We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
17550 Bernardo Oaks Dr, San Diego, CA 92128-2198
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$404
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/28/22
Booking.com
$404
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/28/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Snaptravel
$186
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/23/22
Hotels.com$404
Official Site$343
ZenHotels.com$417
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (831)
Room & Suite (207)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 02/10/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Rancho Bernardo Inn
Updated 02/10/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#34 of 283 hotels in San Diego
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Located in San Diego, Rancho Bernardo Inn offers business and leisure guests an experience that is both peaceful and rejuvenating. A member of the distinguished Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Rancho Bernardo Inn is a destination resort known for its exquisite golf, spa facilities, and exceptional cuisine. A true destination for the entire family, the 265-acre property features 287 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, three swimming pools, an award-winning full-service spa and fitness center, multiple dining outlets, room service or in-room dining, and extensive meeting and event facilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Room service
Safe
Iron
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
3157Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,119
  • 560
  • 232
  • 140
  • 106
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dawn A wrote a review Aug 10
4 contributions
I was here last weekend with my husband and kids and we had an amazing stay! The hotel is only 15 minutes from the Safari Park!! That was the main reason we chose the hotel. There were 4 other families staying at the hotel with us. The grounds are beautiful! The hotel is surrounded by lots of old trees including eucalyptus which smelled so fragrant in the morning. There is a garden full of flowers and butterflies too! You really feel like you are stepping back in time here. My kids loved the DVD library at the front desk (we couldn't figure out how to use the DVD player in the room and engineering came out immediately!!) The hotel reminded me a lot of Alisail in Solvang! Customer service was excellent! I accidentally left a few items behind in our room, and Dennis called me and let me know he would fed ex them to me! So kind!! We ate breakfast outdoors overlooking the golf course 3 mornings and it was so peaceful, the service was great! Highly recommend the breakfast burrito! We ate dinner off site and it was super easy to get an uber. There was no service at the pool bar, you had to call room service for food and drink deliveries, which was pretty fast. Unfortunately that created a lot of waste with plastic cups, to-go containers and bags. My kids loved movie night at the pool. They only got to see 30 minutes of it because of technical difficulties. I recommend a Classico King. Our room was right next to the valet and appeared to me renovated, no stairs to go up and down. The bed was comfortable. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 442dawna, Thank you for sharing this feedback after your recent visit to our resort. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experienced and appreciate you commenting on the excellent customer service you received. We hope to see you return again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stevenpless wrote a review Jul 2022
Pasadena, California1 contribution
We started planning our wedding over a year ago, and RBI was one of the first venues we toured. From the beginning, Jennifer Guynn was compassionate and helpful. Anytime we had a question, she was quick to respond and willing to help in any way possible. We ended up deciding to hold the ceremony and reception next door at the Country Club of Rancho Bernardo, with our room block at RBI, and Jennifer continued to offer assistance, including helping us secure the room block, setting up golf cart transportation the weekend-of and securing photo locations. Of all the planning details that went into the wedding, our accommodations were among the most stress-free thanks to Jennifer. The weekend went off without a hitch and our stay at RBI was one of the highlights. From the moment we arrived, the Bell Services team was friendly and quick to help us move our items to our room. Even as we moved from room to room, bell services were always friendly and willing to help and we'd like to thank them for making our stay calm and enjoyable. We also held several events at the Veranda restaurant including a groomsmen breakfast and a going away brunch after the wedding, and Lewis went above and beyond to make sure that we were taken care of. He was very friendly, remembered our names, and went as far as offering to store and serve leftover wedding cake. I cannot thank Lewis enough for helping us create great memories with family and friends that will last a lifetime. Whether you're looking for a place to host your wedding or just looking for a great place to stay, I cannot recommend RBI enough. We can't wait to return!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear stevenpless, Thank you for sharing this amazing feedback about your recent visit. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience and appreciate you recognizing our team members that provided exceptional service. We will be sure to share these comments with them and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vivian H wrote a review Jul 2022
Silverdale, United States10 contributions
We came here from Washington state to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. It has been an absolute nightmare. We checked in and walked a short distance to our room. When we opened the door is was stifling hot. It was 90 degrees outside and the room had been tightly shut. When we tried to turn the air conditioner on we discovered it did not work. My husband spoke with the manager who acknowledged that it was broken. She offered to have someone bring us a couple of fans. They showed up with two box fans which were never going to cool down the sauna like conditions. They then moved us to a different room which can only be described as being located in an abandoned building. We were the only ones there, the doors were wide open to curb the musty smell and dead leaves were all over the entrance. The air conditioner partially worked but when we got back from dinner we were greeted with ants in the bathroom. When my husband went to the front desk the woman working the counter asked what we wanted them to do. I have stayed in cheap motels as well as very nice, expensive places and I have never had an experience like this before. I cannot believe they call themselves a luxury resort with rooms at $400 a night and up. I will never come back here again and I cannot recommend this place at all. If you decide to stay here be prepared. We are currently in the process of finding a different hotel to stay in while we are here since we are absolutely over this place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Vivian H, Thank you for taking the time to share these comments about your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your experience and truly apologize for any inconveniences you encountered. We will use this feedback to address with our team and work to make the necessary improvements where needed. Please know, this is not the experience we aim to provide and again, we sincerely apologize your stay was not as expected. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guide229836 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
This facility used to be outstanding in all aspects. During this latest stay for our club's annual weekend golf tournament our stay was less than stellar. The rooms need refurbishment. Some buildings are under renovation and construction on the property. The golf course conditions were awful and their explanation was over-seeding. They definitely need better course maintenance and to be upfront with their marketing strategy for facility and course conditions. I was also charged a daily parking fee which was negotiated into the club's contracted pricing. We also paid premium fees for golf over the weekend with bad course conditions. If they would have adjusted pricing and been very honest and upfront with these issues patrons would be more understanding.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guide229836, Thank you for sharing this feedback about your recent visit. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience and apologize for any inconvenience. We are in the process of refreshing all our guestrooms, which is scheduled to be completed by December. We are also undertaking many projects on the golf course to improve the course conditions and provide a better playing experience. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Josieby4 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I had lunch with my elderly friend at the Veranda at RB inn few days ago. After lunch my friend that walks with the help of a cane and not for long distance, wished to visit the property that she hadn't seen in a very long time. Scarlett, the beautiful young lady at the concierge desk was extremely helpful and gracious. She arranged a golf cart and drove us around the property. Scarlett is a gem not easily to find in these days.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Josieby4, Thank you for sharing this wonderful feedback about your recent visit. We are delighted to hear that you experienced fantastic service from Scarlett. We will be certain to share this with her and recognize her efforts. Please come back to visit again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Footprints695809 wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Service was hit or miss. Tried to charge me twice, no apologies when corrected. Room had a subpar view for price. Came for business but thought I would mix pleasure. Property itself is nice. Not sure if I would stay again. Overall It’s a decent place, but quite over priced, and customer service needs work.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Footprints695809, Thank you for sharing these comments after your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that your stay was mediocre and apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. We will share this feedback with our leadership team and address the areas of opportunity. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alniente wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The RB Inn is a five star experience at a four star price. It is a hidden gem that most locals do not even know about, and those that do call it the Casa de Gisela. Gisela, the RB Inn's hospitality superhero, solves your problems before you even know you have them. You will never get the kind of service Gisela and her team provide at a five or six star hotel, and yet it is waiting for you at the RB Inn. Once you've discovered this sanctuary, it is not clear if the RB Inn is your home away from home, or if your house is your home away from the RB Inn!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn
Responded Jul 9, 2022
Dear alniente, Thank you for sharing this wonderful feedback after your recent visit. We are very pleased to hear that you had a fantastic experience and appreciate you recognizing Gisela for the amazing service she provided. We hope to see you return again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nana12351 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The valet attendant was so friendly offering services in a great way, and the front desk agent Madyson was professional and quick, we enjoyed the restaurant but unfortunately the pool was not clean !!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn
Responded Jun 27, 2022
Dear Nana12351, Thank you for sharing this wonderful feedback. We are very happy to hear you had awesome interactions with our team and appreciate you specifically recognizing Madyson. We will share these comments with the team!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pmccorm wrote a review Jun 2022
Rockville Centre, New York5 contributions4 helpful votes
Horrible stay! Let me begin that I travel for work extensively (fly 100k miles and 100 nights a year in hotels) and this is not a hotel worth $400+ a night! It started at check-in. I arrived late at 130am because of a delayed flight into San Diego. I called the hotel to confirm someone would be there as I was coming in late and from out of state. When I arrived, the person at the front desk shows me a map for me to walk to my room. Mind you it is 130am, dark, and I have two large suitcases. I had to request someone take me to my room and then I had to carry my own luggage. When I pay over $400 a night for a room, I do not think I should have to ask. Upon arrival to my room (security guard and myself) we find my room door is unlocked with light on and slightly opened. I asked for another room and nothing could be provided. They checked the room and said it “looks ok”. Really, my room is open. Both in the world of Covid and safety I did not sleep well that night. When I shared my story with family who was also staying in the "Greens Building" they told me “yes I saw that room door open all day and thought it was strange”. When I shared my comments with management about my experience on Sunday, the manager (I believe her name was Tasha) apologized and said for this inconvenience they would comp me one night stay for my 3 nights there. At checkout, the man at the front desk said ok we will charge your card and I said not until I see a copy of my bill. In reviewing my bill, they did not comp me for anything, so to me they lied! Supposedly, the hotel is in the midst of renovations, which is great considering there is no hook in the bathroom to hang your bath towel and the chairs on the balcony are torn. Besides the musty carpets, and poor lighting. In addition, I had issues with the concierge. I went to book a taxi to the airport for Monday and she said she would be send me a text later that day (Saturday). No text came. I went by Sunday morning, no one there, came back in the late afternoon and they were gone. Horrible service And my last complaint is the “Resort Fee”. $35 –for hand sanitizing stations, internet, live entertainment, in room coffee, Yoga (only 9am on weekend), fitness center access, etc. Again, at over $400 a night this is ridiculous. In my opinion, you have better choices than Rancho Bernardo Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn
Responded Jun 23, 2022
Dear pmccorm, Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback about your recent visit. We are very sorry to hear about the challenges you experienced during your stay and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. We will address your feedback with our management team and resolve these shortcomings. This is not indicative of the experience we aim to provide and apologize that we failed to exceed your expectations. We hope you can view this as an isolated occurrence and allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meadows1615 wrote a review Jun 2022
Huntington Beach, California7 contributions
+1
We have stayed here 3 times in the last 2 years and have enjoyed our stays every time. This year we brought a group of 18 and everyone agrees, this place is amazing! The grounds are gorgeous, the food is delicious, the musician at the Veranda restaurant was lovely, the golf course is very well kept and the hotel general manager went out of his way to make sure our stay was extra special! We highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bryan F, Other at Rancho Bernardo Inn
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Dear Meadows1615, Thank you for taking the time to share this amazing feedback after your recent visit. We are very pleased to hear that you had an amazing experience and appreciate your recommendation of our resort. We hope to see you return again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$241 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rancho bernardo hotel san diego, rancho bernardo san diego, rancho bernardo inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan Diego
NUMBER OF ROOMS
287
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rancho Bernardo Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Rancho Bernardo Inn?
Nearby attractions include San Rafael Catholic Church (0.6 miles) and Golf University At San Diego (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rancho Bernardo Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Rancho Bernardo Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Rancho Bernardo Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Rancho Bernardo Inn?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rancho Bernardo Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Veranda Fireside Lounge & Restaurant, AVANT Restaurant, and Stir Fresh Mongolian Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rancho Bernardo Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rancho Bernardo Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Rancho Bernardo Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Rancho Bernardo Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Rancho Bernardo Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Heritage County Park (8.6 miles).