We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Carlton Arms

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Carlton Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 240: English reviews
Torshavn, Faroe Islands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a double bedroom with a private bathroom. Carlton Arms was a good experience, it was clean, it was cheap, and with a good location. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It is a special place, and not suited for everyone, but we had a great time and a good experience. The cats are also cute. Across the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fimbu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I highly recommend Carlton Arms to those who aren't too fussy about the aesthetic nature of your accommodation and want affordable accommodation in New York. Although the rooms are basic, my room (private) had a VERY comfortable bed, a basin and efficient air con. Staff are very welcoming and friendly. I was given the choice of two rooms and picked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carly_Louise_80
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This Hotel was quite adventourus.the Rooms and floors are all different and there is alot to see in the Hotel Itself. Colorful. The batjhroom in our floor was clean. You shouldnt have problems with Cats when you decide to go there. Not the normal Hotel but awesome.

Helpful?
Thank Moritzlo
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016

Funky, unique, cozy, good location, agreed with some previous comments that its not a real Holiday Inn, but for 60$ a night (October 2015) we didnt regret any second staying there. Hot showers (which is always my biggest concern) and cleanliness checked. We had a window on 3rd Avenue side so it can be bit noisy sometimes. Anyway, would recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank MilosIvanovic92
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

From my trip travelogue: Speaking of pricey items, lodging is another expensive item in NYC, and generally, you cannot expect to spend less that $150 per night for a single person. Even then, that usually doesn't mean a nice accommodation in a convenient area. But I happened upon the Carlton Arms, also known as the Artbreak Hotel, and very cheap... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Benin O
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

I've stayed at the Carleton Arms for years on and off. It's always been my go-to, cheaper than normal place to stay in the City. The staff has always been friendly and accommodating, but improvements and basic maintenance are slipping big time now and deep cleaning is a thing of the past. It can also be a noisy place if... More 

Helpful?
Thank crazyhorse1430

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Let me start by saying that my mom would hate staying at this place. There's no elevator, nobody leaves a mint on your pillow at night, and it's unabashedly offbeat. If you're the sort of person who would travel to a foreign country and then eat at McDonald's, this is not the place for you. It bears zero resemblance to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Yarnlover
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review. We are well aware of the fact that Carlton Arms is not for everyone. Your accurate description of what the hotel is and isn't will definitely help guests to decide if it's the right place for them. Hope to see you again. Sincerely Management More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE. This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. There are cats everywhere and so the rooms smell of cat urine. The walls are painted with such demented designs that you genuinely feel like you are in a nightmare. We only booked one night, but nearly left in the middle of the night it was so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eleanor S
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had such a terrible experience. Carlton Arms is known for being an art hotel for over 30 years and this is very clear if you look at our website. If you didn't feel comfortable we would be happy to find you another hotel. Art is subjective, guest have a choice of rooms when checking in. There... More 

Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

We recently spent a great weekend in NYC and stayed at the Carleton Arms. We arrived very late (midnightish)and were greeted nicely. We had booked a double room with private bath. The room was very interestingly painted and we especially loved the treasure hunt we happened across when we opened the dresser. The beds, and the bath were just great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dacazano
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Arms, responded to this review

Thank you More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

this is a budget hotel, but it's very centrally located, and you get exactly what you're expecting. The rooms are clean, as are the (shared) bathrooms. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and there was usually free coffee in the morning. each of the rooms and hallways are painted, making for a really interesting and quirky environment. this is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

395 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (244)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (151)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Double Full Forest Room, Ensuite (19)
Viewed
Double Full Mountain Room, Ensuite (22)
Viewed
European Style Double Room, Pink Bed (12)
Viewed
European Style Double Room, Zebra Bed (15)
Viewed
European Style Single Room (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#257 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#311 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,419 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#191 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,533 reviews
Manhattan
American Dream Hostel
American Dream Hostel
#11 of 195 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Carlton Arms

Address: 160 E 25th St, New York City, NY 10010-2312
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Price Range: $90 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Arms Hotel New York City
Carlton Arms New York City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay