We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel

Save
Share
343 West 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Stay Longer and Save
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$188
Hotels.com$188
vocoHotels$188
Travelocity$188
Priceline$188
Algotels$218
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (84)
Room & Suite (34)
Videos (2)

About

#377 of 518 hotels in New York City
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.0
Value
4.0
This property has identified as Asian-Owned.
Tripadvisor does not verify the accuracy of this information.
Discover a tranquil haven at voco® Times Square South New York. Relax in our stylish guest rooms filled with thoughtful voco™ touches and iconic views of the Manhattan and Times Square. Enjoy a cocktail (Manhattan, anyone?) and tasty small plates at Lightwell Café & Bar or plan your next signature event in our contemporary meeting spaces. Located two blocks from Penn Station, our West Midtown Manhattan hotel offers an unrivaled location in New York City. Walk to Hudson Yards and enjoy shopping and new culinary experiences. Catch a show in the Theater District, and head to the most visited spot in NYC: Times Square. Next, escape to the High Line for amazing views of the Hudson River. At night, catch a concert or sports event at Madison Square Garden and the Javits Center. With chic spaces, top service, and an unbeatable location, welcome to voco®.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Telephone
Iron
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Rate:Stay Longer and Save

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
327Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
76Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
80Reviews2Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 46
  • 12
  • 8
  • 5
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
John H wrote a review Nov 2022
Boston, Massachusetts26 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
Hotel is mostly updated and modern. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms (typical NYC small) are comfortable and quiet. TV had many options including steaming from phone. Common areas are nice and there is restaurant on site. Location is close to Penn Station (walking), street has construction/trash etc (typical NYC). Uber/Lyft pickup was easy in front of hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review! We're glad to know that you found our hotel's location convenient for your trip and felt comfortable with us. Additionally, we are pleased to hear that you thought our staff to be friendly and accommodating. Aleksandra V. - voco Times Square South
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marcia0222 wrote a review May 2022
Long Beach, California152 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Stayed at Voco to see Hamilton on Broadway. The hotel is nicely done. I'd say a modern chic style. The lobby is very well appointed and has an outdoor patio type area. The breakfast can be a busy time. Bring your patience! These hotels are still understaffed. The two individuals working the bar were all they had working. They took orders for tables and the bar, served them also when orders came out. The check in staff was great. The room was very clean! I love that there was no carpet! I hate hotel carpet. Great move IHG! The hotel is in great location. Due to rain we got Uber to theater but we walked back to hotel. It was about 12 minutes walk. We also walked to 42nd to eat our first night. If you've never been try Dallas BBQ. Wings and frozen drinks...yum. Also you need a room key to access the floors, so another level of security. I would definitely stay here again. Another tip: the lobby bar doesn't accept cash. Room charge or credit card only. Btw, this was formerly Doubletree. When you Google that comes up and my credit card said Doubletree for my room service charge. Oh also I was not happy with the room service vendor. I ordered the braised short ribs. Horrible! Was like trying to chew rubber. Wasted my money. Go with the delivery services like Uber Eats or Doordash.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Meagan Doody, Other at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel
Responded May 19, 2022
Hi Marcia0222, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at voco TIMES SQUARE SOUTH NEW YORK. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Again, thank you for choosing voco, and if I can be of assistance to you, please contact me directly at 2125428990 or meagan.doody@hotelnycvm.com. Sincerely, Meagan Doody Assistant General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NilsLDK wrote a review Nov 2022
Copenhagen, Denmark477 contributions222 helpful votes
Conclusion: I stayed at Voco Times Squere South for 4 nights. It is a traditionel city hotel, where the rooms are small. Compared to Crowne Plaza who is located across the street there is no difference, but Voco is cheaper, why I will choose this hotel. Even the hotel is nothing special, I will stay here again. If you want a better hotel, I can recommend Intercontinental - it is a couple of blocks away. Review: I arrived to the hotel late evening, why there was not line for check-in. The check-in was ok, but the staff was not updated in relation to my IHG benefits. I came from Newark Airport, where I took a Uber. The price was USD 60. Otherwise you can take the train from Newark Airport to Penn Station - it is much cheaper. Penn stations is only 6 blocks away from the hotel. The hotel has a perfect location. It is close to Hells Kitchen, where you find a lot of restaurants and bars and Time square 10 min walk away. The metro station is just around the corner, and you will find Citi bikes just outside the hotel. The room was clean but small. The Wi-fi was easy to connect to and it was fast. I got a room on 26th floor, and there is ofter long waiting time for the lift. I had breakfast on the hotel every morning. The breakfast was good, but the courses was small. The restaurant was very busy - some days I need to wait for a table or eat in the bar. The staff was really kind, but the service was slow
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We appreciate the thorough feedback. It's great to hear that you had an overall good stay with us, and we're glad to hear that you found our hotel's location suitable for your trip. However, we regret learning that there were several issues during your stay, and we assure you that your comments have been shared with the management team for review and improvement. Thank you! Aleksandra V. - voco Times Square South
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacqui527 wrote a review Nov 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom91 contributions61 helpful votes
We stayed here for 2 nights and having read the reviews can agree to most points. Good location in terms of proximity to key sights but not in terms of druggies and vagrants. The rooms are quite small but clean and I do prefer to hard wood floor rather than carpet… there the positives end I’m afraid. We exchanged a number of emails before arriving when I made the simple request of a high floor to enjoy the views considering we were celebrating a big birthday and wedding anniversary. On arrival they didn’t have a record of these emails and even after me showing reception we were told the best they could offer us was floor 3..out of 26 floors! In hindsight however this may have been a blessing as often there was only 1 lift in service to cover all these floors. The biggest concern I feel strongly needs to be shared however is the “security”. We had to swipe our key to enter the building, which I found reassuring given how I’ve already described the area. We were at the bar on Sat night however and there were a number of people allowed in, some asking to use the bar, others just asking for water, some charged their phones and then there were a group of about 5 people who came in and were allowed access (by security) to use the bathrooms, annoying considering we couldn’t access these earlier in the day until we had checked into the hotel after 3pm! In summary it’s an ok hotel but if you are in anyway anxious of your surroundings I would give this a miss.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel
Responded Nov 3, 2022
Jacqui, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're glad to hear that you liked the room and appreciated its cleanliness. Also, we're happy to know that you found the location of our hotel to be convenient for your trip. However, we regret learning that there were issues during your stay, and we assure you that we have shared your comments with the management team for review and improvement. We hope you will give us another chance in future. Thank you. Aleksandra V. - voco Times Square South
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NorthStar15792837882 wrote a review Oct 2022
I'd like to give my sincerest compliments to Yvette Jimenez from the front desk who went above and beyond her duties in helping me when i lost my mobile phone on the subway last week. I got back to the Voco in the wee hours on a sat night / sun morning in panic after realising i had lost my phone otw back on the subway to the hotel. Everything was on the phone and being from overseas, it was even scarier knowing that i had to fly out to Orlando from NYC the next morning without it. How do i even get on the train to the airport?? Maps, digital wallet, email confirmations, flight itineraries, hotel bookings, work emails/apps, photos, videos, whatsapp...ALL GONE. But this was when Yvette sprung into action. She assisted me to file a lost and found report on the subway authority website. She then offered me her mobile to WA call my phone to see if someone had picked it up. Even though it was not successful, what really touched me was that she didn't shrug her shoulders and said "tough luck" as it wasn't really her problem. Instead, she took down my email address and said she'll continue trying to call my number when she could and hope someone kind would pick up. Distraught, I checked out the next morning and left for Orlando. However, she took the initiative to email me over the next 2 days giving me regular updates and screenshots of her unanswered calls made every couple of hours.....even when she was off-work. And 2 days of trying later, ther person who picked up my phone answered her call. She then arranged with the person who picked up my phone to meet me back at Voco when i returned to NYC 3 days later. It was a fairytale ending and i was reunited with my phone all thanks to Yvette. My heartfelt appreciation goes out to you Yvette (and the kind soul who picked up my phone) for the patience, persistence and kindness you showed to a total stranger who was merely one of hundreds of guests the Voco receives daily. Thank you Yvette for all that you have done! I would not have found my phone if not for you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 25, 2022
Thank you so much for your kind review! We're delighted to hear that our staff went above and beyond to help you when you lost your phone, and we're so glad you were able to find it. We appreciate you for staying with us and we certainly hope to see you next time you're in town. Silvia R. - voco Times Square South
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Worldco wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions
Stayed a couple of nights in mid-October and was pleasantly surprised. First, check-in was as you would expect for an establishment of this caliber and Eva (Everett) provided a warm professional welcome and is an asset to the hotel. Everything in the room was well maintained, the room and bathroom very clean and the bed was also super comfortable. While there was an issue with an adjacent guest on night two, the issue overall was handled well and not at the fault of VOCO. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise and while maybe not the cheapest option if not included in your rate, I couldn’t fault it at all. Everything was at the correct temperature and served as you would expect. The hotel is close to the subway, close to Times Square and I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again. Finally, I found Allison who is the assistant front office manager to be highly professional in her approach to the Hotels guests which was very much appreciated. Until the next time, thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Outside covered area and outside area is great for breakfast if not reserved.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 22, 2022
We appreciate the 5-star feedback! Thank you for taking the time to share it with us! We're very happy to learn that you had a great stay with us and found our services to be improved. Also, we're glad to know that you had a smooth check-in and that you enjoyed the room and its amenities. We're pleased that the breakfast service met your expectations and that you were able to enjoy it. Furthermore, we value your kind words for Everett and Allison, and we assure you that we have shared your sentiments with the management team for proper acknowledgment. Thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Aleksandra V. - voco Times Square South
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fxitmn wrote a review Oct 2022
Manassas, Virginia23 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice hotel in a good location for what we needed. Bar and cafe are nice, seating areas and courtyard are great. Rooms are small even for NYC, lighting is minimal, beds are super soft and low! No mini fridge and shower doors only swing in which makes it difficult for someone larger than average. Cleaning crew was okay, forgot to leave correct number of towels and didn't leave additional roll of tp or coffee cups. Elevators are slow and beware there isn't a service elevator so the cleaning crews lock one of them out periodically in the morning so you could wait 10 minutes or more! We had 2 rooms on 21st and 22nd floors and there was a serious problem with the shower faucet being either scalding hot or ice cold! Apparently lower floors showers don't have the problem so it's an engineeringcrews lock one of them out periodically in the morning so you could wait 10 minutes or more! We had 2 rooms on 21st and 22nd floors and there was a serious problem with the shower faucet being either scalding hot or ice cold! Apparently lower floors showers don't have the problem so it's an engineering
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 19, 2022
Thank you for sharing your post-stay review with us, fxitmn. It's great to hear that you found the bar and cafe ideal and to your liking. We're also pleased to learn that the location of our hotel met your expectations. Our hotel staff place the comfort and happiness of our guests at the center of all that we do and we take great pride in delivering a high standard of service. We're disappointed to hear that we missed the mark, however, on this occasion. For this, we're very sorry. Your feedback has been taken on board concerning the reliability of our elevators, bathroom facilities, and our cleaning services. We would like to assure you that your comments are appreciated and are reviewed for the enhancement of our services. Sabrina P. - voco Times Square South
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucila C wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Worst experience in a hotel ever. Really poor service. I’ve stayed 20 days back on April this year (2022). The room is tiny, the saving box got broken EVERY SINGLE DAY and we had to wait almost an hour and half each time to got it fixed. We had to ask please and give big tips to the maids to replace TOILET PAPER because otherwise the didn’t leave us any, not even paper or soap or refill the shampoo and conditioner bottles. To make the experience EVEN WORSE we have a bag of candies that one day appeared empty and just bought clothes with price tag on it disappeared!!! I sent an email for the stolen clothes inconvenience but, of course, they never replied. I WOULD RATHER STAY ON A BENCH AT THE CENTRAL PARK THAN COMING BACK TO THIS HOTEL WHERE THEY TAKE ADVANTAGES OF LEAVING THE ROOM TO STEAL YOUR PERSONAL ITEMS AND GIFTS!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Take your own hygiene items, don’t leave anything at easy hands of the maids and lock your luggage!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 17, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your stay in the spring. We are disappointed to see you experienced issues during your stay. We hope you will contact the hotel directly so we can address your concerns. We look forward to hearing from you. Aleksandra V. - voco Times Square South
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ATLFourHawks wrote a review Oct 2022
Atlanta, Georgia7 contributions2 helpful votes
Newer, very clean boutique feel hotel. Modern decor. Great, friendly service. Rooms are clean & efficient. Anything you want or need is here. Central to most everything- Broadway, Times Square, Penn Station (2 blocks away), Fifth Avenue shopping, restaurants, Central Park a 15min walk away. We loved the ease of getting around! Larry, the front desk supervisor, took special care of us when we decided NOT to stay at another IHG property that had not been renovated. We’ll be back to VOCO!!’
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 13, 2022
We appreciate you sharing your great feedback with us! We're delighted to know that you had an excellent stay and liked the design of our hotel. Also, we're glad you found our staff friendly and appreciated the room's cleanliness. Furthermore, we're happy to learn that the location of our hotel made your trip easier and you were able to reach any destination. Thank you! Aleksandra V. - voco Times Square South
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ZigZag5 wrote a review Oct 2022
Toronto40 contributions22 helpful votes
Average hotel but nothing special. The lobby area is nice; there is a full service bar with sitting areas. Unfortunately the guest rooms are really small!! (which I suppose is typical for NYC). Considering the price, this was a bit disappointing. No fridges or cabinets in the rooms however they are clean and pleasant enough. The neighborhood is a little sketchy so not sure I would want to book here again. Staff were quite helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Community Manager, Other at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 11, 2022
Thank you for sharing your review with us, ZigZag5. We're pleased to hear that you liked our lobby area and found our staff helpful. Your comments regarding our hotel's external surroundings, the size of our rooms, and the amenities available have been taken onboard for review, as we value and appreciate your honest feedback. Sabrina P. - voco Times Square South
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$160 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wyndham new york city, wyndham garden hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Central Times Square, an IHG hotel
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityHudson Yards / Midtown West / Garment District / Manhattan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
224
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VOCO TIMES SQUARE SOUTH NEW YORK, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews (New York City)

Frequently Asked Questions about voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Style Room NYC Shopping Tour Experiences (0.3 miles), Mission Escape Games (0.2 miles), and Exit Escape Room (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Liberty Bagels Midtown, Best Bagel and Coffee, and IL Punto Ristorante.
Are there opportunities to exercise at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to voco Times Square South New York, An IHG Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (3.1 miles), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (3.1 miles), and Hamilton Park (1.6 miles).