We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1835 Columbia St, San Diego, CA 92101-2505
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/19/22
Expedia.com
$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/19/22
FindHotel
$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/21/22
Hotels.com$159
Travelocity$159
travelup.com$712
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (272)
Room & Suite (133)
Dining (42)

About

#198 of 283 hotels in San Diego
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
3.6
Service
3.7
Value
3.3
Tucked in the heart of Little Italy, only four blocks from San Diego harbor, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a breezy gateway to everything the city has to offer. Whatever you'd like to do, see, taste, or try is only minutes from this hotel on the edge of Downtown San Diego. The quaint bistros, shops and art galleries of Little Italy are right outside our doors. A two-minute cab or trolley ride gets you to Petco Park and the vibrant Gaslamp nightlife district, Old Town San Diego, the museums of Balboa Park, and Qualcomm Stadium. As a truly unique choice among affordable hotels in San Diego the Porto Vista features impeccable service in a dynamic central location. Shuttle service is provided to nearby locations including Airport, Cruise Terminal, Convention Center, Amtrak, Gaslamp Quarter/Horton Plaza. Some amenities are currently closed due to COVID-19.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Salon
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Rooftop bar
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1917Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 706
  • 386
  • 297
  • 241
  • 287
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jlfmby6qap wrote a review Aug 8
1 contribution
The location of this place is fantastic. Right in the middle of Little Italy. However, there are plenty of places to stay in that neighborhood. This place was very outdated, dingy and just not very nice overall. We were comfortable in our room but there were many things broken e.g. water fountains in the lobby, a puddle of water in the hallway that grew larger during the duration of our stay. At one point I asked the front desk for a bandaid and without checking, was told they were out (which is part of a basic first aid kit). I guess for the money / night it was ok. But if you're at all looking for a place with decent decor, don't stay here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
hmgjd8sp7b wrote a review Aug 7
1 contribution
Great location, yummy food at Glassdoor (when the cook shows up) but dirty room, stained furniture, AC constantly shut off, refrigerator didn’t work and running water in shower that wouldn’t shut off.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alyssa K wrote a review Aug 7
Elmsford2 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is dirty with broken lights, water on the floor and broken elevators. Very unsafe with no signage to get around the hotel. My first room was dingy and the door didn’t close. I was told I couldn’t cancel so I was moved to a new room with cob webs, an odor and a broken ac. I was told this was my only solution. Looks nothing like the pictures. The “pool” was small, hot and poorly maintained. It was also closed for an event. I killed a bug crawling on me as I left. Will never go back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
alyssa756 wrote a review Aug 7
Monroe, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel looks nothing like the pictures. The hotel has unsafe conditions, no signage broken elevators or elevators that only go to certain floors. I took multiple pictures of broken lights and water on the floor. My first room was dingy and the door didn’t close. My second room smelled, had a broken ac, and cob webs. The staff insists this was a satisfactory solution. Multiple people had similar complaints as I was checking out.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
N C wrote a review Aug 7
1 contribution1 helpful vote
DO NOT STAY HERE. IF YOU WANT ACCURATE REVIEWS GO TO YELP. Please please please do your self a favor and stay far away. The photos are not what the hotel rooms look like. The rooms smell like mildew. The AC unit are old and dripping wet and look like they were installed during the Bush residency and I'm not talking Bush jr. The walls are paper thin so you can hear people outside and the other people in the other rooms. There were bugs flying around in the restroom. This place is horrid and filthy and they shouldn't be charging what they charge. Ended up leaving due to a family. However, my friend arrived later and used the parking for 10 minutes because we ended leaving. I was still charged 45 dollars when I was told by valet I would not be charged. Called and spoke with the front desk manager asking for a refund and he denied my request because of the time I had checked in to the hotel and checked out because I stayed a few hours. I never arrived via a car and arrived via Uber/Lyft which I can prove. Since there was no proof of the time we parked the car I am unable to receive a refund. Not only is it a filthy location that is falsely advertised they also lack customer service!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Your safer at a best western
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
genibre69 wrote a review Aug 4
London, United Kingdom3210 contributions1073 helpful votes
+1
A three-star rating is definitely pushing it; much more a two-star! Like someone else mentioned there’s no “room” or overhead light so you’re relying on the bathroom light and side table lamp. The interior of the building (where the rooms are) is all ugly concrete. On the plus side, the bed is quite comfortable, my room was immaculate and the shower pressure was very good. Decent bath towels as well. The location is fantastic and the on-side gym has a surprisingly good amount of equipment. Wifi works great.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Leslie A wrote a review Aug 2
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Very disappointed in myself thinking this hotel will be perfect for our family trip. No room service = anything you need new of you have to go to the front to ask for it.... AC made the room humid= CLOTHES will feel wet and smelly. Parking is $45/NIGHT Toilet clogged in the middle of the night, Bathroom door is broken ( hard to close) SAVE YOUR $ - this is A MOTEL.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Cooper, General Manager at Porto Vista Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
H1840DXlesliea, We appreciate you staying with us and providing feedback. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. While we do not service rooms on a daily basis, you also do not need to go to the front desk for anything you need. All a guest needs to do is dial 0 from their guest room phone and a hotel team member will bring the requested item(s) to the room. Our parking rate is competitive with other hotels in the area and unfortunately we cannot control when or why a toilet clogs but we have someone on duty 24/7 who can unclog it. We will have Engineering check the A/C unit and bathroom door to ensure they are working properly. We look forward to you giving us another opportunity to experience what you were expecting on your most recent visit.
Read more
nao wrote a review Aug 2
9 contributions
Porto Vista is one of the most affordable hotels in the area. It is located in Little Italy, within walking distance from many things. I have stayed there a umber of times in the past year or so. One time, there was an issue about which I wrote a review. The manager got right on it and has been on top of everything since then. It's that kind of personal touch that makes a world of difference. In addition to its gourmet (and complementary when booked directly) breakfast, the hotel's Glass Door restaurant now offers substantially delicious appetizers and drinks with a spectacular view. After a long day of work, there is nothing more relaxing and rewarding than sitting out in the balcony with a few refreshments and tapas served by energetically gracious staff. Simply put, Porto Vista Hotel, San Diego, is a gem.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Book directly for the best value with complimentary breakfast.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Cooper, General Manager at Porto Vista Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
nao891, Thank you very much for your loyalty and providing a review. We're glad you enjoyed our restaurant, not only for breakfast, but after work as well. The view of the water from the 4th floor is definitely a nice way to relax after a long day. We appreciate you letting us know where we fell short on a previous visit and have given us the opportunity to make it right. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Read more
Nonotmeplease wrote a review Aug 2
1 contribution
Food wrappers on floor from last tenants; very cheap waxy soap + shampoo; cheap formaldehyde particle board furnishings; water damage around A/C; front door looks a bit chewed on; elevator "decor" ugh -- I guess this could be one of those highlights that you remember about the place, but it's a memory of tackiness, embarrassment and sadness. Had to cheap on the A/C unit cranked throughout the night so the white noise of it would help wash out other tenant noise.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Cooper, General Manager at Porto Vista Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Nonotmeplease, Thank you for staying with us and I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Please contact me at acooper@portovistasd.com and let me know which room you stayed in so I can personally inspect the room and ensure it is up to standard. The inside of our elevators are designed by local artists and are supposed to be an experience while riding in them. We have other pieces of artwork from local artist throughout the hotel as we try to support local culture. Art is subjective and I'm sorry you feel it is tacky and an embarrassment. A lot of guests enjoy the fact that one elevator has interactive lights that change with sound.
Read more
Serra S wrote a review Jul 2022
Southern California2 contributions
We stayed for SDCC and were thrilled with the location. It was a quick walk to the train station and there was so much to do (and eat!) within walking distance of the hotel. Staff was very friendly and our room was excellent. I've seen some reviews complaining about the price, but for SDCC I thought the rates were fair given how close we were to the convention center. For people complaining that no one came to clean the rooms during your stay--we are living in Covid times!! Things are different right now!! I had no problem with that, and the front desk was always helpful when I needed extra toilet paper or towels. I'm really hoping to stay here again if we get SDCC badges next year, this is my new go-to hotel for the convention!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Cooper, General Manager at Porto Vista Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
TattooedWoman, Thank you for staying with us and giving us a 5 on your review. We're glad you enjoyed Comic Con and found our location to be a great base camp during your time in San Diego. We appreciate you understanding of the measures we have put in place to help protect guests' and team member's health as COVID continues to infect people. The Front Desk was happy to read your comments as they try to accommodate guest requests in a timely manner. We look forward to you staying with us again whether it is for Comic Con or just to get away and enjoy San Diego.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$177 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ascend collection san diego, san diego ascend collection, san diego clarion
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoDowntown / Little Italy
NUMBER OF ROOMS
190
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Porto Vista Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Porto Vista Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Little Italy (0.1 miles), Little Italy Mercato Farmers' Market (0.2 miles), and Little Italy Mercato (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Porto Vista Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Porto Vista Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Porto Vista Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Porto Vista Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Porto Vista Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salt & Straw, Pappalecco, and Cafe Gratitude.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Porto Vista Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is Porto Vista Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of San Diego.
Are pets allowed at Porto Vista Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Porto Vista Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Porto Vista Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.