We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (110)
Dining (20)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Earn points toward free nights.
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#175 of 263 hotels in San Diego
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.3
Value
3.5
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away fromSan Diego, California's popular attractions, like SeaWorld, SDCCU Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of contemporary accents and tropical landscaping.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking garage
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Green
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.
163Reviews2Q+A30Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 59
  • 47
  • 24
  • 17
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Petertom25 wrote a review Feb 3
Bayside, New York249 contributions206 helpful votes
I stayed at this Marriott given its proximity to my company's San Diego office. The stay was a comfortable one but there were some things that I didn't like. The hotel was easy to get to from the freeways nearby. The grounds of the hotel were also nice, and do wish I come at a time when it is warmer to take advantage of the nice pool area. Common areas were spacious, including the M Lounge, which had the usual breakfast items and nice little treats in the evening. The room was a little on the small side, but a decent sized bathroom which oddly had the closet / hanger to put your clothes and suitcase in. I have not seen that before in a hotel. The pathway once you first enter the room was also on the narrow side. The bathroom had a nice stand in shower stall which I always prefer. The bed and pillows were comfortable providing a good night sleep. The room also had good lighting throughout. Kudos to the staff who actually got my request on the Marriott app for additional items and included them in my room. It seems like the majority of the time I make those requests the hotel doesnt pay attention to it. The HVAC unit was not ideal. I like to have a constant fan on and even though that's what I selected the air would be pumped on and off in the room. That leads the room to be at times too cold or too hot when you're sleeping depending on the cycle. The external sounds from the hallway and adjacent room (through the connecting door) were quite loud. The neighboring room had music on which I could hear loudly along with the guest's awful singing. Lastly, the parking for $36 a night seemed outlandish, especially given the area. We are not in downtown S.D. and was shocked to see it that high. Overall, it was a decent stay, and would likely stay here again when I visit, which I will be doing for work 1-2X a year.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dennis Vinegas, Guest Services / Front Office at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Petertom25, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and providing a detailed review of your experience. We appreciate both the positive and constructive feedback as it helps us ensure we continually improve our guest offering. I'm happy to hear that many parts of your experience such as the M-Club, bedding, and shower were to your liking. I do apologize for the HVAC and noise issues you mentioned. I have shared this concern with our leadership team for future consideration. I do hope that we have the pleasure to host you on a future trip to San Diego!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BluePlate-Now wrote a review Jan 2024
san antonio223 contributions29 helpful votes
Very nice rooms with balconies. Pool area really nice. Great location to get to restaurants and sights in the area. Staff was very personable. Restaurant Manager Chris was very helpful in arranging a large group for lunch. However, the restaurant / bar prices are quite high compared to other restaurants / bars in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dennis Vinegas, Guest Services / Front Office at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear BluePlate-Now, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback, we really appreciate it! I'm happy to hear our team and especially Chris was able to help have a memorable experience. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sam I wrote a review Dec 2023
New York City, New York35 contributions17 helpful votes
Perfectly pleasant hotel with great amenities including an upgraded gym. The pool area is lovely and the rooms felt very spacious and airy. Ours had a balcony which was lovely, too. Overall a great hotel for a quick stop in Mission Valley and a perfectly pleasant night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dennis Vinegas, Guest Services / Front Office at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the nice review! I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and our new gym equipment. Our team looks forward to welcoming you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maria wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Great hotel in a perfect central location with easy access to downtown San Diego, the airport and other local attractions! Staff was friendly and accommodating and offered great service throughout. Highly recommend for business travelers or families!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Roam09880023817 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
The room is clean and bed is comfortable, that is the one star coming from. However, this hotel has poor room management, they placed my family in the room around hotel rooms for the group of wedding guests. They are super noisy and hotel room wall are not sound isolated very well, you won't have a good sleep if you have noisy neighbors. Please thinking about it before you book this hotel. Also I got double charging in parking (not even mentioning the expensive daily parking), and the errors stay even after couple of calling to billing department and front desk. Please check your statement immediately when you do check-out.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dennis Vinegas, Guest Services / Front Office at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Responded Dec 5, 2023
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, we appreciate the feedback and apologize that the stay was not to your satisfaction. I'm sorry to hear that you were disturbed by other guests during your time with us. I have shared this feedback with the front desk team for future consideration. As for the incorrect parking charge I apologize you experienced this and hope you were able to have corrected. If you are still seeing the error please reach out to evan.richards@marriottmv.com and I will look into this. I hope we can welcome you back for a better experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PiedmontWalker wrote a review Nov 2023
Piedmont, California213 contributions86 helpful votes
I stayed for 30 days, and the service was consistently at an excellent level from all levels of staff that I encountered: from the front desk (Dennis, Savanna, Kristian) to the housekeeping (Maria, Teresa, Blanca) and engineering (Zach, Ramon, Curtis) staffs. The club lounge is very convenient serving both breakfast, evening appetizers, and 24-hour coffee, and is well staffed (Dee, Erika, Laura). The dining room breakfast buffet and coffee bar are especially delicious (Sylvia, Carolina, Jennifer, Ashley). A trolley location is conveniently close to the hotel making it easy to go downtown without needing a car or rideshare.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TravelHappy237 wrote a review Sep 2023
Phoenix, Arizona122 contributions68 helpful votes
Been coming to this location for years. It has been our go to as its close to family in Mission Valley. The refurb was a nice update with a couple of misses. Still way too noisy on the west side of the building overlooking the pool. Windows are just too thin and road noise from Qualcomm way is just too noisy and can keep you awake if you are a light sleeper. I normally stay on the east side due to this, but I was "upgraded" to this side of the building and as they were full, I couldn't get to the other side. Unfortunately, the hvac fan was only automatic and I couldn't generate the white noise from an always on fan. The bathroom upgrade was unimpressive. The shower head leaked. There is no longer an enclosed closet, but instead an open hanger that serves as storage in the bathroom. Nothing can go out of sight. Also the damp bathroom isn't where I want to keep my clothes and luggage. Big miss. Parking costs have gotten out of hand at $34 a night now for outdoor parking. This has effectively gone from zero a decade ago, to $15, to $25, and now to the $34 a night. Nothing has changed other than pricing. So generally speaking this has turned into an ok spot, but I may need to check out some of the newer offerings in the neighborhood.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book on the east side. West side rooms overlooking the pool have a lot of road noise.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dennis Vinegas, Guest Services / Front Office at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Responded Sep 24, 2023
Dear Travelhappy237, Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review regarding your recent stay at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, We are disappointed your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We want you to know your experience was not acceptable and we have shared your feedback with our staff. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome your return for a better experience in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah L wrote a review Aug 2023
United States61 contributions48 helpful votes
This hotel is one of my favorite Marriott properties. The M Club here is fantastic. They will Comp your Breakfast if you’re platinum Bonvoy status, or above. They have hot appetizers and desserts in the evening, Monday through Thursday. They also have a designated elite parking area, which is about half of the standard parking rate. The pool is wonderful- salt water, with a peaceful waterfall that transports you to a tropical location. The fitness room leaves some room for improvement- some of the equipment has tears, and it’s not always the cleanest- but it’s certainly adequate. The higher floor pool facing rooms offer fantastic views of Mission Valley, and the location is very convenient- right off I-8, and close to all major Mission Valley shopping, and even a weekend farmers market close by. (Civita). Rooms are a bit tired- but beds are comfortable & they will bring you a bathrobe if you ask for one. I believe they are starting on a renovation- so it will be interesting to see once the renovation is completed. What makes this hotel great is the staff. They are all very friendly and accommodating. It seems to me like they really care, and they do an amazing job. I love the omelette lady! Her smile could light up a whole village. I wish they had avocado oil as an option for the eggs, because the oil they use is very heavy. Powers that be?? I will be back for sure. It feels like a home away from home for me!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Traveldanse wrote a review Aug 2023
Florida458 contributions175 helpful votes
Located on a one way near the freeway and train, beautiful property with pool and deck area including a few cabanas. Signage could be better, gave up on ordering room service for breakfast as no one would answer the phone. No clock radio, no luggage rack, basic coffee maker, some balconies are only a foot wide. Overall very good customer service, bed comfortable, well lit, mini-fridge, nicely decorated. They have a little marketplace in the lobby and a fitness center. Great view, but hearing screaming kids in the pool from 7:45am-10pm at night and people hooping and hollering in the hallway at 11 pm seemed a bit much. Doors slam really loud/hard. Rooms on west side warm up in afternoon, might want to draw curtains in summer. Parking is extra ($34 a day) on top of steep room rates. Left a little disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dennis Vinegas, Guest Services / Front Office at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Responded Aug 7, 2023
Good morning, Traveldanse, First off, I recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided for our team and property. I sincerely apologize there was no clock or luggage rack in the room for you and the noise level of the children during your stay. I have shared your feedback with the Housekeeping Management team as well as Sales team as a teachable moment, we have discussed our service standards and reviewed improvement opportunities. I am confident that these necessary steps will ensure your experience is an isolated incident. I hope you choose to stay with us again, whenever your travels bring you back to the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Keith G wrote a review Aug 2023
Los Angeles, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed here on a business trip this weekend with my husband. I typically stay at Marriott properties when I travel and chose this one on the north outskirts of San Diego because it was touted as newly-renovated. The good news is that the mattress, bed linens, and pillows have the same level of comfort you've come to expect. But that's where the typical Marriott experience ends. First, the customer service is not typical of Marriott or frankly most hotels. Despite the front desk and coffee bar both being well staffed and no guests waiting, each time I approached one of them - to check in, to check out, and to order coffee - all but one staff member either did not make eye contact and ignored my greeting, or stared and walked away. It was a universally unwelcoming experience. I requested in the reservation an upper floor balcony for my $400/ night (that price was after the AAA discount - and more than what I paid last week for an upper floor room at Le Meridien on Central Park South in Manhattan). What we got was a lower floor room with a French balcony (you know, the kind that are 12" deep - with a waft of cigarette smoke that made us resort to closing the doors). Walking down the corridor, the rows of doors were decorated for some kind of soccer tournament. I've never seen that sense of ownership from overnight hotel guests. It was no surprise that the heavy doors would be slamming through the night. The room renovations have cheapened the interiors with a bare bones approach and low quality finishes that are more akin to the Spring Hills Suites brand - small cheap furniture that is chipping, lumpy vinyl plank flooring that feels like it was installed over the old carpet padding, and a couple of frameless cookie-cutter canvasses thrown on top of the headboard for good measure. They are not maintaining these reportedly recent renovations - a broken toilet paper holder that made the roll drop on the floor each time it was used, a stained shower stall, ripped wall paper, thin towels, and dust balls scattered across the vinyl floor. The approach is so economical that they've resorted to wall-mounted shower dispensers that I've only seen in lower-end properties and default to only 1 coffee pod for a 2 person occupancy (their response was that guests should call housekeeping for more). It was a shock to stay at such a substandard Marriott property. Not sure how much of the negative experience is the poor management of the property, and how much reflects a change in direction for what has been a reliable brand.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dennis Vinegas, Guest Services / Front Office at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Responded Aug 7, 2023
Dear keithgM2647IE, I recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided about your recent experience at our property. Receiving warm and friendly service from our staff sets the tone for a great stay. This was not your experience, and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with the associates as well as Upper Management, and as a teachable moment, we have discussed our service standards and reviewed improvement opportunities in the service they provide. I am confident that these necessary steps will ensure your experience is an isolated incident. If you would like to speak further, please feel free to send me an email at dennis.viengas@marriottmv.com so we can discuss further. My sincerest apologies again and I hope you choose to stay with us again, whenever your travels bring you back to the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Diego area.
PRICE RANGE
$195 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
san diego marriott mission valley hotel san diego
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoMission Valley / Hotel Circle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
353
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAN DIEGO MARRIOTT MISSION VALLEY - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (CA)

Frequently Asked Questions about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Which popular attractions are close to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley?
Nearby attractions include iFLY Indoor Skydiving - San Diego (0.3 miles), Civita Park (0.6 miles), and Dave & Buster's - Arcade (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley?
Conveniently located restaurants include In-N-Out Burger, California Fish Grill, and Bully's East.
Are there opportunities to exercise at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does San Diego Marriott Mission Valley offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mormon Battalion Historic Site (3.5 miles), Whaley House Museum (3.5 miles), and The Homecoming Statue (4.7 miles).
Does San Diego Marriott Mission Valley have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is San Diego Marriott Mission Valley accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.