We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Western Inn Old Town

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (108)
Room & Suite (148)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#140 of 263 hotels in San Diego
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.2
Value
4.1
GreenLeaders Silver level
Located in the heart of Old Town San Diego, our hotel is just a 5 minute walk to Old Town dining and shopping. Our central locations puts you right at the entrance to the 5 freeway and 8 freeway so that you are mere minutes away from major attractions Sea World, the World Famous San Diego Zoo, Downtown, The Gaslamp Quarter, Balboa Park, San Diego Beaches, the San Diego International Airport and more... If you are a family member of one of our brave men and women serving in the military we are a 5 minute drive to the MCRD and a 5 minute walk to the Old Town Trolley station. All our rooms come with hair dryer, iron and ironing board, free wifi, coffee and coffee maker. We have a small business center located in the lobby, covered parking and a daily continental breakfast. Ask the front desk staff for discounted attraction ticket information to the major spots as well as the USS Midway, Old Town Trolley Tours and San Diego Harbor Excursions
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Boating
Hiking
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Photo copier / fax In business center
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Fishing
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
457Reviews10Q+A78Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 172
  • 146
  • 75
  • 33
  • 31
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Leslie N wrote a review Jan 2024
Morelia, Mexico35 contributions11 helpful votes
Mixed review. The good first… The staff was all so great from check in, cleaning, check out, the morning breakfast person, all great. The room was neat and clean, very comfortable bed and lots of pillows. Good bathroom with good water. Not good… The floors of the hall was worn down to bare concrete and was very dirty in all the corners. The radiators were beginning to detach from the walls. The baseboards were sometimes missing and always battered and dirty. The place is generally a wreck. But I would still recommend it because of the price and the location and the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Put up with the old hotel. It’s worth it for the price and location.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Western Inn Old Town
Responded Jan 14, 2024
Hi LeslieN_13, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. We are glad you liked our staff, breakfast, comfortable beds, and cleanliness. However, we apologize for the concerns you had with the hall floor, baseboards and we appreciate your patience. We utilize feedback like yours to improve our guest experience; therefore, we appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. Thank you for being our guest, and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Perla A wrote a review Aug 2023
4 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
Great stay. Nice clean bathrooms, comfortable beds. Very close to all beaches, sea world, old town and the airport. Really enjoyed our stay, Would definitely stay at this hotel again. Excellent staff!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Western Inn Old Town
Responded Aug 23, 2023
Hi perlah82, Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful experience with us. We are so encouraged to always do good for our guests. We are really appreciative of your generous compliments about our location, comfortable beds, clean rooms, friendly staff, and hospitality. We are glad you enjoy staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
djohn76 wrote a review Jan 2024
Wisconsin78 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
Great stay and clean close to everything yet off the beaten path. Would recommend enjoyed all the sites after finishing Route 66 in Santa Monica, headed south. Over the bridge to Coronado island. Went to the aircraft carrier Midway then onto the Queen Mary.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Western Inn Old Town
Responded Jan 9, 2024
Hi djohn76, It is really nice to know that you liked the stay and services at our hotel during your recent visit. Glad to see your positive overall observations which shall definitely motivate us to serve our guests better. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dar462 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
I was very satisfied with my stay and overall experience. Only thing I was disappointed in was, things that were left behind were not turned in. I know exactly where I left it but supposedly it wasn't turned into lost and found.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Western Inn Old Town
Responded Dec 20, 2023
Hi dar462, Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent stay. It's great to hear that you were satisfied with your stay, however, I do regret that you experienced several shortcomings during your stay. I have communicated these issues with the appropriate department heads to ensure they are remedied quickly. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to be able to exceed your expectations in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cristihendry wrote a review Dec 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
for the price , this is a great hotel. clean and attention to providing the basics except the ice machine. couldn’t get ice. i don’t have more to say so I’ll just keep typing until i get 200 characters.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Western Inn Old Town
Responded Dec 2, 2023
Hi cristihendry, Thank you for taking the time to share your review and experience. We are glad you liked our clean accommodations, and we appreciate your high review. We value your compliments about where we are excelling, as well as your feedback regarding things we need to improve. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matthew W wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
It was a clean 1 bedroom with nearly a nice little kitchen area for a great price. The night and morning staff were polite and nice. The neighborhood was quite and peaceful. We would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Western Inn Old Town
Responded Nov 7, 2023
Hi O2440FQmattheww, It is really nice to know that you liked the stay and services at our hotel during your recent visit. Thank you for your compliments on our staff, hospitality, cleanliness, the amenities, and our convenient location. Our ultimate ambition is to provide a five-star experience, and we are thrilled to learn that we have succeeded. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations of service and accommodations and we're all looking forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Odyssey232576 wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Room was nice and quiet plus shower worked well. Outside walkways are dated and need work. Close to Old Town for shopping, eating and walkability. Close to downtown waterfront activities including Seaport Village, Midway ship and museum and outdoor walking.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Western Inn Old Town
Responded Nov 7, 2023
Hi Odyssey232576, Thank you for taking the time to share your review and experience. We are glad to know you found the location of our hotel convenient and enjoyed our hotel's amenities provided. We have shared your feedback with our staff to ensure we continuously work on bettering our services. We will do our best to make sure your next stay with us is completely satisfactory. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carrie M wrote a review Oct 2023
4 contributions
Excellent hotel with great rates. Room was clean, spacious, air conditioning was excellent, had a microwave and refrigerator, and close to old Town attractions. The woman who was assisting with the continental breakfast was very pleasant waffles were amazing and had everything you can think of except for protein and fresh fruit. Would highly recommend and I would stay again when returning to the area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Western Inn Old Town
Responded Oct 31, 2023
Hi Mitchellcnm, Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our location, breakfast, and amenities were to your liking. Our staff is highly trained to give you an exceptional experience, and we are very pleased to learn that we achieved this goal during your recent stay. We only wish to give nothing but the best service to our guests and to know that we have accomplished such a goal gives us great joy. Our management is always happy to serve you and we can't wait to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Verito M wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Old place but good for the price. Mattresses not the comfiest but will do when you’re on a budget. Breakfast? Watered down coffee with waffles, waffles and more waffles. Customer service was very good. We asked for fresh towels and they were brought up right away. Honestly, for being old town and the price we were satisfied. Sucks that there’s no pool but there’s plenty to do within walking distance. Overall yes good deal! Our 2 queen bedroom was very spacious.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Western Inn Old Town
Responded Oct 13, 2023
Hi 435veritom, Thank you for taking the time to share your review and experience. We are glad you liked your comfortable accommodations, mattresses, amenities, spacious beds and we appreciate you mentioning our great staff. We value your compliments about where we are excelling, as well as your feedback regarding things we need to improve. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Emma D wrote a review Sep 2023
Denver, United States2 contributions
My son was in the hospital in Hillcrest. They accommodated my additional days with ease. The room was clean and very cute. I had the King Suite which is big. Good location for what I needed. I didn't sight see since I was just going to and from the hospital. We'll consider staying again for future hospital stays.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Western Inn Old Town
Responded Sep 23, 2023
Hi X4869GBemmad, Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our services and location were to your liking. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to having you with us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Diego area.
PRICE RANGE
$88 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
western inn and suites, western hotel san diego, western motel san diego
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WESTERN INN OLD TOWN $91 ($̶2̶3̶4̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - San Diego, CA

Frequently Asked Questions about Western Inn Old Town
Which popular attractions are close to Western Inn Old Town?
Nearby attractions include Whaley House Museum (0.2 miles), Red Spade Theater (0.2 miles), and Churchill Cigar Lounge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Western Inn Old Town?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Western Inn Old Town?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Western Inn Old Town?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Western Inn Old Town?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Western Inn Old Town?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harney Sushi, El Agave Restaurant & Tequileria, and Miguel's Cocina.
Are any cleaning services offered at Western Inn Old Town?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Western Inn Old Town?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Western Inn Old Town?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mormon Battalion Historic Site (0.3 miles), Whaley House Museum (0.2 miles), and The Homecoming Statue (2.8 miles).
Is Western Inn Old Town accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.