We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
9 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Booking.com
$379
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$379
View deal
Traveluro
$354
View deal
Travelocity$379
Marriott Hotels$379
ZenHotels.com$454
View all 22 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2337)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (1070)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 11/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Updated 11/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#109 of 293 in San Diego
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.3
Value
3.8
GreenLeaders Silver level
Stay in style in sunny Southern California at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Our waterfront hotel in downtown San Diego provides an environment that perfectly suits business and leisure travel. Recharge in spacious hotel rooms and suites with impressive views of the city or San Diego Bay. Take advantage of thoughtful amenities like free breakfast, a 24-hour fitness center, two outdoor pools, an inviting spa and award-winning on-site dining.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Kids stay free
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Bowling offsite
Evening entertainment
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Kids pool
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
4784Reviews73Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,414
  • 1,567
  • 474
  • 172
  • 157
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
854russelj wrote a review May 9
Grand Rapids, United States12 contributions1 helpful vote
stayed at the location because it is adjacent to the convention center, where I had to attend a meeting. I arrived at 6pm & there 5 people in line ahead of me to checkin. Initially only 2 staff (surprising given size of property), but after a while, a 3rd person came. My time in line was 20 minutes, more than the time I had to wait for luggage at airport or taxi ride to location. Once 3rd person arrived (manager), line moved quickly. Room was clean, nice view of the bay. Toilet has water saving capacity, but I was surprised that the room did not have the blue Marriott recycle trash bin. I did like the night light in the bathroom- didn't have to use my laptop powercord light. I was there on weekend, so M club closed. They give you a $15.00 credit, but the only on site sit down restaurant was buffet only- $32.00- so breakfast would still cost $17.00. You can use credit at Starbucks, but that only gets you oatmeal & coffee. They should do better on weekends. Check out was easy. Again, only 5-10 minute walk from convention center.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: high floor, away from elevator
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 854russelj, Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay at the Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. We are pleased you found our location near the convention center to be perfect for your plans. Your additional comments will be shared with the appropriate individuals to ensure a better outcome going forward. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the area. Donna Lynn Chong Director of Hotel Operations
Read more
Allen T wrote a review May 1
Washington DC, District of Columbia143 contributions117 helpful votes
One of the worst Marriott experiences I have had. The hotel is cheap; the customer service is awful. We can’t wait to check out and will never be back. A few things to highlight: - Cheap scratchy bedding; uncomfortable bed (although my wife thought it was fine) - Noisy Vents and AC - No complimentary breakfast for Bonvoy members on the weekends - They charge a resort fee (this is not a resort), but don’t offer resort amenities. No bottled water or drinkable coffee in the room. The gym was closed when we got there. - They charge $15 for WiFi. I object on principle - The staff couldn’t care less about customer concerns. They know SD is booming and a conference town with more demand than supply. Not up to Marriott standard and they break the understood deal that Titanium Elite and Ambassador guests will be taken care of. This is why Marriott should have never been allowed to buy Starwood. They have too much market power and it shows in their declining service and rising prices.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 263allent, We appreciate your loyalty to our hotels, and regret that we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback on the vents and AC will be shared with our Engineering team so they may focus on this area when conducting maintenance in our guest rooms. Due to our group and convention status as a hotel, our M Club is one of only a handful in the company that does not currently open on the weekends. However, we do provide Marriott Bonvoy points for the weekend in lieu of the concierge lounge. If you did not receive those points, please reach out to us directly. Our Daily Destination Amenity fee is a bundle of our most popular amenities offered exclusively to our Hotel guests at a significant discount, purchased individually these amenities have a value of more than $140.00. In order to provide this value bundle, we must pass the destination amenity fee through to all of our guests regardless if their stay is either leisure or business. We sincerely apologize that your stay was not more enjoyable and comfortable. We do hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to regain your trust. Warm regards, Donna Lynn Chong Director of Hotel Operations
Read more
Melinda R wrote a review Apr 2022
