We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Atwood Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Atwood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Atwood is no resort but it is very comfortable with easy access to the freeway (both a negative and positive). The restaurant was being remodeled when we were there so I cannot speak to that. The rooms are clean and recently remodeled and the staff was always friendly and very helpful. We never used the pool area but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank cynthiageelan1969
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Cynthia, Thank you for staying with us and the nice review. We hope to see you again in the future. Nahum Jimenez GM More 

Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed at the Travelodge (the Atwood predecessor) on several occasions. After the change to the Atwood, we booked once again for a short San Diego visit. The location is great for us, and we got a very good rate. Note that when you sign in, you are initialing a $50 early departure fee if your plans change; we didn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank getgoingCanada
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

GetgoingCanada, Thank you for coming back to the hotel. We purchased the hotel last year and have done extensive renovations. We will continue to make improvements as time goes on so I expect us to get better and better as time goes on and we hope you continue to make our hotel your home when in San Diego. Nahum Jimenez... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room was great, updated, super comfortable beds and huge in size, pool and hot tub great. Quiet stay close to everything. If we come back to san diego we will definitely stay here again. staff was also great.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer Grace B
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Our staff works hard to provide "wow" service and I am so happy they made your stay a pleasant one. Nahum Jimenez GM More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on here we were a bit worried about the hotel- however we were pleasantly surprised! The room was very clean, spacious and modern. Staff were lovely too. Cleaners didn't come around too early which we loved as we had our own time to get ready and sleep in! It is close to everything by... More 

Helpful?
Thank RHulett
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again in the future. I am glad you were able to get good sleep. Nahum Jimenez GM More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed as a couple for 3 nights in September. We were disappointed to find that there was no gym or restaurant, as they had stated that they had them on their website! I never would have booked this place if I'd known there was no gym, as we try to work out daily. We did not receive any explanation... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth C
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. I will double check all of the sites and make sure gym is not listed. We do not have a gym at the hotel. However, We do have a restaurant and it is closed for renovations but will open in about a week. Please accept my apologizes for not... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am not one to usually write reviews but I felt I should share my parent's experience on their recent stay. I booked this hotel for them with great expectations of what they would experience. They enjoyed their stay but had a couple of issues they were not pleased with. They were extremely satisfied with their check in. They remember... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie N
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Customer service is very important to us. We appreciate your feedback and I am glad you had a good stay. More 

Williams, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We aunt and I enjoyed a restful and convenient stay that The Atwood hotel. We had tickets to see a play at the San Diego Civic Center. The Atwood is conveniently located near down town. We used Uber transportation to and from downtown. This is a great location to see all the sights in San Diego.

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you really got out and enjoyed the city. Thank you very much staying with us. Nahum Jimenez GM More 

Schorndorf, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We choose this motel for its great deal 58 dollar per night in early Sept. The personal at the front desk was very nice with exception to the guy on late shift when we checked in. He had mixed up reservations and was complaining that my card was not working-except that this was the only occasion on the whole 3... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christy212121
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely modern room and clean. Great location, close to San Diego airport and cool bars and restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff. The only negative was that the wifi was very slow, it barely worked.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeri C
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We have a IT staff looking into the matter. We want to identify any areas of the property that may have a weak signal. Thank you again. Nahum Jimenez GM More 

Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This motel was chosen because of the price and close proximity to the San Diego Zoo . We were not disappointed. The room was Clean, I liked that their wasn't any carpeting, it was quiet and very affordable. We were no more than 10 minutes away from the zoo. Would recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis A
frankf541, General Manager at The Atwood Hotel, responded to this review

Phyllis, Thank you so much for staying with us and for the nice review. Sincerely, Nahum Jimemez GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
0:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#43 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,735 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#198 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#132 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#163 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Atwood Hotel

Address: 1201 Hotel Cir S, Mission Valley, San Diego, CA 92108-3407 (Formerly Travelodge San Diego Mission Valley)
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Price Range: $71 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Atwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay