We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley

Traveler (41)
360
Panoramas (50)
Videos (1)

About

#143 of 292 hotels in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The recently renovated DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Mission Valley puts you in the center of San Diego. Hop on the adjacent trolley and explore the city’s top attractions including San Diego Zoo, Little Italy and Gaslamp Quarter. Embrace world-class shopping and dining within walking distance. Sleep sound in the largest guest rooms in Mission Valley at our TripAdvisor Hall of Fame Hotel. Each pet-friendly room has a contemporary coastal style with high-quality amenities including sound-proof windows and expansive views. Take a dip in the heated indoor and outdoor pools or keep fit in the 24-hour fitness center. Start your day with a Starbucks Coffee and grab-and-go culinary bites in Pronto Cafe. End your day with a San Diego craft beer and featured local cuisine from Lounge 72⁰, all while watching the Southern California sunset by our fire pits. Our friendly, accommodating team looks forward to welcoming you with our signature, warm DoubleTree by Hilton Chocolate Chip Cookie!
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Public wifi
Paid wifi
Paid internet
Internet
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
69Somewhat walkable
Grade: 69 out of 100
121Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
9Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
245Reviews
27Q+A
13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 100
  • 67
  • 33
  • 25
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nice place. Great location. Movie theater close by as well as restaurants. Indoor and outdoor pool both nice as well as nice gym. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone visiting San Diego
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Hotel's Favorite
Winter back home. Enjoyed wearing summer clothing in San Diego. Sitting in the chair by the pool was hot when the sun was out. The room had lots of drawers and shelves for your belongings. I was surprised to see all the storage available. For the Super Bowl, they had a large screen with a projector for those interested in the game. A popcorn maker was put out so the fans could have popcorn for no charge. The bar staff was quite friendly. I had a delicious chicken sandwich. Willian McPherson, the Bell employee was very helpful in securing transportation to the airport. There was a trolley that went by the hotel for those who wanted to see the Old town. There were plenty of places to eat outside of the hotel. Barnes and Noble was there. There were sandwich shops and a restaurant called BJs. Delicious cheese tacos. Next to the hotel was a restaurant grill, WoodRanch BBQ and grill. Looking up places to eat by the hotel gave many choices. Hotel, restaurant, sandwich shops, Applebees. There are enough places to have a variety of choices.
Read more
Pillows were terrible. 8 inches thick - unable to sleep. Prices in bar were very high. Ridiculous. Breakfast buffet was cold. Meeting room was fine. Pool was unavailable for the final 2 days of our 3 day trip. We will not utilize this hotel again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Response from Kaitlyn W, Hotel Representative at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look to our guests' reviews to see how we can enhance our hotel and our guests' experiences. We are very sorry to hear you were not 100% satisfied with your stay and we will share your concerns with management. If you return to our area, we hope you will stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.
Read more
We visit San Diego at least twice a year as we have family here. We’ve stayed here several times over the last two years and each time it gets worse. We are officially never staying here again. Our major complaint was that the air conditioner thermostat said it was 68 degrees in our room but it was blowing hot air. When my husband tried to adjust the setting the whole thing shut off. We woke up sweating in the middle of the night. We let the desk know and received a text the next day that it had been fixed but addressed my husband by the wrong name and the AC was still malfunctioning. We’re not sure they checked the right room. We came back to our room the second day and found black, stuff dried in the sink after the maid had cleaned our room. Also, the water coming out of the tap smells foul. There was what looked like a burn mark on the carpet outside our room when we arrived. The bed side table lamps wouldn’t work. We figured out that the electrical plug strip under the bed was shut off, so we turned it on. However, later when we tried to use the iron, it tripped the switch again. A puddle of water under the bathroom sink developed and the tub drained so slowly that we ended up standing in water while we showered. We were finally given a new room on the third day and refunded the parking fee for our entire stay. The new room was acceptable except for crooked and dented lamp shades. The absolute final straw was that there was a massive party at the pool for the entire four days of our stay celebrating Gay Pride Week. Absolutely no judgement on that, however we were never told that the pool would be unavailable to guests and we later learned from the hotel’s Facebook page that tickets were sold to people who were not guests. There were a lot of people outside waiting for rides and were loud enough to be heard from our first room on the fifth floor with the window shut. Thank God neither room overlooked the pool as the music coming out of the giant speakers was LOUD. If you are going to host a party that big then it is your responsibility to let your guests know ahead of time that one of your major amenities will be unavailable.
Read more
Response from Kaitlyn W, Hotel Representative at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Responded 5 days ago
Hi 389gaylam, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and your satisfaction is extremely important to us. We apologize for the poor level of service and broken A/C in your room. This is not typical of our hotel and we assure you we take guest feedback seriously. Thanks again and we do hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Read more
For the cost of the room, I expected a lot more than this room provided. I have had better, more luxurious stays at the Best Western or Holiday Inn. The walls were thin enough to hear normal conversations from the adjacent rooms. Nothing was complementary. Parking on site was $30 per day and was was not even mentioned until I was checking in. There was no value for the price paid here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Response from Kaitlyn W, Hotel Representative at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Responded 5 days ago
Hi aveen423, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for this unfortunate experience at our hotel. We have shared your comments with our team and we will keep your feedback in mind as we continually work to enhance our guests' experience. Thanks again and we hope you will return soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$163 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
doubletree hotel san diego, doubletree san diego, san diego doubletree, doubletree mission valley
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoMission Valley / Hotel Circle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
300
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing