We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
11966 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
$195
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$195
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com$195
Marriott Hotels$195
Travelocity$195
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (29)
Room & Suite (100)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/15/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Updated 06/15/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#206 of 283 hotels in San Diego
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
3.5
Value
3.4
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Newly-renovated Del Mar hotel perfectly located 20 minutes north of downtown San Diego and moments from Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve. As one of the top hotels in Del Mar, we promise unforgettable stays with room options from deluxe guest rooms to spacious suites with separate living areas. Our brand new guest rooms feature hardwood floors and a bedding experience like no other, with thicker mattresses, cotton rich linens & piles of plush pillows. Kick back and catch up on your favorite shows on HDTVs with Netflix in-room streaming. Book a concierge level room for access to our redesigned executive lounge. Our convenient location makes us the best hotel in proximity to UCSD. Additionally, you will enjoy easy access to downtown San Diego, La Jolla, Torrey Pines, ample world class golf, One Paseo and Del Mar Heights shopping and dining, the Del Mar Racetrack, Fairgrounds, Polo Fields and more. Our newly-remodeled Arterra restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner, great happy hour deals with unique drinks, and a sushi bar for everyone to enjoy (COVID restrictions permitting). We offer over 20,000 sq. ft. of space for large events & meetings of all kinds.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Paid private parking on-site
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
36Car recommended
Grade: 36 out of 100
26Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
0Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
71Reviews2Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 30
  • 13
  • 2
  • 9
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JBMtraveler71 wrote a review Aug 10
San Diego, California25 contributions25 helpful votes
This hotel has a great location but terrible service. The manager forgets to mention that to get your room cleaned you need to ask them during checkin. And the same person is surprised that I didn’t know. The towels are dirty, the phones don’t work. You need to walk down to pick up your “in-room dining”. Overall the service of this Marriott hotel is terrible.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Kermabon, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded 2 days ago
Dear "JBTraveler71," Thank you for your recently submitted review after your stay at the Marriott Del Mar. I was very disappointed to learn we did not make a great impression or provide you with the experience you were expecting. Please accept my apologies for not having met your reasonable expectations. I would like to ask that you consider contacting me directly at (858) 369-6001 at your convenience so that I can learn more about the details of your experience with the goal of resolving the matter to your satisfaction. I look forward to hearing from you. Warm regards, Tom Kermabon Area General Manager
Read more
Scott B wrote a review May 2022
Redondo Beach, California22 contributions15 helpful votes
I am a Titanium Elite Bonvoy member and this was about my 15th to 20th stay at the wonderful Marriott Del Mar, which is my home away from home when in San Diego! Each time I travel here, my experience is always great but this time it was even more special. I was traveling to San Diego to celebrate my cousin's birthday and Jason greeted me when checking in. He went above and beyond to #1 provide me a great room with beautiful views as I requested. It was on the 10th floor, so easy to go up to the 11th to access the concierge lounge. I have experienced his warm welcome on previous trips too but wanted to take time to recognize him for his outstanding service. Upon checking out, Athena also treated me in a very warm manner. I have experienced many of the staff at this great property going above and beyond to make me feel very welcome and provide outstanding stays. The location of this hotel is very ideal, convenient to the freeways and the rest of San Diego but quiet and quaint, allowing for a relaxing stay. Finally, I travel with my service dog and the area is absolutely wonderful to walk him each morning. There is a wonderful pedestrian way that starts close to the hotel on Valley Centre (just past the light at Carmel Vista Rd) and runs through the spine of several of the area's neighborhoods and ends up at a wonderful park, Carmel Valley Recreation Center. Favorite market Jimbos is near that park, so always stop in to get some delicious vegan and organic treats.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Higher floors are best for great views though all the rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Kermabon, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded May 28, 2022
Dear "Scott B," Thank you very much for submitting your thoughtful review after your recent return stay at the Marriott Del Mar. It is great to know Jay and Athena provided warm, hospitable service and that you regularly enjoy our beautiful outdoor options in the neighborhood. Especially as a Titanium Elite Bonvoy member, your praise means a lot to our team after a tumultuous couple of years for us all. Isn't Jimbo's great? I agree! We look forward to welcoming you and your service dog back to your home away from home in the near future. Warm regards, Tom Kermabon Area General Manager
Read more
Laura Z wrote a review May 2022
Mexico City, Mexico13 contributions23 helpful votes
I've stayed at several Marriotts over the years, but this one is definitely the worst of them all. The hotel is under staffed and if you stay here, be ready to carry your own luggage, go down to the restaurant to pick up your "room service" order, (packed in disposable boxes), wait two days to have the sink unclogged, wait more than two hours to get towels to be able to take a shower... A total disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Kermabon, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded May 9, 2022
Dear "lauraz891," Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your feedback after your recent stay. I was disappointed to learn you felt we did not meet your expectations overall. Please accept my apologies. We do not offer room service at this time, as that amenity has not returned since the start of the pandemic. I would be happy to discuss the details of your experience at your convenience. Please feel free to contact me at (858) 369-6001. Warm regards, Tom Kermabon Area General Manager
Read more
John K wrote a review Apr 2022
Culver City, California7 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel was nice enough and would have been fine if we hadn't been charged an extra $30 to park and then found out the hotel's electric car chargers were out of order. We arrived late in the evening and had to get up very early in the morning to find a fast charger somewhere in the area. Unacceptable in this day and age.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Kermabon, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your recent review after staying with us. Please accept my apologies for the challenges you encountered as related to not being able to utilize a charging station for your vehicle and the inconvenience that caused. I can completely empathize with how this must have made you feel and I can assure you I have already followed up with the organization that operates the garage and manages the charging equipment in question. Again, my apologies. To clarify, the cost of self parking is $30 per night with unlimited in and out privileges. Using a charging station in the garage, when operational, comes with an additional fee. Thank you again for your time. We hope to have another opportunity to create a memorable experience for you in the future, but for all the right reasons. Warm regards, Tom Kermabon Area General Manager
Read more
Trail596032 wrote a review Apr 2022
5 contributions5 helpful votes
I recently stayed her with my partner while in town for a family event. I arrived right at midnight and the front desk agent (Joseph) went to check me in and he couldn’t find my reservation. He said that I arrived just at the precise time when reservations turn over in their system and I was probably marked as a no-show. I actually have had this issue before so I knew of what he spoke and he explained that he would have to essentially create a new rez for me and that would be faster than trying to extract my original rez out of the system. He recognized my Ambassador status and I am sure could sense that after a full day or traveling I was ready to get to my room. He was quite apologetic, gave me some free waters and soda while I waited, comped my parking fee and upgraded me to their largest suite on the executive club floor. All without me having to ask and really without me even complaining. (I think I looked really tired!!!) The room was spacious with a separate living area, huge bathroom and nice, comfortable bed. They had an executive lounge on the top floor that was open during our entire time and the bartender and concierge who staffed it all weekend were friendly, helpful and the food was good and free drinks are always appreciated. The housekeeping was thorough and all-in-all it was a great stay and exactly what I want from a full service Marriott.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Kermabon, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded Apr 6, 2022
Dear "Trail596032," Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your TripAdvisor review after your recent stay at the Marriott Del Mar. I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay overall and that we met your expectations, as expected, especially as an Ambassador member of our Bonvoy loyalty program. I am glad Joseph capably handled your arrival and helped create a memorable experience after a long day on the road. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back when your future travel plans bring you to the San Diego region again. Thank you again for your time and choosing the Marriott Del Mar. Warm regards, Tom Kermabon Area General Manager
Read more
Kristi J wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had a room block here for our wedding and I don’t know where to begin in how horribly we were treated. It’s one thing to charge us $5 per person to hand out guest bags - but it’s even worse when they charge you and they don’t even hand them out. Guests said the rooms were dirty and bathrooms had hair in the sinks when they checked-in. Most important - Laura (Sales Manager) was beyond rude and unresponsive. When she did respond she would lie and completely change the terms. Not sure how she could possibly be in sales or customer service. Marriott - I expected better from you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Kermabon, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded Mar 4, 2022
Dear "671kristij," Thank you for submitting your review. I was deeply concerned to read your feedback and immediately checked with my leadership team to understand what happened. Unfortunately, the issues you reference are not familiar to us. Is it possible you intended this review for another hotel other than the Marriott Del Mar? If not, I would like to ask you to contact me directly at your convenience at (858) 369-6001. Thank you for your time. Warm regards, Tom Kermabon Area General Manager
Read more
DelMar wrote a review Jan 2022
22 contributions4 helpful votes
nice athmosphere, great front desk staff, beautiful ambiance, pool, jaccuzzi superb! near whole foods, restaurants and fairgrounds, race tracks, beach not far away. Miniture gold next door. be careful and call ahead if there are young people partying...we did not and it was so loud all night long with young people banging on doors and running up and down the hall ways. Front desk recommended to call ahead to ask if young teams are booked. Then Do Not Go and post pone your trip.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Kermabon, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded Jan 11, 2022
Dear "healthyquality," Thank you very much for your 5-star review! We were delighted to earn it and sincerely appreciate the time it took after your recent stay at the San Diego Marriott Del Mar. I would like to also apologize for the disturbances you endured while in residence and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Tom Kermabon Area General Manager
Read more
kTraveler wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions4 helpful votes
UNACCEPTABLE stay: Bed in room 1029 is squeaking and I am only 130 lbs tops. I informed the hotel via the chat app the morning after of unrestful stay. This is supposed to be an upgraded room since I'm Bonvoy Titanium Elite. Also the room smells musty like bathroom air goes back in though the vent into the rooms. To top it off, INCORRECT CHARGES on my bill which I am still disputing- Spoke to CARMEN today 12/21 at 0830a who states she will pull the file and pass it on to Manager DOMINIQUE who will sign for approval and then Billing Person TIM will process but it can take another 5days since he has a lot to process per Carmen: He has a lot to process? How many mistakes are happening if this is the case? Room is not a Marriott quality for Titanium Elite.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Kermabon, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded Dec 22, 2021
Dear "BonvoyPlatinumElite," Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your feedback after your recent stay. I was disappointed to learn the challenges you encountered while in residence made you feel that the stay was "unacceptable." Please accept my sincere apologies for not having met your reasonable expectations. Rest assured we will expedite the billing correction to the best of our ability. With regards to your room assignment, and with all due regard for your Titanium Elite status, we have 3 suites among our 284 guest room total, limiting availability for suite upgrades when demands are higher. We are hopeful of another opportunity to welcome you back and demonstrate our what we are truly capable of. Thank you for choosing the Marriott Del Mar. Warm regards, Tom Kermabon Area General Manager
Read more
Carlos H wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Had an incredible stay here at this hotel, The restaurant AMAZING! Try there burger its to die for! Front desk did a good job checking us in but have to hand it to JOSE from the Valet part. Did a great job recommending places to go too and how to have just a more memorable experience! will definitely be coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Kermabon, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded Nov 19, 2021
Dear "Carlos H," Thank you very much for your complimentary review after your recent stay at the Marriot Del Mar. We were delighted to receive your complimentary feedback and hope to have to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. All our best from Del Mar! Warm regards, Tom Kermabon Area General Manager
Read more
Robert C wrote a review Nov 2021
Dallas, Texas2 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is clean and the people working at the hotel are good but management does not seem to understand they are in the business of customer service. The hotel chooses to use dish network for its tv programing. And dish network is in a dispute with cbs. So the hotel decided that it is ok to not have cbs available for its customers. The hotel feels that an apology will satisfy its customers. But an apology is not a solution. I told them I am not looking for an apology but a solution. In today’s world there is many things they could have done as a solution but the hotel is not concerned about satisfying customers. Some of the options that a hotel could have done to resolve this programming issue is. 1. Have cbs available using YouTube tv or another internet service through WiFi. 2. Even just have a YouTube tv app on the tv so I can sign into my personal account. 3. set up the hotel with an over the air antenna to get the channel. 4. Offer a list of local sports bars where I could have watched the football game. That is a list of 4 options I can come up with in 10 mins but the only thing this hotel wants to do is give us an apology. And the dispute with their satellite provider has been going on for a month now so it is not like this is a new issue for the hotel. If you are not going to offer cbs at your hotel then you need to make that clear on your app/ website. I personally would have never stayed at this hotel if I had known I would not have been able to watch a specific football game. Oh and I was told a manager would call me to discuss and the manager that called me had a huge attitude. Needless to say I will not be staying at this hotel in the future and I will have to consider if I stay at a Marriott in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Kermabon, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Del Mar
Responded Nov 17, 2021
Dear "robertcL8134TZ," Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at the Marriott Del Mar. I was disappointed to learn the details of your complaint. Please accept my sincere apologies for not having met all of your expectations or providing you with a response that was to your satisfaction when you voiced your concern. We offer a well-rounded compliment of television channels in all our guest rooms, including CBS. The televisions in our lively bar are supplied with broadcasts from Direct TV as that typically provides us with more commercial-free options, including regional sports programming. While it is impossible for us to manage the agreement between Direct TV and CBS, we do the best we can with the many existing channels we have access to as we try to accommodate the wishes of our patrons simultaneously. Even if we could broadcast CBS in our bar right now, it doesn't necessarily mean we would based upon what the programming is. A FIFA World Cup qualifying match, for example, might warrant more interest than a Dallas Cowboys contest. I hope this information helps, but if not, I'm still empathetic to your frustrations. Thank you for choosing the Marriott Del Mar. Warm regards, Tom Kermabon Area General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$277 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
san diego marriott del mar hotel san diego, marriott san diego
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Diego
NUMBER OF ROOMS
284
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about San Diego Marriott Del Mar
What are some of the property amenities at San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ruth's Chris Steak House, Spices Thai Cafe, and Ken Sushi Workshop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does San Diego Marriott Del Mar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to San Diego Marriott Del Mar?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Heritage County Park (3.4 miles).
Is San Diego Marriott Del Mar accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.