The Westgate Hotel

The Westgate Hotel

Traveler (819)
Executive Suite Bedroom
Room & Suite (494)
The Westgate Hotel
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, May 24
Get rewarded with One Key
$239
Fully refundable before Fri, May 24
Get rewarded with One Key
$239
$191
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 261 hotels in San Diego
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
An invitation to the Westgate is an invitation to indulge. Set in the Gaslamp Quarter, The Westgate Hotel offers 222 spacious luxury guest rooms with panoramic views and a distinctively European ambiance accompanied by heartfelt hospitality. As an urban resort, the Westgate offers guests access to AquaVie Fitness + Wellness Club, featuring 40K square feet of cardio, exercise, and strength equipment; a full-service spa; saunas and steam rooms; rooftop running track, and a heated rooftop pool with food and beverage service. On-site dining transports guests to another time where dining out feels like coming home. From the award-winning Westgate Room and Veranda to the intimate, vintage feel of Plaza Bar and the time-honored elegance of Afternoon Tea. Easily accessible by freeway, train, and trolley, The Westgate Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the San Diego airport and within easy walking distance of The San Diego Opera and Symphony, The Civic Theatre, and the historic Gaslamp Quarter.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Patio
Children's television networks
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Highchairs available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Light therapy
Massage
Neck massage
Salon
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Filipino and 1 more

Location

1055 Second Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
San Diego Intl Airport
Rodriguez Airport
16.5 mi
See all flights
Santa Fe Depot
9 min
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,669 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Westgate Hotel enjoys acclaim for its spacious, well-appointed rooms, though a few guests note noise and dated aspects. Its cleanliness is a highlight, with the property often described as impeccable. While some regard the hotel as good value, others question the cost of certain amenities. Its prime location garners consistent praise, as does its charming, historical atmosphere, complete with elegant live music. Amenities like the luxury pool and unique afternoon tea experience are popular among guests. Service is generally commended for being attentive, despite occasional lapses.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Elegant
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Top-notch

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,669Review30Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,085
  • 377
  • 115
  • 53
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jeff M wrote a review Sep 2023
10 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at nice hotels all over the world and the Westgate is one of the most charming. Feels like going back to a time of elegance. But what I loved the most was the fitness center. The best of any hotel I’ve ever seen. Lap pool, walking track, and truly incredible weight room. Five star plus.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Annie Fitzgerald, General Manager at The Westgate Hotel
Responded Sep 19, 2023
Dear A5018YYjeffm, Thank you for your 5-star review of The Westgate Hotel! I am pleased to read that you loved our urban resort and all the amenities we have to offer, especially AquaVie Fitness + Wellness Club. Should your travels bring you back to San Diego, we would be honored to welcome you back to The Westgate Hotel. Warm Regards, Annie Fitzgerald, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scottydc77 wrote a review Feb 2020
Fairhaven, Massachusetts29 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When you first get there I felt like I had traveled back in time to the age of the Titanic. We were met by a very helpful valet host who held the door open for us and offered to assist with our luggage. Check in was fast and pretty smooth, Daniel was quick and friendly. They give you an old school (with a modern chip) metal key. Was cool but if you dont have a key ring/chain was tricky keeping tabs of. The rooms were very nice. The bathroom is grande that's for sure with gold plated metal hardware, a large vanity and nice complimentary array of personal hygiene care. I was on the 16th floor. Great view of the city. The room had a Keurig (never used it) a small fridge and a safe which you use a personal credit card to lock and unlock. The desk was very nice and there were 2 large seats. The gym facilities were amazing to use. The pool deck was also spectacular with a 1/10 mile rubber track, a crossfit area and spin class area. The classes cost $10 for guest but are worth up. I was there for a week long conference. The hotel staff were always very friendly and quick to open a door for you. The entire hotel is beautiful. The front desk members including Daniel were helpful in giving suggestions for places to eat and directions. The hotel bar and restaurant are pretty spectacular. Only visited it once on Thursday the 13th. The bartender could have been a little friendlier for me and my friends who had a couple of cocktailmls a piece. The only drawback and this isn't anything on the hotel are the public electric street cars. From 4:30 am until 1 to 2 am they horn signal is louder then anything even 16 stories high making it difficult to sleep if you are a light sleeper such as myself. Besides that if were to visit San Diego again I would seriously consider staying at the Westgate again as well as suggesting it to others. And on my last day I had the assistance from the concierge woman in checking out. She informd me she had been there for a long time and it showed. Her knowledge of the hotel and its culture were excellent. She took a lot of pride in the hotel and was very friendly. Thank you for the accommodations.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guide55680724876, Front Office Manager at The Westgate Hotel
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Dear scottydc77, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property. Thank you also for the compliment on the staff, our best asset. We hope to have the pleasure to have back soon. Warm Regards, Beatriz Krause - Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
GoIrish2000 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can't remember the last time I was treated so well as a guest. From the moment Beatriz checked us in to when Rob generously gave us a later check out, any request we had was dealt with immediately and professionally.

For starters, our room (spacious, spotless) was located on the same side as a trolley stop - meaning, we could clearly hear the horn every time it (frequently) ran through. Guests who aren't as sensitive to noise would likely get accustomed to it. Unfortunately, that is not me. Beatriz arranged for a room change early the next morning (the trolley stops running at 11:40 p.m.) to the other side of the building. (The hotel was full that night and since we were up past midnight, the noise didn't keep us awake).

When we got to the second room, it was unusually hot and the cooling system didn't seem to be working. Another call to the front desk in which I dubbed myself "Your most annoying weekend guest." Rob assured me I was fine and sent up a maintenance engineer right away. Turns out the ceiling vents had been practically closed "probably from a cleaning mop" and the problem was solved with several apologies from the engineer.

We indulged in room service which came quickly and cheerfully. The gym has everything you'd want (both indoor and outdoor), the hot tub was awesome at night. I provide these details to show we did interact with different hotel personnel and they were all just amazing.

I will definitely seek out this hotel on future visits to San Diego!

PS: I did learn that the hotel was in the process of replacing its windows for better sound management until Covid hit. If you don't plan on spending much time in the room and you are ok with noise, you should be fine. Otherwise, until the windows are replaced, request a room on the other side. You won't regret it!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Annie Fitzgerald, Other at The Westgate Hotel
Responded Nov 16, 2021
Dear GoIrish2000, It was such a pleasure to read your positive review of your recent visit at The Westgate Hotel! It was certainly a delight to read that our property has met your needs and standards, and even exceeded your expectations. We are also delighted to hear that our team members, Rob and Beatriz provided exemplary service. We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future! Until then, we remain at your service. Warm Regards, Annie Fitzgerald, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandy wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful historic building with impressive decor. Staff who we spoke with were professional and courteous. Room was nicely decorated and we were accommodated with bag storage (because we were unable to carry heavy backpacks around all day until the 4PM check in time). We were given a room a few hours earlier which we appreciated, but it was unfortunately right above the infamous trolley - and it honks just as much as everyone says. Along with a next-door guest playing loud music late into the night for the benefit of her friends, we did not get much sleep at all despite having earplugs. We did attempt to call the front desk about the music but the room phone didn’t work for us. We had a 6:15AM flight and an Uber at that time to the airport cost about $22. We had expected an airport shuttle based on the booking site we used, but were told on check in there is no shuttle. We also thought from this booking site that we had paid in full, but we were charged an additional $20 resort fee on check in. So it might be worthwhile to call the hotel prior to booking to get the correct price of your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beatriz Krause, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westgate Hotel
Responded May 8, 2021
Dear R1945JMsandras, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are glad to hear you found our staff professional and courteous. We are sorry to hear you did not receive accurate information about shuttle and resort fees upon your booking, and for the inconvenience of noise from other rooms and trolley. We hope you can return in a future visit to San Diego. Please contact us directly as it will be our pleasure to pre assign a room for you on a quieter side of the building. Best Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TaraHexplorer wrote a review Jul 2021
Chicago, Illinois74 contributions33 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were really excited to stay here. Check in was super smooth and every person who worked at the hotel were super nice.

We stayed in a deluxe king, and each room is connected to another room through a corridor. This made it so you could hear so much that's going on in the room next to you.

Our room was super dirty. A lot very distinct stains on the carpet. We also had hairs that weren't ours in the shower, stains on the sheets, and the counters weren't wiped down. We ask for the room to be touched up the next day and we just got new sheets and towels. But the new towel still had a stain on the front. We had random hairs in the bathroom remaining as well.

We stayed 3 nights/4 days. On Friday night housekeeping was cleaning the room attached to ours at like 11:30pm and was being so loud I had to ask them to keep it down so we could sleep. On Saturday night there was a family with two kids that were screaming and we could hear their entire conversations. On Monday AM we were woken up by that trolley at 5am and couldn't go back to sleep. Bed wasn't horrible, but not super comfortable. Pillows were a little flat.

Water pressure in the shower was great and we loved the touches in the bathroom.

We ordered room service breakfast once and it was not good. Food was cold and not tasty or worth the value. We also had to ask again for an ice bucket. So disappointing.

The hotel is in between a few different areas and was walkable for us.

If we go back to San Diego, we probably won't stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beatriz Krause, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westgate Hotel
Responded Aug 9, 2021
Dear TaraHexplorer, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We take your feedback seriously and the condition of the room you were checked in to and your breakfast service were certainly not up to the level of service we strive to achieve with every guest. I’ve shared your review with my staff, particularly our Housekeeping Department and Food & Beverage, to ensure we can learn from and improve from it. We would love for you to come back so we can apologize in person and restore your faith in The Westgate Hotel. If you do decide to stay with us again, please contact me at so that I may personally assist you. Until then, I remain at your service. Warm regards, Beatriz Krause, Guest Services / Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thesharpie wrote a review Aug 2022
Wokingham, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at the Westgate for more years than I care to remember. The guests at the weekend tend to be loud, obnoxious and like to party. They cater for weddings mainly but mix the guests up throughout the hotel so that the maximum disturbance to all other guest is achieved. The hotel is tired and the sound proofing is abysmal. This year, after booking a suite so that we hopefully had a quieter time, have endured flooding from the room above at 10:30pm (due to a bath being left on), I know this is not the hotels fault nor a noise disturbance but a later into the night nuisance none the less. The pool area was also being cleaned while guest tried to enjoy a swim or hot tub for a day and a half, which meant closure for a large portion of that time to the sunbeds. However, it was still pretty dirty the day after, so not too sure what they were actually doing. Then we had the joy of staying over a weekend where there is a less thank pleasant guest list attending a wedding (20th August). We moved rooms from a nice suite to a regular room at 10:45pm at night (with no help from the hotel with bags etc) due to a kindergarten next door. Only to be woken at 2:30am in the new not so nice room by some idiot with a booming voice singing happy birthday and talking nonsense for what seemed like an hour. You sir were not Harry Connick Jr, your voice was grating and your singing was really bad. Having to complain yet again to the hotel staff and asking them to kindly request some quiet and respect to other guests. We sadly will not be returning and if you’re looking to book a nice night or weekend away and would like some R&R, I would suggest looking at other establishments as the staff here couldn’t care less about your stay. Our wedding anniversary has been pretty much ruined and the half baked apologies don’t really cut it. Westgate, book out floors for the wedding party so they only disturb each other and stick them on lower floors too so that they don’t stomp around during the early hours, disturbing guest below.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the weekends like the plague, unless you like rude wedding guest with loud voices and lead...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Beatriz Krause, Guest Services / Front Office at The Westgate Hotel
Responded Aug 30, 2022
Dear thesharpie, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Westgate Hotel, and please know that we very much appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback so we can improve upon our shortcomings. I am very sorry to hear that you had multiple unpleasant experiences during your stay. Our staff takes pride in making sure we always deliver exceptional service to all of guests, despite the presence of elements which are out of our control. I am truly sorry we have failed to meet your expectations despite the multiple attempts and efforts from our team members to recover and to meet your needs during your stay, myself included when we spoke personally and offered additional resolution. Please contact me personally at bkrause@westgatehotel.com so that I may further assist you. I look forward to hearing from you and hope to have the opportunity to resolve your concerns. Warm Regards, Beatriz Krause, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah K wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The front desk staff is very nice (Sarah is great!), but there are no amenities that you would normally expect at a hotel such as a hair dryer, continental breakfast, or microwave. In addition, house keeping moved all of my stuff and put it into other peoples suitcases in my room so we can't find any of our stuff. We also gained a shirt that none of us own. We won't be able to get any house keeping for the rest of the week because we don’t want our stuff moved around into random suitcases and we don’t want other guests stuff in our room. For the price, it is underwhelming and you could get better amenities from other hotels in downtown. I also don’t like that the train is right under my room, the train runs all night and it’s pretty loud, they should invest in better walls. Only gave it two stars because Sarah at the front desk is great
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Annie Fitzgerald, Other at The Westgate Hotel
Responded Mar 31, 2022
Dear sarahkK727VT, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback during your stay. As you know, we took your feedback seriously and we did our very best to make up for our shortcomings while you were still on property. It is unfortunate to hear that despite our best efforts to apologize and address your concerns and further personalize your experience, it seems that we failed to meet your expectations. I’ve shared your review with my staff to ensure we can learn and improve from it. We would love for you to come back and restore your faith in The Westgate Hotel. Until then, we remain at your service. Warm Regards, Annie Fitzgerald, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Snow T wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my first visit back to San Diego since 2019, I was supposed to be in San Diego for one of my conference back in April 2020 but it got cancel due to Covid.
This was my first time staying at the Westgate Hotel and I love it. The room was very charming and comfortable, the service was great and check-in was flawless. The lobby was charming, while I was there, there were two wedding happening during my stay and it was exciting. Every night, during happy hours, they usually have live music and it was amazing to me.

The first night after I check-in, I had a little bit of problem with my shower so I called downstairs and Rob Montgonery, who was working at the front desk that night, called the engineering to come up and fix it right away, After the engineering finished, Rob even call my room to make sure everything was taking care off, it was late that night so I didn't want to the store to get water, Rob gave me several bottles of water to get by until I have the time to go get more.

I was very impress with the services here, From the front desk to the engineering to house keeping, they all amazing, oh, and I forgot to mention Michael, the bellman who helped me with my luggage as well. He gave me some good tips regarding where to buy cheaper water and grocery which help me save some money.
I will definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Annie Fitzgerald, Other at The Westgate Hotel
Responded Sep 9, 2021
Dear snowt763, It was such a pleasure to read your positive review of your recent visit at The Westgate Hotel! It was certainly a delight to read that our property has met your needs and standards, as well as exceeded your expectations. We’re pleased to read that our staff, particularly Robert and Michael provided exemplary service. We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future! Until then, we remain at your service. Warm regards, Annie Fitzgerald, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian N wrote a review Aug 2022
Houston, Texas208 contributions117 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located downtown and close to all major tourist attractions and within 10 min drive of most of the “top rated” spots to grab a meal. Would highly recommend Cowboy Star Steakhouse and if you have kids, Corvette Diner is a blast for the kiddos

Did the normal tourist itinerary like the Zoo, Coronado Bridge, seaport village, Belmont Park, Little Italy and the hotel was close to everything. There is some homeless presence in the streets close to the hotel but directly around the hotel felt safe and secure.

The hotel was built in the 1970s I believe and definitely gives off that vibe in good and bad ways. Decor is definitely from another era and for the most part it is worked but I would recommend changing out the carpet in the hallways and rooms as they are worn and tired looking in some areas and give the hotel that “old hotel” smell on occasion. The furniture could use a rehab as well.

But everything was clean for the most part and service was generally solid except for room service forgetting to service our room during one day of our stay. After a call to the front desk somsone was sent up shortly to make up the beds and empty the trash but it’s disappointing coming back to your room after a long day and trash bins are still full and dirty towels still left on the ground and beds unmade.

If you are looking for a hotel centrally located to good restaurants and tourist spots and you don’t need alot of space for a big family then this is great choice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Annie Fitzgerald, Other at The Westgate Hotel
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Dear briannC6991FY, Thank you for being our guest and for taking your time to provide your valuable and honest review. We take your feedback seriously and I sincerely apologize for failing to deliver on a promise of exemplary service. Your comments have been shared with our team so that we may improve on it. I am however, pleased to hear that despite our shortcomings during your visit, we were still able to provide a pleasant experience. I encourage you to contact our Guest Experience Manager, Beatriz Krause at 619.238.1818 to further discuss your experience. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westgate Hotel. Warm Regards, Annie Fitzgerald, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vic wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location was great. We had just watched a play at the SD Civic Theatre right next door and it was central to many attractions you may want to visit. The main lounge is beautiful and and impressive upon checking in. However, there are some displeasures to our experience:

First, there is mandatory valet parking for $40. The hotel is already pricey and I don't think that it fair to add on this fee without any other option.

I paid for a room with a city and bay view. I ended up facing a building not being able to see the water and just one street from the city. Not what I was expecting after seeing the pictures online.

I also paid for this room with a "deal" that was not applied, and when I checked online the day of, the room was a lot cheaper then what I booked it for.

I booked here for a Christmas/Birthday celebration with my husband and we were not pleased with the experience. The rooms fit the renaissance french decor, but tit was not as clean or as functional as we would have liked. I think they could have added some modern touches to make the stay a little more comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angel Manuel d asked a question Jul 2022
Pembroke Pines, Florida
do you provide transportation to the cruise terminal?
Answer from Nayely T
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I didn’t notice any hotel transportation during my stay, I’m sure you can get a taxi or an Uber.
Droichead1 asked a question Dec 2021
15 contributions14 helpful votes
Is the swimming pool open at Christmas time? Is it heated?
Answer from Sean P
San Diego, California2 contributions7 helpful votes
Yes and yes. Enjoy
Venus S asked a question Nov 2018
Hillsboro, Oregon201 contributions19 helpful votes
Does the hotel provide in-room dinning on Christmas morning?
Answer from Joseph S
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania114 contributions40 helpful votes
Yes
Answer from Beatriz Krause
San Diego, California
I believe this question should be directed to Trip Advisor actually, and not the Hotel. Thank you,
Feona123 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Minneapolis, Minnesota52 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"High floors have great city views"
Read full review
Todd C wrote a tip Mar 2024
Santa Clarita, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's a nice pool and spa and work out equipment if that's something you need a nice track. Fountains. Concierge service at the pool area to take your orders. Room service. The staff takes real good care of you when you need them!"
Read full review
Bessca wrote a tip Mar 2024
San Diego, California515 contributions205 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book on website to avoid resort fee, ask for quiet room"
Read full review
Jason C wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to Kiko’s Tacos"
Read full review
Gary K wrote a tip Jan 2024
Port Washington, New York3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A lot of homeless people in the area but none on the block with the hotel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Diego area.
PRICE RANGE
$252 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westgate san diego, westgate hotel san diego
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Diego
NUMBER OF ROOMS
222
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WESTGATE HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Westgate Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Westgate Hotel?
Nearby attractions include San Diego Symphony (0.3 miles), San Diego Nightlife Tours (0.2 miles), and San Diego Civic Theatre (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westgate Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Westgate Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Westgate Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westgate Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westgate Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Donut Bar, Karl Strauss Brewery & Restaurant, and Grant Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westgate Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Westgate Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of San Diego.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westgate Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Westgate Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Westgate Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, and Filipino.
All San Diego HotelsSan Diego Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San DiegoHotels near The Westgate Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars