We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
901 Camino Del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Expedia.com
$155
View deal
Booking.com
$155
View deal
Etrip
$135
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/22
Hotels.com$155
Travelocity$155
travelup.com$162
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (260)
Room & Suite (363)
Dining (45)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Updated 12/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#174 of 283 hotels in San Diego
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.0
Value
3.7
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The newly reimagined Hilton San Diego Mission Valley hotel puts you in the center of San Diego, within reach of the most popular attractions, largest corporations, universities and shopping centers in America's Finest City. Located minutes away from the San Diego International Airport, near Hotel Circle, our Mission Valley hotel provides access to all of the major freeways and is just minutes from the San Diego Zoo and SeaWorld San Diego. Come experience Latin flavor with a Baja twist at Polanco Kitchen and Bar. Start your day off with our delicious breakfast buffet. Unwind with a nighttime snack or drink from our grab-and-go Neighborhood Market Place. Located in the heart of the Mission Valley/ Hotel Circle Business District, Hilton San Diego Mission Valley is centrally situated with easy access to freeways 5, 8, 163 and 15.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking garage
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
1334Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 510
  • 334
  • 236
  • 128
  • 126
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dave B wrote a review Sep 2022
Park City, Utah10 contributions12 helpful votes
If you want to get screwed over, come stay at the Hilton San Diego Mission Valley! Glad to see so many other 'happy' guests of this crap a$$ place that I'll never stay at. My travel plans changed, couldn't make the trip but 'tough luck Chuck!' 'We're still taking your money!', and at the same time I get nothing in return for it, not even the points. And the likelihood of them selling the room again to double up on the margin? I'd say that's about 100%. Don't worry Hilton San Diego Mission Valley, I'll never stay at your $hit property.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Murrell, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Responded 3 days ago
Greetings Dave B, Thank you for taking the time to compose a review about your recent experience. We would like to apologize that we had to stand firm on our 48 hour cancellation policy with you. As we expressed to you, the hotel was sold out and the reservation policy is clearly stated on all confirmations and website. I also apologize that you feel the need to use vulgar terms to express your displeasure. Best to you in your travels, Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aaron M wrote a review Aug 2022
Page, Arizona8 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Not sure what other reviewers saw in this place or what exactly they are expecting. It’s a Hilton hotel. Like every other Hilton hotel. People out here are expecting luxury amenities, room service, turndowns. It’s $200 a night buddy let’s bring down those expectations to the real world a little bit. Everyone is short staffed and we we all need to go with the flow and not be so picky about everything. Stayed 2 nights last weekend 10th floor quiet side overlooking the hillside. Slept great, it was quiet, everything worked as it should, front desk was friendly as well as the bartender on Friday afternoon. Great SD beers on tap!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Murrell, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Responded 3 weeks ago
Greetings aaronmerullo, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your experience. As you do have a few more contributions then others on the site, and by reading your review, I can tell that you do travel and have a more realistic expection then others. Please let me know when I can personally welcome you back and I will certainly do my best to replicate this 5-Star experience that you recently had. Best, Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SVas wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I am staying in the hotel for 9 nights. They failed to provide laundry services as advertised. The GM answer was go get your own detergent as they were out. How can a hotel not have detergent?!! Room is musty / smelly Cleaning - they do not replace any dirty glasses. They continue to use paper cups. Bed , sheets, pillow is average. Not crisp and fluffy as you would expect from a 4 star. I was ok to almost medal with it but the failure to delivery service as promised was final straw that has got me to write this. I will not be returning to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Murrell, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Responded 1 week ago
Greetings ShrutiV20, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review based upon your recent experience. I do personally apologize again that the stay fell short of expectation. During our short conversation, to confirm your comment, we were out of a guest laundry detergent for our self service machines. The hotel is happy to offer the machines for our guest use. Detergent was purchased and expected to arrive the following day. We are a short walk to the nearest store, and I did offer to take the trip up to fetch some for you since it was not readily available on hand. I apologize that you did not want me to do so. Additionally, I wish that I would have known that you did not find the room to your satisfaction. We do provide both paper and glassware in our rooms. Had the cups not been replaced, we would have happily replaced them for you. Possibly something that our housekeeping overlooked but certainly could have been resolved quickly. I apologize that some easily fixable items soured your desire to return. If you do have a change of heart, as I know you are moving your son into school and our location is rather close, please let me know and we will make sure to have detergent and a comfortable room for your enjoyment. Best to you, Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Firoze wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Place: Hilton San Diego Mission Valley Address: 901 Camino del Rio South, San Diego, California, 92108 Date of incident: September 10th 2022 Amount of money paid to the business: $498 The business committed to provide a hotel room for 2 nights stay The hotel bed caused me a terrible skin rash after lying in it for few hours. In addition the room was unsanitary, musty, humid and dirty. I checked out immediately and did not stay a single night. I checked into my room in the morning and then proceeded to take a nap and rest. I was lying on the bed on my back with my shirt off and skin touching the bed sheets. When I woke up and sat upright in the bed I felt a painful tingling sensation on my back. It felt as though the sheets were glued to my back and then ripped off. I proceeded to take a shower and could feel and see the skin rash quite clearly. I was extremely concerned. I proceeded to call Hilton Corporate office to speak with them and file my complaint. Then I went to the hotel front desk and told them about the bed causing me a skin rash, and I asked to please switch rooms. The supervisor proceeded to tell me they were fully booked for the night and there was nothing that could be done. Management was defensive from the start and tried hard to ignore or deflect the problem onto others. I had paid for 2 nights but was only in room for few hours and checked out due to the skin rash the bed had caused me. I asked for management to authorize a refund and was told that they can not authorize the refund I must speak to upper management and they are not available today and was given a business card. I proceeded to gather my belongings and check out. I left a message with the Hotel Manager explaining the situation and requesting he authorize a full refund. It is now the next day and I have received no response and am awaiting a proper resolution to this incident. This is serious health concern and violation. My trip is ruined because and this has caused me an extreme amount of stress health wise and also financially. I paid for 2 nights stay, but checked out of the room after only few hours. No refund has been provided and I left a message with Hotel management and have received no response. This hotel is run extremely poorly. It is absolutely not a four star hotel and I will contact the rating agencies with my concern as well. If the hotel was given 2.5 stars is would be more appropriate and customers would understand what they are getting. The fact that is it rated 4 stars seems like the hotel is running a scam, tricking customers. Please take a look at all the recent reviews for this specific hotel. They will show how poor this hotel is being run. I can surely tell you that the hotel is not sanitary and has big problems and your health can suffer if you stay here. I would value your health over paying any amount to stay at this place. I will also contact health code departments in California as they need to inspect this hotel immediately.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: If you care about cleanliness and your health I would avoid this hotel until new management is...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Murrell, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings Firoze17, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience that you had at our hotel. I apologize that the day and evening that you were here was not enjoyable and has caused you to publish this review and others on different social media platforms. I did speak with the team that was here that evening, and they too wanted me to convey their apology as well. The evening that you were here, as they did tell you, we were at capacity. Their fear, as is mine, that had you have moved rooms, this could have occured again if there was something that you were allergic to. In all my time that I have been here, I can honestly say that this was the first time that I am hearing about this occuring. We are diligent in cleaning our rooms to prepare for the 100s of guests daily and the 1000s weekly that we have the opportunity to welcome. The cleaners and laudry detergent that we use is and are some of the best in the industry. Reservations that are reserved via third party companies are handled different with our hotel. Since you had already prepaid the third party, any refunds would need to happen between you and them. Again, I apologize for your recent experience. Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natasha wrote a review Sep 2022
8 contributions
I don't know where to start! I'm giving this property 3 stars instead of 2 ONLY because the level of customer service we received outweighed our horrible room. Checked into our room and as soon as I walked in the door I tripped and almost fell and broke my neck on the black electrical tape holding the carpet and flooring together in the entry walkway. (picture attached) I wanted to lay down and relax a little bit before heading out. Pulled back the sheets and was immediately repulsed by STAINS on the fitted sheet and pillow case. (picture attached) I called the front desk and they sent someone up immediately to change the bedding. But why was it like this is the first place??? The bed was uncomfortable. Went into the bathroom and the wood on the door frame was rotten. (picture attached) The AC read 65 degrees but you could only feel it if you were standing right in front on it. We were literally sweating and uncomfortable most of the time. Housekeeping was not automatically done. You have to request housekeeping 24 hours in advance and even then it was hit or miss. We had an issue with our vehicle and the maintenance crew was very nice to help us and allow us to use their supplies. However, overall I was very disappointed in this "4 Star" property. It is clearly old and in desperate need of upgrading. I will never stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Murrell, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings Ladyspivey71, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your recent experience with us. I apologize that this stay soured the very thought of a potential return visit. In reading your review, I am pleased that the team at the front desk was a shining moment of the stay. Not just the desk, but also all those behind the scenes I take a lot of pride in daily working along side them. If you possibly could, contact me and provide me with the room number in which you stayed. I tried to determine which room you stayed in, but of the few rooms that I went to, I could not find a room with both the tape on the threshold as well as the bathroom wall in the condition that you have shown in your pictures. I do visit rooms daily and I both of these would certainly be items that the team would have addressed long before they were in this condition. As a brand, Hilton is only offering housekeeping services upon request. We have this noted on our website, listed as part of the check in process, as well as signage in the room letting our guests know about this. This is not only for your protection but ours as well. In addition many locations around the globe are having staffing challenges, which this, also assists us as operators as well. I am always one who believes in second chances. The team and myself pride ourselves in the long days and hours looking after our guests. If you would care to give us a second chance, please reach out to me and I will personally look after your next stay. Best, Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alexlojohnson92 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Uncomfortable bed, half-assed room cleaning.. Not worth what I paid. I was also charged $50 deposit I was told would be returned to me after my stay. I did not get anything extra and my bill I was emailed didn't indicate anything other than the charge for the room. It's clear this hotel is not interested in improving customer experience. We won't be back
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Murrell, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings alexlojohnson92, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your recent experience with us. Just as I am sure you did before traveling, you consulted reviews to assist in getting a better idea of where you would be staying as well as what other travels experiences were. With this being your first review that you have contributed to this site, I apologize that it was not a better one. It is rather hurtful to the team and myself to start reading a review with the title that states that there is a lack of care being demonstrated by the team that we have assembled. A large part of your review centers around the $50 per night incidental authorization. It is an authorization and not a charge. If you utilized a debit card it does appear to go through as a charge, instead of a credit card would show it as pending. Additionally, it usually takes 3 - 5 business days to see that returned. If you checked out on a weekend, it would take an extra day or two. If you are still not seeing it, the suggestion that we have is to contact your bank (best number is on the back of your card) and they should be able to assist further. Again, I apologize that you did not have a better experience with us. If you would like to return, please contact me and I will personally look after your next visit. Best, Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John d wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
There's a lot to like about this hotel, but the lack of a comfortable designated smoking area is a deal killer for me. When I inquired about a smoking area the desk clerk said, "there's one of those cigarette disposal things in the employee parking lot." I then asked if there was a bench (it takes me a good hour to smoke my nightly cigar). The answer was, "no you can just stand there." No thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Murrell, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Responded 3 weeks ago
Greetings johndP1620YW, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your recent experience. I would like to personally apologize that you did not have a better experience while you were here, and it has soured your willingness to return. Similar to yourself, I am familiar with having a good cigar at the end of a long day. Part of hospitality is listening and responding to our guests with solutions that we have at hand. If I had heard that this was an item that we could have provided to you which would have enhanced the stay, I certainly would have found someting for you. If you would like to reconsider and stay with us again, please let me know and I will personally look after your room, rate, as well as ensure that we have something comfortable for you to enjoy your evening ritual. Best, Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
akhan921254 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Housekeeping wasn’t automatically done. And not even when repeatedly requested during a 3 nights/ four day stay. Hardly could get fresh towels but no additional toiletries. Bring your own soaps and shampoos … and trash bags and bedsheets if possible. Stuffy smell in room and corridor. Pool that looks very big in pictures is of an average home pool size with no bathroom/shower with it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Murrell, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Responded 3 weeks ago
