We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,274: English reviews
palmdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have never had a hotel or motel leave ear plugs on the night stand. I know why now.. the tram runs until midnight. ask for a room as far away from this tram station as you can get and plan on using the ear plugs.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear "Jerry H", thank you for your review of the hotel that will provide great knowledge for other members of this community to make an informed decision whether to stay here, and your business! The ear plugs are provided as mitigation of the noise, but we do understand that they are not well received by some guests. I am sorry... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Overall this was a typical HI. The room was clean and had all of the normal amenities I have come to expect from this chain. The breakfast was good, hot, and fresh. My main complaint is the noise. I was on the back side of the hotel and could hear the metro train coming through every 15 minutes throughout the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kennedjt
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear "Kennedjt", I want to thank you for posting this review with the positive aspect of the hotel (the breakfast and cleanliness), and the negative of the train noise. I am sorry that the earplugs were not an option for you, but if otherwise you would like to stay here again, please let me know so that I can block... More 

Brunswick, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We spent three nights in San Diego before the embarkation of a cruise. The hotels that the cruise line sponsored were more expensive and we've always been happy with the Hampton brand, so we made the very wise decision to stay at the downtown property. The location was in easy walking distance to restaurants and shops, and the hotel shuttle... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mamasock
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear "mamasock", I am so glad tha you enjoyed your visit in San Diego and that in part the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown was a part of it. I hope your cruise was a great one and we hope to serve you again in the near future! Respectfully, Miguel Rojas More 

ROCKY POINT NY, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

LOVED THIS HOTEL. !t was very convenient location and mass transit easy to get to . Staff was out standing . loved waking around many parts of the city from its location . I have stayed in many hotels and this one is well managed

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm G
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear "Malcolm G", thank you very much for your kind words about the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown, we pride ourselves in trying to make a guest's stay as comfortable as possible. I hope that we will get a chance to see you again soon! Respectfully, Miguel Rojas More 

San Diego, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Hotel is clean and the hotel staff is friendly but the location and parking are terrible. The rooms were well kept and clean and the beds comfortable. I had issues connecting to the internet but didn't have the time to try to fix the issue. The big downside of this hotel are the rrain track noise and the tight parking... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Daryl T
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear "Daryl", thank you for your hones feedback and for your business, I am really sorry that we did not live up to your expectations due to the quietness factor. I am not sure if you stayed closer to the back of our property, but in the near future, should you decide to give us another change, I would like... More 

Jax Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I always stay at this Hampton Inn when visiting Riverside. They always have the best rate, the rooms are always clean, staff always courteous, and the breakfast room is well maintained. They upgraded me the last two times I was there and actually ended up staying in the same room both times. Feels familiar and comfortable. The only downside is... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear "Paul M", on behalf of the Hampton Inn Chain, I thank you for reviewing a sister property. I'm not sure if you also stayed at this location, but I appreciate the fact that at least you love staying at one of our other locations. I encourage if you ever come down to San Diego to give us a chance... More 

Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My last stay with Hilton San Diego Bayfront has really pissed me off. With a Hilton crdit card in pocket, I've decided to explore other Hilton properties in San Diego downtwon area, and ended up staying at this Hampton Inn for three nights. I would say the management team of this Hampton Inn has really put their thoughts to work... More 

Helpful?
Thank richard x
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear "Steven S", thank you so much for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown, I really appreciate your comments with respect to how you felt about our staff as compared to the staff at the other property you mention here. I am so sorry that our building is on the noisier side both due to... More 

Ridgecrest, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great stay at this hotel. Nice rooms with a decent view and a nice pool. My son was able toplay his games free on the in room internet. Location was good too. We went to Midway to tour ship. We were also offered a ride by the hotel staff to Hooters in the Gaslamp District instead of having to pay... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear "Charlotte B", I am so glad that you found The Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown to be so in line with your needs. Like you mentioned, we certainly provide free Wifi and a complimentary shuttle services to nearby locations provided subject to availability as we also go to the airport which is a priority. I am glad to see... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Service throughout the Inn is fantastic from room cleanliness to the breakfast. Front desk folks are great. Train whistles, trollies bells and trash trucks are the only distraction at the Inn. Little Italy is close by as are several seafood places.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tom R
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear "Tom R", thank you very much for your business and for taking the time to relate your experience about the Hampton Inn San Diego Downtown! I am glad you found our hotel clean and enjoyed the breakfast. I am sorry because of the noise caused by our proximity to the train lines. We hope that despite this, we have... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in 100's of Hampton inns across the us. This was one of the worst based on a comparison to other similar hotels. Yes there is a train, yes there is noise but that wasn't the big deal. Building is old rooms are smaller than most other hamptons. Layout of the hotel is just goofy. Doesn't have that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tcroll
GM_Miguel, General Manager at Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear "Tcroll", I am so sorry that you felt that our hotel compares negatively to other hotels of our same chain. We pride ourselves in trying to maintain all of the chains standards and I truly believe 'that we do. I am sorry that you found our layout goofy and the rooms smaller, but unfortunately I cannot do anything to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

213 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (161)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#114 of 283 in San Diego
2,083 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#176 of 283 in San Diego
466 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right in the heart of the Embarcadero San Diego downtown, the award-winning Hampton Inn San Diego-Downtown hotel represents the best in California hospitality. We're a 177 guest room hotel dedicated to providing the finest level of hotel comfort. Experience fun and adventure as you sail around the cruise terminal. Savor delicious Italian food in Little Italy and the Gaslamp District. Get close to wildlife at SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo. Catch a big league game at nearby Petco Park and Qualcomm Stadium. The possibilities are endless when you visit our friendly hotel in downtown San Diego, CA. We're conveniently located just off of I-5 - only a mile from San Diego Airport and the San Diego Convention Center. Two blocks from the beauty of the San Diego Bay, we're less than half a mile from the cruise terminal. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown

Address: 1531 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $110 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hampton Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown staff and other travelers.
21 questions
Ask a question
USA
Saint Cloud, MN, USA
Harrisburg

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn San Diego - Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Select a room that is away from the train tracks. Check out the AC unit noise before”
 of 5 bubbles Traveler36025, 2 days ago | Read review
“Forward facing!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 185craigm, 1 week ago | Read review
“Front of hotel or stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 287JoeB, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms in front of hotel are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles JamalB883, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“To avoid train noise, pick a room on the lower levels close to the road, or on the upper levels a room that faces the inner courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles 218DanielB, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay