We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Boston Back Bay

Save
Share
40 Dalton Street, Boston, MA 02115-3155
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$249
Hilton.com$249
eDreams$249
Trip.com$255
Priceline$249
Hurb$274
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (612)
Room & Suite (264)
Dining (35)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hilton Boston Back Bay
Updated 07/27/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#64 of 96 hotels in Boston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Hilton Boston Back Bay is an up-scale hotel in downtown Boston, across the street from the Hynes Convention Center in the neighborhood of Back Bay. This Boston hotel's downtown location is within walking distance to Fenway Park, world-class shopping and dining on Newbury Street and four miles from Boston Logan International Airport. This Boston hotel features 390 guest rooms, and indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and over 15,000 sq.ft. of flexible event space.
Read more
Room & Suite (264)264
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking garage
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
155Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
40Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
3,486Reviews48Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,310
  • 1,323
  • 535
  • 205
  • 113
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chad B wrote a review Oct 17
Chaska, Minnesota1 contribution
Every time I have stayed here it has been perfect, they are always accommodating and the rooms are always in nice and clean. I had a problem with my reservation and Patrick Herrick from the hotel went out of his way to make it right. This hotel will always be my first choice to stay in Boston.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Doug Koenig, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind words about Patrick. It is great to know you stay with us frequently, and enjoy the hotel.
Read more
Wendy C wrote a review Jul 2020
Montgomery, Alabama416 contributions32 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We had an extremely early flight in to Boston and was worried about not being able to check in until 4pm. Hotel staff was absolutely amazing for the entire stay! We were able to check in early and we were always greeted with a smile as we were coming and going. We did have a fire alarm go off in the middle of the night but that was nothing that the hotel could help. We received a written apology the very next morning. The hotel is spotless and very comfortable. Room was huge and bathroom a little small compared to the size of the room. Hotel is centrally located to some great eating and shopping. We took an uber to Fenway because we were not sure how long it would take us and we ended up walking back. And we did the same for the Back Bay Amtrak Station. We have found our hotel for when we return in a couple of months. You will not have to look any further when it comes to comfort, affordability, location and a great hotel staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I actually stayed in room 1900 and it was huge, beautiful and perfect!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Doug Koenig, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay
Responded Jul 14, 2020
Thank you for sharing your experience, and your kind words about our staff. The cleanliness of our hotel is a priority, and we follow "Hilton Clean Stay" that was rolled out a few weeks ago. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Read more
mikedc0813 wrote a review Oct 14
Miami, Florida136 contributions47 helpful votes
It’s so sad that this hotel once used to be one of the best in the area. Now the location is the only good aspect. The staff have lost their attentiveness for their customer, almost seemed indifferent, and my room was not well cleaned like many others here have also noted. You’d expect during the pandemic that it might even cleaner than normal to get customers to stay. I have stayed at many other hotels in different chains over the past 6 months and this was by far my most disappointing one. Look elsewhere!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Doug Koenig, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay
Responded 2 weeks ago
Due to Covid-19 we have taken significant cleaning measures to ensure the safety of our guest and employees. We have partnered with Lysol, and have strict cleaning protocols for every room. Every touch point has been cleaned by a room attendant, and is once again cleaned and disinfected with lysol during the detailed inspection process. We also place a seal over the remote controls,and have signage in the room that notes where we specifically disinfected. We also place a seal on each door upon completing the inspection process. Yes, as you noted we do not provide daily cleaning service at this time. This decision was made to minimize the risk of possible Covid transmission.
Read more
SuperBailz wrote a review Oct 7
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I have never written a review here but I feel obligated to do so in this situation. A few weeks ago I flew to Boston to work and visit family & friends for the weekend. Decided to stay at the Hilton Boston Back Bay. CheckIn was smooth and easy, the people at the front desk were helpful & nice. I initially only booked for one night but after having a good experience the first night I went ahead and booked 2 additional nights. As I said, I was here for a few reasons so I did have exactly 4 people stop by to visit. My first 2 guests were business associates, older white guys. The both entered the hotel at separate times and never had an issue getting to my room. Actually the front desk helped my business partner locate an ATM as well as the elevator with never any questions asked. My boyfriend who happens to be Latino comes by and they stop him but only ask my room number. I get a call. They send him up. The usual... No real issues here. For some reason when my African American nephew comes into the building he gets stopped at the front door. No one ever calls me. My nephew texted and says they were not letting him up. OK I'll just come grab him not a problem. YET. When I get to the lobby I see my nephew standing at the front desk. He sees me. I speak to him and tell him its ok to come with me. The front desk clerk Jamie says "No sir you cannot go upstairs." I say "It fine he's with me.' Jamie "No ma'am HE CANNOT GO UPSTAIRS.' he's getting a little loud across the lobby. I'm the guest and we are headed upstairs. Jamie continues to now YELL at me from behind the front desk which is about 50-100 feet from the elevator which we are now on. "Ma'am ma'am if he goes upstairs I am going to have to ask you to leave." Repeatedly yelling and threatening. I didn't really know what to say or to think because I had never experienced such treatment before. So as I leave with my nephew to go have something to eat Jamie says "Ma'am can I speak with you for a moment when you return?" I suggested we do it now. He goes on to say that "if you don't know how to follow management's requests we are going to have to ask you to leave. (he's not a manager might I add.) As you know there is covid and what happens if that guy left here and died? we have no way of knowing who he is." IF HE DIED??? I then explained to Jamie that the young man was my nephew and he is a minor and that he does not have to show his ID to enter a room that I paid for. Jamie and I go back and forth for about 10/15 minutes. Guests begin to arrive in the lobby. He's scolding me as if I'm his employee or child. I walk away. Jamie shouts in front of guests "WHEN YOU RETURN CAN YOU COME BACK WE HAVE UNFINISHED BUSINESS." I did a complete about-face and stayed in the lobby until he worked with the other guests. Eventually he says a few more insulting and disrespectful things. More guests arrive. I tell him "Look we are not going to sit here and go back and forth over a minor not showing you his ID to enter a room that I paid for. AND You are not going to yell at me or talk to me like a child any longer." Jamie then says very loudly with a lobby which has guests in line waiting "Ma'am you are no longer welcome to stay here you have 30 minutes to leave." I HAVE NEVER in my life been asked to leave anywhere. Completely humiliated with over 800 of my dollars tied up in this stay. I leave and go upstairs. Call HiltonHonors (NO HELP)! They call the hotel speak to a manager ?Patrick? and the manager states that the situation has escalated beyond his control and they needed me to leave. MANAGER!!! WHAT MANAGER! I never knew there was a manager on-site. Jamie again threatens to call the police and have me forcefully removed (FOR WHAT I STILL DO NOT KNOW) . I go BACK downstair and YES there stood the manager. I explained the story. He asked me to go to my room and he would come up. After SUCH a heated and embarrassing exchange with Jamie I needed to take a walk. My concern was that if I left the building all of my things would be out when I got back. The manager assured me that my key would work. When I returned the manager came to my room & apologized & asked me to stay. Yeah all fine and well I was staying either way it went. THE ISSUES STILL REMAIN WHY was my nephew racially profiled? WHY was I asked to leave and told that I was not welcome? WHY did Jamie think it was ok to repeatedly yell at and disrespect me? WHY did Jamie lie about being a manager? WHY didn't JAMIE apologize?????? MY ENTIRE TRIP WAS RUINED AFTER THIS EXPERIENCE!!!!! NEVER AGAIN.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: you want a view of the water.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Doug Koenig, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay
Responded 1 week ago
We are sorry that you feel this way about the hotel and our staff. We strive for excellence, in quality and service. It is a very rare occasion that we have to ask a guest to leave, but some instances warrant us to do so. The safety and security of our guest and staff are a top priority, and we have taken additional measures due to Covid-19. These measures have been well received, and we are sorry you felt otherwise.
Read more
NorwoodScott wrote a review Sep 2020
Norwood, Massachusetts321 contributions194 helpful votes
The hotel location is decent if you need to be near Back Bay, but beyond that I wouldn't recommend it. I'm philosophically opposed to hotels, like this one, that tack on a mandatory "destination fee." Twenty dollars in this case. The self-parking was a staggering FIFTY-SIX dollars for a single night. The room rate adds up pretty quickly for a hotel with small, well-worn rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Doug Koenig, General Manager at Hilton Boston Back Bay
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the review. Our location is one of the most popular in all of the Back Bay area. The rooms were renovated less than two years ago, and we are sorry that you felt they did not meet your expectations. The $20 Mandatory Guest Fee includes a $20 credit in our gift shop as well as a $10 discount on the parking which reduces the cost to $46 per night.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$206 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton boston back bay hotel boston, hilton hotel boston, boston hilton
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsBostonSymphony
NUMBER OF ROOMS
385
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilton Boston Back Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Hilton Boston Back Bay?
Nearby attractions include The Boston Pops (0.2 miles), Boston Symphony Orchestra (0.2 miles), and The Mapparium (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilton Boston Back Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hilton Boston Back Bay?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hilton Boston Back Bay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hilton Boston Back Bay?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hilton Boston Back Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Capital Grille, Atlantic Fish Co, and Abe & Louie's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hilton Boston Back Bay?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hilton Boston Back Bay?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hilton Boston Back Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hilton Boston Back Bay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilton Boston Back Bay?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Longfellow House Washington's Headquarters National Historic Site (3.0 miles), The Printing Office of Edes & Gill (1.7 miles), and Old North Church & Historic Site (2.1 miles).