We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highland Lake Inn & Resort

Save
Share
86 Lily Pad Ln, Flat Rock, NC 28731-9507
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$109
$98
View Deal
SAVE $11
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Booking.com$98
Official Hotel$109
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (98)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (316)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Flat Rock
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
A Cherished Mountain Retreat with Hospitality You’ll Love. At Highland Lake Inn & Resort, we offer guests a wealth of amenities and options, all at an uncompromising value. There are no other hotels or resorts near Asheville, NC, quite like us—encompassing such a wide range of enticing amenities and accommodations. Poised atop 26 scenic acres on a private lake in the town of Flat Rock, NC in Western North Carolina, our goal is to deliver an authentic mountain experience that’s as vast and varied as these storied hills. Experience a resort that is rich in history, passionate about the environment and eager to deliver warm hospitality.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Badminton
Bicycles available
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Boating
Canoeing
Game room
Hiking
Tennis court
Billiards
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
513Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 320
  • 119
  • 35
  • 22
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
KBCR wrote a review Jan 2
Houston, Texas1 contribution
Stayed in one of poolside houses and it was definitely not worth the money. These homes are very old which can give them some fun idiosyncrasies (like none of the floors are level — everything is at a slant) and it gave us some fun stories. The resort is also happens to be very near to our family who lives in the area, so that was nice and convenient. However, the negatives outweigh the positives in this case. There were nails sticking up from floor in kitchen. They had a padded mat laying over the top of it, but it had shifted and one of us ended up stepping on it. Also had nails sticking out of wood border between flooring of kitchen/dining area. The furniture is not just dated but worn out. The sofa had tears, and the padding on the arms had worn away such that the wood was all that could be felt under the cover. The love seat had no support left in it, so you practically sat on the floor when sitting on it. But the most disturbing thing that we found (fortunately on our final morning there) was rodent droppings on the kitchen counters. We had actually noticed them a day or two prior, but assumed it was the seeds from bagels we’d had. We thoroughly cleaned the counter after that and moved the bagels to a different counter. On our final morning at the house we found the droppings again (on original counter) as well as droppings on the stove top. When we checked out later that morning, we told the employee at the desk about the droppings as well as the dangerous nails. He said he’d “note it down”. We paid a lot of money for our stay and it definitely was not worth the cost. We wouldn’t stay here again and wouldn’t recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Jason C wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Issues:: Woodrow House, room 9. Fireplace in the community room did not work. Called Friday night and again Saturday. Finally fixed at 1 pm.Saturday. Remote for tv didn't work. It was fixed after a call. Commode in bathroom wouldn't flush, nearly overflowed. Fixed that on my own after many plunges. Cold water faucet in sink only had a small trickle of water. Told maintenance at 1 pm on Saturday. Never got fixed. Had dinner reservations for both Saturday dinner and Sunday brunch. Within 10 minutes of being seated, the manager came over and asked to speak with me privately.We went into the very small hallway between the dining area and the foyer where multiple people could hear our conversation. He said staff had heard me coughing. I disagreed and asked to speak with at least one of the staff. He refused, but said 5 staff had heard me cough. I again denied it.Unbelievable! Got back to Florida Monday. Took the COVID test Tuesday.. Negative. Have attempted several calls to the owner and restaurant manager, only going to voicemail. Have sent letters to both with copies of my negative test. Still no response. I want apologies for my experience and my $$ back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: no view from most rooms at the Woodrow House
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly McCall, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded Nov 7, 2020
We sincerely apologize that you felt your experience here on our property fell short of your expectations. We have since conducted an internal review to address any areas of concern you shared, and have reached out to you personally. We did have an operational issue with the living room fireplace on Friday evening after arriving to address your call. It was fixed the following day. We are sorry to hear you had issues operating the TV remote, though after a second team member arrived to assist, it was determined there was nothing wrong with the remote; just a key entry confusion. We did also inspect the faucet during this time, and were able to quickly remedy the problem for you. During our second visit to your room, we would have been happy to take a look at any issues with the toilet if we had known. We apologize that we had to ask your table to leave the restaurant on the evening of Saturday, October 17th, and wish that the circumstances would not have required us to do so. We understand that this made you feel disrespected and embarrassed, although we felt we did it as sensitively as we could under the circumstances. It was not our intention to cause you to feel this way, but only follow the CDC and NC state-recommended Covid-related health protocols for which we ask all guests and employees to comply with, as is posted at our entrances. We will never make claims or allegations of any medical diagnosis with our guests. We simply align our internal policies with the guidance from health experts, and local/state authorities as related to symptoms that a guest is displaying in the restaurant. Sadly, the Covid epidemic has required us to tighten up our health safety protocols in our restaurant in order to best protect our employees and guests. Any guest that is coughing repeatedly is not permitted in the restaurant. This is posted at our entrances to ensure that guests understand this is a condition of dining with us given the Covid pandemic. We have taken great measures to build trust, within the community and our guests staying on property, in regards to our health and safety measures during this pandemic. Our guests do trust that when they dine in our establishment, we are following the recommended guidance to protect our guests and our employees in the best possible way we can. We did provide a complimentary take-out meal for all of the guests at your table to enjoy outside of the restaurant, and while we know this is the not the same dining experience, this was our best alternative option to provide at the time. It is my understanding that while your friends did receive this, you chose to depart back to your room and declined the offer. We all look forward to the time when we can lift these restrictions. They can create awkward situations for both our guests and our employees.
Read more
Laura F wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Drove 4hrs to get here for a nice weekend to view leaves and other attractions. Got to our room to find it infested with bugs. Not sure what type. Hotel was booked so no where to else to put us. All other hotels sold out or double the price. Drove 4hrs back home. Avoid this Inn!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly McCall, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded Oct 25, 2020
We would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Based upon the evidence we collected while you were here, we determined that there were a couple of ladybugs in your room. As you can see from other reviews here, we are most proud of our history of providing extremely clean rooms to our guests. Despite our best efforts, Ladybugs sometimes tend to come out at this time of year here in the country and it appears that just a few slipped into your room.”
Read more
Travel201482 wrote a review Oct 2020
Birmingham, Alabama1 contribution
My husband and I enjoyed a weekend getaway in the area and were both pleased with our stay. We had a room in the lodge. It was very quaint and cozy. The large common room with the fireplace was very inviting. We enjoyed a sunset stroll through the beautiful property down to the lake. Although there were other guests somehow it seemed private. We weren’t able to get a reservation at the restaurant but enjoyed some delicious meals at a few places in the cute little village down the road. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly McCall, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded Oct 25, 2020
Thank you for your kind words, and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again for a future visit to the area!
Read more
Donna B wrote a review Sep 2020
Bluffton, South Carolina28 contributions9 helpful votes
After driving several hours in the pouring rain, we arrived at the office where we were met with a chilly welcome. Was immediately advised that we selected a room that was not for pets, so I had to remind them that we had a genuine service dog who has full access. Although this had been discussed when I called they obviously did not note this information. We went to our room which was described as having French doors to a patio. Expected a ground floor room but it was actually raised to a higher level, and the "patio" was actually a rustic wood porch, again with a few steps. The room was very clean but as others have said, very dated, and quite small with a king size bed in it. We stayed three nights but there was no housekeeping service, not even to empty two small trash pails. The grounds were peaceful and lovely. Too cool for the pool but couldn't figure out how to get there. Restaurant was closed for breakfast but they did provide two $10 vouchers for either lunch or dinner at the Season's restaurant. I would not return, especially considering the cost. See restaurant review separately.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly McCall, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Responded Nov 4, 2020
Thank you for sharing of your experience with us during your stay. We deeply regret that the information regarding your service dog was not noted with your stay, as we are sure this would have prevented frustration on your end. We checked the records of your online reservation made on our site, and there was no indication or note made with the booking to share of this, and no record of a call to us to add this in with your reservation. Naturally, our guest services staff was unaware, and believed the dog to be a pet, and not a service animal where accommodation would have been granted. We will review with our team the importance of welcoming all of our guests with warm smiles, and we do apologize that you felt a chillier welcome. We have made some changes this past year, in regards to heightened health and safety measures during the pandemic, and one of the changes made back in March of this year was to limit maid service to our lodging rooms. We do provide maid service upon request, and have taken measures to ensure that our guests are aware. Our website, welcome letters to guests, and information on our lodging reservations site indicate these updated policies. To take this one step further, we also provide a card in the room that shares this to ensure that we have not missed communicating with our guests. Our Woodward House 1st floor rooms are accessible by 2 entrances. The main entrance does have some stairs leading to the building, and we do also have a side entrance with a ramp for those guests with mobility issues to provide ease of accessing their room. We do encourage our guests, who do need to veer away from stair access, to call us and we are happy to share the best rooms that are easily accessible for their needs. We are sorry that you had difficulty in locating our pool area, and we do provide property maps upon check-in and are happy to assist our guests with finding things on our expansive 26 acre property. We do thank you for sharing your feedback, and are taking every suggestion seriously as we meet with our team, and look into the areas of concern.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$122 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
highland lake hotel flat rock
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsFlat Rock
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Nearby attractions include Elijah Mountain Gem Mine (4.8 miles), Flat Rock Playhouse (0.8 miles), and Mast Store (2.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Binion's Roadhouse, McFarlan Bakery, and Dandelion Eatery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Highland Lake Inn & Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Flat Rock.
Are pets allowed at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Highland Lake Inn & Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Highland Lake Inn & Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.