We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Atwood Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Atwood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Pais Vasco, Spain
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was the worst hotel I have been they kicked us out the hotel and blamed us for breaking a window that we didnt break. I will never be comimg here ever again they charged us more then what they said and the recepsionist guy was very rude. I hope you never experience the same experience I have there honestly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darkside S
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My stay at Atwood was amazing. The room was very, very neat, clean and spacious. And most of all, customer service is awesome - very friendly and accommodating staff. And price wise, very reasonable. Thank you so much!!! Highly recommended!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tess V
Nutley, NJ
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel had a quartz sink, nice laminate floors, comfy beds. the location is close to everything, 10 mins from airport, 20 mins from La Jolla, 5 mins to a huge mall. the size of the room was nice too. Unfortunately due to rainy weather, we could not use the hot tub or the pool. The wifi was free but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RahulAgrawal
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us. We listen to our customers and we aggressively work to fix any issues that you have. We did pin point an area of the hotel that was not getting good reception and we are now monitoring the entire property to ensure good reception. Thank you again for staying with us. Anthony

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with 2 friends for two nights in August. we were fairly broke and tired from previous travels and after a summer of partying we were looking for somewhere cheap and peaceful to stay and the Atwood definitely ticked all the boxes.our room was spacious, clean, air conditioned and fitted all our luggage easily.the TV in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel TG B
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for the kinds words. We hope to be your home away from home in San Diego. Nahum GM

Orange County, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One-night stay for business. Was expecting very little since the reservation was so cheap, but I was pleasantly surprised! The front-desk staff was hit-or-miss on helpfulness, but they got the job done. There is plenty of free parking, and you are in the Hotel Circle, which means that it's a short UBER to just about anywhere in central San Diego....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank francoGH
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We do not like hit or miss at the desk and we will use this to improve our services. Thank you, Nahum Jimenez GM

San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the suite, it was beautiful, had a roomy nice balcony with a sitting area. The room itself was pleasantly comfortable and I look forward to our next stay. Very conveniently located off of the freeway and easy to find. The grounds have an open layout, yet felt very safe.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 4peggy2016
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and for the nice review. We appreciate your business. Nahum GM

San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Keeping in mind the price of the hotel I would say that I could not find a better place to stay for what I paid. My room was a corner room second floor, I was pleasantly surprised to see how large the room was. It smelled fresh and clean . Very quiet location, the bed and pillows were as great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pic02013
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words. Our goal was to create a fresh product that was reminiscent of its past with modern and up to date amenities at a great price. I am glad you experienced our goal. We hope to see you again in the future. Nahum Jimenez GM

Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed December 13, 2016

The Atwood is conveniently located near down town. The rooms are clean and newly renovated and stylishly decorated. Great location close to everything, great rates and parking is free The staff was extremely nice, the suite was very clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated! We are definitely staying here on our next visit to San Diego.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank broadgaterobert
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

We look forward to being your home away from home. Staff training is very important to us and the entire staff is focused on making you feel at home. Thank you very much for staying with us. Nahum Jimenez GM

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed December 7, 2016

We stayed here the night of December 4, 2016. After an awful experience at another hotel down the road, we were lucky enough to get a reservation at the Atwood. When we arrived, we could tell that this was exactly how a place should look, and smell. It was so welcoming, and the two gentlemen behind the desk were helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren C
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

It sounds like you had a time. We hope to see you again in the future. Nahum Jimenez GM

Reviewed December 3, 2016

I had booked two nights for me and my daughter. The Atwood staff were welcoming and the management have obviously tried to make the best of a bad situation - the lobby was clean and modern and they had tried to make the rooms the same. The hotel though is just a run down motel in disguise. Although we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terri D
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are a budget hotel in Mission Valley. Just like most hotels in Mission Valley are hotel was built in the 1950's. We acquired the hotel less than a year ago and have already spent 1.5 million dollars on renovations. From new rooms to new windows, new restaurant and store, new...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
0:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,849 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#139 of 278 in San Diego
1,387 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#211 of 278 in San Diego
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#169 of 278 in San Diego
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about The Atwood Hotel

Address: 1201 Hotel Cir S, Mission Valley, San Diego, CA 92108-3407 (Formerly Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Price Range: $63 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Atwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Atwood Hotel staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Atwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“no elevators so request first floor rooms if you have too much baggage”
 of 5 bubbles RahulAgrawal, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Second floor corner if available, that is the one I stayed but the others are very nice, I just happen to like corner rooms”
 of 5 bubbles pic02013, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for top floor - ground floor is too scary”
 of 5 bubbles terrid152, Dec 3, 2016 | Read review
“Tip - make sure ALL construction of property is complete before booking. I personally would never go back.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeP873, Nov 15, 2016 | Read review
“Back side of pool ground floor, very quiet rooms”
 of 5 bubbles IMHUEY, Nov 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay