We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Show Prices
#122 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,057: English reviews
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewed October 23, 2015

Great location near Point Loma and Mission Bay. Clean and quiet hotel. 5 to 10 minutes from the airport.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Robert A, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear we are a “clean and quiet hotel”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near famous San Diego attractions and...

Reviewed October 23, 2015

50 Year traveling salesman review. Average to poor cleanliness. Mediocre breakfast with cramped conditions. Good location does not make up for average to poor motel. Ancient Fat TV with horrible reception. About $100 but only worth $50.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George T
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear George T, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We always aim to wow our guests and are so disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the challenge you faced during your stay. Your concnerns have been addressed with our staff, so that improvements can be made. We...

Idaho
Reviewed October 21, 2015

I checked in here after a terrible nights stay at another hotel. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. David was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. He was even able to get me checked in a few minutes early. The rooms are very clean with lots of space. I had mentioned at check in that I was thrilled to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SmileyIdaho
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear SmileyIdaho, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear “the staff is very friendly and accommodating”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, our rooms do feature a coffee maker and are delighted you wee...

Calexico, California
Reviewed October 19, 2015

I ask for a Handicap Room ,and when my family and I arrive to the Hotel the receptionist did not read that instruction so they didn't give me that room and they give a 2nd floor Room so imagine holding my daughter to the 2nd Floor, because she is in a wheelchair and also was raining.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jose Ignacio S
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Jose Ignacio S, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the challenge you faced during your stay. We always aim to wow our guests and are so disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. When booking through a third party reservation company, room type is unable to be...

Beaverton
Reviewed October 19, 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nahilo
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Seaside
Reviewed October 16, 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Littlerock, California
Reviewed October 15, 2015

1st impression of this motel is its an older place, which is clean and well kept. Dave the clerk was very nice and informative. The room was of average size and was clean. Plenty of space to do what's needed. The bed however is terrible, both my wife and we're very uncomfortable throughout the night. Tossed and turned all night...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank memikie
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Memikie, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the challenge you faced during your stay. We always aim to wow our guests and are so disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. Please know your concerns have been addressed and all beds will be replaced by 2016. We...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed October 14, 2015

the accommodations and the sympathy of the personnel at the reception and breakfast and the internet were very good, but i asked for a problem with the safe and the same wasn't resolved. The anterior guest has locked the safe and they don't opened it. The room service wasn't good. Only one soap and kits were delivered in four days...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H3354NMpauloc
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear H3354NMpauloc, Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding he challenge you faced during your stay. We always aim to wow our guests and are so disappointed to have missed such an opportunity with you. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay...

Reviewed October 13, 2015

We stayed here the night before our cruise and left our car there for the 5 night os the cruise. It cost about $110. Excellant deal. Parking lot is small, so I was concerned about dents. No problems when we picked up. Room was clean and decent, what I expected. I would stay again if/when we cruise out of San...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Amanda S, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear the “room was clean”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer stay & park packages and are delighted you were able to...

Council Bluffs, Iowa
Reviewed October 11, 2015

The staff was polite and attentive to our needs. The room was clean and kept clean throughout our stay. The staff is professional and just nice people. Our internet connect was slower then I expected.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanjg
General M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World, responded to this review

Dear Stephanjg, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Howard Johnson San Diego SeaWorld. We are thrilled to hear “the staff was polite and attentive to our needs”. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#93 of 279 in San Diego
721 reviews
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#221 of 279 in San Diego
1,168 reviews
Point Loma
Ramada Limited San Diego/Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World

Address: 3330 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92110
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $96 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - San Diego Sea World / Airport Hotel San Diego
Howard Johnson San Diego
San Diego Howard Johnson
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#40 Green Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World staff and other travelers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn San Diego Sea World staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you enjoy cereal for breakfast......you might want to bring your own, as the hotel's choices are very limited.”
 of 5 bubbles Longstreet7, 1 week ago | Read review
“Room 205 is toward the back, quiet and spacious with two queens. It's on the side that doesn't face the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles IanI144, Jan 17, 2017 | Read review
“close to airport”
 of 5 bubbles mauricem931, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
“The location was great everything is very close and easy to reach.”
 of 5 bubbles 247tinalb, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“Based on the age of our rooms and the exterior, I doubt there are any 'good rooms'”
 of 5 bubbles 421keitham, Aug 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question