Greetings akhan921254, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your recent experience with us. As it is outlined on our Brands website, housekeeping services are still limited even after the pandemic to ensure that both our guests and team members are maintaining health and safety standards. This is also due to labor shortages that every hotel is experiencing. I will look into why your repeated requestes were not fulfilled as we do pride ourselves in the fact of responding to our guests requests in a timely manner. IF you are looking to return to our hotel, please let me know and I will personally do my best for you in providing the best room at the best rate possible. Thank you. Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sfuentes2022 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Because we found some Mucus on the wall near the decks/lamp and when I told the front desk they assured me that some would go up and clean it. because it was late in the day maybe the room would not be able to be done in which i said it was fine as long as they clean wall. Well it did not happened and we when arrive late in the nigh it was still there. next morning I told them, what had happened and they went to clean it at that point. very disappointed in they service and yet Aim a Hilton Member!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Murrell, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Responded 3 weeks ago
Greetings sfuentes2002, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your recent experience. As you know, Hotels depend on the feedback of their guests, to remedy a challenge that a guest may have witnessed during their stay. In looking back through housekeeping logs, to confirm it does appear that they did go up to your room and address the items that you are mentioning. We must apologize if this was reported the prior day that it did not get addressed. I did notice that you reserved your room via Priceline and your Honors profile is not attached since that was the method in which you reserved your room. In the future, please make sure to earn Honors points and credits for your stay, its always advised to book direct. Thank you and I apologize if housekeeping missed a step. I know that they are trying their best. Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Curtis H wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
We reserved conjoined rooms for a trip to San Diego. The price was good for San Diego; however, one of the rooms smelled musty or moldy. We asked for a different set of conjoined rooms and yet we had the same problem where one room smelled. At that point, we chose to check out and stay at another hotel. I explained the problem to the front desk and the front desk still chose to charge us for the hotel rooms. I reached out to the manager, but he did not take my call or return my message. This was the worst experience I have received at a Hilton branded hotel. I would rate zero if I was allowed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mike Murrell, General Manager at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Responded 4 weeks ago
Greetings curtishi, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your recent experience with us. I would first and foremost like to apologize that the stay and accomdiations did not live up to expectations. We do the best that we can for every guest in trying to honor their specific requests about their accomidations. It seemed like the connecting room was the one item that extremely important to your stay. I know that the team tried to honor this request in both situations. It seemed like both times that you were moved one of the rooms was not satisfactory. Which we could have had you stay, but just not in connecting rooms. Also, I would like to apologize that I do not recall recieveing a call from you, but I did see that you mentioned your experience to Hilton guest assistance, which I believe that we responded to. Regretfully due to the time of day that you left, we were unable to reclean and resell the rooms that you went to. It does also appear that the front desk did let you know that you would charged for the evening. I apologize again that this experience did not live up to expectations. The team does their best and I have shared your comments with our team. If you would like to return to give us another oppotunity we would certainly welcome that. Please contact me and I will personally look after you and your reservations. Best, Mike
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$154 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton san diego mission valley hotel san diego, hilton hotel san diego, hilton mission valley, san diego hilton
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoMission Valley / Hotel Circle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
352
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton San Diego Mission Valley?
Nearby attractions include Red Door Escape Room San Diego (0.6 miles), Fashion Valley (0.6 miles), and Mission Valley Center (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton San Diego Mission Valley?
Conveniently located restaurants include True Food Kitchen, The Cheesecake Factory, and Plumeria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hilton San Diego Mission Valley offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton San Diego Mission Valley?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton San Diego Mission Valley?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mormon Battalion Historic Site (2.3 miles), Whaley House Museum (2.3 miles), and Gaslamp Museum at the Davis-Horton House (3.7 miles).
Is Hilton San Diego Mission Valley accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.