We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Atwood Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Atwood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 89: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had booked two nights for me and my daughter. The Atwood staff were welcoming and the management have obviously tried to make the best of a bad situation - the lobby was clean and modern and they had tried to make the rooms the same. The hotel though is just a run down motel in disguise. Although we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri D
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are a budget hotel in Mission Valley. Just like most hotels in Mission Valley are hotel was built in the 1950's. We acquired the hotel less than a year ago and have already spent 1.5 million dollars on renovations. From new rooms to new windows, new restaurant and store, new...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I really thought I was going to love this motel, but it turns out that I just like it. My family and I stayed here for 3 nights in October 2016. This motel was recently refurbished within the past year. There is no resort fee or parking fee. It’s located in the Mission Valley Hotel Circle area, next to Kings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SNAFU23
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We try hard to make everyone's stay a good one. I retrospect the toilet seats were a bad idea! Hope to see you again, Nahum Jimenez GM

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Needed a last minute place to stay on a rainy Saturday night so I booked a room at The Atwood Hotel. I walked into the hotel lobby and was greeted by Pierre and Francisco, both very friendly. They offered me coffee and water while they got my reservation ready.. coffee was nice and hot, and the lobby was very clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and for the sweet review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Nahum Jimenez GM

Henderson, Nevada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the San Diego area for a weekend getaway. Hotel is very reasonably priced. Check in and out were very smooth. Front desk staff were very friendly. One minor complaint, the room had a coffee maker but there were no cups or condiments.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GCKnatz
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you had a good stay. We know you have many choices and we appreciate your business. Nahum Jimenez GM

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The two stars are for the clean room and polite front desk staff, other than that our door was left open by the cleaning crew when we were gone, we could hear every car go by out front due to no insulation strip around the inside of the door. Also could hear a toddler upstairs from us pacing back and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. Our goal is to make everyone's stay a good one and we will continue to work hard to improve our hotel. Nahum Jimenez GM

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for two days and had a great time. The hotel is in a great location, very easy to get around. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. My wife was sick and they let us check-in early at no extra cost, thank you. Rooms are very clean I loved this hotel will come again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rjacksonmiami
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Nahum Jimenez GM

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On the surface it looked pretty good then I got to the room. Not enough outlets in the room to charge your phone and computer at the same time. Almost a 2" gap under the entry door requiring stuffing a towel under the door so creatures couldn't enter. Also, a leak under the sink that would puddle up every 30...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike P
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. We replaced all of the windows while you were staying with us with new double pane windows. The work is done now and I am sorry that it caused you problems during your stay. Nahum GM

Idaho Falls, Idaho
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel for years, it was a Travelogde when we first stayed here, now its an Attwood. I was so surprised to see the new name and complete renovation. WOW this place is so much nicer than before, no complaints at all. Really enjoyed the pool area improvements and the rooms are so much nicer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IMHUEY
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Nahum Jimenez GM

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Key card lock: We got two rooms and when we inserted the key card to the first room, it wouldn't open. We tried multiple times and it still wouldn't open. Not even a red or green light for indication. We tried the second room and it worked. Finally tried the first room again and it finally worked. Light switches: The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rithyvanna S
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the door locks. We are replacing many of them this week. We listen to our guests and use there feedback to improve. Thank you again.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was closed down and renovated. We stayed when they first opened. It was still a work in progress. But we like it. This time things were more complete. The store is open. Or and they say the restaurant will open in a week. I did notice that they are currently putting new windows in. I have to give...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark e
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for coming back. We hope to continue to be your home away from home. Truly, Nahum Jimenez GM

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (60)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
0:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,813 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#206 of 278 in San Diego
95 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#134 of 278 in San Diego
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#167 of 278 in San Diego
82 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Atwood Hotel

Address: 1201 Hotel Cir S, Mission Valley, San Diego, CA 92108-3407 (Formerly Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Price Range: $65 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Atwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Atwood Hotel staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Atwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for top floor - ground floor is too scary”
 of 5 bubbles terrid152, 5 days ago | Read review
“Tip - make sure ALL construction of property is complete before booking. I personally would never go back.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeP873, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Back side of pool ground floor, very quiet rooms”
 of 5 bubbles IMHUEY, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Some rooms are being upgraded so request a newer room.”
 of 5 bubbles wallysaskatoon, Oct 12, 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the rear rooms less noise”
 of 5 bubbles J6069JVchriss, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay