We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Save
Share
660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$244
Expedia.com$244
Hotels.com$244
Priceline$244
FindHotel$244
eDreams$244
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (486)
Room & Suite (424)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#96 of 295 hotels in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Fully reinvented, ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter in downtown San Diego, California. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid public parking nearby
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1575Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 747
  • 548
  • 168
  • 59
  • 53
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
bayda asbridge wrote a review Jan 15
1 contribution
Our trip from MA to San Diego didn't start well as our AAA travel agent made terrible mistakes with booking and they couldn't find us in the system, still they provided us room and service until the issue is resolved. for 9 days, we got to know knowledgably and courteous Mr. Jeffrey Burg, General Manager, the polite Valet guys, the staff at the reception Justine, Vanessa, Marcel...Extremely friendly, helpful, dedicated... to got to know them by name! The room/ beds/ pillows were very comfortable and clean. They even provided us with a little fridge and microwave upon request because of the length of our stay. not to mention that the hotel in in the center of the Gaslamp Quarter, everything was in a walking distance! All in all, it was a great memorable experience, thank you all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: rooms on the 12 floor were quiet
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
CWB71 wrote a review Dec 2021
Baltimore, MD428 contributions21 helpful votes
I travel fairly often for business and personal reasons, but I don't always provide online reviews of the places where I stay. I opted to do so in this case because my experience was great and did not match a handful of negative reviews that immediately preceded my stay. I stayed here for five days in December. This is a great cost-effective hotel, and I felt that I got a bargain for the rate I was paying given the quality of the hotel, its location, the staff, etc. I looked at other properties before choosing to stay here, and other hotels were notably more expensive and did not offer anything more in terms of benefits or services. The hotel has a great location. It is at the lower end of the Gaslamp District and thus close to many restaurants and bars, and it is next door to Petco Park. I had business at the convention center and the Hilton Bayfront, and I was able to walk to those meetings in only a few minutes. My room was not the most updated room your will find at a Marriott hotel, but it certainly did the job. It had all the normal amenities, including a great work space, comfortable bed and pillows, and powerful shower, and it was clean upon arrival. The room was also quiet at night. I had no complaints with the room or hotel spaces. The staff was very friendly but not overbearing. Things got off to a great start when I arrived to check in and was assisted quickly by Michael. Whenever I had a quick question about the local area, business center, etc., the staff was quick to assist. This is a great hotel for those traveling for business or pleasure, and I would stay here again if I am back to San Diego soon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Paul O wrote a review Dec 2021
Palm Desert, California54 contributions47 helpful votes
I have stayed at the Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 5 times during the past year and each of those stays have provided an exceptional experience. The staff from the front desk, housekeeping, restaurant and valet have worked hard to be attentive and personable despite the limitations in the amenities they can offer due to Covid. The location is ideal whether you want to be near Petco Park, the downtown area or want easy access to Mission Valley or Old Town. You should also watch for their promotions for AAA members because it can provide free parking - savings of $50/night- Even without that benefit this is the place to go if you want to spend a night or three in San Diego,
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Petco Park is right next-door and nearby Fifth Avenue offers a wide variety of restaurants and bars.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
CBabij wrote a review Nov 2021
La Quinta, California11 contributions19 helpful votes
We booked 2 rooms for the weekend with plans to meet some good friends and enjoy some fishing on Saturday. Huge mistake .. unless you have a need to be at this location I suggest going elsewhere. $500 a night for each room… NO service to speak of, I mean they do nothing other than Check you in. The hotel is old and smells bad. Desperately needs updating…Beds are old and uncomfortable.. no cleaning or even towel service. noise level is ridiculous.. might as well have paper walls. First night we are there the fire alarm goes off in the middle of the night.. then stopped.. then again! With some guys voice coming straight in the room to “apologize for the inconvenience”. Totally unnecessary to start talking over the megaphone… clearly we knew it was a false alarm as it stopped right away. Oh but that’s not all… they have a rooftop bar they open to the masses so the elevators are packed with party people … second night a loud rock concert right outside the hotel in the street went late into the night.. again no sleep. And they don’t bother to offer coffee in the lobby as most high end hotels do……..And to top it off .. $18 each for the most horrible breakfast buffet ever. Really.. it was bad. I would NEVER stay there again. Biggest waste of $2,000 ever.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeffrey Burg, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Responded Nov 18, 2021
Dear CBabij, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations and your visit was disturbed by noise from other guests and an event occurring next door to the hotel at Petco Park. In an effort to mitigate the spread of Covid-19, we along with all major hotel brands have paused daily housekeeping service. We are refreshing rooms by request only- I apologize if this was not conveyed to you when you arrived. Regarding the fire alarm, unfortunately an individual pulled an alarm pull station in the lobby and all efforts were taken to silence this alarm as soon as we were able to at the direction of the San Diego Fire Department. It is usual and customary to advise guests that there is no need to evacuate the hotel when there is a false alarm. Once again, we apologize for an unintended inconvenience and not meeting your expectations.
Read more
Eduardo wrote a review Oct 2021
United States2 contributions1 helpful vote
A week ago me and 3 teammates were representing our University in a national competition and stayed in this hotel. On our stay we were also accompanied by two professors. One of them left a day earlier and on our last night he asked us to ask in the counter for a pair of shoes he had forgotten in his room. One of my teammates (African) went to the counter and asked the lady working there (Ara B.) for the shoes. She proceeded to tell him that said room didn't exist and after some back and forth confirming the number of the room and its existence, he head back to the elevator to come back to our room in frustration before she stopped him by telling him "he was not allowed on said elevator", she kept repeating that until he showed her his room key and left her without words. Once he came back he asked my other teammate (Caucasian American) to go down there and ask about the subject. Once again the lady said the room didn't exist before they went up there took a picture of the room itself and brought the evidence back down to her. She went on to say that "it was 1:30 am and she wouldn't deal with this (at the moment)". Last but not least I myself (Mexican) went down there and as I was just explaining why I was down there, she interrupted me mid sentence and called security for him to be right next to me as I was politely talking to her. This was just a summary of all the rudeness that we encountered, something no one, especially a client should endure. We have the full support of not only our university but the whole committee of San Diego State University (hosts of the competition) as they have emailed the company directly. *The whole situation is documented as we have pictures, videos and recordings of the conversations, "room that didn't exist" and if they check their cameras they can even find the lady not letting my teammate access the hotel elevator.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeffrey Burg, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Responded Oct 27, 2021
Dear EduardosZ2370YG, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Needless to say, we are stunned and would like to discuss what occurred with you. I can be reached by calling 619.446.6033. I hope to speak with you in the near future. All my best, Jeffrey Burg
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$204 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
san diego marriott gaslamp quarter hotel san diego, marriott san diego
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoDowntown / East Village
NUMBER OF ROOMS
306
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Which popular attractions are close to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter?
Nearby attractions include Petco Park (0.2 miles), The Shout! House (0.3 miles), and Gaslamp Quarter (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter?
Conveniently located restaurants include Basic, Half Door, and Meze Greek Fusion.
Are there opportunities to exercise at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of San Diego.
Are any cleaning services offered at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mormon Battalion Historic Site (3.8 miles), Whaley House Museum (3.7 miles), and Gaslamp Museum at the Davis-Horton House (0.2 miles).