We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel

Traveler (350)
360
Panoramas (6)
Video (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#12 of 292 hotels in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
At Hotel Z we’re serving up cozy rooms with contemporary pizzazz plus a side of friendly. But you aren’t visiting America’s finest city to stay indoors, are you? Outside our lobby sunny streets reveal the cosmopolitan culture of the historic Gaslamp Quarter. Feet are all you need to access roof-top restaurants, conventions, ball games and wild animal adventures. Choosing to stay at Hotel Z is easy; the hard part is deciding where you’ll go after check-in.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Trendy
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:Save 25% on 3 nights!
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
283Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
74Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,115Reviews
21Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 766
  • 238
  • 79
  • 18
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I arrived in the late afternoon, very tired and looking forward to getting some rest. Checking in was fine, but having someone valet my car took awhile. I was surprised how cute the room was, but not very spacious. I knew it was going to be small so I went with it. However, when
Read more
Hotel's Favorite
I recently stayed for four nights at the Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel and I was so impressed. I'm huge on customer service and they were amazing ! From check in to check out, everyone I met was warm and helpful. I love the cool touches in the room from Dash the hotel's
Read more
Response from Mathew A, General Manager at Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Responded Apr 15, 2019
Hi Melani J, Thank you so much for this outstanding review! Like a cool home that has Pineapples everywhere, a large, fluffy stuffed animal in the "living room", breakfast you don't have to make for yourself, and super awesome friends around to help you all the time? Yes - we agree :) We genuinely enjoy what we do here so glad you had a good time with all of our quirky selves. It sounds like we found a fellow Pineappler - welcome to the family! Our Staypineapple brand is small and mighty with 10 hotels in 7 cities: Seattle (4), Portland, San Francisco, San Diego, Chicago, Boston, and New York. I'm confident you'll have a very Pineappley experience at our other hotels too! We look forward to seeing you again soon, Melani! Mat Anderson General Manager (619) 544-6801
Read more
+1
My wife joined me in San Diego for a six day work conference. For me, it was five days at the Convention Center. So, perfect location on 6th Ave, which is not 5th Ave, but close enough. Five minute to the Center, seconds to the Gaslamp District, walking distance to just about
Read more
Heavenly sleep. The hotel is a small wonderful find. The room is basic... cheery yellow... but the bed was glorious. The duvet and filling was like sleeping in a cloud. I asked about the bedding and all bedding is available for purchase. The breakfast is delightful... light
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Mathew A, General Manager at Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
No - YOU'RE worth it! We do it all for you and our guests. Thank you so much for the compliments Iteachbrats! Absolutely is available for purchase. Let us know if you end up getting one - would love to see people Pineappling at home too! Glad our breakfast could start your morning off right to get out and explore San Diego. Thank you so much for your endorsement - it means the world to us as an independent hotel. I hope we get to welcome you again soon! Mat Anderson General Manager (619) 544-6801
Read more
Hot water kept going cold, maid didn’t clean at all! No iron in room. Crappy service at the front desk, horrible! I am so disappointed. For all the PR you guys do, you really don’t care about the customer and that is very sad!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Mathew A, General Manager at Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Hello Trek11905369470, I'm so sorry again for the hot water issues you had during your stay! Not having hot water is like not having a bed which is unacceptable. I share your extreme frustration but obviously in very different ways. Thanks to your and other guests' feedback we were able to identify the issue within 48 hours. A hot water mixing valve ended up malfunctioning which we unfortunately had to replace. The repair affected approximately 30% of our hotel rooms. Guests are absolutely always our top priority so as soon as the problem area was able to be identified we acted immediately to order the necessary equipment and schedule the project as soon as possible. You absolutely did not get to experience us at our best. As I write this now, our contracted partner is currently completing the repair so you can trust that by the next time you stay with us this problem will be resolved and you can enjoy a comfortable, steamy shower like all of our others guests. I welcome more feedback and invite you to reach out to me directly so I can attempt to make this right for you. I apologize again and hope to hear from you soon! Mat Anderson General Manager MAnderson@staypineapple.com
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$142 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoEast VillageDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing