We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Show Prices
#88 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 412: English reviews
North Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is an older style Marriott but no complaints. Nice large gym, nice pool. Just not as nice as some of the newer properties I have stayed in. Friendly service and comfortable bed. Should be a 3.5 star review.

Helpful?
Thank EJG4
San Jose, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our second day day of three nights. First day we checked in. There was hair on the bathroom floor and toilet. Bathroom floor was dirty. After 12 hours in the car I was too angry to call down and washed the bathroom floor my self with a hand towel. Stains on the sheet of one bed. Just came... More 

Helpful?
Thank lucky4now
DanStenz, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear lucky4now, Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the condition you found your room in during your visit. I am embarrassed to learn that the room was not cleaned properly and that your requests were not met in a timely manner. I... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

DO NOT BOOK THROUGH EXPEDIA. COM!!!! Booked days in advance, we drove 2000 miles 4 adults 2 kids and a baby. Get here they give us a one king bed. Uhhh WHAT!? No other rooms available. What are we supposed to do? The manager couldn't help us and we had 3 of us each on a phone with Expedia. One... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelsee W
DanStenz, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Kelsee, Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay and experience at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley. I am very sorry for the hassle and inconvenience you experienced in trying to have your reservation and room type straighted out with our hotel and Expedia. Unfortunately, third-party sites such as Expedia cannot guarantee specific room types. They... More 

callifornia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great property, centrally located to all of San Diego. It is a Marriott so it is not inexpensive. However, with that price you get a modern structure with great rooms, heavenly beds, a very nice bar and restaurant with very good food. I have only two complaints. We stayed on the 8th floor and, at the time... More 

Helpful?
Thank William M
Seattle
Level Contributor
240 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Marriott Mission Valley during San Diego Comic-con and overall had a very good stay. The property itself feels a little dated and could use some TLC here and there - like ice machines that don't work or doors that look really scuffed or aged (I guess I expect a little more maintenance for the Marriott brand).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Valkyrie_Kate
DanStenz, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Valkyrie_Kate, Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel. I am happy to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. I am disappointed, however, that you found our ice machines in non-operating condition, as well as scuffed doors. I have already contacted our Director of Engineering to... More 

Level Contributor
172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

To start off with parking is $25 and there are not enough parking spots and they were very narrow. Arrived at 4 pm, checkin time and our rooms were not ready until 5 pm. The front desk was not at all helpful on getting our room ready. We had to search out another hotel employee at around 4:45 to finally... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Thexprt7
DanStenz, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Thexprt7, Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel. I am very concerned to learn about the issues you experienced in your guest room. First, I am disappointed that our front desk staff was not helpful in getting your room prepared with the housekeeping staff. Unhelpful staff is unacceptable... More 

Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

We stayed at Marriott Mission Valley hotel for 2 nights from 15 and 16 July 2016. And I have to admit that it was one of the most negative experience for all my traveler life while working at Tour Agency. First of all, previously we stayed at Sheraton and Hilton which is about the same service standards. We have never... More 

Helpful?
Thank TatyanaMis
Management response:

Dear TatyanaMis, Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel. I am very disappointed to learn about your experience at our hotel and embarrassed for the overall treatment you received from our staff. Receiving a warm and welcome greeting from our staff is required and to be assigned a room... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

I loved this hotel. The service in the Concierge Lounge was really excellent. It has a really nice bar and restaurant, and the desk staff was friendly and competent. My room was beautiful and the view was spectacular.

Helpful?
Thank Corey L
Kansas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for a conference, which included meals. The food was really good, served outside on the wonderful grounds. Our air conditioner wasn't working when we arrived but they fixed it right away. When I went to the front desk to tell them about the air conditioner I also told them that the room... More 

Helpful?
Thank scarletmeshell
DanStenz, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear scarletmeshell, Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel. I am disappointed to learn that the desk in your guest room was never dusted during your entire stay, even though you had reported it. I will share your comments with our Executive Housekeeper and ask that she address this... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Despite the convent location, I believe this particular Marriott is way overrated and way overpriced. It is no more than a 2-star hotel at most based on the following experience. The facility of the hotel is extremely poor. There is neither refrigerator nor the standard iron/iron board in the room. The room is so small that your suitcases have to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Confidence i
DanStenz, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review

Dear Confidence i, Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel. I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy yor stay and that you experienced several inconveniences with the size of the room and bathroom and the fact that your room did not have a refrigerator or... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Dr, San Diego, CA 92108-1620
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Price Range: $163 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay