We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites

Visit hotel website
Traveler (46)
Room & Suite (39)
Pool & Beach (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
To make our hotel your best choice in terms of both facilities and services, renovation work on the entire hotel is being done, Spa, Laundry and Fitness Room will be carried out till may 31st . There will be minor visual disturbance and some construction noise from 9:00 am to 6:30 pm. While every effort is being made to ensure your comfort during this period, we apologize in advance for any inconvenience you may experience. Thank you for your kind understanding.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Business Center with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Save More on Your Rate
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
43Car recommended
Grade: 43 out of 100
42Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
101Reviews
88Photos
3Q+A
17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 33
  • 33
  • 20
  • 10
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My family enjoyed our stay at Candlewood Suites. It is really easy to find in Hotel Circle directly off the freeway. There are a few restaurants nearby. We had breakfast at Bunz and it was wondeful. There is a Dave & Buster's a few minutes away. We went there and spent a few
Read more
Response from CalistaF, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites
Responded Mar 12, 2019
Dear jeffmbaptist: I am so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at our Candlewood Suites. Dave and Buster's is always an excellent place to spend a few hours, but I am glad that you also had time to enjoy our hotel. It is my sincere hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Happy Travels! Calista Fulton
Read more
I stayed for a couple of days for a quick visit. Its centrally located to get around San Diego. The rooms are very clean and its nice to have a small kitchen, especially the microwave. Aside the coffee maker in the room, there is complimentary coffee downstairs if you're
Read more
Response from CalistaF, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites
Responded Jan 16, 2019
Dear PlanetXO: I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our Candlewood Suites, and so gratified that we will be your number one choice next time! We look forward to welcoming you back anytime. Thank you so much for your kind words and for your ongoing loyalty to IHG hotels. Happy Travels! Calista Fulton Guest Services Manager
Read more
Spent two weeks here, staff was always great and helpful. Great location, near great food and activities. On site little market made grabbing a late night snack simple and easy. No complaints or issues while we were there.
Read more
Response from CalistaF, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites
Responded Dec 19, 2018
Dear TammieVaughn: Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our Candlewood Suites! I'm so pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back any time! Happy Travels! Calista Fulton
Read more
I'm a Spire Elite member with over half a million points with IHG. I spend about 8 months a year in IHG properties and this was by far the absolute worst experience that I've ever had with an IHG property. I will never stay at this property, I will never recommend this property,
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites
Responded Sep 10, 2018
Hello Joseph M, I appreciate you for staying at Candlewood Suites San Diego and for giving us your thoughts about your recent visit. Firstly, sorry to know your dismay regarding your daughter's reservation. The circumstances you have mentioned are not what I want you to experience with any of our properties. Your pointers will help us identify specific areas to improve in order to provide the best customer service experience for all our guests deserve. I take these matters seriously and we wouldn't want any untoward incidents happening in the future. Additionally, I'd like to follow up on your concerns that's why I've sent you a private message. Again, thanks for being a loyal IHG Rewards Spire Elite member since 2013. I hope to offer you a more pleasant experience upon your return. All the best, Peter J. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
We came to San Diego for a weekend and wanted to stay at somewhere affordable. We picked this property based on location and the value it offers. While the room is huge, the furniture felt mismatched to the size of the room. The bed was comfortable though and I slept very well.
Read more
Response from CalistaF, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites
Responded Jul 17, 2018
Dear dontbullyme: Thank you for being a valued Spire Elite member! I am sorry that we were unable to grant your request of a late checkout, and the inconvenience that this caused to you. I am pleased to know however, that your bed was comfortable and that you found our property to be a good value. It is my sincere hope that you will consider staying with us again soon. Happy Travels! Calista Fulton Guest Services Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementCandlewood Suites
Guest room
Photo provided by managementCandlewood Suites
Guest room
Photo provided by managementCandlewood Suites
Guest room
Photo provided by managementCandlewood Suites
Guest room
Photo provided by managementCandlewood Suites
Guest room
PreviousNext
1234568
does this hotel have elevators? also do they have a hot tub ?
Yes it does. you have to walk out of Reception, pass the pool and elevators are located at the corner of the building. Did not see any hot tubs in the pool area.
1 vote
Show all answers
Does this hotel have a full size pool?
Does this hotel have a pool?
Unfortunately no, this property does not have a pool.
0 votes
"I believe all rooms face the front of the hotel with an open hallway in the back to enter them."
"It was quiet on the first and second floors, I'm guessing on the third as well"
"Any room should be just great."
"The "deluxe" rooms are very large."
"Ask for floor above the ground level"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
$145 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hawthorn suites by wyndham san diego hotel san diegohawthorn suites san diegosan diego hawthorn suites
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham San Diego
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoMission Valley / Hotel Circle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing