We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Iris

Save
Share
625 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108-3404
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (53)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (152)

About

#189 of 293 hotels in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
For those looking for a budget hotel that provides luxurious amenities, search no more! Hotel Iris, located in Mission Valley on Hotel Circle in San Diego, is a boutique hotel with an outdoor pool.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Snack bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
367Reviews11Q+A52Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 136
  • 112
  • 67
  • 17
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Marissa J wrote a review Today
1 contribution
Says the rooms all have Microwaves and hair dryers not my room and they had no remote and never could get the tv to work. There were Lsk cockroaches inside my room which was just gross. The tub was caving in a f moved around when you walk around to shower making it feel like your balance is off and your on a boat. And the water didn't even get that hot only warm. Just all together bummed out won't ever stay hereaainmuch better options for a much better price
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Melanie E wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
This was the dirtiest hotel room I have ever stayed in !!! The bathroom had what looked to be snot next the sink . and the bathroom stall had so much mold , it was alive ! I was gonna ask for a discount because of the extra guest named mold . and $179.00, for a room that I would not walk around with out my shoes on... I went pee once the entire time I was there because the bathroom was so off putting . I was so excited to have a room with a hot tub.... But eeww! That was so nasty! Do not go there don't waste your money!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hotel Iris
Responded Oct 16, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. Had we known that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room, our team would have been happy to assist in finding a solution. In the future, please do not hesitate to let us know of issues as they arise. Rest assured, our team has given some extra attention to your room. We hope to deliver the quality accommodations you expect the next time your travels point you to town.
Read more
Nancy wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions
My stay at Hotel Iris was one of the most horrific hotel experiences of my life. The hotel was advertised as a “charming boutique hotel”, but it was quite the opposite. Upon walking into our room, a strong odor of musty cigarettes overwhelmed our noses. There were multiple stains on every sheet and pillow cover on both queen beds. One of the pillows had several long black hairs. Our bathroom had no towels. I called the front desk and upon receiving “fresh” sheets, I noticed those had stains all over as well. The bathroom towels we received were also stained and had a tag with the Holiday Inn logo?!?! There were earring backings on the nightstand, assuming from the previous guest. There was also a giant ball of hair with several nail clippings (human) all around it. The room was absolutely DISGUSTING and we were afraid to touch anything. This room should have been thoroughly cleaned due to COVID-19 but we could even see dust particles on the nightstand which was a clear indicator it had not been wiped down before our arrival. The worst part of all throughout our stay was a safety issue. We noticed the hotel was being used for blatant prostitution. There were prostitutes in and around the hotel and we felt very unsafe the whole time. We had a family member who was a minor who had to witness this criminal activity happening. I really wish I would have checked the reviews before booking our stay. After checking in, we felt obligated to stay and did not feel like they would refund us since we booked it through a third party. I have emailed the property manager and have not heard back in 3 days. STEER CLEAR OF THIS “HOTEL”.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Hotel Iris
Responded Jul 27, 2020
Dear Nancy, We're distressed to hear about your experience. Please accept our apologies for any concerns about cleanliness and safety. We do have nightly security, and we'll speak with our housekeeping staff about your comments. Thank you for the opportunity to improve. Best wishes for your future travels.
Read more
Christina wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution
There are plenty of chain hotels in the near by area, I suggest you stay in one of those other options. Cheap "rent by the hour or month" motel style building and sub-par pool/ jacuzzi area. My original room was not cleaned upon arriving, the front desk was polite about it and moved us to another room, but this one still had the same old building/previously smoked-in smell. They are unclear with their rates through third parties and "additional charges" pop up when you check in. Although they agreed to waiver these, the charge still showed up on my credit statement the next month. When I called back to ask about it the "manager" "FB" was not only telling me this wasn't her problem but a problem she wasn't made aware of there for could not help me with and that I would have to call to complain to the third party I booked with. That's not how banks work, the charge came from their hotel directly, therefor that's who you call to clear up an unauthorized charge.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: motel style rooms, don't bother.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded Apr 21, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our team is generally commended for their high standards of cleanliness, so we're surprised to read your comments. Rest assured, we have spoken to our team to ensure we are consistently meeting our goals. Regarding the billing concerns you noted, please know that our USD 7.90 per accommodation per night resort fee and our USD 100 safety deposit are noted on our third-party webpages so that our guests are not caught off guard. Please accept our apologies if you felt this could have been communicated more effectively. Although we wish that you weren't experiencing any frustration post-check-out, we are sorry that we cannot do more. When a reservation is made through a third-party site, they control this aspect of billing. Of course, if there is any way that we can help, we would be happy to do so. We appreciate having had the opportunity to host you and we wish you all the best going forward.
Read more
Gertje P wrote a review Jan 2020
25 contributions5 helpful votes
Since the hotel is surrounded by other, pricier hotels, I didn't expect anything luxurious, and that was exactly what we got: a clean room, friendly and helpful staff, but nothing fancy. We stayed in January, and were a bit cold, since the heating was too loud to sleep with it on. We asked for extra blankets, which we got immediately. We brought a small dog, which meant we had to pay a $20 pet charge per night, but wasn't an issue otherwise.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Dear Gertje, It was a pleasure to host you during your recent visit. We're glad the exceptional service from our staff and our clean accommodations were highlights of your stay. Though you enjoyed your time with us, we're sorry for any inconvenience caused by the noise from the heater. We'll look into the unit to ensure it is functioning properly. Our team hopes you had a phenomenal time exploring San Diego. Please choose to stay with us the next time you're in town.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$91 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vagabond hotel san diego, san diego hotel circle
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoMission Valley / Hotel Circle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Iris
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Iris?
Nearby attractions include Fashion Valley (0.6 miles), Cinema Under the Stars (0.7 miles), and The Lamplighter (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Iris?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Iris?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Iris?
Guests can enjoy a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Iris?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Iris?
Conveniently located restaurants include True Food Kitchen, The Waffle Spot, and The Cheesecake Factory.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Iris?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Iris?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Iris?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Iris?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mormon Battalion Historic Site (1.5 miles), Whaley House Museum (1.6 miles), and Gaslamp Museum at the Davis-Horton House (3.5 miles).