We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 262: English reviews
Aurora
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was very close to many highway entrances and exit. It is a little old and in a bad area of town but the housekeeper did a great job cleaning our room daily!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
Manassas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room in itself is not so bad. The area is close to the highway but does not seem safe at all. So glad i was with a friend, i would have looked for a different place. The lady on the front desk is friendly enough, however when i came to check in she was not present. It took me... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lily B

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Sachse, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The sink was clogged; informed the management and he rudly told me to wiggle the knob. I told him I don't wiggle knobs for the price I paid for my room, which i wasn't impressed with the room. He came to the room, took the entire stopper out of the sink and left the filthy thing on the counter!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank jacquelineb500
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

We weren't expecting anything 5 star. My brother booked my boyfriend and I (who are visiting from out of state) a room for the night to enjoy downtown San Diego and a Padres game with friends. The room was exactly what you'd expect, but sufficient enough for the night. Like I said, the room was booked under my brothers name/card... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angie H
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

we had a clogged toilet and went to the front desk to ask for help. the guy said that they didn't have a plunger-somebody else had borrowed it and did not return it. and told us that there is nothing they can do except for waiting and hoping that this person returns the plunger. A few hours later we went... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 103jiny
Anaheim, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

The room was damp when we first walked in. There was also absolutely zero water pressure and the shower wasn't even functional. Will not be staying at a travelodge again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank nicholask799
TravelodgeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

We are sorry that you experienced issues with the shower during your recent stay with us. Unfortunately we did have an issue with our water pressure during your stay, which was out of our control. We can assure you that this was an isolated incident, and not one that is likely to re-occur. We hope that it didn't inconvenience you... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

Location was close to nothing. Breakfast was nothing too. Room was small. I requested non smoking room, and yes we got a non smoking room BUT there was ashtray in front of my room and lots of people were smoking in front of my room. Bathroom was small and shower was so weak, no water pressure.

Helpful?
Thank OinK_Chan
TravelodgeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - we really appreciate it. We're glad that you got the room that you requested, and we are sorry if you were disturbed by people outside your door. If that occurs the next time you stay with us, please mention it to the front desk staff, and we will ensure that they are moved along.... More 

Panguitch, Utah
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

This Travelodge is in a scary part of San Diego, parking was very tight, with not enough parking slots. Rooms were clean, but in need of an update. Staff was very helpful and nice. Just needs to be updated and non smoking rooms need to be freshened to smell good.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank michellepD232ZY
TravelodgeSanDiego, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review

We're happy that you liked your room, and found our staff helpful during your recent stay with us.As you will be aware, we provide complimentary parking, but unfortunately, we cannot always facilitate all of our guests during the busy periods. Next time you stay with us, our staff can park your car for you, if that would be more convenient... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#187 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#177 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
San Diego is yours to explore at our Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center hotel, near San Diego Airport. Located off Interstate 5, easy access to San Diego Convention Center ,Downtown, Gaslamp, our hotel in San Diego is the perfect choice for a weekend getaway or conference attendance. We offer free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can check directions or catch up on email before you head out on your long day of sightseeing. Limited Parking is available onsite. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1801 Logan Ave, San Diego, CA 92113-2111 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $81 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge San Diego Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Convention Center/Downtown Hotel San Diego
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay