We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$147
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/22
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/22
Hotels.com
Only 1 left at
$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/22
Travelocity$105
Tripadvisor$105
Priceline$155
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (151)
Room & Suite (241)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#33 of 283 hotels in San Diego
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.7
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Thank you to all of our wonderful guests who continue to choose us from among the many hotel choices in San Diego. We're a family-owned and operated independent hotel in San Diego for three generations. We are built in the classic roadside inn style with exterior corridors, 2 stories, no elevator. We're next to a residential neighborhood known as Rolando/College Area and about 2 miles from SDSU and Viejas Arena. We are walking distance of many delicious, family-owned restaurants. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Game room
Board games / puzzles
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1208Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 671
  • 394
  • 100
  • 25
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ethel O wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Booked at this hotel based on the great reviews i had read. This place did not disappoint. Very clean, the beds were great, the sheets crisp and white. The property is well kept and the parking lot is secure. Girls at the front desk were friendly and very helpful. Gave us several recommendations for places to have dinner that were within walking distance. Property is also pet friendly. Felt safe and secure during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilda Prado, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Ethel O, THANK YOU for writing such a lovely review. Your feedback doesn't just help our future guest but also serves as a motivation to our staff. We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean. I'm delighted to hear you were able to receive great recommendations from our front desk team. We encourage all of our guest to stop in and get the insiders scoop of the best restaurants, attractions and more! Again, thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to serving you in the near future. Yours in Hospitality, Front Desk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeremy S wrote a review Jul 2021
Los Angeles, California19 contributions24 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
My wife and I had come down here before with our children and this time our new daughter-in-law came along. As usual, the inn was wonderful for our needs. We took a suite with a kitchenette and a room with two queens for my son and daughter-in-law. We were allowed to bring our own BBQ which (we keep kosher) and the hotel was close to the synagogue. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean and fresh and we were able to get an extra hour late checkout without an issue. When I got home, I discovered I left my phone charger at the hotel. They're going to mail it back at no charge! We will most likely go back next time in SD!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Hotel doesn't have elevators (it's two floors) so if you need a first floor room, request...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilda Prado, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Responded Oct 24, 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear you continue to enjoy your stays with us. As with any small business like ours, we understand that the greatest advertising we have is through word of mouth from our satisfied customers. We always encourage our future guests to do their research. We want our guests to be satisfied. We are not everyone’s cup of tea, however, we tend to rate highly with guests who are looking for clean rooms, good prices and a friendly staff that goes out of their way to make our guests feel special. Again, thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to serve you again in the ear future! Yours In Hospitality, Lamplighter Inn & Suites Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
extravelagent wrote a review Nov 2022
Honolulu, Hawaii350 contributions211 helpful votes
If you're booking this property, you're either doing something at SDSU (like I was) or looking to pay less vs the hotel circle properties. I spent two days there and only really saw that it was a motel from the reviews. For my purpose, it was totally fine. Had a double queen room. Pretty spacious and most of all it WAS CLEAN. This is why I booked it: Close to SDSU (5-8 minute drive), free parking, free breakfast; not the most inexpensive but it looked decent online. Yes it's a motel, get over it especially is you're driving. I had seen online that that maybe someone didn't get a parking spot so I messaged the hotel to see if I was going to get one when I arrrived at 10pm and it was fine. Again room was big, a/c worked great, fridge, wifi worked very well. Bathroom set up a la motel style (sink outside of bathroom). It was very quiet (I was on the ground floor) and was able to park my rental car right outside my door. My only complaint (hence not the 5th star) was that when I got there at 10pm, the lobby door was shut and no one was picking up the phone on the posted sign, (a few minutes of asking myself if there was a cutoff to check in ) but the receptionist finally arrived. Check in was smooth. Also, I needed the iron for this trip and it didn't work but the housekeeper changed it out for a brand new one! The free breakfast is fine (it's free!); coffee, fruit, oatmeal, pastries, waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, bagels. Book somewhere else more expensive it you want scrmbled eggs and sausage. Hard to complain when it's free. Didn't use the pool or BBQs but nice that they have. Free coffee and free snacks in the lobby. The Lamplighter checked off all my boxes. Would I stay there again; absolutley. Do I wish it were cheaper since it's a motel, sure. But the staff are nice, free parking, spacious rooms in the old style (they all look the same size), something to eat in the morning. Lots of clean towels and clean sheets. I'll stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: I guess the 2nd floor rooms would be quiter than the ground floor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilda Prado, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your review with us! Were glad to hear overall you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, we are centrally located just within 15–20-minute drive to some of San Diegos most popular attractions. We have many SDSU friends and family members stay with us because of the close proximity we are to the campus. We are 1.3 miles away making it walking distance to and from the campus. It gives family members the opportunity to walk and enjoy the neighborhood their loved ones are attending to. Again, thank you for sharing your review with us, we hope to serve you again in the near future. Yours in Hospitality, Front Desk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chloe2017 wrote a review Nov 2022
Wallonie63 contributions55 helpful votes
We spent 2 nights in this hotel with my husband and 2 children. The room was large. Ours was actually a queen suite with its own living room and kitchen which was very practical. The rooms are a little dated I must say and my husband was a little put off by the carpeted floor but that’s probably because we are less used to it in Europe and everything was very clean. The only thing I must mention is that the walls are not sound proof enough and we could hear the phone conversations of our next door neighbors :( The breakfast was great with full of choices. The pool was a little chilly but it was October. I liked all the pool sides with the sofas etc. There are also some barbecues which we did not try but it must be great during the summer. Many food possibilities close-by.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilda Prado, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Were glad you found our property to be easily convenient to many attractions including eateries in the neighborhood. We are about 15–20-minute drive to some of San Diegos most popular attractions such as Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown, all our local beaches and more! For recommendations or directions stop by our front desk and one of our agents would be happy to assist you. Again, thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your resent travels to the States. We look forward to serving you in the near future! Yours in Hospitality, Front Desk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sheila K wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
My family stayed at this properly last week. My elderly parents were easily placed in a ground floor room so they did not have to deal with stairs. My children and I had an upstairs suite with a small kitchen. The rooms were spacious, quiet and spotless. There was everything necessary in the kitchen for quick meals had I wanted to cool. I did not have to because their included breakfast was fantastic. We had our choice of pastries, coffee, water for tea, bagels and cream cheese, made to order waffles, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, even fresh hot oatmeal. The staff was attenuative and helpful. The WI-FI and TV service kept my teens happy. Parking was readily available and off street. The pool was chilly but my kids were in it anyway. The grounds were well cared for and the gardens were beautiful and added to our enjoyment. This place truly is a hidden gem and we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you have elderly guests request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilda Prado, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Sheila_Kyer, What a pleasant review! Thank you for proving your experience with our TripAdvisor community. Were delighted to hear everyone in the family was able to enjoy their stay with us! Our front desk team does a wonderful job reviewing guest request and we try and accommodate them to the best of our abilities to ensure everyone enjoys their stay with us. I'm glad we were able to place your parents on the first floor, I'm sure this made it easier for both you and them during your stay. On your next visit, stop by the front desk and get any insiders scoop about things to do in the area, restaurant recommendations & more! We are available 24 hours to serve you! Again, thank you for taking the time to share your review with us! We look forward to serving you int he near future. Yours in Hospitality, Front Desk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keilani N wrote a review Oct 2022
The breakfast was amazing!! Perfect for adults and children. Loved the variety of food items and the fresh fruit. The room felt spacious and clean! Very friendly staff! We would definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilda Prado, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Responded 5 days ago
Dear 638keilanin, Thank you for sharing your review with our TripAdvisor community! Were delighted to hear you enjoyed our free complimentary breakfast which consist of Belgium Waffles, Steel cut oatmeal made fresh each night, bagels with cream cheese, pastries, 3 types of cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, OJ, coffee, tea & water. We feel we have a well-balanced breakfast option for our guest to choose from during their stay with us. On your next visit, stop by the front desk and check out our DVD movie library and game options. You can enjoy a night in, or game night out by the pool. Again, thank you for staying with us. We hope to serve you again in the near future! Yours in Hospitality, Front Desk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SteveLicata wrote a review Oct 2022
Monrovia, California274 contributions254 helpful votes
My wife and I regrettably only stayed here one night but were greatly impressed by the size, cleanliness and comfort of the rooms and great staff. The suites look modest from outside but are actually quite large inside with very updated bathrooms , adequate closet space and a separate couch/living area. There is even a nice pool here (no hot tub) but it is very well located and adequate parking. They even have a have a library of free movie DVDs you can check out and view from the large updated TVs that have an internal built-in DVD player. The breakfast spread is also generous and filling. the staff is very friendly and helpful nd will point you to the many good dining options nearby. Also, if you stay here in the off-season or mid-week the rates are definitely a bargain. Even though it is a bit far from the beach, per se, this will be our new go-to place in San Diego. Thank you Lamplighter - the prefect combination of older comfort and modern convenience with a great family feel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Definitely get a king suite - you will want to stay a whole week or more - so comfy!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilda Prado, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Responded 5 days ago
Dear SteveLicata, WOW! We appreciate you sharing such a wonderful review with us! Our company culture is to provide quality, affordability and great customer service to our guests. You summed up exactly who we are and what we offer to our guest. Were delighted to hear you enjoyed all of our amenities we have to offer such as our breakfast room, outdoor heated pool, DVD library, Wi-Fi and parking. Our rating is an indication of our team’s dedication to give the best of themselves to each and every guest. From the front desk staff who welcome our guests, to our housekeepers who keep our rooms spotless, to our maintenance crew who keep things working properly, to our landscaper who help our flowers bloom. We are very proud of our team! Again, thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us! Hearing such wonderful comments motivates us to continue striving to what we do best! Yours in Hospitality, Front Desk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patty V wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I reserved this Hotel base only on the amazing reviews. Every single review was real. I verified with my stay. Clean, Secure, Breakfast included, Personal nice, respectful & willing to help you and resolve anything at anytime. Close to many stores and restaurants. I will go back again without a doubt. RECOMMENDED
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilda Prado, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Responded Oct 26, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, WOW! Thank you for your wonderful 5-STAR review! We are pleased to hear we were able to provide you with everything we strive to provide to each one of our guest, quality, affordability and great customer service to our guests. Our rating is an indication of our team’s dedication to give the best of themselves to each and every guest. From the front desk staff who welcome our guests, to our housekeepers who keep our rooms spotless, to our maintenance crew who keep things working properly, to our landscaper who help our flowers bloom. I am very proud of our staff, and I am delighted you were able to experience that firsthand. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to serve you again in the near future! Yours in Hospitality, Front Desk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marjon d wrote a review Sep 2022
Alkmaar, The Netherlands9 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a lovely stay. It Made up for some disappointing experiences during our 3 week trip Clean, kind staf, good room, pool okay: what more do you want. We really had a vacation feel! If you are in SD: stay here!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilda Prado, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Responded Oct 26, 2022
Dear Marjon J, WOW! What a pleasant compliment! We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean. I'm delighted to hear we were able to make up for all the other properties you visited during your trip in the states. Our hotel is a modest, family-owned property with many free amenities that you may end up having to pay in more expensive hotels. We make sure that the grounds are lush and well kept, we never charge for parking, internet, breakfast or movies. We tend to rate highly with guests who have done their research, appreciate genuine hospitality, value cleanliness, and want to get the most out of their dollar. Again, thank you for sharing your review with our Trip Advisor community. We hope to serve you again in the near future! Yours in Hospitality, Front Desk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacob M wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
The Lamplighter Inn had a well accommodated room for me to stay in over the weekend as I visited friends. The bed was large and very comfortable and the A/C kept the room nice and cool while I slept. In the morning they had a continental breakfast that was decent and filled me until I was ready for lunch. If you’re looking for a space to stay for a couple of days the Lamplighter Inn should fill your needs.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gilda Prado, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Responded Oct 26, 2022
Dear Martini_Maximus, Thank you for sharing your review with us. Our company culture is to provide quality, affordability and great customer service to our guests. We are glad we did just that for you during your stay with us. Were glad you enjoyed our complementary continental breakfast that is offered daily. It consists of Belgium Waffles, bagels with cream cheese, Steel Cut oatmeal made fresh daily, prewrapped pastries, 3 types of cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, water & juice. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with us! We hope to serve you again in the near future! Yours in Hospitality, Front Desk Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western lamplighter inn and suites at sdsu hotel san diego, best western lamplighter hotel, best western san diego, san diego best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Diego
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAMPLIGHTER INN & SUITES AT SDSU $105 ($̶1̶4̶6̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews - San Diego, CA

Frequently Asked Questions about Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Which popular attractions are close to Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU?
Nearby attractions include San Diego Police Museum (0.5 miles), Effin's Pub & Grill (0.4 miles), and Bridges Bar & Grill (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alforon, Trujillo's Taco Shop, and Woodstock's Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mormon Battalion Historic Site (7.8 miles), Whaley House Museum (7.9 miles), and Gaslamp Museum at the Davis-Horton House (7.0 miles).