We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,235: English reviews
Fort Worth, United States
Reviewed September 1, 2015

I've stayed at this hotel four times in the last five years -- it's my unofficial hideout in San Diego. You will find the same challenges everyone faces if you try to book a hotel room in San Diego during the summer: The rooms are smallish for the price, and parking is expensive ($25/night). That said, the Doubletree is one...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed August 30, 2015

This hotel was very nice and was in a perfect location near Little Italy in San Diego (which we loved). Great places for breakfast and dinner nearby. Room was clean and up to date. Not a great view of the highway on the side of the hotel we were on - you could even hear it with the door closed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J S
Pleasant Grove, United States
Reviewed August 25, 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the DoubleTree in San Diego. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We needed a hotel for one night during a layover for our flights. The hotel is very close to the airport. I especially appreciated the shuttle to and from the airport.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly S
Virginia, United States
Reviewed August 24, 2015

My wife and I had an amazing vacation in San Diego. The location of the Hotel and the personnel were fantastic. So many things to do within walking distance from the Hotel. The Hotel facilities were very nice to include the Restaurant and the Bar, computer available to customers, and fresh coffee and cold water was also very good. Highly...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angel S
Pikesville, MD, United States
Reviewed August 24, 2015

This is a great Hotel with excellent service and perfectly located near the airport, downtown San Diego and Little Italy. Lobby and Rooms are very clean and nice to look at. Great shuttle (free) to and from the airport.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
Burnsville, Minnesota
Reviewed August 21, 2015

It is shocking to me that Hilton would associate itself with this embarrassment. When we called for our shuttle, we were left stranded at the airport for almost an hour in spite of being promised every 15 minutes that it was on its way. After finally surrendering and taking a cab to the hotel, I was told by the manager,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Dita D
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Dita D., We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel as your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope...

Portland, United States
Reviewed August 19, 2015

Service was horrible. They seem terribly understaffed. Glasses left in the hallway and by the elevators and never picked up. The bar was unattended and dirty. Waited forever for a wait staff and after 10 minutes I gave up and walked down the street for food. We rented a 1 bedroom suite for 4 people. The hide-a-bed wasn't good enough...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Paula M. We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel as your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we...

Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewed August 18, 2015

Great Location ..convenient to Gas Light although farther then hotel claims. Average room at best. We got view of I-5 and right adjacent to airport landing. Perfect if you like watching planes land. Value priced

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 205greggl
Santa Monica, California
Reviewed August 15, 2015

The hotel's parking ramp is super narrow. The room was sub par. It looked great in photos but it wasn't clean. The service was super slow. I will never go back to this hotel again. Also the staff were not friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 887gina
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Dear 887gina ~ We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel as your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed August 14, 2015

I stayed on the top floor with two twin beds. The room was nice, with a gorgeous view of many of the cities landmarks. It is right by the freeway, so if you're not used to city sleeping - I am - it may be a little noisy for you. I made plenty of use of the hotel's swimming pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M B
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

280 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (219)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
View from Room (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#71 of 279 in San Diego
548 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#128 of 279 in San Diego
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Address: 1646 Front St, San Diego, CA 92101-2920 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Price Range: $169 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
over a year ago
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
over a year ago
Los Angeles
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose rooms that are not facing the freeway and airport.”
RBryan1011, 2 days ago | Read review
“Away from the elevators.”
travelerINaustin, 1 week ago | Read review
“the higher you go, the better the view!”
betsnow, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“City and Bay views would be a plus over freeway view.”
  • room service, burger and fries... I was hungry and they were good...
  • I-5 Freeway, off-ramp and flight path this direction - not a problem for me...
  • furnishings
  • late afternoon arrival
V5076DQjohnt, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“try for a high floor”
John73D, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question