We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 311: English reviews
Monterey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in San Diego for a wedding and booked two nights here. Arrived at the airport, called for shuttle pick up and were told it would be 5 min. 30 min later we called again and were told it would be 5 min, the driver was at terminal 2, we were at terminal 1. The hotel is about a... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2mchfn
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. I would like to apologize for the issues you encountering with our shuttle service. I have reviewed your feedback to our staff and assure you that the issues you experienced has been corrected accordingly. Again, please accept my sincere apologies. Although I realize you stated you that you... More 

Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
344 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Besides the fact that everything you happen to need in this hotel (from a snack to the mandatory valley parking) is a rip off, the hotel may be a good option due to its location and room comfort. It makes it pretty easy for you to go to several of the city highlights if you plan on exploring it.

Helpful?
Thank engped
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recent stay at the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown! I am pleased that you found our location and room comfort ideal for your needs. Due to the downtown location of the hotel we only offer Valet parking at a competitive rate of $32 per night. We hope you choose to stay at... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We left early because this place was so bad. We ordered something from room service, tipped the delivery guy very well, asked him to get a chocolate milk and he came back almost an hour later with a warm chocolate milk. We asked him about it and he got snippy. Called down to room service, he denied being tipped. Asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie L
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Julie L., Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. I would like to apologize for the service issues you encountered during your stay. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations and am very disappointed that we fell short of this during your stay. I would like to further discuss your experience so I can address this accordingly with... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here with family when in town for a wedding over holiday weekend. The price was better than other downtown hotels so thought we would try it out, since usually stay at Starwood hotels. The location was was good in that it was only a few vlocks from Little Italy, which has great places to eat and felt quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank 4pinkpineapple
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

4pinkpineapple, Thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review! I am happy to hear that your family enjoyed their stay while in San Diego over the holiday weekend. We hope to see you again during a future visit to San Diego! Sincerely, Sonam C. More 

Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We arrived early and were allowed an early check in which was appreciated. The room was clean and in good condition. All personnel provided good customer service and I would like to give special mention to Jense in the lounge. He went above and beyond to provide a special dietary request.

Helpful?
Thank Winnie211
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Winnie211, Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I will make sure to share your comments with my team and also give special recognition to Jenns. Thank you again for your comments! We hope to see you again during your future visit to San Diego. Sincerely,... More 

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Old building. Mildew on the bed. TV didn't work. Really disappointed and moving to a different hotel tonight. Stains on Walls. Probably would have been better off in a motel 6. The staff was friendly though.

Helpful?
Thank Jake M
lawgirl9171
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

Great location for exploring the city. Clean rooms, although the air conditioning system needs upgrades. Javier and Ali were wonderfully nice and helpful. Very walkable area for restaurants and sites.

Helpful?
Thank lawgirl9171
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

Well, it's definitely a 3 star hotel. You know the saying....you can put lipstick on a pig but it's still a pig. Reminded me of this hotel. It's old and they did some upgrades, but the elevators and other aspects of the hotel showed its age. It is a convenient location with respect to the Gaslamp area (it took me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jen S
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

It was our first time visiting San Diego so we wanted to do a variety of things, attractions, beach, eat. The Four points San Diego downtown was the perfect spot to be located in. The hotel staff was great and made sure they would do everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Family had a great time and we plan... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah J
sonam c, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Holtville, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016

new beds and furniture, huge TV in my room. very clean and close to other attractions. the price was fair but then when I arrived there is a 32.00 parking fee. no exceptions. just something to think about before booking.

Helpful?
Thank arcy z
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

334 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Bay View with King Bed (36)
Viewed
Bay View with Two Double Beds (27)
Viewed
City View with Two Double Beds (22)
Viewed
King Executive (36)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#106 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,792 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The recently-renovated Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown is located minutes away from Little Italy, the Gaslamp Quarter, and Seaport Village. We also offer a free shuttle to/from the airport ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown

Address: 1617 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-3003
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $131 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Diego-Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay