We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

#8 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 314: English reviews
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We checked in for three nights for basketball tournament in Lawrence. At check in I was told we could park our motorhome in the parking lot which we do at hotels all the time. The next morning the manager told us we could not park it there and was pretty rude about it. He stated because they were full. But... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stormin1985
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lobby is nice but the rooms are a bit tired and could use remodeling. A/C was noisy and somewhat ineffective. The bathroom needs updating. Breakfast was pricey but good. The staff was helpful and responded to my complaint about the A/C right away.

Helpful?
Thank adshere2003
Level Contributor
146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice hotel, especially for the price. Ask for the quietest room in the hotel and you'll get the top floor, at the end of the corridor. There was very, very little noise. It was great. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. There is no minifridge or microwave, which I could've used, but no major... More 

Helpful?
Thank TangentialT
TopekGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review

Dear TangentialT, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a quiet room. I apologize for the lamp issue. There are outlets built into the lamp, but as you stated, the switch near the door provides power to the lamp, and is switched there to provide light upon entering the room. Thanks for letting us know... More 

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
230 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Exterior is in good condition and lobby area is very nice so we thought we were getting a great price on our room ($ 90). However when we got to the room it was definitely outdated. The carpet was worn and seemed dirty along with the loveseat. I also chose this place over others because it seemed to have a... More 

Helpful?
Thank langreckd5
TopekGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review

Dear Langreckd5, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you found the exterior and lobby nice. We are continually updating our hotel and have recently renovated the entire parking lot and swimming pool area. We are in the midst of several other projects and should have more renovations completed in the next several... More 

Topeka, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay, especially if you have business at or around the Expocentre. The room was clean and comfortable and didn't have any bad smells. Unfortunately we did not experience the grill or lounge, but they looked clean and inviting.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shirley J
TopekGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review

Dear Shirley J, Thanks for the great comment and the great score!! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next time. Sincerely, Kevin More 

Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been there before without complaints, but they don't seem to care about the fool paying full price for the (supposedly) best room. Like I said in my Google review, "fool me once". $300 with tax, but $50 in value.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank timmA4932ON
TopekGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review

Dear timmA4932ON, I did read your review, and would like to discuss the issues that you had encountered during your stay. Please contact me by phone or e-mail at 785-431-4725 or kevin.smith@atriumhospitality.com. Sincerely, Kevin Smith-GM More 

TTulsa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During the tournament there was always tea, coffee, & water available. The Danish wee delicious. The hospitabley room had nice snacks and lots of room. The hotel did a great job to assure the players a good time. The room we played in was large enough to move around easily.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dorothy B
TopekGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review

Dear Dorothy B, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always love hosting the bridge tournament. Thanks for your great comments! Kevin More 

Wichita, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great Hotel and stay was fabulous! Great location and excellent breakfast the next morning. The Waffle and Omelet maker was so kind! He was open and engaging. Our rooms were spacious and accommodating, and the shower and bathrooms were clean. ~Gwynne Birzer

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Q3407OYmichaelb
TopekGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review

Dear Q34070michaelb, Thanks for the great review!! Everyone loves "Kenny, the Omelette Man". I will let him know that you enjoyed his company. Sincerely, Kevin More 

Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Capital Plaza Hotel Topeka 06/16-18/2016. While there I slipped and fell in the tub while taking a shower, causing me to fall out of the shower, striking my head/neck on the toilet. I reported this incident to the hotel manager, who took a "report", all the while acting as if he was in total disbelief, stating... More 

Helpful?
Thank kjk123
TopekGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review

Dear kjk123, I read your review, and wanted you to be aware that I took a report, and as discussed with you, would turn it over to our insurance company that day, which I did. I apologize that I was not on property when you stopped by the Front Desk later in the day. The Assistant GM was covering for... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel having trouble processing cards, checked in successfully to later be locked out of our room like criminals. Provided one swipe to retrieve credit card and then finally convinced them to try it again and it worked just fine. Hotels issue and they were rude and never apologized.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 358melindab
TopekGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review

Dear 358melindab, I apologize that their was an issue with your card. There is never an excuse to be rude, and I am very sorry that we did not handle this situation well. Thanks so much for bringing it up to my attention. We have a training scheduled for next week to better address this. Sincerely, Kevin More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
4.4 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.9 mi away
Senate Luxury Suites
Senate Luxury Suites
#5 of 33 in Topeka
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#3 of 33 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#2 of 33 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

Address: 1717 SW Topeka Boulevard, Topeka, KS 66612
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Price Range: $97 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Hotel
Capitol Plaza Topeka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay