We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Diego Marriott Del Mar

Save
Share
11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2592
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lowest price we found
$237
View Deal
Marriott Hotels$237
Booking.com$237
Agoda.com$237
FindHotel$237
Hotels.com$237
Expedia.com$237
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (23)
Room & Suite (90)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 07/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Updated 07/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#192 of 291 hotels in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Newly-renovated Del Mar hotel, located 20 minutes north of Downtown San Diego and just South of Solana Beach. As one of the top Del Mar hotels, we promise unforgettable stays with room options from deluxe guest rooms to spacious suites with separate living areas. Our brand new guest rooms feature hardwood floors and a bedding experience like no other, with thicker mattresses, cotton rich linens & piles of plush pillows. Kick back and catch up on your favorite shows on HDTVs with Netflix in-room streaming. Book a concierge level room for access to our redesigned executive lounge. Our convenient location makes us the best UCSD hotel around. Additionally, enjoy easy access to San Diego, Torrey Pines, the Del Mar Racetrack, Fairgrounds, and more iconic attractions. Our newly-remodeled Arterra restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner, great happy hour deals with unique drinks, and a sushi bar for everyone to enjoy. We have over 20,000 sq. ft. of space for large events & meetings.
Read more
Room & Suite (90)90
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
38Car recommended
Grade: 38 out of 100
30Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
0Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
33Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 15
  • 10
  • 2
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nyqwil wrote a review Sep 18
Marina del Rey, California213 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
Keeping COVID era in mind, The hotel was sparsely occupied. The Room was clean with plenty of towels and hand sanitizer.The in-house restaurants were closed and we're not serving any meals, however, the bar had happy for drinks only. The staff was very pleasant and appeared to just be happy to have our business. I'm a stickler when it comes to water pressure and the reduced flow shower would be my only complaint.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you "Nyqwil" for your feedback. We are happy to know that you had an overall nice stay. Yes, we are doing additional protocols around clean and safe experiences as you shared. Our restaurant is currently open 5 nights a week; Tuesday to Saturday 5pm to 10pm (bar service is available with food orders) both inside and outside patio. Our Tera Cafe is open all mornings between 7am to 11am for coffee and light grab and go morning offerings. Safe travels and we hope to see you return soon!
Read more
DHPham wrote a review Sep 3
San Diego, California84 contributions40 helpful votes
The hotel is very clean and classy looking. Modern and up to date. The room was clean and beautiful. The design is modern and new. Had a very quiet and restful stay. staff was so nice and service was great. Initially I was next to the a room with very loud people, but the hotel accommodated and moved me and it worked out so much better. The walls do seem very thin. It was the most perfect retreat during a stressful time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are ecstatic that you had such a great experience with us. We appreciate you sharing how clean and classy, modern and up to date our hotel is. Please come back and visit with us again soon. Safe travels!
Read more
Kitty wrote a review Aug 2020
New York4 contributions4 helpful votes
I'm not sure if the state of things at this Marriott is how it's always been, or if it's a temporary lapse in service due to Covid hospitality fatigue, but I would probably not stay at this hotel again. It has some redeeming features, sure. First, there is a coffee maker in the room. Second, it's been renovated recently and although the dark brown on brown on grey color scheme is too melancholy for my taste, everything looks pretty new and neat. The lobby is bright, clean and spacious. If you're a no frills business traveler that just needs a fairly ok and benign place to crash for the night, you could do worse than this hotel. However, there is no maid service at this hotel. I mean none. I was there for 3 days and no one came to make up the room in that time. Eventually I had to run down a housekeeping cart to get some coffee pod refills. When I ran out of towels, I tried to call down to the lobby to request some more but the phone wasn't working. I wouldn't be surprised if it was a decorative phone that never worked. I called the hotel several times on my cell phone until someone picked up and when I mentioned the broken phone, the response was a polite "sorry." No one offered to replace the broken phone with a working one. They sent up some towels that smelled kind of mildewy. Later when I went down to the lobby and (nicely) mentioned some issues, like the total lack of housekeeping, again I received a polite "sorry" but no explanation and no attempt to correct any issue. The air conditioner in the room was barely working. It was sputtering like a dying engine and the entire time it was on, the room temperature did not budge a single degree. The sheets were ok - I don't mean to be a sheet snob, so I'll say they were alright and if you're used to sleeping on soft sheets at home you may find these a disappointment. They charge 10 dollars a day for wifi unless you're a Bonvoy member, but they did not apply my Bonvoy number upon check in so I had to go the front desk and ask to have the WiFi charges removed. A minor inconvenience but there were a few too many for just a couple night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded 1 week ago
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. First, we appreciate you acknowledging our rooms and amenities as we did recently complete a renovation. Please accept our apology for missing a few things regarding your stay. Yes, because of Covid, Marriott is limiting potential exposure between guests and staff, this includes housekeeping. Once the room meets our clean and safe standards, staff do not enter the room during one's stay. We are happy to bring up additional towels and toiletries as you mentioned. On the 4th day of one's continuous stay, we will conduct traditional housekeeping services. Wifi is complimentary for Bonvoy members and we are glad you shared your number with our staff so we could provide you this benefit. We hope you give us another try when you return to Del Mar.
Read more
seesuzgo wrote a review Jul 2020
21 contributions
This Marriott has a great pool and amazingly comfortable beds. That is why I rated it a 3. The staff was also pretty good. The gal that initially checked us in was great, I should have grabbed her name! The rest were ok, nothing special and even one gal on the phone when I called was a bit rude. Here is my issue: Because of COVID everything that one loves about being a preferred member (I am gold) we don't get. There is no connoisseur level breakfast , actually no breakfast at all, no maid service until day 4 and no extra reward points, no gym, no free parking (you know for the inconvenience), no upgrades, etc... I really don't understand the gym being closed. A hotel gym usually has 1 or 2 people in it at a time. I mean change the locks so that we have to get a key at the front to enter, that way you can control how many people in at once. This hotel has one tiny jaccuzzi which holds 8 people. Even at 8 people there is no social distancing. However, the jacuzzi had about 12 - 15 at any given time. Now I am not complaining about that, if a person is fine with the closeness then have at it. My issue is if we can be this close in the jaccuzzi why can't we have the gym open? I will say the hotel was monitoring as best it could to keep the limit to 8 and were very good about closing it nightly at 11. I get it, the state is closing gyms so they have no control, I guess. I do not get the maid service at all. We were there 4 days with 4 people with 2 coffee pods and 4 towels. We had to constantly call down for more coffee, toilet paper and towels. The room is a couple miles from the beach so we had to deal with sand in the room the whole time. I can sweep my own floor but of course there is no broom and no maid service. Marriott I am not sure what is going on here but this isn't the service I have come to know and love. The other weird thing and I don't know if this is new, but the ice was on floors 3, 6, and 9. So me on 10 had to drag my ice chest to 9 and then back again. Not a giant ordeal but again a little inconvenient. I suppose if I want to still travel right now I am going to have to learn that I don't get small conveniences anymore. I think I need to just stay in AirBnb's.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Our room didn't face the pool which is probably much quieter.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Ferguson, Marketing at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded Jul 30, 2020
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience. Happy to read that you enjoyed the property itself, our pool, and the staff. Unfortunately, the gym not being open for the time being is out of our hands as we are following state and county orders. Their ordinance not ours. We are offering a voucher/credit for the restaurant at dinner or to be used at our market with the temporary closing of the concierge lounge. Unfortunately, buffets do not fall within the current guidelines either. As travel picks up and hotels get busier, I think you will find your travel experience begin to normalize. We are at a time that everyone is having to adjust based on the current conditions. At least with a hotel vs an Airbnb, you have brand protocol on cleanliness and safety, a restaurant to prepare and cook your meals. :) Safe travels and we hope to see you return soon.
Read more
Dave wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Recently stayed in this hotel for a weekend getaway before welcoming a baby. Room and amenities are beautiful. We always stay in this area at nearby hotels. Love the location. No complaints regarding the hotel itself - if all went as expected for Marriott, we would happily have stayed again. However, it did not. We booked a concierge floor room, expecting that the typical concierge amenities would apply. Upon arrival we were informed the concierge lounge was closed due to COVID. Instead we were comped hotel parking, which was appreciated but very much an annoyance since we received no prior disclaimer. The restaurant also closed an hour early - would have appreciated knowing this at checkin. Room cleaning service was also not available. Our shower also dripped throughout the night. Some of the staff we encountered were helpful while others were condescending, rude, and seemed irritated dealing with guests. We stayed three nights and room cleaning service did not come once. We had to call down on the third night to request towels & toiletries. We had purposely left our room once we saw housekeeping near our room on the third day so that our room could be serviced. We were informed they had scheduled a cleaning for the "fourth night" due to COVID. Again, this was not communicated during check in. Otherwise, we could have mitigated different expectations. Lastly, we had to report items stolen from our room on the third day that totaled <$1000+. There were no security cameras on our hall. We filed a police report and a report with Marriott, but this is an exceptional burden for what was supposed to be a nice getaway before having a baby. I have never thought twice about my items or family's security in a Marriott. This experience has changed that.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Ferguson, Marketing at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded Jul 30, 2020
Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize that your experience fell below the expectations we have for our guests. Unfortunately with the current environment, some of the traditional amenities have evolved to insure a safe and clean experience including all of which is shared on our website and other social media. Housekeeping service is tailored back due to reducing potential exposure for our staff and for our guests. Towels and other toiletries are being delivered when requested during one's stay. Regarding things missing from your room, we do have a process in place where we can always investigate who has entered the room via our key system.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$110 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
san diego marriott del mar hotel san diego, marriott san diego
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Diego
NUMBER OF ROOMS
284
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about San Diego Marriott Del Mar
What are some of the property amenities at San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ken Sushi Workshop, Spices Thai Cafe, and Ruth's Chris Steak House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does San Diego Marriott Del Mar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Heritage County Park (3.4 miles).
Is San Diego Marriott Del Mar accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.