20 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed at his property in March for a conference at the hotel. This was our second stay here and it was almost as nice as the 1st. This time, however, the bed was not very comfortable. Scratchy linens and the mattress had me feeling like I was sleeping on a slope and might roll off the bed. That is not what I expect of Marriott properties at this point and was very disappointing. The bed a few days later when we switched to a Residence Inn near Disneyland was so much more comfortable and the room was huge comparatively. That said, the pool area is very nice and we spent a lot of time there. It was also nice to walk along the waterfront.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Jason G wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked a room for my birthday weekend over 90 days out and 30 days from my stay Marriott cancelled my reservation claiming it was because I used points and didn’t have enough, even though my credit card was on file and my reservation confirmation said it was guaranteed. When I contacted them to fix the issue they didn’t care and couldn’t be bothered to apologize. They refused to take any actions to help me reinstate my reservation other than to tell me I can rebook the room at 4x the price (originally booked at around $200 a night, now they’re asking over $800). All of my friends who also booked rooms there for my birthday weekend, didn’t have their reservations cancelled… now me and all my friends have to try and find a new hotel 30 days out. I will never stay at this Marriott ever again. I suggest you do not book this hotel unless your ok with the hotel keeping your reservation unless they think they’ll get more money closer to your actual stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Don’t reserve a room here
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Jason, First of all, thank you for your loyalty to our brand. That said, we truly apologize for disappointing you and for the issues you experienced with your reservation. We also understand the frustration you had as you felt our associates were not considerate of the situation and that they were unable to provide a solution for it. If you would kindly provide us with the first and last name the reservation was under along with the Marriott Bonvoy number the points were coming from, so that we can research the reservation. Once we have more information, we will reply back. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and look forward to hearing back from you. Donna Lynn Chong Director of Hotel Operations
Read more
Renee D wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York14 contributions8 helpful votes
My most recent stay in Jan 2022 at the Marriot Marquis San Diego had been really below par and one of the worst experiences I’ve had since I joined the Bonvoy program in 2016 of which I've been an Ambassador Elite member. This was for both a training my company organized for a business trip. As such, my assistant had booked a reservation under my name and the corporate event also reserved a room – with the notion that given our company is using a lot of space at the hotel, there should be flexibility to find a good room for me / upgrade. 1. Extreme service slowness / lack of professionalism: I arrived at the front desk at 10pm local San Diego time, already tired and hoping to get to my room as soon as possible – there was a ~30-40 min wait as the only representative at the front desk took forever to process the guest in front of me, and then when it came to my turn, there was a ton of confusion from him about a duplicate reservation even as I explained I’m here for a corporate event and also on business so that he can charge the hotel bill eventually to either the corporate event or my corporate card. He called his manager and spoke to him for 10 mins on the phone while I waited and finally resolved to cancel one of the reservations. He spent no time explaining to me the amenities- I had to ask about the gym, breakfast, etc. 2. Zero acknowledgement of membership loyalty / did not provide hospitality that should be afforded to loyal Marriot members: o The front desk person also did not realize I was a Marriot member – which is extremely ridiculous and had never happened at any Marriot property I’ve come t0 – he said, “oh sorry I did not realize” when I said, “is it not in the system?” o He also made a rude remark about my last name - “oh, very long last name, no wonder it’s showing up incorrectly” – blaming his lack of knowledge that I’m a Marriot member on my last name. o When I inquired about a room upgrade, which is typical for my membership status as an Ambassador elite member, he said it’s “NOT POSSIBLE”, and I asked about rooms with bathtubs (which I had inquired about prior to arriving) – and he made it rudely clear to me it is not possible given I’m here with the corporate training / conference – even though I had told him he can charge the bill to my corporate card if that makes a difference. He perfunctorily checked the system, and said “the only rooms with bathtubs we have now have twin beds, so, it’s up to you”. Gravely disappointed and shocked at his lack of professionalism, I eventually went with the room he assigned given it was way past 10:45pm local time and I was beyond tired after flying 5 hours from New York City 3. Room was dirty / towels had blood & TV was broken: o When I arrived at my room, I was shocked at some of the elements. First, one of the bathroom towels had two big blotches of blood stains. Second, the TV was broken / had blue light shading across the screen. This is seriously unacceptable at any property o When I called to ask for an upgrade because I really couldn’t stand the room despite how tired I was, the man on the phone (who is the manager of the front desk rep I spoke to earlier) gave me an extremely rude attitude about how my company had cancelled a bunch of rooms due to the Covid -19 omicron outbreak due to participants deciding not to come (i.e., he said “your company cancelled XXX rooms and our hotel is not going to accommodate any other changes. If you want to pay out of pocket i can put you in a suite – but your company is going to be on the hook to pay for this cancellation, too.” I could not believe this is the attitude of a manager at a Marriott property. He was taking his frustration towards my company out on a single individual – me – who is not responsible for the cancellations that have happened. Not to mention that the cancellations I know of had most likely come from our Canadian colleagues who are in lockdown in Canada which happened very quickly (not their fault) 4. Overall unsatisfying: Room service cannot be placed the night before but only in the morning. Overall lack of cleanliness in the rooms. Food quality was low. The only redeeming factor was the view of the bay and the weather. I'm hence giving this two stars - and because now that I've stayed at the W Miami, I now know that this isn't the worst. There's no hotel on earth as bad as the W Miami (it will remain my only 1 star review for a long time to come, I suspect - hopefully anyway)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Responded Apr 7, 2022
Dear rcadl2192, First and foremost, thank you for your loyalty to our brands. We are committed to providing our guests with a fulfilling stay; therefore, we appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention. Your feedback, and also your patience in these matters, are much appreciated. We will share your message appropriately as we are committed to enhancing our services and guest experiences on all levels. We never intend to lose a loyal patron like you, and we encourage you to give us a second chance to make a better impression. Donna Lynn Chong Director of Hotel Operations
Read more
Jon wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked months in advance, checked in the day before via the app, on arrival no room type available! Offered another room for one night with the promise to move our luggage. New room available…. No luggage!! Eventually found and delivered. Room tired, balcony filthy, completely under whelming. Independent travellers avoid this hotel, they are only interested in conference business. To sum up ….pathetic.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: High floor at the Hilton Bayfront or Grand Hyatt
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Responded Apr 5, 2022
Dear Jsp04, Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We are truly sorry your stay was not the positive experience you deserve. We are sorry for not providing you with the room type you requested. We do try to honor these requests, but they are solely based on availability. We are also sorry for our staff not being responsive to your needs and we will share this appropriately. Furthermore, we are sorry that your room did not meet your expectations and that several inconveniences led you to a less than favorable impression of our hotel. We appreciate you bringing these observations to our attention. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with the hospitality and accommodations you deserve every time you choose us. Donna Lynn Chong Director of Hotel Operations
Read more
TT wrote a review Mar 2022
Virginia Beach, Virginia69 contributions57 helpful votes
This was my second visit at this property and it does not disappoint. There’s so many great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The property has some great benefits included with the resort fee. The pool area is beautiful and well kept. Richard the bellman is one of the best bellman I’ve ever met throughout my travels. He gave me a great tour of the property and was able to answer any questions I had. Richard kept a smile on his face and was always courteous and helpful. The valet could use some work but I understand they’re usually employed by third parties so I won’t deduct a star for their subpar service. There’s no doubt that I’ll definitely return to this property whenever I’m in San Diego.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
travelermampw wrote a review Mar 2022
Chicago, Illinois32 contributions2 helpful votes
Great locations for the activities we planned! Enjoyed being able to walk to gaslamp district, USS midway and the shops and restaurants in seaport village. Glad that we booked a bay views. Pool was awesome. Staff was great. Clean hotel but could use a little refresh. Beds and pillows were not comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
PamRoad wrote a review Mar 2022
Texas1008 contributions404 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay because the location is absolutely perfect if you want to stroll the marina and enjoy the beautiful harbor area. But the facilities are aging and in need of major renovations. Furnishings, carpet, bedding. It's time for some updates.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Jadah M wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed with a group of six, including myself, mid-February. We were there for a business conference. One of my party was charged $381 for a cancelation when he did not cancel and did indeed stay at the hotel the booking dates. They now will not remove the charge. Our whole group probably spent $10k staying there. They also would not provide itemized folios to us after check out. Will not go back. I will stay anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$308 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
san diego marriott marquis & marina hotel san diego, san diego marriott marquis and marina, marriott san diego
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoDowntown / Marina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1360
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Nearby attractions include Embarcadero (0.3 miles), The New Children's Museum (0.2 miles), and Top of the Hyatt (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Richard Walker's Pancake House, Cafe 222, and Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of San Diego.
Are any cleaning services offered at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.