We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
625 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108-3404
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$105
View deal
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$105
View deal
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$75
View deal
Hotels.com$105
Travelocity$105
travelup.com$125
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (84)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (153)

About

#160 of 283 hotels in San Diego
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
3.8
Value
4.0
For those looking for a budget hotel that provides luxurious amenities, search no more! Hotel Iris, located in Mission Valley on Hotel Circle in San Diego, is a boutique hotel with an outdoor pool.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
383Reviews11Q+A58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 138
  • 113
  • 67
  • 18
  • 47
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
nesralts wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
I made a reservation through Agoda to stay at Hotel Iris from 4/15 - 4/18/22. On my arrival after a drive of over 400 miles I was greeted by a very friendly woman at the front desk who made the check-in very quick and easy and gave me the key card to room 249. Upon entering the room I noticed that the carpet had not been vacuumed or at least not very well. Then when I went to wash my hands I saw hair stubble in the sink and when I went to dry my hands there were no towels. So naturally I went to call the front desk and there was no phone in the room. I walked down to the office and informed the clerk of the missing towels and said I would go to dinner and she said she would have them delivered to my room after I had said it was fine to enter my room while I was gone. I returned to my room about 2 hours later wanting to take a quick shower and go to sleep but unfortunately still no towels. Back to the front desk only to be told that they didn't have the key to the laundry but that the towels would be delivered in the morning. I then asked when the manager would be in and was told between 9:30 and 10:00 AM. I waited to do anything in the morning until 10:00 and went to the front desk only to be told that the manager wouldn't be in until 11:00. I could not wait so I left.Upon my return in the early evening I went to my room and still no towels. Another trip to the front desk to complain and the very nice man looked on a sheet and said yes he could that each of my complaints had been logged and that he would personally bring the towels to me within 30 minutes. I asked if the manager had been in and he said yes he had filled in for the previous shift but that he didn't usually work weekends. Finally after 22 hours I received the towels. On Monday morning at check out the manager was on duty and when I said I was unhappy with the service he never apologized and when I said I was going to complain on the internet he told me that was certainly my right. He had been on duty on Saturday and certainly had access to the problem/complaint list and had done nothing to help. I know times have been hard in the hospitality field and finding good workers has been difficult. I never raised my voice at any of the people I dealt with but the attitude of the manager really summed up my stay. Besides the towel fiasco and dirty carpet and sink and no phone there was also no trashcan in the room ( the gentleman who finally brought the towels also brought a trashcan). Also the office chair in the room looked like it had been picked up on the side of the road and the sheets were spotted. I travel quite a bit both nationally and internationally and have stayed in unrated hotels and ones with star ratings from 1 to 5 from under $10.00 per night ( in Asia) to several hundred dollars per night and I have never had such a horrible experience and definitely never experienced a manager who didn't care that a customer had received such poor care.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded Jun 25, 2022
Dear Nesralts, While we're glad that there was an attempt to address your concerns, we apologize for the oversight in service you received. Rest assured, we have discussed your experience with our team so we can improve the hospitality we provide, and we hope to deliver a better overall experience in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashlei H wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions
This was good for convenient access to the freeway. Check in was easy and the pool was clean and open. The room was all I needed for 1 or 2 nights for business but the room was not as pictured. Lots of unfinished repairs in the room from wall patches to slash marks in the headboard. Phone to call the office did jot work, TV did not work. Credit card is needed for incidentals on arrival and additional $11.00 /nt resort fee on check out even though it's more of a road side motel. Not worth the total cost.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded Jun 15, 2022
Dear Ashlei, Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience. While you appreciated our ideal location, easy check-in, and clean pool, we're sorry to hear there were issues with your room. Your observations will be shared with our team so repairs can be made for a more comfortable stay going forward. We wish you safe travels ahead.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christina wrote a review Jun 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Warning this roach motel is falsely advertising its premises. The pictures are not what your gonna see. Health hazard my family and i got sick and have skin hives from what we experience at the hotel and will take legal action . Shan the manager disregard’s the seriousness of his business. Plz look at pictures on yelp and expedia before u stay here. I was able to argue by insisting i will call cops just to get a refund he was only willing to refund 50 precent but when asked if he would allow his family or himself to sleep in hazardous conditions he wasn’t able to rebuttal but give a fill refund. The minute u walk into a room it has a bad smell , there was a used unwrapped soap , head boards stain and broken , stain sheets with hair , all appliances are chip broken and old . Pool is nasty and the spa is not working . Baseboards lamp shades cielings covered in spider webs . No one should have to breath and sleep in these conditions. This place needs to be shut down .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Dear Christina, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are so sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience and that our service did not meet your expectations. Your comments allow us the opportunity to do better. We take feedback like yours very seriously, are looking into the issues, and hope to resolve them promptly. Please do not allow this isolated incident to stop you from giving us another chance.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flyer820489 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Iris’ reality is a far cry from its website photos. The room is fairly clean and has some updated elements mixed in with some very worn furnishings. When we walked into our second floor room it was unbelievably hot. We’re from Yuma Arizona, so we know what hot is - this room was well over 90 degrees. The crazy thing i, it was it was only 67 degrees outside, the high was 78, and we checked in after 9pm. The staff had made no attempt to air out the room or cool it off by running the ac. Perhaps that was because the ac unit barely worked. The coils were filthy causing it to ice up. When I reported the problem I was offered a smaller room. It was an oven too and was so close to the interstate that opening a window wouldn’t have been a viable option. Saunas are good for you! That’s what we told ourselves as we sweated through a night more miserable than our desert home has ever served up. If you want a good night’s sleep at a fair price, go somewhere else. This place is terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded May 17, 2022
All constructive comments are helpful, and we value your input. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion. We always strive to provide our guests with a comfortable atmosphere, and we are sorry to hear about the temperature in the rooms that you were in. Our maintenance team will be notified about your concerns with the A/C units, and we will take all necessary corrective action. Thank you, and we wish you happier travels ahead.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris S wrote a review Mar 2022
10 contributions
+1
I had high hopes for this motel. Unfortunately, super disappointed. I should have checked the Yelp reviews first, but instead I referred to Trip Advisor for reviews. I will also leave this same review on the Trip Advisor site cause people need to know. First the pros. It was relatively quiet. No vagrants living near by, parking was easy, there's a super expensive liquor store close by and I guess the frig ice box in the room was frosty enough. That's about it. Now the cons. Mediocre or non existent front desk or customer service skills. Older balding guy at the front desk might as well have been a mannequin, a very snarky mannequin. No warmth. He never acknowledged my request for a non carpeted room. The room spelled musty soon as we walked in. Carpet was crazy dirty and stained. Hair all in the shower. Damaged furniture. Cell reception is weak there for some reason so you're forced to use their Wifi. Front window screen bent as if someone tried to break into the room. They only supplied two dingy medium bath towels, for two people, for 3 days. and a nasty bath mat. No hand towels. Front desk mannequin guy said we have to call everyday to request towels, I suppose with the coil 80s phone in the room that didn't work. I just ended up going to Target and buying new towels to use. Stains on bedding. Television screen was malfunctioning most the stay. Paper packets of shampoo and dirt in the only two drawers we had available. Water pressure in shower was literally a dribble. Very awkward to shower. Front desk disappears after midnight. So don't expect any service after hours. Checking out, the front desk woman was doing her make up at the same time. Do yourself a favor and spend your hard earned money elsewhere. You don't want to stay here. Motel 6 is much better. If that's worth anything. This establishment is only smoke and mirrors. Dirty ones. They only are concerned with locking in your CC number. Don't trust their online photos. I will never return here. You're automated cold reply to everyone with concerns says it all. I'm calling the Better Business Bureau.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded Mar 19, 2022
Dear Chris, The issues you raise are important to us. While we're glad our quiet, safe accommodations added to your experience, we apologize for any concerns about the condition of the room and for any disappointment with the service you received. Feedback like yours helps us improve, and we'll look into your comments further. Should you be in the area again, we'd be grateful for the chance to provide you with more suitable accommodations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raymond W. wrote a review Jan 2022
San Diego, California1 contribution
Room was overrun with roaches. We have video. No apologies & nothing done to rectify the problem. Could’nt ge a refund and never even heard from management even though we were promised a call. Went through Groupon and they did nothing either
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not book with this hotel or trust any hotel deals on Groupon the will not help you if anything...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded Jan 7, 2022
We appreciate your efforts to ensure we're aware of the situation. Our facilities undergo extensive routine maintenance for unwanted guests, and we'll be informing our pest control specialist of your feedback to ensure any issue is quickly resolved. Please accept our apologies for any indifference you felt our team had. We assure you that this was not the case. Guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, as they will help us continue to raise the bar. Should you still wish to talk with a member of our management team, we kindly ask that you reach back out.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Corporate Reviews wrote a review Nov 2021
Connell, Washington66 contributions35 helpful votes
I stayed here because of the super low price with all the amenities. I really enjoyed the pool during the days and the hot tub in the evenings. Very professional staff; anything you needed was taken care of within the hour; outstanding! The Manager, Mrs. Collier, was always knowledgeable about local attractions and best food to try. Plus the free on site Level 2 EV charger made exploring the city so much easier.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Ask for the jetted tub!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded Nov 22, 2021
It was a pleasure hosting you at Hotel Iris! We're thrilled our friendly staff, and many amenities impressed you and that you appreciated our affordable rates. If you're in the area again, please come back to see us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CraigKJ wrote a review Nov 2021
Bakersfield, California40 contributions10 helpful votes
Hotel Iris is an older hotel, and you get what you pay for. I booked it for 5 nights for a family visit. The value is very good for the location. Everything went well until the 2nd night, when the hotel's wi-fi went out. I called the front desk and they said they were working on it. The next day the wi-fi was still out. I talked with a manager and he said they had contacted Cox Cable twice. I actually met the cable guy at the front desk and he said they had to call another cable repairman. The wi-fi was still out for another night -- so I cancelled my last 2 nights and moved to another (more expensive) hotel in Mission Valley. It took a few phone calls to get a refund for the final two nights, because I had made the booking through Booking.com. I had to call them first, and then call the hotel. I finally got the refund to my credit card about two weeks later -- it took a while, but the hotel gave me no argument. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Hotel Iris again, as long as they keep their wi-fi working! Minor downsides: At the time of my visit, the vending machines weren't working. Also, the single ice machine is located inside the gated pool area, so I had to ask for help to open the gate after hours.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I visited a friend in another room. It had a huge portrait of a mysterious woman painted on a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded Nov 15, 2021
Dear Craig, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Iris! We're delighted that you considered your visit to have been a great overall value. Your feedback will enable us to address the issues you mentioned. That being said, it's great to hear that our team offered friendly assistance. We appreciate your thoughtful praise and look forward to your return!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patricia B wrote a review Sep 2021
Phoenix, Arizona116 contributions63 helpful votes
Please do not stay here. Bed sheets were bloody dirty and had fleas or bedbugs. Got bit by them. Shower was pitiful as water barely came out. TV did not work had to call to come fix. I was not given a refund for the one night we stayed there as they claim we spent the night. Well, getting bit from 11 - 3:30 AM plus filthy bed does not mean it was an enjoyable night. I did not get my moneys worth that is for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded Sep 20, 2021
Dear Patricia, All comments are welcome, and we value your constructive input. We are very sorry to hear about your experience with the bed and the room in general. This is certainly not the type of experience that we strive to provide. Our housekeeping and maintenance team will be notified. All requests for refunds will need to be handled directly with our team. Thank you, and we wish you all the best in your future travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sanjz wrote a review Sep 2021
Florence, Arizona1 contribution
So many negative comments to see here but ours was a very pleasant stay. Rooms clean, bathroom clean, budget friendly hotel. The housekeeping lady was awesome. The gentleman and the lady who were working at the front desk were very nice and helpful. Thank you hotel Iris
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded Sep 8, 2021
It brightens our day to know you had a phenomenal stay with us at Hotel Iris! We're honored to read your praises as our team strives to deliver clean accommodations and exceptional guest service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$111 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vagabond hotel san diego, san diego hotel circle
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoMission Valley / Hotel Circle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Iris
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Iris?
Nearby attractions include Fashion Valley (0.6 miles), Cinema Under the Stars (0.7 miles), and The Lamplighter (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Iris?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Iris?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Hotel Iris?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Iris?
Conveniently located restaurants include True Food Kitchen, The Waffle Spot, and The Cheesecake Factory.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Iris?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Iris?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Iris?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Iris?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mormon Battalion Historic Site (1.5 miles), Whaley House Museum (1.6 miles), and Gaslamp Museum at the Davis-Horton House (3.5 miles).