We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Show Prices
#60 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,096 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,072: English reviews
Hong Kong
Reviewed January 21, 2015

Reasonable price and good location for me. Staff are friendly, room is nice, bed and pillows are perfect. But would even be better if there is fridge in the room. Would come stay again when I revisit this city, and would also recommend to friends.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review

Dear Gary W, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I look forward to seeing you next time you visit the Del Mar area. Sincerely, Ian Heffron General Manager

dallas, texas
Reviewed January 19, 2015

We were in Del Mar visiting family and we enjoyed our stay at the Doubletree. All of the staff we spoke with were friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and clean and perfect for our needs -- I got a great night's sleep which doesn't always happen for me in a hotel. At first the hot water in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jooles_p
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review

Dear Jooles, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your experience. I hope to see you again on your return trip to Del Mar. Sincerely, Ian Heffron General Manager

Kingman
Reviewed January 18, 2015

No heat in room- no water pressure- room not cleaned- charged for but we never had a pet- sneakily did this after checkout. The hotel's staff, especially non-english speaking cleaning service totally sucked.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we sincerely apologize for the issues that you experienced during your stay. We will be sure to take your comments about our property under consideration as we re-evaluate guest needs and continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next...

Newport Beach, United States
Reviewed January 16, 2015

Handicap shower is a waste of time. Almost no water flow. CAUTION dont let them put you in a handicap room unless you must have one. Hot water also tool minutes to arrive, possoibly due to the low water flow rate in the hanicap shower.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review

Dear Thomas, I apologize for your unfortunate experience. Due to your review we were able to correct the issue that affected the water pressure going to your room. Thank you and I hope you choose the DoubleTree Del Mar the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Ian Heffron General Manager

Naperville, IL
Reviewed January 15, 2015

The hotel room is very nice, quiet and clean. I arrived very late at night, and the hot cookies were just what I needed after a long flight! The hotel staff are very friendly. There is a small snack/supply store next to the reception area so it is convenient. I would recommend that if you drive from the airport, follow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHC739
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review

Dear CWHC, I am thrilled that our team was able to take care of you upon your arrival. I am very proud to have such a service focused team. Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree Del Mar, I hope to see you again! Sincerely, Ian Heffron General Manager

Jacksonville, FL
Reviewed January 13, 2015

I just want to say that the hotel staff -- in particular, the lady who checked me in -- was awesome to me. My luggage was delayed with the airline, and I had to spend the first night there without any of my things. The lady at the front desk was so nice and sympathetic and even sent me up...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GirlWriter
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review

Dear Girlwriter, I really appreciate your comments regarding our team. I will be sure to share with them. Thank you choosing to stay at the DoubleTree Del Mar! Sincerely, Ian Heffron General Manager

Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewed January 12, 2015

Great hotel. We were in SD for a tournament and picked the Double Tree because of it's location. The hotel ended up being great, we booked the Jr. Suite which was a nice sized room for two adults and 2 kids. The staff took great care of us during our stay. We found the hotel to be clean and well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 627sacham
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review

Dear 627 Sacham, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do agree that our team at the front desk is exceptional. I thank you for taking the time to write a review and to mention one of our team members. I hope you choose to stay with us the next time you visit the area....

Palm Desert, California
Reviewed January 11, 2015

Great place to stay while visiting the Del Mar area of San Diego. Rooms are very nice and parking is free. A big plus as most parking is $25 up. Beautiful pool and outdoor area. Nice bar and restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marybyrdcole
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review

Dear Marybyrdcole, Thank you for your very nice review. it is good to hear from our guests when we live up to our promise. Thank you again and I hope to see you when your travels take to Del Mar. Sincerely, Ian Heffron General Manager

Fort Irwin, California, United States
Reviewed January 9, 2015

I am a HHonors gold member and I stay at a lot of Hilton chain hotels throughout the US and in other countries. This may be the worst. No, it is. If you dont want to read about what happened, know this. We have stayed down here once a month for the past two years. Right across the street is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher E
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review

Dear Christopher, Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. Hearing from our guests helps us provide the best experience possible. We’re sorry that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and we’ve shared your comments with our team so we can do a better job of demonstrating care and attention to your needs as well...

Reviewed January 9, 2015

The Spa closes at 10pm so plan accordingly. I was kicked out by security and was not loud, no music, no one else in the spa area. They would not make an exception or adjustment to the spa hours. After working all day and then getting back from dinner, this just does not allow much time to enjoy the spa...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 983louisb
Ian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar, responded to this review

Dear Solo, I am very sorry that we were not flexible with our hours. I appreciate that you brought this to my attention. I will ensure moving forward that we are more understanding of our guest needs. Thank you for staying with us! Sincerely, Ian Heffron General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

209 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (135)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#76 of 279 in San Diego
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#85 of 279 in San Diego
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Five story Hotel, modern decor and popular guest room amenities; located in the north coastal area, two blocks east of I-5. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar

Address: 11915 El Camino Real, San Diego, CA 92130-2539
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Price Range: $147 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Del Mar
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#81 Family Hotel in San Diego
#91 Business Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar staff and other travelers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 month ago
San Francisco
6 months ago
Las Vegas, Nevada
9 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't pay extra for a pool view room”
  • King bed in the room
  • This was supposed to be a view of the pool
 of 5 bubbles transatlanticman, 1 week ago | Read review
“There are no bad rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles California1Mama, Feb 14, 2017 | Read review
“We were on the first floor, and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles ksplanet, Feb 13, 2017 | Read review
“Face in and you get a nice view of the pool... and highway. Face out and it's quieter but a business park.”
 of 5 bubbles hbar2pi, Jan 11, 2017 | Read review
“Room facing pool/courtyard was very quite despite proximity to I-5.”
 of 5 bubbles TimeTraveler_800, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question