We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
605 Diamond St, San Diego, CA 92109-2497
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Only 1 left at
$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/22
Priceline
Only 1 left at
$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/30/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/03/22
Booking.com$129
Travelocity$125
Algotels$201
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (23)
Room & Suite (66)
Pool & Beach (9)

About

#231 of 283 hotels in San Diego
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
3.5
Service
3.3
Value
3.7
Warm and inviting, our casual beachfront hotel is the perfect setting for your next vacation. All rooms were completely renovated in the spring of 2017 featuring modern and stylish amenities. All rooms offer air conditioning and complimentary wireless internet. Kitchens are fully equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, stovetops, coffeemakers and all the essential utensils that you need to cook. Our friendly, multilingual staff is ready to help you with local advice and suggestions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Heated pool
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Arabic, Turkish
24Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 5
  • 7
  • 3
  • 1
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Joseph A wrote a review Oct 2022
My family have been coming to Pacific Beach for over 50 years. The Diamond Head Inn is a very good choice to enjoy the area. The rooms are clean considering how much beach front use they take in ....and all you need. The location is outstanding close to the bars restaurants and hustle and bustle but in a more quiet area of the beach coast so less noise and craziness. If you have kids your 5 min from your room to the water. The rooms have AC which can be a big plus. Let's get Honest this comes down to location location location. If you love the beach, or the ocean, have a family with kids you will love this Inn. If your looking for amazing furniture and accommodations then keep rolling. JIM the general manager and the staff have always taken care of us with any needs or issues we have. FYI there are two other sister properties within walking distance but we enjoy Diamond head the most if its available. You won't be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is a premium. Not 100% guaranteed a spot as you are right at the beach. You can park at...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Silver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
We really appreciate your review and especially for your staying with us. We will always do whatever we can to help make your stay the best we can. WE are lloking forward to your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda D wrote a review Oct 2022
Chicago, Illinois
I had an amazing stay until the day they replaced my mattress and the stack of clothes in the pictures went missing. The previous mattress was absolutely horrible so I was very glad to get a new mattress! But was it worth the missing $150 in clothes??
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Silver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
I am very sorry that your clothes were missing. According to maintenance, no cloths were ever found, and we would have been happy to return anything that was misplaced. I would be happy to work with you on this if you give me a call. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandra W wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
+1
Great location with a beautiful view! We arrived 3 hours before check-in and although the room wasn't ready the hotel gave us our parking permit and we were able to park right at the beach and walk around. The staff was super friendly and the room was incredibly clean despite the fact that the hotel allows pets (an amenity that we really appreciate!) Even though we only spent about 24 hours in San Diego, our stay at the Diamond Head Inn helped us feel rejuvenated and rested and like we had a much longer vacation!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Get there early and request parking. The lot is very small and the hotel only has a few spots...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Silver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded Aug 10, 2022
We are looking forward to your next stay with us, and we always offer a parking pass, offer to hold your bags, and will call when your room is ready. Thank you for your great review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kerri Forsythe wrote a review Feb 2022
Orange County, California207 contributions87 helpful votes
+1
We have stayed at this hotel half a dozen times. The location is incredible and you are at the beach. Yes parking can be difficult but once again the location is amazing. Walking distance to all the great restaurants. The main building has been maintained fairly well. The back building has not. It was very dirty. The landscaping was unattended and very overgrown. The front door looked like it had been beaten down many many times. We checked in Sunday and as of today when we checked out there was still pile of homeless clothes and some prescriptions outside our door. Never got moved. Was actually kicked to the side today by a cleaning crew. The crème de la crème was heating up our leftovers and finding cockroaches in the microwave as we heated up our food. So horribly dirty. So disappointing. The walls are paper thin and we had people upstairs pacing back-and-forth for hours. When my husband went to the front office which is two blocks away to ask what can be done to quiet them down he was told she cannot do anything because she’s by herself. My husband jokingly asked should I write a bad review online. The lady got very defensive and said well we’re going to do it anyways aren’t you. I don’t think will ever go back. It’s so disgraceful and so disheartening.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is tricky. You’ll have much better luck during the week and on the weekends.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Silver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded Mar 8, 2022
I am very sorry about your experience and do hope to reopen our lobby as soon as possible. I do have a person working in the office on the weekend nights to help with any noise. I also usually have security available throughout the evening with a few exceptions. I am reviewing your review with my housekeeping staff and hope you will try us again when we are finally restaffed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Becky Q wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We were greeted by unfriendly staff that insisted that we had the wrong check-in time. They stated "everyone knows that it's at four", even though my email confirmation clearly stated 3. In addition, I asked hotel staff 3 times if where I was parked was acceptable and they said "yes, as long as you display this paper". I asked a fourth time when I returned to check-in since the room wasn't ready the first time. My car was towed and I incurred a total cost of $400. The hotel refused to pay for the expenses. They did offer 50% off my 157 dollar stay, which does not even cover a quarter of my towing expenses.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Silver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded Mar 8, 2022
I am very sorry for your experience while checking in at our property. I did refund half of your night based solely on your check in experience and not for the towing. I still feel bad for your car being towed, but there are many signs posted warning of towing. Thank you for trying us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jared M wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
We have stayed at all three of the properties associated with Diamond Head Inn and they are all fabulous. We like the Diamond Head Location because it's super close to the beach but all 3 are very close. Everyone is great from check in to housecleaning to the manager Jim. We don't stay anywhere else. Thank you everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Silver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded Jun 23, 2021
We certainly appreciate your staying with us and only us while visiting the beach. And, we are looking forward to your stay as well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pioneer467530 wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
Just got off phone with manager! Was misquoted price. When we were there we complained to lady and gentleman about the parking! Drive for 30 to 45 minutes to find spot, had to walk to get coffee and was informed no housekeeping! No breakfast like advertised, no linens for extra bed, 2 towels and no replacements! The customer service was horrible!! No kitchen stuff provided like advertised!! So disappointed!!! Will never recommend or stay again!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Silver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded Mar 7, 2021
We do apologize for your experience, and hope to be running normally soon. We are only providing kitchen items upon request as a safety precaution. We do however offer housekeeping each and every day, and fresh linens should always be provided. Of course, if more are needed, we are always happy to provide as many as you request. Again, we are do apologize for your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kerri Forsythe wrote a review Nov 2020
Orange County, California207 contributions87 helpful votes
We stayed here in July 2020 and the room was just as clean then as it was this week when we stayed again. The biggest problem was when we went to take a shower there was no towels. When I called to get towels I felt like I was on speakerphone and not being heard very well. The gentleman had me on hold for several minutes and then I got disconnected. I never got towels delivered to my room and we ended up having to dry off with 1 face cloth and hand towel after our shower before bed. We heard some people talking a little loud outside right before bed but figured it would die down. Ended up getting louder and louder outside our door. And then about 3:00 in the morning I heard a gentleman‘s voice very stern outside these people doors telling them to knock it off, they already been warned and must go in their room and quiet down. I was very impressed with the professionalism and stern voice he used. It was completely quiet after that. So I may not of gotten towels for a shower but room was very clean and they took care of the partiers down the hall. What more could you ask for? I would stay again. Probably sooner than later.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Silver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded Dec 10, 2020
WE really thank you for your review, and for your comments. We were having issues getting any linens delivered during the summer, and quite frankly, this entire year. We have that issue resolved, and do apologize for this, and do look forward to your next stay sooner than later. Lastly, we will always do whatever we can to help make your stay the best possible.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wania wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
I wanna share my experience that began on 09/25/20. I arrived on Friday at the hotel to stay until Monday, well I come up on my first morning with bites all of my body, I did complain to them that my duvet was uncovered, I said that was wrong but the housekeeper said was the proceed, but they did move me to another room... so again I woke up even worse and when he new room they putted a cover on the duvet, but next day the housekeeper did change the stuff but left again the duvet without a cover. I left the hotel one day before my real checkout and they didn’t wanna refound me at all. One more thing was that in the Expedia app the day in serving the breakfast but when we arrive the day no, but I paid more bc was all inclusive. The housekeepers did even though away my trash that was in a plastic bag on the floor and I made videos to prove. Well zero star and I don’t recommend no one to have this sad experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Silver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded Nov 11, 2020
I am very sorry to hear about your experience with us, and have already forwarded your comments to my housekeeping department. We do wash the duvets between every guest, and have them dry cleaned whenever necessary. Our policy is to only charge for the actual nights stayed regardless of how many nights you have either prepaid or reserved. I would really like to talk with you to make sure you were only charged for your stay and not for any additional nights you were planning. Again, I am very sorry for your stay, and hope you will contact me.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelley T wrote a review Sep 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Absolutely amazing hotel! Beach front. Our balcony looked over the boardwalk! We had a suite with a kitchen! Service was fantastic! This is our new favorite hotel! We will definitely be staying here again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Silver, General Manager at Diamond Head Inn
Responded Sep 28, 2020
We are so happy that you were able to enjoy one of very best rooms! We do hope you will stay with us again in the very near future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$142 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
diamond head hotel san diego, diamond head san diego
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoPacific Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DIAMOND HEAD INN $104 ($̶2̶0̶2̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews - San Diego, CA

Frequently Asked Questions about Diamond Head Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Diamond Head Inn?
Nearby attractions include Mission Beach (0.2 miles), Bare Back Grill Pacific Beach (0.1 miles), and Pangea Outpost (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Diamond Head Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a heated pool.
Is parking available at Diamond Head Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Diamond Head Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Baked Bear, Kono's Cafe, and JRDN Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Diamond Head Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Diamond Head Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Diamond Head Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Arabic, and Turkish.
Are there any historical sites close to Diamond Head Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mt. Soledad National Veterans Memorial (2.8 miles), Mormon Battalion Historic Site (4.8 miles), and Whaley House Museum (4.9 miles).
Is Diamond Head Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.