We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Show Prices
#22 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,005: English reviews
Concord, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location was the best. We had a beautiful view of the Bay and City lights. We had a balcony so we could sit out and see the ships passing. Room was very nice and everything was in order. Hotel was clean and very well managed. Will be back!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherry J
Spencer P, Front Desk Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

We love to hear you were so happy with your visit, Sherry! It's great you found our hotel and your room to be nice and clean, and we're glad you enjoyed your balcony and the beautiful views! We can't wait to welcome you back. Spencer Priest Front Desk Supervisor (619) 222-0561

California
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has nice views of the little harbor with yachts. Beautiful area in San Diego. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed (including a small refrigerator, microwave and hair dryer). Beds and pillows were comfortable, and the internet worked fine. My only complaint is the breakfast. It DOES NOT have a complimentary breakfast, like many other Best...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SammyCalifornia
Spencer P, Front Desk Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us and I'm really glad you enjoyed your visit! It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed our location as well as our rooms and amenities. I'm very sorry for your issues at breakfast. It's really disappointing to read about your experience, but I appreciate you letting us know so we can investigate these issues and...

Saskatoon
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had enjoyed a wonderful one night stay, clean, comfortable, quit and the the staff were the "BEST"! We would come back again. Close to airport and easy to get around the area. Disappointed that breakfast in not included at this location which is a "BW Plus"! However Natasha made it right and we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast! Thank you...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
Carlsbad, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

Best Western never let's us down but I have to say this is one of my favorites. Although we live 40 miles away my husband and I love coming here just to veg! The City is close but if you don't want to go there everything is here at the hotel. Love it!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
Green Valley, AZ, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

I scheduled a surprise anniversary trip to San Diego to celebrate our 27th. The reviews of Island Palms and the prices helped me decide where to stay. We had a great room overlooking the bay. The next morning I stepped into the tub for a shower and got dizzy as the bottom moved like a water bed??!! I reported it...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
Beaverton, OR, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved this property! The only improvements needed were in the restaurant. Most choices were good, but we received cold oatmeal for breakfast and we waited for parts of our orders a little long twice.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheryle P
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel. I will stay there again. The staff was extremely nice. I plan on coming back during the summer. My company chose a great spot for the training. There was lots of room. The only problem, the hotel didn't provide coffee or tea

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brenderh
Shelton, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

On our last two visits to San Diego we've stayed at the Island Palms and are so happy with the accommodations, beautiful location and great service. We often stay at Best Western's across the county and the Island Palms is one of the very best. Just got through booking a family get together later this year with family up and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevan S
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a large complex of low buildings. The landscaping is pretty and well maintained. There's a nice boardwalk along the marina side. We stayed twice and both times were upgraded to a suite by the desk staff :) The suites have kitchen facilities, basic but comfortable and clean, and patios facing the water. The restaurant serves an average dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob2885
Spencer P, Front Desk Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Bob, I'm so glad to know you really enjoyed both of your visits! We appreciate your compliments of our front desk staff, rooms, and landscaping. I'm delighted you enjoyed staying in one of our Grand View suites and we hope you'll have the opportunity to return before long! Spencer Priest Front Desk Supervisor (619)...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our final stopping point before flying home. I have stayed in a number of Best Western properties around the globe and always found them to be good value mid range hotels. This one however has changed my mind. Doesn't the Internet make everything look so good........until you get there and see for yourself! It's in an ideal location...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank elodare
Spencer P, Front Desk Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this review

I can't begin to tell you how sorry I am that you experienced these issues during your stay with us. The problems you encountered are in no way acceptable or typical for our hotel's standards. Please accept my most sincere apologies for our failure to provide you with the clean, comfortable room and adequate housekeeping service you expected and deserved....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,181 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1096)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (216)
Viewed
Room/Suite (229)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
View from Room (145)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (64)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (357)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,927 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
1,009 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 278 in San Diego
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $143 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina staff and other travelers.
92 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (92)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Have a choice of bay or marina view.....both are great !!”
 of 5 bubbles 25clarkh, 2 days ago | Read review
“I prefer the bay view over the marina and get a second floor room/suite.”
 of 5 bubbles travel1212181727, 6 days ago | Read review
“If you want a view, you need to be on the second floor at a minimum. Both bay and marina views are great.”
 of 5 bubbles NancyZ167, 1 week ago | Read review
“Depending on your choice of view of the marina or the bay. I was happy with my view of the boats and yachts”
 of 5 bubbles Becky197043, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Harbour side has nice views”
 of 5 bubbles Madsdeg, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question