Horton Grand Hotel
Traveler (746)
Panorama at The Horton Grand Hotel
360
Panoramas (18)
The room
Room & Suite (399)

View prices for your travel dates

$625
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 2 left at
$688
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 2 left at
$688
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#94 of 261 hotels in San Diego
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.1
Value
4.0
Horton Grand Hotel is in the heart of the Gaslamp District in Downtown San Diego, CA, with over 100 restaurants, bars, and night clubs located within four blocks. Located only four blocks to Convention Center, and Petco Park and walking distance to Seaport Village and the San Diego harbor. Old Town trolley stop in front of hotel. Every Guest and Grand room have gas-burning fireplace, complimentary WiFi, coffee/tea maker HD TV. Valet parking available for charge. Salt & Whiskey open daily for breakfast and 5pm for dinner
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

311 Island Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6923
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
San Diego Intl Airport
Rodriguez Airport
16.1 mi
See all flights
Santa Fe Depot
13 min
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,312 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a central location hailed by guests for its proximity to bars, shops, and the waterfront, the Horton Grand Hotel stands out for its historic charm and character. While opinions on value are mixed, with some guests finding parking and additional fees steep, others feel the pricing is reasonable for the area. The rooms, with their high ceilings and fireplaces, are often lauded for their cleanliness and historic appeal, though there are occasional mentions of noise and outdated decor. The staff's service generally receives high marks, fostering an inviting atmosphere that many find surpasses that of luxury chains.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,312Review39Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 555
  • 427
  • 163
  • 89
  • 78
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
NaMakani wrote a review Nov 2021
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii2,653 contributions784 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Horton is a classy historic hotel at the foot of the Gaslamp district. The exterior is a beautiful example of Victorian style, recently refurbished. It is very convenient to restaurants, the Convention Center, and all sights in the Gaslamp, yet it is just removed enough be a quiet refuge when necessary. It is located just across the street from the Gaslamp Museum. We arrived by rental car from the airport, an easy trip. There is valet parking ($48 pd) or self park in an elevated garage two blocks away for $15 pd).

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in October, ‘21. It was during the week so the area was fairly quiet.

The lobby is a glassed-in area that connects with a leafy courtyard. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient.

Our room (433) was in the older part of the hotel, classified as a balcony room with fireplace. It overlooked the courtyard below, with a partial view of one of the side streets bordering the hotel. It was good sized, decorated in appropriate classical style, with elegant crown molding and other nice carpentry touches, particularly in the small alcove that housed a desk. There was a comfortable king bed with two night stands, a dresser and an armoire. Beside the atmospheric gas fireplace, there was a ceiling fan and a very quiet ac/heat unit.

The nicely tiled bathroom was adequate sized. It has a single sink with little counter space, although the sink base had a drawer for toiletries. There was a tub/shower combo. Everything looked recently updated.

Breakfast was served in the Whiskey & Salt bar off the lobby, but we found it noisy and rather cold. There are a number of very good breakfast places not far away, however -- the Breakfast Republic and the Broken Yolk are two good options.

In summary, the Horton is a classic, comfortable hotel with lots of character and very conveniently located. We enjoyed our stay and recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Seamus Jordan, Guest Services / Front Office at Horton Grand Hotel
Responded Dec 7, 2021
Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and all of it's historic charm. We at The Horton Grand look forward to your next stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gastromed wrote a review May 2022
Singapore, Singapore61 contributions69 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a historic hotel in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter and close to the convention centre where I had a conference. It is a charming place full of history and atmosphere. The courtyard with lush trees was serene and lovely, whether being inside it, or looking over it from my room on the 4th floor. My room wasn't large, but sufficient and had a nice window bay where the desk was placed, overlooking the courtyard. The bathroom was also small but adequate. The balcony had two wrought iron chairs, great to sit with a coffee in hand at any time of day for a breather. There was a gas fireplace which I didn't use as the weather was perfect at the time I was there. All the furniture and bathroom fittings had a period feel and some of the furniture was a bit faded, but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom fixtures all worked perfectly. The attached Salt and Whisky restaurant provided satisfactory dinners and breakfasts, although I found it a bit on the expensive side. But the local draft ale I was recommended was delicious! At dinnertime there is a musician providing atmospheric live music.

What surprised me was the total absence of service in the room. I stayed 5 nights and while I didn't expect linens and towels to be changed every day, I had expected at least bed making, clearing of the waste baskets and replenishment of shampoo/soap and coffee/tea supplies. Instead I had to ask for resupplies at the front desk before they were delivered. When I mentioned on day 4 (I had been too busy to bring it up until then) that the bed was a mess, the bathroom uncleaned, overflowing waste bins uncleared (with some food waste this was unhealthy), the front desk staff said that due to Covid19, there was no service unless requested and apparently I had been told this on arrival. I had checked in exhausted at 1 am after a long flight and maybe I didn't hear it, but I found the situation a bit unsatisfactory. For every other job in hospitality, to protect staff and customers the use of face masks, disposable gloves and antiseptic cleansing fluids, together with regular antigen testing of staff would suffice to protect all parties while delivering basic services. Covid19 should not be a reason to cut back basic services so drastically, especially now that everything, including international travel, is opening up. But once I requested, the room was then freshened to a high standard. Overall, I was sufficiently satisfied with my stay to say that I would return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the central courtyard are quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Todd Husted, General Manager at Horton Grand Hotel
Responded May 25, 2022
Dear Charming Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and for submitting such a detailed review. We greatly appreciate the comments on our history and atmosphere, they are truly a unique asset at the Horton Grand. I also believe our language in regards to in room services may have caused a miscommunication. The Covid19 Pandemic has had adverse effects throughout the hospitality industry. While the seriousness of illness cannot be overlooked, the staffing of hotels and restaurants has reached new heights of uncertainty and concern. We hope to bounce back in the near future, but housekeeping is one of the hardest hit departments and every day service is just not possible when the hotel is at capacity. I'm glad to hear that your room was expertly cleaned upon request, and I do apologize for the communication to begin your stay. Thank you again, Todd Husted General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
on_the_go_98765 wrote a review Feb 2020
Tucson20,631 contributions1,976 helpful vote
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beauty in every sense. Our brief visit here allowed us to explore the public spaces and appreciate its role in San Diego history. These two buildings were joined together in a truly seamless manner; the courtyard between the two buildings is brick paved and tree-lined; it evokes a New Orleans vibe.

It is located across the street from the Davis Horton House museum and is so worth a drop-by and look-see.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BradVogel, Director of Sales at Horton Grand Hotel
Responded Feb 7, 2020
Thanks for staying with us! We appreciate the feedback. Next time you visit San Diego I hope you stay at the Horton Grand Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scorpio2636 wrote a review Oct 2022
Louisville, Kentucky8 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
RUN AWAY!! Upon checkin, they automatically charged our credit card for a $101 damage deposit for each room. I’m hoping we get that back! We had two connecting suites.

Besides the lack of maid service (which is in convenient at best) everything was either stained, chipped or dusty. Upon entrance to suite #1, we found the fireplace was on. We called and were told that they are left on all the time so we had to demand that it be turned off. Note that the fireplace in suite #2 wasn’t turned on.

We booked 2 suites for the beautiful balconies overlooking the street or the private courtyard. Our balconies overlooked the alley.

The air wasn’t working in suite #2 so we called. The guy that came put a new filter in the vent and told me that the air was blowing. When we questioned the temperature of the blowing air, he yelled and told us that it doing the best it could.

When preparing for bed, the king bed was wonderful and both TVs worked well. Our 3rd person pulled out the sofa bed and found the mattress to be only 2” thick with horribly stained sheets and mattress. The springs were broken so it slumped in the middle. We decided to swap the sofa mattresses with the one from the second suite. It was still only 2” thick but was clean. We called to see if a better mattress was available and two people came to the room. The woman appeared to be disgusted by the stains, brought clean sheets and promised to find a better mattress for us. The man literally yelled at us for swapping mattresses!! Note that we never got a better mattress but one of the hallway maids did get a mattress pad for us.

Pay the higher price and go somewhere else!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Todd Husted, General Manager at Horton Grand Hotel
Responded Oct 13, 2022
Dear Troubled Guest, Thank you for visiting us in sunny San Diego. I sincerely apologize for the troubles you encountered while staying with us. The "charge" you receive upon check-in is a credit card authorization, that is standard in every hotel. It may look like a charge on your card, but it automatically is reversed within a few days after check-out. Every room in our hotel is equipped with a fireplace, and the pilot light will stay on, not the fireplace itself. I am concerned about the team member that you claimed "yelled" at you. Our engineer is an extremely quiet man and I'm afraid a language barrier may be an issue. We take this very seriously and will make sure we rectify any service pitfalls moving forward. Sincerely, Todd Husted General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kingbingo1 wrote a review Nov 2021
California78 contributions97 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The lobby, bar and courtyard are beautiful and charming, reflecting turn of the century décor. It was a significant birthday and I reserved a Grand room with a fireplace as a splurge. I was so looking forward to it. But it was a disappointment and not what I expected. First, there is an annex to the hotel. Our room was not in the main building, but in another building nextdoor. We got to it through an outside walkway between the two buildings. The only likeness to the video shown on their website is the layout. The room is large and one could probably do 3 cartwheels without knocking into furniture. It has a great kitchenette area with a small fridge, sink and microwave. But it was dark and dismal with an odd odor. Lots of browns, tans and dark green colors. The main problem was the dingy dark green carpet with stains all over it. Thank goodness I travel with room slippers. In the bathroom, parts of the wallpaper or paint was peeling. The balcony is barely 2 feet wide, so don't expect to sit outside with a cup of coffee. It is basically a wide ledge with a railing around it.

The front desk personnel were not welcoming or friendly. We hardly ever got a "Welcome" or as we were leaving, "How was your stay?" It was as if they didn't want to engage and just get straight to business. I hope other clients didn't mistreat them. The valet (by the way, parking is $48 a day) and Salt&Whiskey staff were personable and friendly. The S&W burger is wonderful. It is 1/2 lb patty with a fried egg (never had it on a hamburger before), queso cheese and bacon jam. OMG! Pair it with a bottle of wine and it is a great.

Down the street is a breakfast / lunch place called Café 222. Very close and the food is wonderful. We found out about it through a Bobby Flay, Best I've ever Eaten episode. In the opposite direction on 4th, 5th and 6th streets is the lively area with tons of entertainment. So it does have a great location.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the annex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Seamus Jordan, Guest Services / Front Office at Horton Grand Hotel
Responded Dec 7, 2021
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. Moving forward I will absolutely be using your "cartwheel" length analysis in all of my future room size estimations. Our small but dedicated front desk team is normally polite and prompt in greeting all of our guests, and I apologize if we had a failure to communicate during your stay. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your suite, rest assured we take all guest input into account as we update our property.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
psky wrote a review Jun 2021
Los Angeles3 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed at, don't stay here if you value sleep. I'm in the travel industry and have been on the road nonstop for the last few years so I've stayed in countless hotels. When I first arrived at the hotel there were two bellhops at the front of the hotel who watched me struggle with my suitcases and didn't move at all to help. It was the strangest thing, they watched me and then kept talking and ignored me.

The front desk clerk ignored me until I finally got her attention and then checked me in without saying one word. I paid a little extra for a room with a balcony thinking a little fresh air would be nice. The problem with that is that the balcony opened up into the front of the hotel and the courtyard. So if I opened the balcony door, everybody walking into the hotel had a view straight into the room and the bed.

I could have lived with all that, but it was the noise that was terrible. The first night, around 2 a.m., everybody must have came back from the bars and walked up and down the hallway screaming and getting into fights with each other. This lasted well over an hour and the hotel didn't do anything to try to keep it quiet. This was a Monday night.

I thought that maybe that was just a bad night. The next night was even worse. AT 11 p.m., a party started on a balcony in the inside courtyard with people yelling. I could see this maybe on a weekend night, but not on a Tuesday. I called the desk and asked them if they could please just ask the people to go inside. Twenty minutes passed with no change, so I called again. The front desk person said they were on it, I'm not sure what was taking twenty minutes. Again, another twenty minutes go by and no change. I called the desk again and they said they were looking for the room. Finally, after an hour, I think they told them to go inside.

I finally thought I could get some sleep, but no. Now the person above me decided they needed to arrange the furniture in the room. Just know that you will be able to hear everything that goes on in the room above yours, including them rolling over in the bed.

I think this would be a good hotel if you just wanted to go out downtown and party and not try to sleep at all at night. Otherwise, I would steer clear, there is a reason that this hotel is relatively cheaper than surrounding hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trisha Sammons, Sales at Horton Grand Hotel
Responded Jun 10, 2021
Thank you for your sharing your concerns with us. What you shared is not our usual guest experience, we pride ourselves in offering our guest great service. We take all comments seriously and will share yours with our management team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ekarika05 wrote a review Aug 2021
12 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this room for our honeymoon and we booked the suite and requested a balcony facing courtyard. Got a street view, a patched hole in the wall in the room, a broken drawer, and what seemed to be some of the furniture missing/not provided as it is in the pictures of the suite. Called down to ask if we can swap rooms because we really wanted a balcony and facing courtyard but we were given the smallest room type despite paying for a suite. Asked to be switched again and got the medium size room and it was fine,

Room was spacious and the balcony is wonderful but the tub had a large crack in it, the room had an unpleasant scent, and the carpet needs a cleaning.

PROS: Hotel is in a great area, the rooms are spacious (the Balcony King Room and Grand room are), hotel does a great job of ensuring noise in the courtyard ends promptly at 10pm.

CONS:The hotel truly needs renovating given how old it is, the staff seem so "checked out" and the rooms need a deep cleaning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The Grand room has a "Juliet" balcony, not a full balcony whereas the King Bed Balcony...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DarylJ552 wrote a review Sep 2023
Carlsbad, California3,428 contributions418 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Horton Grand is in The Gaslamp District of downtown San Diego, California. Actually it was originally 2 hotels built in the 1880's a couple of blocks away from it's present location. In the 1970's both hotels were dismantled and moved piece by piece to the present location on Island Avenue. We had a king Room on the 2nd floor with a full bath, a gas log fireplace and a small balcony overlooking a courtyard. There are lots of restaurants in the area including one in the hotel. Valet parking is available for $50 per night and It is within walking distance to The San Diego Padre games at Petco Park.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Todd Husted, General Manager at Horton Grand Hotel
Responded Sep 19, 2023
Dear Local Guest, Thank you for choosing us for your staycation! The Horton Grand Hotel has a truly impressive history, we're so happy you took the time to read into it. Our website goes into great detail about our history, location, and our onsite restaurant (which is now Salt & Whiskey). The courtyard is a unique and ideal location for relaxation and to enjoy a glass of wine. We hope you can venture down the 5 freeway and see us again soon. Cheers, Todd Husted General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katia D wrote a review Sep 2023
9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the rudest customer service I have ever experienced from hotel stuff. We booked a room from booking. The listing clearly stated “pet friendly”. When we called to see if we can check in a little earlier as we had an event planned for 3:30PM, not only they told us “most likely it won’t happen” (check in is at 4PM!), but they also told us we cannot stay with our dog in the premium suite as it is not dog friendly. The customer representative then told us to call booking and have them fix their listing. But that’s not all of it! We were a group of 4 (also clearly stated in our reservation) the couch of the premium suite was not made. We called the receptionist who told us that there is bedding in the room, indicating we can fix the couch ourselves. We insisted that they should send someone to do that. They sent the handyman! The handyman unfolded the couch and told us to make it ourselves and use the bedding in the closet. For the price (over $400 + per night) one would think that their bed would be made! In addition, this place is noisy! We could hear our neighbors walking as if they were walking around our room. Pressure of water shower is not good. Not coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Valet parking is $50! Maybe try parking in the public parking. Don’t bring your dog as some rooms...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Todd Husted, General Manager at Horton Grand Hotel
Responded Sep 6, 2023
Dear Troubled Guest, We sincerely apologize for any lapses in service or miscommunication you received before and during your stay. We pride ourselves on exemplary customer relations and I can assure you that this is an isolated incident. We are a pet friendly property and have specified rooms and guest floors for our pet companions. Our Premier Suites were just finished this year, and as we do not have pets in these suites, we do understand that reservations made prior to the upgrade and on some 3rd party sites do not relay these updates. Your call to the hotel confirmed that you were allowed to bring your pet, although you chose not to so. Our brand-new sofa beds are made up with clean sheets for every new guest, but the top blanket and pillows are kept on the shelf in the closet so the sofa can be closed. The team was unaware that you needed the sofa bed pulled out prior to arrival, we apologize for the misunderstanding. Our front desk team was ready and available to assist with any further issues, we truly wish you would have voiced your concerns with them so we could have accommodated you as best we could while you were still with us. Posting several reviews on multiple websites after that fact does not help us make your stay more comfortable. We wish you can find happiness in your future travels. Sincerely, Todd Husted General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bernadette L wrote a review Jul 2021
Riverside17 contributions22 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff was so nice. Easy check in. The minute we walked into our room, WOW!! we smelled pet urine. It was definitely in the carpet. This hotel is historic and beautiful but with the pet urine smell it will be my last time staying here. If the Horton continues to be a pet hotel, then they need to get rid of the carpets inside the rooms. It was disgusting! I felt like I smelled like pet urine even after leaving the room.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Room 210 smells like pet urine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Seamus Jordan, Guest Services / Front Office at Horton Grand Hotel
Responded Jul 8, 2021
Hello Bailey, While we are a pet friendly property we do go to lengths to ensure a clean and pleasant stay for all our guests, and as such immediately investigated your room after this review was posted. We were unable to verify an odor of any kind in this room and feel that this review is not accurate.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
borgiedoll asked a question Mar 2021
Temecula, California124 contributions45 helpful votes
We have two expensive bikes that we will have on our trip. Do you have a safe storage area?
PLS62 asked a question Feb 2020
Burbank, California14 contributions3 helpful votes
Does the hotel have parking? I’m not familiar with San Diego so would prefer to park at the hotel.
Answer from Decision maker
3 contributions
Yes. It is expensive. $48 a day.
Ron D asked a question Jan 2020
Orland Park, Illinois4 contributions2 helpful votes
Do the non suite rooms have a refrigerator and/or microwave?
Answer from MadisonChickadee
Asheville, North Carolina68 contributions30 helpful votes
Yes refrigerator but not a microwave.
Ron D asked a question Jan 2020
Orland Park, Illinois4 contributions2 helpful votes
I see reviews mention a staircase but is there an elevator in the building?
Answer from Anthony W
Phoenix, Arizona46 contributions63 helpful votes
Yes there is an elevator
Tina V wrote a tip Feb 2024
Ventura, California34 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a premium king suite!"
Read full review
Chandra R wrote a tip Feb 2024
Richmond, Virginia9 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"San Diego is beautiful and the weather is perfect. I was shocked and disheartened to see so many homeless people but overall it was great! "
Read full review
Emma G wrote a tip Dec 2023
Burnsville, Minnesota2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the staff will make this stay worth every penny."
Read full review
MuskokaGirlDownUnder wrote a tip Nov 2023
Canberra, Australia162 contributions70 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Balcony rooms on the second floor give the best courtyard views."
Read full review
Akbarsheik wrote a tip Oct 2023
Thrissur, India113 contributions152 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top floor rooms are quiet."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Diego area.
PRICE RANGE
$177 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the horton grand hotel san diego
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoDowntown / Marina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
132
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HORTON GRAND HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Horton Grand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Horton Grand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Shout! House (0.1 miles), Murder N’ Mayhem (0.1 miles), and Gaslamp Quarter (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Horton Grand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Horton Grand Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Horton Grand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Horton Grand Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Horton Grand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Provisional Kitchen, Cafe, and Mercantile, Richard Walker's Pancake House, and Half Door.
Is Horton Grand Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of San Diego.
Are any cleaning services offered at Horton Grand Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Horton Grand Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Horton Grand Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Horton Grand Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mormon Battalion Historic Site (3.6 miles), The Homecoming Statue (0.7 miles), and Gaslamp Museum at the Davis-Horton House (0.05 miles).
All San Diego HotelsSan Diego Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San DiegoHotels near Horton Grand Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars