We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin San Diego Downtown

Save
Share
400 West Broadway 1051 Columbia Street, San Diego, CA 92101-3504
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
$116
View Deal
Expedia.com$116
Agoda.com$116
Westin.com$116
Priceline$116
Booking.com$116
FindHotel$116
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (345)
360
Panoramas (14)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 08/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin San Diego Downtown
Updated 08/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#34 of 296 hotels in San Diego
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Take your travel experience to a whole new level when you stay at The Westin San Diego Downtown. Our upscale hotel boasts a prime location in the heart of downtown San Diego near the Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy, and blocks from the Embarcadero. Not to mention a variety of shopping and dining options. We're also 3 miles away from San Diego International Airport and just a short walk or trolley ride from top area attractions such as Old Town, Fashion Valley Mall, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo. Our Heavenly Beds are always eager to greet you after a long day with panoramic views of the San Diego Bay, Coronado Island and the downtown cityscape. The 24 hour Westin Fitness Studio has all the latest equipment to keep your wellness in check and continually stay connected with complimentary Internet access in the lobby and complimentary shuttle service to/from the San Diego airport. Enjoy a relaxing, convenient California getaway when you reserve accommodations at The Westin San Diego Downtown.
Read more
Room & Suite (249)249
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Walking tours
Free airport transportation
Wifi
Paid internet
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1,986Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,170
  • 519
  • 161
  • 69
  • 67
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Brandon R wrote a review Dec 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
There are a lot of better choices than the Westin. Trust me and try the Intercontinental instead. I had a poor experience at the Westin. I prepaid my hotel room, but the payment systems (to take deposits) were down all afternoon so they could not give me a key. The hotel attendant called multiple numbers for help, but either the numbers did not work or the people on the other end were not helpful. The parking is a joke as the Westin has no parking. You need to park in the public parking across the street. Plus there is no in and out parking, you need to pay every time to explore San Diego. Of course, there is homeless near the parking structure as well. My biggest complaint is customer service. Don't fall for the low price like I did, there are much better options.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alyssa Turowski, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
X5277FUbrandonr - I am sorry to learn of your challenges trying to arrive 12/28/2020 at the hotel. There was a Marriott company wide outage we were unaware of that created issues with the credit card processing system. Our team has reached out to Groupon to connect with you to offer the use of your Groupon voucher for another stay. We hope you will give us another try and come experience all the Westin San Diego Downtown has to offer. Please call ahead to learn of the restrictions in place due to COVID-19. Once again, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience your experienced. Kind Regards, Alyssa Turowski, General Manager
Read more
DTravelDiva wrote a review Nov 2020
Seattle, Washington425 contributions86 helpful votes
I stayed for 6 days to work virtually. I needed inspiration so I took this trip to go down to San Diego where you can count on the sun shining and warmer weather than the rest of the West coast. I stayed in a Bayview corner room with a king bed. It was nice to wake up everyday with the full view of the bay and downtown San Diego. During this stay, there was no housekeeping but they kept our toiletries and towels replenished everyday as well as trash pick up when needed. During this stay, the hotel complied with Covid safety protocol. Our stay was made very enjoyable because Theresa from front desk made sure that whatever we needed, she went out of her way to provide or accommodate. I liked that we had 4 free bottles of water everyday and also got our AAA amenities which was a great treat (wine/soda/beer and snacks). The one thing I didn’t like was the absence of room service or accommodating our need to preorder food from downstairs. A couple of times, we called front desk to place an order so we didn’t have to wait downstairs for our food. One morning front desk duty manager was not accommodating and told us that we couldn’t order from our room. Another day we insisted to order from our room. But couldn’t do it, the front desk person gave us an attitude anc said we couldn’t do it. We have to come down and order in person. In the other Marriott brand hotels we stayed at during Covid, we could place a food order from the comfort of our room and then they call us to come down to get our order. That to me is great service during Covid times and is expected from a 5 star hotel like Westin. I hope that next time, this hotel can think of ways to provide exceptional service that is expected from every Westin. The male front desk during our stay was not very friendly either. I hope they can have more staff that truly loves their job. Theresa (I hope I’m spelling her name correct) made up for everyone else in the front desk who failed us. We saw her 4 days out of our 6 days stay. Also, we had exceptional service from housekeeping. We will be back and hoping to have better staff to service us during our next stay. This hotel had an excellent location. Tip: if you have a car, parking across the street is $25 overnight. Westin is $50.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Alyssa Turowski, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Downtown
Responded Dec 2, 2020
DTravelDiva - Thank you for taking the to share your feedback with TripAdvisor. We appreciate your 5 star review and I am so please to read that Terese was able to go above and beyond and make your stay that much better. I will share your feedback with the team to ensure every associate is living up to the basic service expectations we are known for on a consistent basis. The Westin San Diego Downtown is a perfect location to use as a home office, allowing you walking access that all downtown has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back and exceeding your expectation with our service encounters. Kind Regards, Alyssa Turowski, General Manager
Read more
photoguy_60 wrote a review Nov 2020
Chino, California7 contributions7 helpful votes
My wife and I recently stayed at the Westin San Diego for a weekend getaway and it was fantastic. The staff was very attentive, room was clean (had a partial bay view) and bed was very comfortable. I was a bit surprised that they did not provide any COVID related items in the room such as a mask or hand sanitizer, but they did give free bottled water. Overnight parking is a bit expensive. $35 for self parking across the street and $50 for valet. If you want to save on parking, the hotel is a few short blocks and easy walk from the main Santa Fe train depot for Amtrak. Once there, all the downtown attractions such as the Midway, Seaport Village, harbor cruises, Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter are withing walking distance. Restaurant was closed because of COVID, but they have a nice bar. Problem is, it lacks the variety of spirits you'd expect from a hotel of this caliber, especially their selection of bourbon. Overall, I would recommend the Westin Downtown if you're looking to stay in the downtown San Diego area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alyssa Turowski, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Downtown
Responded Dec 2, 2020
photoguy_60 - Thank you for your recommendation and 5 star review. Our location is one of the best and located in the center of all downtown San Diego has to offer. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your guestroom and the famous Heavenly bed. Thank you for traveling during COVID and we look forward to welcoming you back again, should your travels bring you to San Diego. Remain Well, Alyssa Turowski, General Manager
Read more
PinkKT wrote a review Nov 2020
New York City, New York95 contributions56 helpful votes
+1
Alyssa and her team really went above and beyond to accommodate my friends and I in our trip to San Diego at the Westin and we’d 100% choose this hotel again for any future trips to San Diego. I booked 2 rooms for our group and she was able to honor a suite night request (I have Ambassador status with Marriott) & also ensure our 2nd room connected to the suite!! The suite was huge which was amazing so that we could spread out. She also arranged for a birthday cake to be delivered to the room for my friend’s birthday which was such a fun surprise. The hotel staff was very responsive to our requests for extra toiletries, towels, robes, etc. and took away our trash/dirty towels every evening. They even found an HDMI cord so that we could connect our computer to the tv and watch a movie. We felt it was very clean & everyone wears masks in common spaces. They have a good amount of services even in COVID (e.g., the airport shuttle, breakfast downstairs in the lobby, etc.). The sunsets from the room were beautiful and we even enjoyed the pool! Overall it was a fantastic value and I’m very thankful to Alyssa and her staff for their warm hospitality!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Alyssa Turowski, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Downtown
Responded Nov 18, 2020
PinkKT - You are very welcome! We are all so happy you chose to spend your daughter's birthday with us. These important milestones can't be forgotten in the unprecedented times we are all dealing with. The staff and I enjoyed going above and beyond for you. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to sunny San Diego, should your travels allow. Kind Regards, Alyssa Turowski, General Manager
Read more
Monique wrote a review Oct 2020
New York, United States2 contributions
I stayed at the Westin Downtown for a cute little west coast getaway with my boyfriend. They have an amazing staff, especially Cynthia at the front desk :) The hotel is in a perfect location, we were able to comfortably walk to the Gaslamp district and Little Italy, also short Uber/Lyft rides to the airport and Mission Beach. The hotel is offering a $15 per day credit that can be used at the cafe or bar. In regards to Pandemic safety, mask policies are observed by everyone. The only downside was the weird and random sounds from the HVAC system. It woke me up out my sleep a few times. I would definitely recommend this hotel-- pro tip: check Groupon before booking :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I really like Bay View, we were able to see the water and city
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alyssa Turowski, General Manager at The Westin San Diego Downtown
Responded Oct 16, 2020
907moniqueg - Thank you for your review and for sharing your recent experience with TripAdvisor. I am glad you found the Groupon opportunity and were able to getaway and enjoy all the hotel and downtown San Diego has to offer, as well as, surrounding areas. Thank you for personally recognizing Cynthia. She is a rock star and I will be sure to share your feedback with her and the team. We look forward to welcoming you back and again, thank you for your recommendation. Remain Well, Alyssa Turowski, General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$204 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
westin san diego hotel san diego, san diego westin, wyndham san diego hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
436
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin San Diego Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin San Diego Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Santa Fe Depot (0.2 miles), San Diego Civic Theatre (0.3 miles), and The Lion's Share (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin San Diego Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin San Diego Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin San Diego Downtown?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin San Diego Downtown?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin San Diego Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Karl Strauss Brewery & Restaurant, Salvatore's Cucina Italiana, and Tender Greens.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin San Diego Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Westin San Diego Downtown have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Westin San Diego Downtown offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Westin San Diego Downtown located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of San Diego.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin San Diego Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Westin San Diego Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.