We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Atwood Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Atwood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 53: English reviews
San Francisco
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This former Travelodge has been renovated recently and while they did a mostly nice job there are a few things that are baffling. The rooms themselves look modern and are large and airy. You know the look, IKEA comes to mind. The beds are pillow tops that are fairly comfortable but the pillows are terrible soft and neck ache inducing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank hayii
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Michael, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We did a tremendous amount of renovations on the property which was built in the 1950's and never renovated and we will continue to make improvements as time goes on. Respectfully, Nahum Jimenez GM More 

Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited San Diego for five days and selected Atwood to stay in... It was great selection took us to different kind of hotels we used to. Calm, clean, kind staff, good location.... even it is old but room we stayed was renovated. We loved it, and if we will be again in SD, we will select it.

Helpful?
Thank fadi m
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

We know you have many choices and we appreciate your business. Nahum Jimenez GM More 

Anaheim, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We picked this hotel because it was central to the activities we had planned with our kids. Nice remodeled rooms with wood floors. Big heated pool and free parking. They do not have a breakfast, just continental but we found a breakfast restaurant next door. The desk tells me the hotel restaurant will be opening soon. I would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank chriswhite407
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

It sounds like your family had a great time. Thank you very much for staying with us. Nahum Jimenez GM More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has a very good and fair cancellation policy. My problem is that The Atwood did not receive my cancellation through Hotels.com. I was charged a "no show" one night fee. Hotels.com refused to help. However, when I contacted The Atwood directly, two staff members did all they could to solve my problem. Anthony, the Front Desk Manager listened... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judith M
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much! More 

California City, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

OK, from the exterior yeah it looks nice.....But its a very cheap motel updated, cant even say fully renovated...our bed superficially looked good....but under the covers you can see the dirty old yukky mattress that was a real turn off. the toilet was blocked, had to call to get that fixed, the bathtub was old, just a lick of paint... More 

Helpful?
Thank gingerbread12
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We have worked very hard to make this a nice, clean, well maintained hotel with affordable rates and I am sorry we fell short for you. Nahum Jimenez GM More 

los angeles, california
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The beds are great and I love the service of the staff, beds are good and have very nice pool and it's well located near sea world. You can visit seaworld in uber it will cost you no more than 15 usd There shopping malls at 10 minute drive also near the San Diego airport

Helpful?
Thank kilos122
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a nice review. We strive to have great customer service and I am glad it shows. Nahum Jimenez GM More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staying here 4 days for the SD Comic-Con 2016. 4 days of ants (complained but no help), "free wi-fi" was non-existent, and no hot water. I will not return nor recommend. But, the staff seemed nice and the pool had water in it and there was ample parking.

Helpful?
Thank Martin C
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Martin, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations during Comic- Con. We try hard and we are sorry we feel short for you during your stay. Nahum Jimenez GM More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Comfy beds, decent sized room, loved the hardwood floors-felt much cleaner than hotel carpets. My only complaint would be the shower - the handle felt like it was gonna break off, and the shower head was too low. But I'd still say here in a heartbeat. The Kings inn just down the road (walkable) has a couple of good restaurants... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1stdue
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad you would stay with us in a heart beat! Thank you very much for your business. Nahum Jimenez GM More 

O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The room was not one that I was eager to go relax in after a long day out. Small room and the tiniest motel bathroom I've ever seen. Homemade looking lighting in the bathroom. Bathroom was a mix of old and new. It was so small you could barely turn around which left no comfortable place for dressing with others... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ang1919
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We strive for to be the best that we can and I am sorry that you felt we fell short. We will use your review to improve services. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

The hotel at first appears to be nice but once you have been there one day it goes downhill from there. Staff does not clean room properly... Just all over sink. They don't give you towels enough for a family of 4. If you ask they just don't want to do it. Once your tolietries are gone thier gone including... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Theresaccbma
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Theresa, I apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay. We will use your feedback to improve customer service. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
0:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#43 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,690 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#201 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#100 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#138 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Atwood Hotel

Address: 1201 Hotel Cir S, Mission Valley, San Diego, CA 92108-3407 (Formerly Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Price Range: $68 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Atwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay