We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
113 Jane Street, New York City, NY 10014-1700
8 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$135
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$133
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Agoda.com
$116
View deal
Travelocity$133
Priceline$135
ZenHotels.com$317
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (712)
360
Panoramas (1)
Room & Suite (320)

About

#346 of 539 in New York City
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.1
Value
4.1
Completed in 1908, the American Seaman’s Friend Society Sailors’ Home and Institute was designed by William A. Boring, the architect renowned for Ellis Island’s immigrant station. Originally built as a hotel for sailors with cabin-like rooms, the land-marked hotel was lovingly restored on its centennial in 2008 as the Jane Hotel. The Jane Hotel has continued to house guests with more dash than cash ever since.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Nightclub / DJ
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
24-hour check-in
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Rooftop bar
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
118Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
49Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1643Reviews71Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 495
  • 646
  • 256
  • 116
  • 130
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Scott L wrote a review May 12
New York City, New York1 contribution
I am a 5 year resident of NYC. We came as a large group of colleagues. The bouncer invited all the eight females in the group to the front, letting them all in at no charge. The five guys were told they could not get in without buying a $1200 table, and the front door management was extremely rude. There are many other places in midtown where you don't need to deal with such disrespectful people. I would strongly recommend avoiding this horrible establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Scott L wrote a review May 12
1 contribution
We came as a large group of both guys and girls. The bouncer invited all the females to the front, letting them in with no issues. They then asked for $1200 for the 5 guys to be admitted, and did not allow them in without paying. This business does not treat their customers the same, even if they come within one group,
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Do not come to this place. They treat customers with minimal respect.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
roadpeops wrote a review May 7
Massachusetts119 contributions14 helpful votes
My husband and I enjoyed our first stay at The Jane. We checked in very late, which was no problem. The man working the check-in desk was super friendly and we chatted with him for quite a while. We had a bunk bed cabin for the night. Very tiny and very clean! One of the lightbulbs was out, but other than that everything was well-maintained and functional. The shared bathroom was also very clean and we ran into people in there from all over the world! If you're a light sleeper the sound of the doors opening and closing may disturb you. The doors are very loud and there are so many of them. Overall, it's a good value for the price. We had breakfast at The Old Rose downstairs, which was a cheery setting with basic foods and drink. The man working there was a bit grumpy though. Did not see the ballroom (they were filming a movie in there) or rooftop (it was closed) but would like to check them out next time. We'll likely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
movinandgroovin2018 wrote a review May 3
Atlanta, Georgia44 contributions12 helpful votes
My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at The Jane! Shared bathrooms and showers were no problem for us. The size of our room was a novelty instead of an inconvenience. The staff could not have been nicer or more hospitable. We arrived in the city on a Wed morning and were able to check in upon arrival. Our bags were stored for us the morning we checked out as we had a few hours to explore before our flight home. The front desk staff even called ahead for our transportation to the airport. The décor and atmosphere was beautiful. We knew ahead of time the ballroom is now a night club. We could hear the music in our 4th floor room. Reading previous reviews, I knew to expect it. I just turned the tv up! We will most definitely stay with Jane again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Owens, Guest Services / Front Office at The Jane Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Jane couldn't be more delighted than to read this. Thank you! Please don't hesitate to reach out to the Front Desk whenever there is anything we can do to make your stay even better.
Read more
paulgriffin88 wrote a review Mar 2022
Houston, Texas3 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This hotel is truly a joy. I’ve stayed here numerous times and will be staying again in a month. I’ve sadly yet to enjoy a Captains Cabin experience so this review is strictly about the bunk rooms. The Jane is in a beautiful part of NY with walkability to some of the best bars, restaurants, and tourist attractions in the city. (Don’t sleep on walking The Highline to The Edge) Yes, the rooms are small, but I don’t travel to NYC to hang out in my hotel room. Every single trip (pre and post Covid) has been met with a friendly and attentive staff, impeccably clean bathrooms, and a good bed to sleep in before the next day of adventuring. The shared bathrooms are an adjustment if you’re used to the standard hotel but I’ve never had an issue getting access to a toilet, shower, or sink when needed. As I mentioned they’re also very well kept. I’m shocked I’ve never had a horror story with the bathroom situation and I’m at the point now after 4+ stays that it’ll never happen. My ONLY complaint, and this is minimal, is that Old Rose hasn’t reopened to its pre-Covid self. It’s clear they’re working on it but the pizza and calamari were quite delicious and worth going for even if you weren’t staying at The Jane. Anyway, in short, if you’re going to NY and you’re looking for a place to stay between bar hopping and copious amounts of eating, the Jane is the perfect place to recharge. Also the rooftop bar is fantastic and a great way to end the night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Prepare to live out of your suitcase Have your shower essentials in a bag to hook on the wall
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Owens, Guest Services / Front Office at The Jane Hotel
Responded Mar 30, 2022
Thank you, Paul! You really know how to make Jane's day.
Read more
Haya Zoubi wrote a review Feb 2022
New York City, New York13 contributions
the positives: for so much sharing of restrooms and showers it’s clean. The rooms are tiny but also clean. Josephine at the front desk is so lovely and helpful. She was one of the few friendly people there. The negatives: Noah who is a manager and also works in the cafe is incredibly rude and unfriendly. He gives off a really bad attitude -I would recommend staying away from him unless you want to be treated like sh—t. Personally I will never stay in a hotel like this again, basically a glorified hostel. I cannot stand sharing showers with random men. I would go in to use the shower and there’s an old man in a robe. Very awkward and uncomfortable. Granted it’s cheap for the location but again I will never make this mistake ever again to save a few bucks.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Owens, Guest Services / Front Office at The Jane Hotel
Responded Feb 21, 2022
We were sorry to hear about your frustration with our policy that requires all professional photo shoots obtain prior approval. Like most facilities, this is policy is to ensure the privacy of all of our guests, while also ensuring availability for your shoot. Next time you are interested in visiting for a professional event, please kindly be sure to reach out in advance so that we can work together to help pave your way to success. We also recommend you try our Captain's Cabins with the Private Bathroom for a more classic hotel experience. Thank you so very much for noticing Josephine's efforts. We will be sure to pass them along. Thank you for understanding.
Read more
DS R wrote a review Jan 2022
Florida30 contributions4 helpful votes
Beautifully restored building, nostalgic atmosphere, tiny, cozy rooms resembling a train car or ship’s cabin. Fun and different as well as affordable. The mattress was too firm for my liking. But they brought me an extra pillow a few minutes after I asked for it. Bathrooms are shared which is not my favorite, but I knew that coming into it. The one nearest my room appeared clean. Lovely, antique marble sinks and tiled showers. I would definitely recommend this for a budget stay or simply a different experience stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Owens, Guest Services / Front Office at The Jane Hotel
Responded Jan 12, 2022
You are just so delightful! Come back any time and bring your friends. Don't forget, we also have Captain's Cabins for more space, a Serta mattress, and a Private Bathroom. We wish you safe travels!
Read more
Roman wrote a review Dec 2021
Austin, Texas3 contributions1 helpful vote
Super tiny rooms that are about five feet wide. I loved it tho. The front desk staff was ok. The cafe was pricey. The night club was jamming and the door guys treated us like royalty. I really liked staying here. Be prepared for the shared bathroom (if that bothers you).
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Owens, Guest Services / Front Office at The Jane Hotel
Responded Dec 16, 2021
Jane's a big fan of people like you. Come on back any time!
Read more
s s wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Restaurant closed, rooftop private, ballroom private, no bikes, no padding on mattress- bedsprings are felt all night, no control of heat, hear everybody in hall, SO tiny: if you are the slightest claustrophobic you should think twice.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: tiny tiny cabins. A/C only way to manage heat. No amenities. No common areas except coed bathrooms
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Owens, Guest Services / Front Office at The Jane Hotel
Responded Dec 16, 2021
Hi Susan, I'm so terribly sorry to see this is your experience. Please reach out to me directly. I look forward to hearing from you. Happy Holidays,
Read more
llworldtour wrote a review Nov 2021
Chicago, Illinois11 contributions13 helpful votes
I was very excited to find the Jane and be able to potentially use this as my on-going hotel when I come into NYC ever couple of months. The good: Most of the staff was very friendly and attentive. You could tell that customer service was an important training from management. The location is excellent. It's just below Meat Packing in the charming West Village. The ACE Subway is just a few blocks away on 14th. There's a D'AG supermarket also just 2 blocks away. Plus the high line, bike path, charming streets, restaurants, Chelsea, the Village and all of Lower Manhattan are not far. It's great to feel more local and not near midtown. The rooms, beds and bathrooms are all very clean. It seemed the shared bathrooms were cleaned a few times a day. Each room has a TV, alarm clock, phone and heat/AC. Rooms are tiny, but you know that going in. Needs Improvement: Door noise. Because there are so many tiny rooms, there are more doors. AND because you have to go down the hall for the toilet, people are opening and closing their doors way more than normal hotel and at all hours of the night. The doors need a soft close. Every door slammed and made noise opening and closing which was hard to sleep through. Also my door was sort of rocking back and forth against the door jam whenever there was an 'air shift' in the hall which since it's just inches from your head is also annoying! The biggest issue: Smoking in adjacent rooms. For a non-smoking hotel, this was unacceptable. I basically did not sleep at all the first night due to major cigarette and pot smoke wafting down the hall and into my room all night long. The hall reeked and soon so did my room. That coupled with the heat (they'd just turned it on and my small room got way too hot) made for a very stuffy, unpleasant night. The next morning, I called to complain and was told there are "holdover" tenants who still live in the bldg who smoke. I understand this can happen in an old converted building like this, but then this should be clearly stated on the website. IF I'd known this was the case, I would have been able to request a room on a different floor. But since it was not transparent, I wasted a night without sleep and had to move rooms. The receptionist said there was no manager on duty on Saturday, but I could pack my bags, 'check out' and then return after 3pm to get a new room. This was a major hassle of course and meant I had to be out of the hotel and couldn't come back for a midday rest even though I was a paying guest. When I went to the desk to leave my bags, she said again that they were well aware of a few holdover smoking tenants on the 3rd and 5th floors so they would move me to the 4th floor. SO--when booking I strongly recommend you ask for a non-smoking floor. I returned and moved rooms and there was a definite difference for the 2nd night! Although it was still way too hot and I had to keep getting up and opening my window more (it was 32F outside). When I checked out on Sunday morning, the manager on duty asked about my stay and I told her about the above issues. She also repeated the info about the holdover tenants, but I still maintain that they need to disclose this better because smelling and breathing in smoke in your non-smoking hotel room is a huge nuisance and really not acceptable. To her credit, she did credit my one night stay so at least they do make good for something like this. I'd like to stay again, but now I'm just not sure about the smoke and noise.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jamie Owens, Guest Services / Front Office at The Jane Hotel
Responded Dec 16, 2021
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to address the issues of your stay. It was a pleasure having you, and we look forward to seeing you again. Happy Holidays!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$128 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the jane hotel new york city, jane new york city, jane hotel new york city
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityDowntown Manhattan (Downtown) / West Village / Greenwich Village / Manhattan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
170
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Jane Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Jane Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The High Line (0.1 miles), Ground Zero Museum Workshop (0.3 miles), and Whitney Museum of American Art (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Jane Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Jane Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Jane Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Jane Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Standard Biergarten, FIG & OLIVE, and The Top of The Standard.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Jane Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Jane Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (1.9 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (1.9 miles), and Hamilton Park (2.2 miles).
Does The Jane Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.