We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Iris

Traveler (50)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (167)

About

#192 of 292 hotels in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
For those looking for a budget hotel that provides luxurious amenities, search no more! Hotel Iris, located in Mission Valley on Hotel Circle in San Diego, is a boutique hotel with an outdoor pool.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Outdoor pool
Snack bar
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Fence around pool
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
On-demand movies
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
48Car recommended
Grade: 48 out of 100
72Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
5Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
321Reviews
10Q+A
43Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 122
  • 94
  • 59
  • 15
  • 31
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My friends and i were in town for the San Diego Pride festivities and this was perfect for our needs at the price paid. It is in a good location in relation to Hillcrest and other points of interest. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, service was good as needed and pool / hot tub were a nice bonus. The rooms are adequate but not fancy, but met our expectations for what we needed which was a place to change, relax, and sleep while in SD.
Read more
Great attention service from the manager, the property was clean, the rooms where clean and tidy, all the amenities great as well! We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Iris, the location is fantastic, everything is close by, and we really enjoyed the recommendations from the manager to have breakfast at Crust, a nearby breakfast and brunch place.
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent stay and for your kind review. We are thrilled that our gracious staff made you feel comfortable and welcome and that you enjoyed your room. We are also pleased that our location was convenient as you explored the area. Our staff always likes to provide recommendations for local hot spots whenever possible and are happy that you liked our manager's recommendation so much. We hope that you will come to visit us again the next time that you are in the area.
Read more
Very clean and relaxing, beds were very comfortable, easy access from I-8, receptionist was very helpful, will stay there again if need to very quiet atmosphere, I would recommend this place to every one
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your kind feedback on your recent visit with us! Clean, comfortable, and quiet are wonderful adjectives to receive as comments, and we are happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations in these ways. It was a pleasure serving you, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
The Iris was the best price hotel for the area we wanted to be close to. Sleep quality isn't the best. It's right beside I8 and road noise is noticeable. The A/C is also loud. It was a good thing we didn't need the A/C badly. There is also some building construction ongoing on the west side of the hotel, and they start early. Before 7am. And It's probably going to wake you up. There also seems to be a drastic shortage of towels at the Iris. Don't count on getting extra towels if you run short.
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Steve, Your insightful feedback about your recent stay is much appreciated. Please accept our apologies for the unexpected noise level you encountered during your stay. We understand the value of a good night's rest, and we'll do what we can to provide better comfort for future guests. During your next trip to the area, we'd be honored to have another chance to show you the stay you expected.
Read more
I checked in late last Friday and found the hotel to be very much below expectations. I chose this based on TripAdvisor reviews but if you head over to Yelp, their reviews are very much in line with what we experienced. When I arrived to check in, the lobby was locked and I had to wait at least 5 minutes for the night manager to arrive. In the room the carpet not only had stains, but it didn't look vacuumed. The table was either dirty and/or it had water rings on it. The bench had crumbs on it. One of the beds had 4 long hairs on it and there was at least one hair underneath the covers. When I went down to the lobby to complain, I once again had to wait at least another 5 minutes for the manager to arrive. When he did, I had to wait behind the "cash" customer. Nothing against paying cash but typically not something you want to see at the hotel you are staying at. Also many sketchy people hanging around this hotel. Could have just been a bad night. I told the manager I wanted to move hotels and wanted my money back. After some discussion, he offered to refund all but $100 of the $308 charge for two nights. We moved to the hotel next door for about the same price but so much nicer...Holiday Inn Express. The next morning, as we left for an event at 8:30a, there were at least 6 police cars at Hotel Iris. The police had a presence at the hotel for at least 5 hours. I requested for a full refund with their corporate office but have not got a reply. I'd like to say the night manager was pleasant and understanding. I believe his name was Carlos. My advice: Don't trust the photos on the site, it makes the hotel look much nicer than it is.
Read more
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Iris
Responded 4 weeks ago
It's disappointing to hear that you decided to cut your stay with us short and that our attempts to make amends did not match your expectations. We strive to offer clean, comfortable rooms for all of our guests, and we have shared your feedback with our housekeeping department so that they can look into the concerns you have noted. Guest and employee safety is of the utmost importance to us, and we apologize if you ever felt this wasn't the case. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with our team. We wish you all the best in your future travels.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$85 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vagabond hotel san diego, san diego hotel circle
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoMission Valley / Hotel Circle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
79
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing