We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Iris

Show Prices
#211 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Iris
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Palmdale, Florida
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I enjoyed the jetted bath tub and property was very nice. The people at the front desk were super kind to me. Although they might need more parking spots. But besides that this over all was an amazing hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petermT835DP
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice loved the jacuzzi tub ... will definitely visit again I would recommend it to another couple very affordable. I love the purple accents in each of the rooms. Simple but nice for the price...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank olivia t
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

Dear Olivia, Thank you for taking a moment to provide your wonderful, five star review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and we are grateful for your recommendation. We are glad you appreciated our décor and Jacuzzi tub, all at a great value. Again, thanks for your time and we hope to welcome you...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Truth is we never stayed here. My wife and I booked a room here using Trip advisor and we had the confirmation printed out prior to checking in but when we got to this place a very rude front desk clerk just dismissed our reservations stating that he never received anything from Trip Adivisor and that he is not honoring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay P
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

Hello Jay, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. The Hotel Iris prides itself on customer service and this treatment is not typical. We will be forwarding your constructive feedback to our front desk manager for further review. We sincerely apologize, and would appreciate another opportunity to provide you with the accommodations you deserve in the future. Please consider...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night having found the hotel via another website, not TA where the reviews seemed better. On the surface all seemed OK (I arrived at night) but when I got to my room there was a slightly unpleasant smell so I decided to take a closer look at how clean the room really was. I found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme H
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

We appreciate and welcome all guest feedback as we consider it an opportunity to address the aspects our guests find most important. We are grateful you took a chance on our accommodations. However, we are extremely saddened to know we did not meet your expectations nor our standards. We encourage all guests to notify us of any and all issues...

Naples, Florida
Reviewed December 16, 2016

The Hotel was conveniently located, well equipped, clean and reasonably priced. I stayed there with my family from Germany and we were all very comfortable. Recommended for anyone that wants to by-pass the high priced budget hotels in San Diego.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Disappointedsept
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind thoughts with us! Your recommendation of our property is an honor to receive. We are thrilled you found our accommodations provided you with the comfort, cleanliness and location you were seeking, all at an affordable price. Next time you are visiting San Diego, we hope you keep us in mind!...

Reviewed December 8, 2016

I was so disappointed having to book the hotel through trip advisor. The hotel was already fully booked and for some reason trip advisor "reserved" us a spot at this hotel. When we got there a guy from the front desk he couldn't find our reservation and asked where/what site we used to booked, he said that he never got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivia P
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

Olivia, Thank you for notifying us of this recent incident. We are terribly sorry for the confusion and miscommunication that occurred between our systems. We encourage all travelers to book directly through our website or by reaching out to us, to guarantee availability and the best rate. We regret not having the chance to accommodate you. Hopefully, you will consider...

San Diego, California
Reviewed December 3, 2016

Terrible room. Smelled of cleaner trying to mask cigarette smoke. Pool was freezing and hot tub not working. No safe. No closet. Some cheap chairs on wall to hang stuff which is just a cheap solution for no closet. There were no towels or wash cloths in room. Room didn't even have a secure latch!!! Just a deadbolt to lock...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cameron57clark
GuestRelationsDept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

Cameron, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We aim to use guest comments to continually improve our accommodations, therefore, we are grateful for the opportunity you have given us. We are very sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel, so we apologize...

Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

We came in on a Sunday and left on a Tuesday. It says dog friendly but everyone looked at us as the hotel was pet friendly. It's a revamp of the old Vagabond Inn. Our room was clean. The odd wallowing of a woman staring at you in bed was creepy. Also, there wasn't a dresser for clothes. The other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

Thank you Amanda B for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at the Hotel Iris San Diego-Mission Valley. I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations during your visit with us. We hope you give us another opportunity in the future. If you do just for your reference we do have rooms that do not have...

Los Altos, CA
Reviewed August 22, 2016

The weirdest thing about this hotel is that there are no closets in any of the rooms. Instead most have 2 deck chairs mounted on the wall, and you're supposed to ask at the front desk for hangers to hang your clothes on the rungs of the chairs. I wouldn't have believed it if I hadn't seen it and asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina A
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I apologize for the experience that you encountered it is definitely not what is expected or a normal experience for the property. We do have restaurants in the immediate area, there are dozens with in a less than 5 min drive or a 15-20 min walk. As well as a few in the neighboring hotels...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed August 14, 2016

I needed to stay one night before a conference. What a mistake. This is not a boutique hotel, it is a motel. For over $100, I stayed in a room that smelled terrible. My room opened right into the parking lot, which attracts seedy folks after hours. I am not usually afraid to stay in places by myself, but I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank LINDSAY H
GuestRelationsDept, General Manager at Hotel Iris, responded to this review

Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback, it is valuable feedback like this that helps us evaluate our practices and insure that our customers needs are being met. Through this feedback we are able to further improve the hotel to insure our guests are 100% satisfied. We hope you give us another opportunity. Hospitably yours, Stephanie Downs...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,850 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
The Atwood Hotel
The Atwood Hotel
#162 of 278 in San Diego
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#139 of 278 in San Diego
1,387 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Iris is San Diego's newest hip and modern boutique hotel, located in Mission Valley, the heart of San Diego, and is brought to you by Lifestyle Hotels. Designed for the business or leisure traveler alike, Hotel Iris gives our guest an amazing resort experience, furnished with an outdoor pool and spa, 78 newly renovated rooms and comes equipped with the ultimate customer service experience. Hotel Iris offers advantageous access to the best of San Diego's businesses & attractions, such as the historical Old Town, the world famous San Diego Zoo, and the cultural filled museums of Balboa Park. Hotel Iris is just 6 miles from San Diego's International Airport, Lindbergh Field, and just minutes from the World Renowned Sea World. If you are looking to shop, there is the World's finest shopping mall across the street at Fashion Valley, and if you are a sports lover you will be just minutes from Qualcomm Stadium, home of the San Diego Chargers. Our friendly staff will make you and your families feel at home. Call now, so we can see you soon!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Iris

Address: 625 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Formerly Vagabond Inn San Diego)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Price Range: $74 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Iris 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hotel Circle
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#91 Business Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Iris staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Iris staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Make sure you confirm your reservations over the phone before showing up. They don't honor on-line reservations”
 of 5 bubbles 472jayp, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Great Hotel for night or two”
 of 5 bubbles Disappointedsept, Dec 16, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to call the hotel to confirm your reservation, don't trust sites to hold/reserve your room.”
 of 5 bubbles olif2014, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
“Worse than Best Western, and that's saying something.”
 of 5 bubbles jutta_hansen, Aug 14, 2016 | Read review
“away from pool”
 of 5 bubbles sharonlI6556IA, Jul 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay