We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Freehand New York

Save
23 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10010-3790
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
travelup.com
Official Site
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (367)
Room & Suite (131)
Dining (67)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#307 of 511 hotels in New York City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The latest Freehand has recently opened in NYC’s Flatiron neighborhood. It will take over the former George Washington Hotel, which has a history as a home for creatives. That legacy will live on in The Freehand Fellowship: the hotel is launching a program in partnership with Live Arts Bard of Bard College, where selected artists will get the chance to live and work at the property and play an active part in its arts and cultural program. As with all Freehands, food and beverage is of the utmost importance. The restaurant and lobby bar here will be headed by West Village restaurateur Gabriel Stulman’s Happy Cooking Hospitality. Freehand New York will also get an outpost of Noho café, The Smile, and of course, a Broken Shaker bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Table tennis
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Nightclub / DJ
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
474Reviews46Q+A45Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 193
  • 161
  • 60
  • 31
  • 29
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I booked a hotel reservation from May 21 until MAY 31 2020 with Travelocity and on all hotel room reservation with this hotel. The hotel advertises free parking. The night auditor two nights in a row stated to Travelocity that they absolutely will give will give no free parking because there is no self parking only only valet which can be extremely which can be extremely expensive UP TO 70 DOLLARS FOR 12 HRS OR GREATER DEPENDING ON VEHICLE SIZE.
Read more
Response from Albert Rezk, Guest Services / Front Office at Freehand New York
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, Thank you for choosing the Freehand NY and for taking the time to share your feedback, i would like to extend our sincere apology for any inconvenient caused by Travelocity misinformation, our parking is managed by a 3rd party provider and for that reason we don't include it in our rates however we do offer a discounted price for our guests which is $45 for 24 hours. we sure hope to welcome you back soon at the Freehand NY.
Read more
I live in Baltimore and travel to NY city often because I have adult children who live in the city. I have stayed at the Freehand several times,and I have been pleased with it as a budget friendly hotel in a good location. The first time I stayed I had an excellent experience,staff was nice ,room was small,clean and efficient . I stayed again in January , the room was in need of repair,and the restaurant on the second floor was now closed. Even so, when planning a trip for my sister and a few friends from Denver, I recommended this property. It was to happen this Memorial Day weekend. Then came coved 19. Their flight was cancelled , and needless to say the trip had to be cancelled . When my friend contacted the property to cancel her reservation , they gave her a hard time and are not allowing her to cancel or reschedule her stay. This was originally booked as a non-refundable rate, yet I would think that in these dire and unusual times, they would at the least issue a credit, so that they could welcome guests at a later date. Instead they have not responded to her many attempts to resolve this issue. I now feel terrible for recommending a company that is acting so irresponsible and unkind. I will never stay at a Feehand property or recommend this property again.There are many properties in New York who treasure repeat customers and referrals. Cheers, and stay safe❤️
Read more
Response from Albert Rezk, Guest Services / Front Office at Freehand New York
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, Thank you for choosing the Freehand NY and for taking the time to share your feedback, i would like to extend our sincere apology for any discomfort or inconvenience this incident might have caused you, Due to COVID 19 we had to change our policy multiple times as the Pandemic progressed giving our guests the flexibility to re book their non refundable reservations at a later time during the same year. some reservations depending on the method of booking had to be discussed with the 3rd party it was booked through and might have inquired the penalties specified by the 3rd party. We hope for a speedy recovery from this Pandemic and wish you best of health and safety. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
We stayed here for my birthday for a few days and had a very nice welcome from the reception staff. The decor throughout the hotel is very stylish and funky, and has a young modern feel. Unfortunately it may be a little 'style over substance' as even on the 11th floor I was kept awake every night by really loud road/street/air conditioning noise as the windows are flimsy and need much better sound proofing as well as in need of the drafts excluding! There was also no soft close on the doors so I was woken up several times by people slamming their doors. The fridge in our room could’t fit anything in including the water bottles supplied by hotel. The shower was hot whatever setting you put it on and the cold water tap never got cold! The roof top bar was very expensive and the food was quite pretentious but it was fun getting their in a separate secret lift lol
Read more
Response from Albert Rezk, Guest Services / Front Office at Freehand New York
Responded 1 week ago
Hello. Thank you for choosing the Freehand NY and for taking the time to share your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed the style of the Freehand NY and would lie to apologize about the noise issues that you have encountered during your most recent stay. Your feedback will be shared with the Engineering department for an immediate solution, Our fridges are under review and hoping we will have bigger fridges in the near future for all the rooms, currently we do provide bigger fridges upon guest request. Hope to welcome you back soon at the Freehand NY.
Read more
+1
Ok so here we go ....... honest review x 5 Stars for location - can walk every where, near subway, perfect location as bang in the middle of the city between both sides of town... great area! 5 Stars for unique hipster Decor and Vibe the detail is exquisite and extraordinary.... loved the art and interior design... very cool place to stay .. the teen daughter and I loved it! 5 Stars for Awesome 18th floor Roof top Bar called The Broken Shaker - The total highlight of the hotel... it truly makes the hotel! Beer in frozen glasses.... which I love ....try the Mexican larger! The bar saved my life on many occasion ..... it being my refuge after long days with the teen!!! 3 Stars for restaurant ‘simon and the whale’ - food delicious, lovely vibe/decor, cozy and intimate. Lost two as it’s totally over priced... A 30 dollar burger! Crazy expensive starters and sides. To expensive for budget travelers. Odd considering the hotel beginning an affordable hip young traveller hotel ....A real shame.... restaurant missing out on hotel customers! Feel quite separate from hotel. 2 Stars for room 527 - stayed in the triple room, me on the double bed, daughter top bunk. The two stars being ....good bed configuration comfortable clean pristine bedding, cool decor and spacious-ish room. Lost 3 stars as bathroom dark and to small ...floods with water with every shower and have to keep the door open as ya couldn’t swing a cat in there. Not great lightning in room....hard to apply makeup. Room cold drafty...super noticeable...especially when you come out from the shower Into the main room ....as no room to towel dry yourself in there. Drafty particularly at nite a blanket of draft going over you from the single pained windows. Had to request a second duvet as the one on the bed too thin. Also Our room opposite the floor control panel door - odd electrical nose vibrated into our room. All in all for the price we payed 650 euro for 5 nites. Can’t really complain as it’s a really cool affordable place to stay .... all the good points made it. Cost more than the 650 as there was an extra service charge of around 34 dollers a nite (not a shock as we knew in advance). If you are young traveler beware of this extra charge. When you arrive they put a 200 dollar hold on your card for the total nitely service charge including a buffer incase of any room charges. On check out they refund you any remainder. Concidering our experience we were happy with this cool hip hotel in NYC at that price point via hotels.com I give it 4 Stars over all But .....if it cost more I would not be as generous with the Stars. Any more expensive I would stay elce where for a more luxury and warm experience and would have been pissed with the draft!!!!! But at that price for NYC it’s cool place and a total booker for the roof bar, vibe, interior and location x Make sure you go to Joes Pizza for two slices and an imported Mexican cola ....ate their 3 times.... pizza outstanding!!!!! Off the radar! Have a ball!
Read more
Response from Albert Rezk, Guest Services / Front Office at Freehand New York
Responded 1 week ago
Hello. Thank you for choosing the Freehand NY and for taking the time to share your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and all the outlets that the Freehand NY has to offer, our location is very unique and provides our guests with multiple options to reach their destinations whether it is walking or public transportation. Your comments about the room will be shared with our engineering department for an immediate fix and our sincere apologies for any discomfort it might have caused you. We sure hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Took two days to reply to an email about our existing reservation, ignored inquiries from our travel broker, and then charged us a cancellation fee in the middle of a pandemic. Needless to say, no plans to stay here in the future.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$138 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityGramercy-Flatiron / Rose Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
395
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Freehand New York
Which popular attractions are close to Freehand New York?
Nearby attractions include ZTrend (0.1 miles), Modern Pinball NYC Arcade, Party Place and Museum (0.2 miles), and Jazz Standard (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Freehand New York?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Freehand New York?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Freehand New York?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Freehand New York?
Conveniently located restaurants include Boucherie Union Square, Bagels & Schmear, and Gramercy Tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Freehand New York?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Freehand New York offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Freehand New York?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Freehand New York?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (2.5 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (2.5 miles), and Hamilton Park (2.7 miles).
Is Freehand New York accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.