A/C on arrival to your room - my friend had the same problem as me which means it is a problem in more than 1 room!"
Read full review
Kenneth R wrote a tip Oct 2023
Stockbridge, Georgia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Like I said: Don't go."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New York City area.
PRICE RANGE
$233 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityKips Bay / Rose Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
398
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FREEHAND NEW YORK - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Freehand New York
Which popular attractions are close to Freehand New York?
Nearby attractions include The Magician New York (0.1 miles), ZTrend (0.1 miles), and Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Freehand New York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Freehand New York?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Freehand New York?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Freehand New York?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Freehand New York?
Conveniently located restaurants include Boucherie Union Square, Bagels & Schmear, and Craft.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Freehand New York?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Freehand New York?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Freehand New York?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Freehand New York?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Freehand New York?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (2.5 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (2.5 miles), and Brooklyn Museum (4.9 miles).
All New York City HotelsNew York City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New York CityHotels near Freehand New York
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars